Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/CN2020/086659. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to Chinese application 201910623436.9, filed Jul. 11, 2019. A certified copy is present in Application US17/622,838.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkard et al Xenobiotica. 2012 Oct (hereinafter “Burkard”, See PTO-892) in view of Wu et al Cell Res. 2017 May (hereinafter “Wu”, See PTO-892), Aznan et al Oncol Lett. 2018 Jul (hereinafter “Aznan”, See PTO-892) Godoy et al Arch Toxicol. 2016 Oct (hereinafter “Godoy”, See PTO-892), Alverez-Salas et al (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A.; 1998; hereinafter “Alverez-Salas;” See PTO-892) and Tsuruga et al (Cell Transplant. 2008 Sep; hereinafter “Tsuruga;” See PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1 S1: Wu teaches isolation of primary hepatocytes from mice by seeding at a density of
2
×
10
4
cells/cm2 for 1 week (See Wu Supplemental at p. 2). However, Wu does not teach culture of human primary hepatocytes and cryopreservation of the primary hepatocytes as required by S1. However, Godoy teaches mice and human primary hepatocytes can be cultured using similar method. (See Godoy page 2514, col. 2, Materials and Methods section). Further Burkard teaches cryopreservation of primary hepatocytes. (See Burkard p. 941, col. 1, 2nd paragraph). As such, culturing cells and cryopreservation are all routine in the art of mammalian cell culture. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply known hepatocyte culture techniques to human primary hepatocytes and to cryopreserve the cultured cells, as taught by Burkard, to preserve the cell population for subsequent use. As such, the use of such techniques in human hepatocyte primary cells would have constituted predictable application of a known hepatocyte culture technique in view of Godoy.
Regarding claim 1 S2: Burkhard teaches passaging cells at 80% confluence. (See Burkard p. 941, col. 1, 2nd paragraph). This falls within the claimed range. However, as such it would be obvious for a skilled artisan to arrive at the steps of S2 in view of Burkard. It is pointed out that selecting a suitable confluence for passaging would have been a routine adjustment of a recognized cell-culture parameter to facilitate cell maintenance and propagation.
Regarding claim 1 S3: Burkard does not specifically teach passaging cells before transduction as required by the claim (See Burkhard Burkard p. 941, col. 1, line 2). However, subculturing cells before transduction is routine in the art of mammalian cell culture, as shown in Aznan. Specifically, Aznan teaches, it is desirable to use hepatocytes with less than 16 passages for efficient transduction. (See Aznan page 79, col. 2, 2nd paragraph). In view of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to select an appropriate passage stage before transduction and use a suitable medium before transduction to facilitate introduction of a foreign genetic material. As such adjusting the passage number is considered a routinely optimizable variable and absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the subculturing of hepatocyte progenitor cells, it would be obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the subculture of hepatocytes is routine and optimizable variable. As indicated above, seeding densities are optimizable and are not obvious for the reasons stated above.
Further, as indicated above, Burkard teaches viral transduction. Additionally, Alvarez-Salas teaches that HPV16 E6/E7 genes are associated with efficient immortalization of a broad spectrum of cell types. (See Alvarez-Salas Abstract). Further Tsuruga taught immortalization of human hepatocytes by the introduction of HPV16 E6/E7 and hTERT. (See Tsuruga Abstract). It is also noted that Tsuruga taught lentiviral transduction in the presence of polybrene. (See Tsuruga p. 1084, col.2, para 3). In view of Tsuruga’s disclosure, one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to establish an expandable population of human liver-derived cells would have had reason to consider the disclosed E6/E7 based immortalization approach. As such Tsuruga and Alvarez-Salas further support the known use of E6/E7 in cellular immortalization and its application in human liver-derived cells. It is also noted that Tsuruga taught the use of polybrene solution in lentiviral transduction. (See Tsuruga p.1084, col.3 para 3).
Regarding claim 1 S4-S5: Burkard taught subculturing the transduced cell. Burkard does not explicitly teach passage number of 2 or 3. It is known, as evidenced by Neuhuber et al (Exp Hematol. 2008 Sep, p.5, 2nd paragraph) that passage number is dependent on original seeding density, and population doubling time and is readily optimizable. As such, the split ratios and passage numbers would be readily optimizable for each cell type for a skilled artisan in the field of mammalian cell culture. As indicated above, differences in optimizable parameters such as passage numbers will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such parameter is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (See MPEP 2144.05). In the current claim, it is unobvious to optimize passage numbers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Burkard, Wu, Godoy, Aznan, Alvarez-Salas, and Tsuruga to obtain the claimed method of culturing, passaging, cryopreserving, transducing, selecting, and banking human hepatic cells. The references collectively teach hepatocyte culture and cryopreservation, relevant culture and passage conditions, transduction and selection techniques, and the use of HPV-16 E6/E7 together with hTERT to immortalize human hepatocytes. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply these known techniques and optimize culture parameters to obtain a suitable cell population for expansion and banking, with a reasonable expectation of success to the extent supported by the teachings of the prior art. Accordingly, the claimed method would have been obvious absent evidence of criticality, unexpected results, or other persuasive evidence of nonobviousness.
Regarding claim 2: The teachings of Burkard in view of Wu are set forth above. Burkard taught that culturing or expansion of cells before cryopreservation. For example, Burkard taught “Stage one is to grow the cells to the first “Master Cell Bank” (MCB1) and then cryopreserve them at 12 million cells per vial. “ (See Burkard p. 940, col.1, para 1). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to subculture the primary hepatocytes for 1 or 2 subcultures to obtain sufficient cells for cryopreservation. Absent evidence of unexpected results, selecting one to two subcultures is a known optimizable result effective variable.
Regarding claim 3: Burkard teaches 3D hepatocyte culture using polystyrene scaffolds (See Burkard p. 940, col. 1, 3rd paragraph), using cells prepared from the cell bank. Burkard further teaches screening hepatotoxicity using the cells from the cell bank (See Burkard p. 940, col.1, 4th paragraph, col. 2, 1st paragraph, p. 943, col.1, 1st paragraph)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12351828 (hereinafter ‘828 Patent).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons set forth below.
Regarding claim 1: ‘838 Patent teaches the claimed method of providing human primary hepatocytes and culturing them as required by the instant claims.
Claims 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Application No. 17/631,474 (hereinafter ‘474 Application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons set forth below.
Regarding claim 1: Claim 13 of U.S. Application No. 17/631,474 teaches the claimed method of providing human primary hepatocytes and culturing them as required by the instant claims.
Claim Objection
Claim 3 requires a method of preparing the hepatic progenitor cell bank according to claim 1, the method comprising: constructing an in vitro three-dimensional hepatocyte model; and testing a specific hepatotoxicity of a drug by the in vitro three-dimensional hepatocyte model. The preamble defines a method of preparing the hepatic progenitor cell bank of claim 1, but the recited steps concern model construction and testing. This creates a potential mismatch between the stated purpose and the operative steps. Appropriate correction is required.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed. No claim is free of the prior art.
/JAGAMYA NMN VIJAYARAGHAVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/EVELYN Y PYLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633