DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-12, 16, 17, 22, and 27-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/30/2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 10, paragraph 96, line 11, the term “bag holder component” should be changed to --rod holder component--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 21 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21, line 1, the term “includes” should be replaced with --include--; and
Claim 29, line 1, the term --on-- should be inserted before “at least 3 sides”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, 13-15, 18, 21, and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, line 2 and claim 9, line 2, the terms “each rod holder component” render the claims vague and indefinite since they fail to positively refer back to and further modify the terms “at least one rod holder component” recited at lines 1 of claims 1 and 9. Possibly the term should be rewritten as --each of the at least one rod holder component--.
In regard to claim 1, line 5, the terms “the periphery” and “the base component” lack positive antecedent basis.
In regard to claim 1, line 4 and claim 9, line 4, the terms “the rod holder component” render the claims vague and indefinite since they fail to positively refer back to and further modify the terms “at least one rod holder component” recited at lines 1 of claims 1 and 9. Possibly the term should be rewritten as --each of the at least one rod holder component--.
In regard to claim 4, the terms “the entire circumference” and “the rod holder component” lack positive antecedent basis.
In regard to claims 5-6, the terms “each rod holder” render the claims vague and indefinite since they fail to positively refer back to and further modify the term “one or more rod holders” recited at line 2 of claim 1. Possibly the terms should be rewritten as --each of the one or more rod holders--.
In regard to claim 7, the term “said rod holders” lacks positive antecedent basis and the claim requires a period “.” to signify the end of the claim.
In regard to claim 8, the term “said rod holder” lacks positive antecedent basis and the claim requires a period “.” to signify the end of the claim.
In regard to claim 9, lines 5-6, the term “said rod holders” lacks positive antecedent basis.
In regard to claim 9, lines 9-10, the phrase “wherein the interface includes directional tongue and grooves and a detent with male and female elements” renders the claim vague and indefinite since the tongue 26 and grooves 30 and male 28 and female detent elements more specifically comprise the aligning elements, whereas the aligning elements comprise the interface. Possibly the phrase should be rewritten as --wherein the aligning elements include directional tongue and grooves and a detent with male and female elements--.
In regard to claim 15, the phrase “an internal structural element secured to the at least one side having an attached rod holder component” renders the claim vague and indefinite since the structural element 34 was disclosed in paragraph 94 of the specification as “is situated in between and perpendicular to the two rod holder components…can be inserted into the bag…can be situated within the bag perpendicular to the two rod holder components so as to provide support to the bag and to the rod holder components”, but structural element 34 was not disclosed as having an attached rod holder component. Paragraph 96 of the specification discloses “the fabric of the bag 10 is sandwiched between the rod holder component and an internal support structure 44…can also be an internal piece of support fabric or another material that helps to maintain the rod holder in place”. Possibly the term in question should be replaced with the term --an internal support structure-- and the phrase in question modified to reflect the actual structural relationship between the internal support structure 44 and the rod holder component 16. Also the phrase “at least one side having an attached rod holder component” renders the claim vague and indefinite since it fails to refer back to and further modify the initially recited term “a side wall of the bag” at lines 1-2 of claim 1.
In regard to claim 23, the term “the base component” lacks positive antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 13-15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2011-0117544 to Choi in view of Fast 5,209,009 or Clark, Jr. 11,399,526 or Gilmore 5,806,827 and Scicluna 7,228,962.
In regard to claim 1, Choi discloses a bag having at least one rod holder compartment (110) attached to a side wall (left and right sidewalls of 100 in Fig. 1) of the bag, each rod holder component including one or more rod holders (110) having side walls (110 made of fabric), each rod holder sized and arranged for holding a fishing rod (20), each rod holder component including a base (see outwardly extending lateral sides of 110 in Fig. 3) for attaching the rod holder component to the bag (see Fig. 3), wherein the base includes a stitching flange (see stitches extending vertically along 110 in Fig. 3; first fixing part 110 is completed by cutting the fabric in the same manner as main body 100 and then bending it to sew the outer surface of the main body 100 firmly) along the periphery of the base component (see Fig. 3), but does not disclose the one or more rod holders having rigid side walls. Fast, Clark, Jr., and Gilmore disclose at least one rod holder component (10 OR 100 OR 30) attached to a side wall of a container (14 OR 135 OR 12), each rod holder component including one or more rod holders (20,30a-b OR 105 OR 44) having rigid side walls (cylindrical sidewall 30a; fishing rod holder 10 formed of light, durable, strong and non-corrosive material such as plastic; also see connection member 24 in Fig. 5 that will only properly work with a rigid material OR fishing rod holders 105 formed on first side of plate 120; plate 120 includes one or more spacers 155 formed on second side of plate 120 and spacers 155 may be formed of any suitable material such as plastic, wood, stainless steel, aluminum or other durable material OR fishing rod support tube 44 is fabricated of plastic), each rod holder sized and arranged for holding a fishing rod (12 OR via fishing rod holders 105 OR 24), each rod holder component including a base (18 OR plate 120 OR 30) for attaching the rod holder to the container (14 OR 135 OR 12), wherein the base is attached to the container (via 32a, 24 in Figs. 1, 5 OR via 115, 125 in Figs. 1, 3, 4 OR via 40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more rod holders of Choi such that they have rigid side walls in view of Fast, Clark, Jr. or Gilmore in order to design the one or more rod holders such that they are constructed of stronger and stiffer material than the fabric of Choi and thus are better able to prevent potential external impacting forces from damaging the fishing rod handles held therein so as to provide more protection for the handles of the fishing rods during transport and use of the bag and to provide one or more rod holders which are not prone to tearing which destroys the integrity of the rod holders in being able to perform the intended function of supporting fishing rods therein. Choi and Fast, Clark, Jr. or Gilmore do not disclose wherein the base includes a stitching flange about the periphery of the base component. Scicluna discloses a luggage item/bag (10; see at col. 1, lines 12-16 which states “It is well known in luggage items to provide brackets of various designs for holding clothes carried on hangers, e.g., suits or dresses. Such prior art brackets, however, have not been entirely satisfactory, particularly for small, lightweight towable or carry-on bags.”) having at least one holder component (bracket 64) attached to wall (panel 30) of the luggage item/bag, each holder component (64) including one or more holders (hanger hooks 74) having rigid construction (bracket 64 is formed as a single-piece plastic component), each holder sized and arranged for holding wire or wooden clothes hangers, each holder component (64) including a base (base member 66) for attaching the holder to the luggage item/bag (10), wherein the base (66) includes a stitching flange (peripheral region 68) about the periphery of the base component (66; see Fig. 3) that is stitched to the luggage item/bag (10; the bracket 64 may be secured to the front panel 30 in any suitable manner, e.g., by stitching through the peripheral region 68; see col. 4, lines 36-38 & claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Choi and Fast, Clark, Jr. or Gilmore such that it includes a stitching flange about the periphery of the base component in view of Scicluna in order to strengthen the connection of the base to the bag and thus fully secure the at least one rod holder component about the periphery of the base so as to resist forces in any direction about the at least one rod holder component that could potentially detach the base from the bag.
In regard to claim 3, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Scicluna disclose wherein the stitching flange (68 of Scicluna) is integral to (Scicluna discloses bracket 64 is formed as a single-piece plastic component) and on at least two sides of the base (Choi discloses first fixing part 110 sewn to outer surface of main body 100 on at least two sides of 110 as shown in Figs. 1 & 3; 68 is stitched to 66 of Scicluna around the periphery of 66).
In regard to claim 4, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Scicluna disclose wherein the stitching flange (68 of Scicluna) is stitched to the side wall of the bag (left and right sidewalls of 100 in Fig. 1 of Choi; front panel/wall 30 of Scicluna) with a continuous stitching surrounding the entire circumference of the rod holder component (Figs. 1 & 3 of Choi show continuous stitching along the sides of 110; the bracket 64 may be secured to the front panel 30 in any suitable manner, e.g., by stitching through the peripheral region 68---see col. 4, lines 36-38 & claim 1 of Scicluna).
In regard to claim 5, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Scicluna disclose wherein each rod holder has at least two vertical side walls which are substantially parallel (see Figs. 1 & 3 of Choi showing side walls of 110 being parallel to each other).
In regard to claim 6, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Scicluna disclose wherein the plurality of side walls of each rod holder (110 of Choi) form a cylindrical shape (see Figs. 1 & 3 of Choi).
In regard to claim 13, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Scicluna disclose wherein the base (see outwardly extending lateral sides of 110 in Fig. 3 of Choi; 18 of Fast; 120 of Clark, Jr.; 30 of Gilmore) is assembled with one or more rod holders (110 of Choi; 20,30a-b of Fast; 105 of Clark, Jr.; 44 of Gilmore).
In regard to claim 14, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Scicluna disclose wherein the rod holder (110 of Choi) includes a rigid bottom (one end of 110 is blocked for load support and the fixing part hole 112 is opened at the other end of 110 of Choi; rigid rod holders as taught by Fast, Clark, Jr. or Gilmore).
In regard to claim 15, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Scicluna disclose an internal structural element (see horizontal middle shelf which is added if side plate Velcro 320 is added to the inner center portion of the fishing bag in Fig. 5 of Choi) secured to the at least one side (left and right side walls of 100 in Fig. 1 of Choi), the structural element having sides (sides of horizontal middle shelf of 320 in Fig. 5 of Choi) parallel to the vertical side walls of the rod holders (side walls of 110 of Choi in Figs. 1 & 3), and said structural element (horizontal middle shelf of 320 in Fig. 5 of Choi) having a longitudinal face which is perpendicular to the rod holder component (the planar surface of the horizontal middle shelf of 320 extends horizontally along the length of 320 in Fig. 5 of Choi and is perpendicular to the vertically extending rod holder component 110,112).
In regard to claim 18, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Scicluna disclose wherein the rod holder components are integrally formed (Fast discloses rod holder component 10 constructed as one piece of plastic as shown in Fig. 2; Clark, Jr. disclose fishing rod holders 105 formed on first side of plate 120 and that plate 120 includes one or more spacers 155 formed on second side of plate 120 and spacers 155 may be formed of any suitable material such as plastic, wood, stainless steel, aluminum or other durable material; Scicluna discloses bracket 64 is formed as a single-piece plastic component).
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2011-0117544 to Choi in view of Fast 5,209,009 or Clark, Jr. 11,399,526 or Gilmore 5,806,827 and Scicluna 7,228,962 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2010-178648 to Kida or JP 2013-046581 to Cho.
In regard to claim 7, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Scicluna do not disclose wherein the one or more rod holders include a leg element adapted to interface with said rod holders. Choi and Kida disclose wherein the one or more rod holders (10 OR 10) include a leg element (20 OR 12) adapted to interface with said rod holders (via 21-25 OR via 10f-h,12g in Figs. 5-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more rod holders of Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Scicluna such that the one or more rod holders include a leg element adapted to interface with said rod holders in view of Kida or Cho in order to provide either stabilization of the fishing bait bag (container body 1) when resting upon the ground so that the bag does not fall over to the side where the one or more rod holders are positioned as taught by Kida or to provide a mechanism for accommodating lighter weight fishing rods or heavier fishing rods by allowing the center of gravity of the heavier fishing rods to be lowered so as to prevent the bag (1) for fishing from inverting when the heavier fishing rods are supported in the one or more rod holders as taught by Cho.
In regard to claim 8, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, Scicluna, and Kida or Cho disclose wherein the leg element (20 of Kida OR 12 of Cho) adapted to interface with said rod holder (10 of Kida OR 10 of Cho) has an interface with aligning elements (21-25 of Kida OR 10f-h,12g in Figs. 5-6 of Cho).
In regard to claim 21, Choi, Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, Scicluna, and Kida or Cho disclose wherein the aligning elements include directional tongue (opposing side edges of 12 in Figs. 5-6 and short extension extending from the bottom surface of 12 in Figs. 5b-c of Kida OR 22,24 of Cho) and grooves (10f of Kida in Figs. 5-6 OR grooves defined within 21 for receiving 22 & 24 respectively of Cho) and a detent with male (12g of Kida OR 20a of Cho) and female (10g of Kida OR 25,25a of Cho) elements.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2011-0117544 to Choi in view of Fast 5,209,009 or Clark, Jr. 11,399,526 or Gilmore 5,806,827, and JP 2010-178648 to Kida or JP 2013-046581 to Cho.
In regard to claim 9, Choi discloses a bag having at least one rod holder compartment (110) attached to a side wall (left and right sidewalls of 100 in Fig. 1) of the bag, each rod holder component including one or more rod holders (110) having side walls (110 made of fabric), each rod holder sized and arranged for holding a fishing rod (20), each rod holder component including a base (see outwardly extending lateral sides of 110 in Fig. 3) for attaching the rod holder component to the bag (see Fig. 3), but does not disclose the one or more rod holders having rigid side walls. Fast, Clark, Jr., and Gilmore disclose at least one rod holder component (10 OR 100 OR 30) attached to a side wall of a container (14 OR 135 OR 12), each rod holder component including one or more rod holders (20,30a-b OR 105 OR 44) having rigid side walls (cylindrical sidewall 30a; fishing rod holder 10 formed of light, durable, strong and non-corrosive material such as plastic; also see connection member 24 in Fig. 5 that will only properly work with a rigid material OR fishing rod holders 105 formed on first side of plate 120; plate 120 includes one or more spacers 155 formed on second side of plate 120 and spacers 155 may be formed of any suitable material such as plastic, wood, stainless steel, aluminum or other durable material OR fishing rod support tube 44 is fabricated of plastic), each rod holder sized and arranged for holding a fishing rod (12 OR via fishing rod holders 105 OR 24), each rod holder component including a base (18 OR plate 120 OR 30) for attaching the rod holder to the container (14 OR 135 OR 12), wherein the base is attached to the container (via 32a, 24 in Figs. 1, 5 OR via 115, 125 in Figs. 1, 3, 4 OR via 40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more rod holders of Choi such that they have rigid side walls in view of Fast, Clark, Jr. or Gilmore in order to design the one or more rod holders such that they are constructed of stronger and stiffer material than the fabric of Choi and thus are better able to prevent potential external impacting forces from damaging the fishing rod handles held therein so as to provide more protection for the handles of the fishing rods during transport and use of the bag and to provide one or more rod holders which are not prone to tearing which destroys the integrity of the rod holders in being able to perform the intended function of supporting fishing rods therein. Choi and Fast, Clark, Jr. or Gilmore do not disclose wherein the one or more rod holders include a leg element adapted to interface with said rod holders or wherein the leg element adapted to interface with said rod holder has an interface with aligning elements or wherein the interface includes directional tongue and grooves and a detent with male and female elements. Choi and Kida disclose wherein the one or more rod holders (10 OR 10) include a leg element (20 OR 12) adapted to interface with said rod holders (via 21-25 OR via 10f-h,12g in Figs. 5-6); wherein the leg element (20 of Kida OR 12 of Cho) adapted to interface with said rod holder (10 of Kida OR 10 of Cho) has an interface with aligning elements (21-25 of Kida OR 10f-h,12g in Figs. 5-6 of Cho); and wherein the aligning elements include directional tongue (opposing side edges of 12 in Figs. 5-6 and short extension extending from the bottom surface of 12 in Figs. 5b-c of Kida OR 22,24 of Cho) and grooves (10f of Kida in Figs. 5-6 OR grooves defined within 21 for receiving 22 & 24 respectively of Cho) and a detent with male (12g of Kida OR 20a of Cho) and female (10g of Kida OR 25,25a of Cho) elements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more rod holders of Choi and Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore such that the one or more rod holders include a leg element adapted to interface with said rod holders in view of Kida or Cho in order to provide either stabilization of the fishing bait bag (container body 1) when resting upon the ground so that the bag does not fall over to the side where the one or more rod holders are positioned as taught by Kida or to provide a mechanism for accommodating lighter weight fishing rods or heavier fishing rods by allowing the center of gravity of the heavier fishing rods to be lowered so as to prevent the bag (1) for fishing from inverting when the heavier fishing rods are supported in the one or more rod holders as taught by Cho.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2011-0117544 to Choi in view of Fast 5,209,009 or Clark, Jr. 11,399,526 or Gilmore 5,806,827, and JP 2010-178648 to Kida or JP 2013-046581 to Cho as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Scicluna 7,228,962.
In regard to claims 23-24, Choi discloses wherein the base includes a stitching flange (see stitches extending vertically along 110 in Fig. 3; first fixing part 110 is completed by cutting the fabric in the same manner as main body 100 and then bending it to sew the outer surface of the main body 100 firmly) along the periphery of the base component (see Fig. 3), but Choi and Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Kida or Cho do not disclose wherein the base includes a flange about the periphery of the base component that is attached to the bag or wherein the flange is stitched to the bag on at least 3 sides of a periphery of the flange. Scicluna discloses a luggage item/bag (10; see at col. 1, lines 12-16 which states “It is well known in luggage items to provide brackets of various designs for holding clothes carried on hangers, e.g., suits or dresses. Such prior art brackets, however, have not been entirely satisfactory, particularly for small, lightweight towable or carry-on bags.”) having at least one holder component (bracket 64) attached to wall (panel 30) of the luggage item/bag, each holder component (64) including one or more holders (hanger hooks 74) having rigid construction (bracket 64 is formed as a single-piece plastic component), each holder sized and arranged for holding wire or wooden clothes hangers, each holder component (64) including a base (base member 66) for attaching the holder to the luggage item/bag (10), wherein the base (66) includes a stitching flange (peripheral region 68) about the periphery of the base component (66; see Fig. 3) that is stitched to the luggage item/bag on at least 3 sides of a periphery of the flange (10; the bracket 64 may be secured to the front panel 30 in any suitable manner, e.g., by stitching through the peripheral region 68; see col. 4, lines 36-38 & claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Choi and Fast, Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Kida or Cho such that it includes a stitching flange about the periphery of the base component which is stitched to the bag on at least 3 sides of a periphery of the flange in view of Scicluna in order to strengthen the connection of the base to the bag and thus fully secure the at least one rod holder component about the periphery of the base so as to resist forces in any direction about the at least one rod holder component that could potentially detach the base from the bag.
Claim(s) 23, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2011-0117544 to Choi in view of Fast 5,209,009 or Clark, Jr. 11,399,526 or Gilmore 5,806,827, and JP 2010-178648 to Kida or JP 2013-046581 to Cho as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Revels 2019/0166981.
In regard to claims 23 and 25-26, Choi discloses wherein the base includes a stitching flange (see stitches extending vertically along 110 in Fig. 3; first fixing part 110 is completed by cutting the fabric in the same manner as main body 100 and then bending it to sew the outer surface of the main body 100 firmly) along the periphery of the base component (see Fig. 3), but Choi and Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Kida or Cho do not disclose wherein the base includes a flange about the periphery of the base that is attached to the bag or wherein the flange is welded to the bag or wherein the flange is RF welded to the bag. Revels discloses at least one holder component (220 with 222,224,226,228 & 230 with 232,234,236,238) wherein the base (220,230) includes a flange (welded interfaces 191) about the periphery of the base (220,230 in Fig. 2) that is attached to the bag (100), wherein the flange is welded to the bag (via welded interfaces 191), and wherein the flange (welded interfaces 191) is RF welded (see para. 0043) to the bag (100) about the entire periphery of the flange (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flange of Choi and Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, and Kida or Cho such that it is RF welded to the bag in view of Revels in order to provide an alternative yet equally effective means for attaching the base to the bag so as to provide a seam with integrity and strength and which does not require the same degree of manufacturing precision necessary for the attachment to be made so as to allow the manufacturing process to occur with greater speed.
Claim(s) 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2011-0117544 to Choi in view of Fast 5,209,009 or Clark, Jr. 11,399,526 or Gilmore 5,806,827, JP 2010-178648 to Kida or JP 2013-046581 to Cho, and Scicluna 7,228,962 as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Revels 2019/0166981.
In regard to claims 25-26, Choi discloses wherein the base includes a stitching flange (see stitches extending vertically along 110 in Fig. 3; first fixing part 110 is completed by cutting the fabric in the same manner as main body 100 and then bending it to sew the outer surface of the main body 100 firmly) along the periphery of the base component (see Fig. 3), but Choi and Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, Kida or Cho, and Scicluna do not disclose wherein the flange is welded to the bag or wherein the flange is RF welded to the bag. Revels discloses at least one holder component (220 with 222,224,226,228 & 230 with 232,234,236,238) wherein the base (220,230) includes a flange (welded interfaces 191) about the periphery of the base (220,230 in Fig. 2) that is attached to the bag (100), wherein the flange is welded to the bag (via welded interfaces 191), and wherein the flange (welded interfaces 191) is RF welded (see para. 0043) to the bag (100) about the entire periphery of the flange (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flange of Choi and Fast or Clark, Jr. or Gilmore, Kida or Cho, and Scicluna such that it is RF welded to the bag in view of Revels in order to provide an alternative yet equally effective means for attaching the base to the bag so as to provide a seam with integrity and strength and which does not require the same degree of manufacturing precision necessary for the attachment to be made so as to allow the manufacturing process to occur with greater speed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Thompson 7,415,794 discloses a container (10) having at least one holder component (30,32) attached to a side wall (12) of a container (10,11), the at least one holder component including a base (30) for attaching the holder component to the container (via 33), wherein the base (30) includes snaps (33) about the periphery of the base that is attached to the container (10,11).
/DARREN W ARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647
DWA