Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the middle bar". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-18 are rejected due to dependance upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0366267 to Suh in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0397147 to Ren et al.
Claim 1, Suh discloses a foldable bed, comprising a support assembly comprising a first and a second support structure (11,15) pivotally connected to each other; and a plurality of bed sections including a plurality of support bars disposed on the support assembly comprising back support defined by a torso section (16,17) having a plurality of bars 20 and a first seat section 21 having support bars 20, a back lifting assembly comprising a back lifting bracket 60 pivotally connected to the first support structure and abutting against the torso section (fig. 7-9), and a back lifting actuator 50 pivotally connected between the back lifting bracket and the first support structure wherein in operation, the back lifting actuator drives the back lifting bracket to pivotally move in an upward rotating direction or a downward rotating direction relative to the first support structure, which in turn drives the back board to elevate or reline along the hinged end so as to adjust the torso section in desired positions [0028]; and wherein when the first support structure and the second support structure are folded, the plurality of bed sections are capable of being folded at the same time, thereby folding the foldable bed in a folded state [0033](fig. 3). Suh is silent to a plurality of bed boards. Ren discloses a plurality of bed boards comprising a back platform 2 and a first seat board defined by a waist platform 6 hinged to the back board and fixed upon a first support structure. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the back and seat platforms disclosed in Ren with the support structure of Suh with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed the back and the seat platform to move into positions that are more comfortable for the user’s back [0070].
Claim 19, Suh, as modified, discloses the foldable bed wherein the back board or Ren has an opening (3,4,5,16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 6,076,210 to Wu discloses an adjustable bed that is capable of being folded.
U.S. Pat. No. 8,091,165 to Mossbeck discloses an adjustable bed having a bracket abutting a back board.
U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0107024 to Xu disclose an adjustable bed having a bracket abutting a back board.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Troutman can be reached on (571) 270-3654. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679