DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 6/04/2025. Claims 1-15 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (CN 218122679) in view of Mattiaccio et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 20160012712).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Chang teaches a modular sensor system / method for monitoring using a modular sensor hub system for a vehicle (Figs 1-2), comprising a central hub (Fig 2, Pg 7 Para. 4; main vehicle-mounted intelligent terminal) comprising:
a low-power microcontroller unit (MCU) (Fig 2, Pg 7 Para. 4; selecting MCU (Microcontroller Unit, microcontroller) module 220 as the embodiment of the microcontroller 120) with Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication capability (Fig 2, Pg 4 Para. 002; BLE module 143 using Bluetooth low energy consumption technology… the low power consumption Bluetooth aims to keep the same communication range and obviously reduce the power consumption and cost);
a power management system (Pg 11, Para. 4; power supply module (not shown) as one of the function module 140 of the vehicle intelligent terminal, the MCU module 220 for management and control. the power supply module comprises a power supply management unit… MCU module 220 for management and control. the power supply module comprises a power supply management unit, a charging and discharging circuit and a spare battery, wherein the power supply management unit can be the power supply management unit 281 in FIG. 2) comprising:
a rechargeable battery (Pg 11, Para. 4; a charging and discharging circuit and a spare battery); and
a charger integrated circuit (IC) (Pg 11, Para. 4; charging and discharging circuit can be the charging and discharging circuit 282 in FIG. 2);
at least one integrated sensor selected from the group consisting of an accelerometer (Pg 13, Para. 2; inertial measurement module can be the IMU module 272 in FIG. 2, which is managed and controlled by the 5 G module 230. IMU module 272 with 3-axis accelerometer and 3-axis angular speedometer (i.e., gyroscope)), (a microphone, a reed switch and a smoke detector IC; not selected by Examiner); and
at least one external sensor interface connector (Pg 2, Para. 006; functional modules and connectors) configured for inter-integrated circuit (I2C) communication (Pg 3, Para. 3; the communication module 130 is provided with an Ethernet interface, can be connected with the external device with the Ethernet interface, the microcontroller 120 is provided with a CAN bus interface, which can be connected with the external device with CAN bus interface, in order to make the vehicle intelligent terminal satisfy the external device for various data acquisition mode of the requirement, the main processor 110 connected with the microcontroller 120, so as to realize the internal data of the microcontroller 120 can be transmitted to the communication module 130 through the main processor 110, so as to realize the external device through the Ethernet interface to obtain the internal data of the microcontroller 120. Similarly, the communication module 130 or the main processor 110 of the internal data (such as to-be-processed data or processing result of the data to be processed) can be transmitted to the microcontroller 120 through the main processor 110. so as to realize the external device can through the interface of the CAN bus to obtain the communication module 130 or the main processor 110 of the internal data) with, and providing power to, one or more external sensor modules (Pg 11, Para 4; power supply management module 281 according to the MCU module 220 of the first instruction of the 12 voltage of the storage battery for anti-reverse, filtering, voltage stabilizing processing, finally obtaining 3.3 volts, 3.8 volts or 5 volts, so as to ensure the power receiving module in the vehicle intelligent terminal needs to other different working voltage, wherein the power receiving module can be any one of the vehicle intelligent terminal power supply device, such as a main processor, a microcontroller, a communication module, one or more of the plurality of functional modules 140),
wherein said MCU is operable to:
receive event data from said at least one integrated sensor or from an external sensor module connected via I2C communication (Pg 3, Para. 3; the communication module 130 is provided with an Ethernet interface, can be connected with the external device with the Ethernet interface, the microcontroller 120 is provided with a CAN bus interface, which can be connected with the external device with CAN bus interface, in order to make the vehicle intelligent terminal satisfy the external device for various data acquisition mode of the requirement, the main processor 110 connected with the microcontroller 120, so as to realize the internal data of the microcontroller 120 can be transmitted to the communication module 130 through the main processor 110, so as to realize the external device through the Ethernet interface to obtain the internal data of the microcontroller 120. Similarly, the communication module 130 or the main processor 110 of the internal data (such as to-be-processed data or processing result of the data to be processed) can be transmitted to the microcontroller 120 through the main processor 110. so as to realize the external device can through the interface of the CAN bus to obtain the communication module 130 or the main processor 110 of the internal data.;
selectively manage power supplied to the one or more external sensor modules via said at least one external sensor interface connector (Pg 11, Para 4; power supply management module 281 is connected to the vehicle-mounted storage battery of the target vehicle through the vehicle-mounted connector; the vehicle-mounted storage battery has a voltage of 12 volts. power supply management module 281 of the control pin connected with the MCU module 220 of the I/O port, power supply management module 281 according to the MCU module 220 of the first instruction of the 12 voltage of the storage battery for anti-reverse, filtering, voltage stabilizing processing, finally obtaining 3.3 volts, 3.8 volts or 5 volts, so as to ensure the power receiving module in the vehicle intelligent terminal needs to other different working voltage, wherein the power receiving module can be any one of the vehicle intelligent terminal power supply device, such as a main processor, a microcontroller, a communication module, one or more of the plurality of functional modules 140. For example, the power receiving module is ETC module 141, UWB module 142 and BLE module 143 in at least one of the first instruction is a conversion processing instruction for voltage); and
transmit an alert or data to a paired main vehicle dashcam (a 2nd vehicle-mounted intelligent terminal transmits alert/data to the main vehicle-mounted intelligent terminal) via BLE based on the event data, the main vehicle dashcam being configured to orchestrate responses based on the alert or the data (Pg 4, Para 5; the vehicle-mounted intelligent terminal with the V2X function is matched with the vehicle-mounted sensor and the camera system, it also can sense the surrounding environment, making quick adjustment, so as to realize zero traffic accident, for example, if the pedestrian is suddenly appeared, it can automatically reduce the speed to safe speed or stop. More specifically, V2X comprises a target vehicle and the outside vehicle V2V (vehicle-to-vehicle), target vehicle and infrastructure V2I (vehicle-to-Infrastructure), A target vehicle and a vehicle V2P (vehicle-to-view strian), a target vehicle and an external network V2N (vehicle-to-Network) and various application communication application scenes. the target vehicle carrying the vehicle intelligent terminal can communicate with the vehicle with V2V function outside, so as to realize the front collision early warning of the target vehicle, lane changing assistance, left turning assistance, synergistic type adaptive cruise control function; the target vehicle carrying the vehicle intelligent terminal can communicate with the infrastructure with V2I function to realize the speed suggestion, traffic priority, road warning, running red light warning, current weather warning, parking space and charging pile searching application.
Chang is silent on transmit the alert or data via BLE. Mattiaccio from an analogous modular mobile emergency notification system art teaches the concept of a device which transmits the alert or data via BLE (¶022; module wireless emergency alerting device 1 then sends the alert notification to the base station 2 via a wireless signal transmitter 10 via a wireless communications protocol such as, but not limited to Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, Wi-Fi, radio frequency identification (RFID technologies), cellular data connection, and/or high speed data connections such as 3G, and 4G Long-Term Evolution). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Chang with the concept of transmit the alert or data via BLE as taught by, Mattiaccio in order to send alert notifications between devices.
Regarding claim 5, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 1, and Chang further teaches wherein said at least one external sensor interface connector comprises at least two USB-C connectors, each supporting I2C communication, power delivery and an interrupt line for distinct external sensor modules (Pg 8, Para. 002; SOC module 210 with SOC-RGMII interface, two SOC-SPI interface, SOC-DATA interface, SOC-DDR interface and SOC-USB3.0 interface, wherein one SOC-SPI interface of the SOC module 210 is connected with the MCU-SPI interface of the MCU module 220, for realizing the state information interaction between the SOC module 210 and the MCU module 220, more specifically, the P28 pin of the SOC module 210, the R29 pin, the N31 pin and the P32 pin are respectively connected with the MCU module 220 of the 123 pin, the 135 pin, the 134 pin and the 133 pin connection. In addition, because the 5 G module 230 and the SOC module 210 there is a large amount of high speed data transmission, so using the USB 3.0 the SOC-USB3.0 interface connected with the 5 G-USB3.0 interface. Specifically, the B16 pin of the SOC module 210, the A15 pin, the A19 pin and the B18 are respectively connected with the B9 pin of the 5 G module 230, the B25 pin, the B10 pin and the B26 pin are connected. Through the USB3.0 bus, the SOC module 210 and the 5G module 230 realize high speed large data quantity transmission; also see Pg 7 Paras 5 & 6 for I2C communication & external sensors).
Regarding claim 6, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 1, and Chang further teaches wherein said at least one integrated sensor comprises: an accelerometer (see claim 1; & Pg 13, Para. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 1, and Chang teaches further comprising at least one external sensor module connecting to said at least one external sensor interface connector, the external sensor module comprising: an I2C interface for communication with said MCU (Pg 3, Para. 3, also see claim 1) and the external sensor module being powered by said central hub (Pg 11, Para 4, also see claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 8, and Chang further teaches wherein said external sensor module is selected from the group consisting of an SOS button module, a presence detection module (Pg. 4, Para. 5; the vehicle-mounted intelligent terminal with the V2X function is matched with the vehicle-mounted sensor and the camera system, it also can sense the surrounding environment, making quick adjustment, so as to realize zero traffic accident, for example, if the pedestrian is suddenly appeared, it can automatically reduce the speed to safe speed or stop) a window vibration sensor module, a child car seat pressure sensor module, and a driver biometric sensor module (optional features not chosen by Examiner).
Regarding claim 10, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 8, and Chang further teaches wherein said external sensor module is configured to transmit an interrupt signal to said MCU via the interrupt line upon detecting an event specific to its function (Pg. 4, Para. 5; the vehicle-mounted intelligent terminal with the V2X function is matched with the vehicle-mounted sensor and the camera system, it also can sense the surrounding environment, making quick adjustment, so as to realize zero traffic accident, for example, if the pedestrian is suddenly appeared, it can automatically reduce the speed to safe speed or stop).
Regarding claim 11, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 1, and Chang further teaches wherein said MCU is configured to periodically sample an analog output of said
microphone using an analog-to-digital converter in a low-power mode, to detect sound events (Pg. 7, Para. 002; codec is further connected with the microphone of the target vehicle through the main connecting port, encoder/decoder for encoding operation of the input audio of the microphone, so that the input audio is converted into digital audio signal by the analogue audio signal, finally the input audio after encoding operation is uploaded to the communication module 130).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (CN 218122679) in view of Mattiaccio et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 20160012712) further in view of Gokhan (TR 2024019890).
Regarding claim 2, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 1, but both are silent on wherein said power management system further comprises integrated solar panels charging said rechargeable battery. Gokhan from an analogous modular integrated power system wherein said power management system further comprises integrated solar panels (Pg 5, Para 003; The vehicle control unit (12) (VCU), which provides the electrical connection of the integrated power system with external systems and/or the communication connections with these systems, such as the electrical connection of the integrated power system with the solar panels, the driver's inputs and the vehicle information required for thermal management (accelerator pedal sensor, CAN (controller area network), a low voltage and high voltage connection module (7) which carries out the task of transferring information from components such as gear information and negative temperature coefficient (NTC) temperature senso) charging said rechargeable battery (Pg 5, Para 003-004; a modular battery module (1) with a cell to pack structure to perform the rechargeable energy storage function in the integrated power system, • a power distribution module (2) that is connected to the system with two busbars coming out of the modular battery module (1) and that is fed by the modular battery module (1), that performs the fuse and contactor functions of the components and contains the pre-charge circuit, and that shows modularity according to different support systems, • Vehicle control unit (12) (VCU), which contains the components of the vehicle control unit (12) (VCU), battery management system (13) (BMS) and insulation measurement device (10) (IMD) and performs the vehicle control functions). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Chang with the concept wherein said power management system further comprises integrated solar panels charging said rechargeable battery, as taught by, Gokhan for maintaining modular devices and battery management options.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (CN 218122679) in view of Mattiaccio et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 20160012712) further in view of ZHAO (CN 206685943).
Regarding claim 3, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 2, but both are silent on wherein said power management system further comprises a power booster IC to enhance charging from said solar panels in low-light conditions.
ZHAO from an analogous device art teaches the use of device further comprising a power booster IC to enhance charging from said solar panels (Pg 3, Para 002; circuit board 7 is provided with a booster circuit (not shown) and a charging management circuit (not shown), a booster circuit of the power supply input end and power supply output end of the storage battery 3 is connected. power output end of the boosting circuit are respectively connected in parallel with the first USB interface 8 and the second USB interface 9, the charging power input end of management circuit is respectively connected with the solar panel 4 and the third USB interface 12, charging management circuit power output end connected with the power supply input end of accumulator 3, accumulator 3 is a 18650 lithium ion battery, the type of the IC chip is ZS6366.) in low-light conditions. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Chang with the concept wherein the use of device further comprising a power booster IC to enhance charging from said solar panels, as taught by, ZHAO for the purpose of increasing the power supply input end.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (CN 218122679) in view of Mattiaccio et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 20160012712) further in view of Bennett (AU 2013204369).
Regarding claim 4, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 1, but both are silent on said central hub further comprises a user-operable button for initiating BLE pairing and an LED indicator for displaying pairing status.
Bennett from an analogous MCU providing an integrated Bluetooth* low energy transceiver art teaches the concept of a programable control device wherein a user-operable button for initiating BLE pairing (Para 063; Bluetooth* pairing is activated with a button 150) and
an LED indicator for displaying pairing status (FIG. 6, Para 063; the diagram 140 includes a LED indicator 148, which show that the device is in Bluetooth* pairing state with an external programming device). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Chang with the concept of including a user-operable button for initiating BLE pairing and an LED indicator for displaying pairing status, as taught by, Bennett in order to send alert notifications between devices.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (CN 218122679) in view of Mattiaccio et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 20160012712) further in view of CHO (WO 2018070741).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 1 / method of claim 14, but both are silent on wherein said MCU is further operable to, upon detection of motion by an integrated accelerometer and determination that the main vehicle dashcam is unresponsive or absent, activate a BLE beacon.
CHO from an analogous art mode to broadcast a unique identifier from said central hub wherein said MCU is further operable to, upon detection of motion by an integrated accelerometer and determination that the main vehicle dashcam is unresponsive or absent, activate a BLE beacon mode to broadcast a unique identifier from said central hub ( Pg. 11, Para. 003; when the connection between the electronic device 201 and the WiFi wireless access point located inside the user's home is cut off or the strength of the signal transmitted from the WiFi wireless access device becomes smaller than a certain intensity, It may be set in the electronic device 201 to activate the function to manage the. In another example, when the electronic device 201 receives a signal from a signal transmission device (eg, a BLE beacon) located at a certain place (eg, a door) of a user's home, the electronic device may be activated to activate a function of managing an article. It may be set in the device 201. At this time, for example, the signal transmission range of the signal transmission apparatus located at a certain place of the user's home may be arbitrarily set by the user. For another example, when the electronic device 201 is connected to a WiFi wireless access device located inside a user's work building, the electronic device 201 may be configured to activate a function of managing an article. As another example, the electronic device 201 may be connected to an on-board diagnostics version 2 (OBD2) device located inside a vehicle using Bluetooth. Here, OBD2 refers to a diagnosis standard and a system standard for checking and controlling the electric and electronic operation state of the vehicle. In this case, when the OBD2 device is connected to the electronic device 201 while being turned on from being turned off, the electronic device 201 may be set to activate a function of managing an article. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Chang with the concept wherein said MCU is further operable to, upon detection of motion by an integrated accelerometer and determination that the main vehicle dashcam is unresponsive or absent, activate a BLE beacon, as taught by, CHO so that when an electronic device 201 receives a signal from a signal transmission device (e.g., a BLE beacon)… electronic device may be activated /activate a function of managing an article.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (CN 218122679) in view of Mattiaccio et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 20160012712) further in view of Lewis-Cheeks (U.S. Patent 9,761,114).
Regarding claim 12, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 1, but both are silent on wherein said central hub is mountable via a transparent adhesive sticker and has physical dimensions not exceeding 4.0 cm x 4.0 cm x 2.0 cm.
Lewis-Cheeks from an analogous vehicular module art teaches a central hub (intelligent information sticker) which is mountable via a transparent adhesive sticker (col 3:14-25; system i with an intelligent information sticker which is configured to adhere to or within the window of the vehicle and is additionally equipped with an indicator light, a rechargeable battery, at least one solar cell, a speaker, and at least one LED bulb... intelligent information sticker preferably houses a central controller and interfaces with sensors). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Chang with the concept wherein said central hub is mountable via a transparent adhesive sticker, as taught by, Lewis-Cheeks so as to be adherable to an inside surface of the vehicle.
Chang, Mattiaccio and Lewis-Cheeks are all silent on having physical dimensions not exceeding 4.0 cm x 4.0 cm x 2.0 cm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the physical dimensions not exceeding 4.0 cm x 4.0 cm x 2.0 cm, since such a modifi-cation would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (CN 218122679) in view of Mattiaccio et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 20160012712) further in view of Xu (U.S. Patent 11,854.277).
Regarding claim 13, Chang and Mattiaccio teaches the system of claim 1, and Chang further teaches wherein said MCU is further operable to wake up the main dashcam, on wakeup or event detection (Pg. 10, Para. 4; the acceleration sensor 244 is internally provided with a vehicle grade three-axis acceleration sensor, which can real-timely sense the coordinate of the vehicle in the X axis, Y axis, Z axis three directions, by sensing the acceleration force in the three-coordinate direction of the front and back change, realizing the movement detection, vehicle collision detection state and so on; it also can be used for eCALL wake-up alarm source. the acceleration sensor 244 has an acceleration sensor-I2C interface, the acceleration sensor-I2C interface is connected with the MCU-I2C interface of the MCU module 220).
Chang and Mattiaccio does not mention and in turn the main dashcam aggregates an alert and data for transmission to the dashcam owner via cellular modem on the dashcam.
Xu from an analogous art teaches the concept wherein a main dashcam aggregates an alert and data for transmission to the dashcam owner via cellular modem on the dashcam (col 2:57 – col 3:5; In response to an emergency-related notification (e.g., an Amber Alert being issued), the dashcam 100 may be configured to transfer at least a portion of recorded data to a user device 106 (e.g., a cellular telephone, smart phone, tablet computer, personal digital assistant (PDA), etc.) using a wireless protocol. In an example, the user device 106 may be configured (e.g., via an installed program or application) to communicate information received in an Amber alert notification to the dashcam 100 and receive information in response from the dashcam 100. The user device 106 may be further configured to notify a user when information related to a notification sent to the dashcam 100 has been received). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Chang with the concept wherein a main dashcam aggregates an alert and data for transmission to the dashcam owner via cellular modem on the dashcam, as taught by, Xu, in order to notify a user when a notification sent to the dashcam has been received.
Conclusion
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685