DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent Claim 1 recites:
1. A computerized method for counting a repetition of an exercise utilizing an exercise device comprising a user engagement structure (additional element analyzed under step 2B) and a position sensor (additional element analyzed under step 2B) configured to detect a position of the user engagement structure, the method comprising: for each of a plurality of positions of the user engagement structure: receiving position data from the position sensor during the exercise (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can receive and contemplate position data in their mind); generating one or more vectors based on the position data (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can generate and perform mathematical calculations for vectors based on position data in their mind); comparing the one or more vectors to one or more prior vectors (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, compared data in their mind); and counting a repetition of the exercise when the comparison of the one or more vectors to the one or more prior vectors indicates the user engagement structure is returning towards one or more of a starting point or a starting region of the exercise (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can determine/count a repetition in their mind based on observing the engagement structure returning).
Independent Claim 8 recites:
8. A computerized apparatus for use with an exercise device comprising a user engagement structure and a position sensor configured to detect a position of the user engagement structure, the computerized apparatus comprising: a communication interface (additional element analyzed under step 2B) configured to receive signals from the position sensor; one or more processors (additional element analyzed under step 2B); and a memory (additional element analyzed under step 2B) in data communication with the one or more processors (additional element analyzed under step 2B) and having a plurality of computer-readable instructions stored thereon, wherein the plurality of computer-readable instructions are configured to, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computerized apparatus to: receive first position data from the position sensor (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can receive and contemplate position data in their mind) and generate an acceleration vector based on the first position data (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can generate/calculate an acceleration vector in their mind); determine whether the acceleration vector is increasing in a direction away from the one or more of a starting point or a starting region of an exercise (step 2A, prong 1: mental process, one can determine whether the acceleration vector is increasing in their mind by comparing mentally); based at least on a determination that the acceleration vector is increasing in the direction away from the one or more of the starting point or the starting region of the exercise, for each of a plurality of plurality of positions of the user engagement structure: receive second position data from the position sensor during the exercise (step 2A, prong 1: mental process, one can determine whether the acceleration vector is increasing and then mentally receive data in their mind); generate one or more vectors based at least on the second position data (step 2A, prong 1: mental process, one can generate/calculate vectors in their mind and comparing mentally); generate a dot product based on the one or more vectors (step 2A, prong 1: mental process, one can generate a dot product based on the one or more vectors in their mind or on paper); compare the dot product to a previously generated dot product (step 2A, prong 1: mental process, one can determine whether the acceleration vector is increasing in their mind by comparing mentally or on paper); and determine whether the comparison is indicative of a reversal; and based at least on a determination that the comparison is indicative of a reversal, count a repetition of the exercise (step 2A, prong 1: mental process, one can determine a comparison is a reversal of the movement and count a repetition).
Independent Claim 16 recites:
16. One or more computer-readable storage media having a plurality of computer- readable instructions stored thereon, the plurality of computer-readable instructions are configured to, when executed by one or more processors (additional element analyzed under step 2B), cause a computerized apparatus in communication with a position sensor of an exercise apparatus to: define one or more of a starting point or a starting region of an exercise (step 2A, prong 1: mental process, one can define a starting point and contemplate position data in their mind); determine, based at least on first position data received from a position sensor, that a user engagement structure of the exercise apparatus is accelerating away from the one or more of a starting point or a starting region of the exercise (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can observe and mentally contemplate that a user engagement structure is accelerating away from a starting point); based at least on the determination that the user engagement structure is accelerating away from the one or more of a starting point or a starting region of the exercise, for each of a plurality of plurality of positions of the user engagement structure: receive second position data from the position sensor during the exercise (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can receive and contemplate position data in their mind); generate one or more vectors based at least on the second position data (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can generate and calculate one or more vectors in their mind); generate a dot product based on the one or more vectors (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can generate and calculate a dot product based one or more vectors in their mind or on paper); compare the dot product to one or more immediately previously generated dot products (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can compare dot product to other previously determined/calculated dot product in their mind or on paper); and determine whether the comparison is indicative of one or more of a sign change or a zero crossing (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can determine a comparison of sign change or zero crossing in their mind or on paper); and based at least on a determination that the comparison is indicative of the one or more of a sign change or the zero crossing, add one to a total count of repetitions of the exercise (step 2A, prong 1: abstract idea, mental process, one can add a repetition count in their mind based on the comparison determination).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the above
limitations in bold analyzed under step 2A appear to be directed to mental processes and/or abstract idea related to certain methods of human activity because the limitations concern data collection, data analysis and determining the results of data analysis which could be done mentally or by hand with pen and paper.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception because:
In re-evaluating the additional elements identified in the claims above, the claims require the additional elements of: “a user engagement structure,” “position sensor”, “a communication interface”, “one or more processors”, “memory”, which are additional elements that merely recite the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
The additional elements do not amount to a practical application because the limitations
appear to be extra solution activity where data to be analyzed is obtained by the abstract idea or mental process.
The additional elements appear to be routine and conventional in the art as exhibited by
Applicant's description:
1) The “user engagement structure” include a handle and can replicate athletic equipment, occupational tools, and the like as described on para. [0028] of Applicant’s specification
2) The “position sensor” include rotary sensors, optical encoders, linear position sensors as described on para. [0032]-[0032] of Applicant’s specification
3) The “communication interface” include wired and wireless connections as described on para. [0099] of Applicant’s specification
4) The “one or more processors” to include CPU’s to execute computer instructions as described on para. [0095] of Applicant’s specification
5) The “memory” include volatile, non-volatile memory, or a combination thereof as described on para. [0099] of Applicant’s specification
Accordingly, in light of Applicant's specification, the claimed terms “user engagement structure”, “position sensor”, “a communication interface”, “one or more processors”, and “memory”, are reasonably construed as generic handles (athletic equipment), computing devices and sensors. Like SAP America VS Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available technology, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d) because the claimed electronic device and method merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and certain method of organizing human activity) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., the “position sensor”, “a communication interface”, “one or more processors”, and “memory” as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements and sensors which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer according to MPEP 2106.05(f).
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements
do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in independent Claims 1, 8, and 16 (and their dependent claims) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment according to MPEP 2106.05(h). When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment according to MPEP 2106.05(h). When viewed as whole, the above-identified additional elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e). Moreover, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity according to MPEP 2106.05(g). As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application as required by MPEP 2106.05.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-15, and 17-20 include limitations that either further define the
abstract idea (and thus don't make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more
than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or
field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter
or affect how the claimed functions/steps are performed.
Accordingly, as indicated above, each of the above-identified claims recites an abstract
idea according to MPEP 2106.04(d) or mental process as in MPEP 2106.04(a). Therefore, for at least the above reasons, none of the Claims 1-20 amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, Claims 1-20 are not patent eligible and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berme et al. (US Pat. No. 9,414,784, Aug. 16, 2016) (herein “Berme”) in view of Ashby (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0191197, effectively filed Dec. 16, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, as broadly interpreted, Berme teaches a computerized method for counting a repetition of an exercise (see col. 14, line 64 – col. 15, line 8) utilizing an exercise device comprising a user engagement structure (i.e., such as a racket 44, see Fig. 16 below and col. 8, lines 58-64) and a position sensor 22 (see Fig. 16 below) configured to detect a position of the user engagement structure, the method comprising: for each of a plurality of positions of the user engagement structure: receiving position data from the position sensor during the exercise (i.e., such as a motion tracking sensor, see col. 15, line 9-59); generating one or more vectors based on the position data (i.e., vector-valued motion parameters may be defined in terms of a reference frame, see col. 17, line 44 – col. 18, line 14); comparing the one or more vectors to one or more prior vectors (i.e., a distance from the starting point of the motion could be used, where a motion underway can be the source of determining a change between vectors); and counting a repetition of the exercise (see col. 14, line 64 – col. 15, line 8).
Berme is silent in explicitly teaching when the comparison of the one or more vectors to the one or more prior vectors indicates the user engagement structure is returning towards one or more of a starting point or a starting region of the exercise.
Ashby, however, in an analogous art teaches counting repetitions of an exercise based on an algorithm that detects a movement starting at a first position to a second position and back to the first position. (see Ashby, paras. [0037]-[0038])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Berme to compare one or more vectors to the one or more prior vectors where the the user engagement structure is returning towards one or more of a starting point or a starting region of the exercise as taught by Ashby for the same purpose of tracking movement/position data from to count repetitions of exercise movement (see Ashby, paras. [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 4, Berme teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more vectors comprise an acceleration vector (i.e., inertial sensors by measure acceleration in three dimensional space), a position vector, and a velocity vector.
Regarding claim 5, Berme as modified by Ashby teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving initial position data from the position sensor at initiation of the exercise; and generating position coordinates representative of the starting point (i.e., a distance from a starting point of the motion could be used, where a motion underway can be the source of determining a change between vectors as motion is track from a first position to a second position and then back to the first position).
Regarding claim 6, Berme teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising defining a start region based on coordinates forming a 3-dimensional shape surrounding the starting point coordinates (see Berme, Fig. 33, for example, tracking movement 800 of a swing in 3-D space).
Regarding claim 7, Berme teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the 3-dimensional shape is one of a sphere or a cube (see Berme, Fig. 33, for example, tracking movement 800 of a swing in 3-D space).
Conclusion
/ANDREW S LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784