DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 102
CLAIMS 1-3, 5-10, 12-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by SEO et al (US 2022/0232388).
a. Per claim 1, SEO et al teach a method comprising:
installing, on an embedded Subscriber Identity Module (eSIM) of a client device, a first eSIM profile (paras 0107, 0113, 0151, 0166—loading an eSIM profile on an eSIM for installation on an element in a device);
receiving, by the client device, a first request to activate the first eSIM profile (paras 0240-242—request to generate a first eSIM profile); and
in response to receiving the first request (paras 0241, 0245-246, 0250—in response to a request):
establishing, by the client device and using the eSIM, an encrypted connection between the client device and a remote private network (paras 0014, 0113, 0130, 0142, 0151, 0220-221, 0285—encryption keys for connecting between user and private network); and
accessing, by the client device and using the eSIM, resources of the remote private network via the encrypted connection (paras 0008, 0012, 0026, 0030, 0043, 0162—client device using the eSIM accessing secure private network).
Claims 8 and 15 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
b. Per claim 2, SEO et al teach the method of claim 1, comprising: receiving, by the client device, a second request to activate a second eSIM profile installed on the eSIM of the client device (paras 0048, 0057, 0059, 0064-66, 0241-242—request to generate second eSIM profile).
Claim 9 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 2 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
c. Per claim 3, SEO et al teach the method of claim 2, comprising: in response to receiving the second request, establishing, by the client device and using the eSIM, a connection between the client device and the Internet (paras 0008, 0104, 0115, 0150, 0241-242—establish connection between the client and internet).
Claims 10 and 16 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 3 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
e. Per claim 5, SEO et al teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the remote private network comprises one or more application computers; and accessing the resources of the remote private network comprises accessing one or more resources of one or more applications hosted on the one or more application computers (paras 0018, 0026, 0036, 0043, 0156—hosting of applications on computers in a private network for access).
Claims 12 and 18 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 5 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
f. Per claim 6, SEO et al teach the method of claim 1, comprising: displaying, by the client device, a list of eSIM profiles comprising the first eSIM profile and a second eSIM profile (paras 0160, 0214, 0252—listing of eSIM profiles, display a list of available eSIM profile templates).
Claims 13 and 19 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 6 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
g. Per claim 7, SEO et al teach the method of claim 1, comprising: receiving, by the client device, eSIM profile information from a remote network management computer, wherein installing the first eSIM profile is performed using the eSIM profile information (Abstract, paras 0107, 0113, 0151, 0166—loading an eSIM profile on an eSIM for installation on an element in a device, consumer remote SIM provisioning architecture).
Claims 14 and 20 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 7 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
III. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
IV. CLAIMS 4, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEO et al (US 2022/0232388) in view of CHEN et al (USPN 10,959,087).
Per claim 4, SEO et al teach the method of claim 1, yet fail to explicitly teach “wherein: the remote private network comprises a gateway computer; and establishing the encrypted connection comprises establishing a peer-to-peer connection to the gateway computer of the remote private network”. CHEN et al teach establishing peer connections between the client devices and private network (col.15 lines 10-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to combine the teachings of SEO et al and CHEN et al for the purpose of establishing peer connections for communications with the private network, which are well-known in the art for direct P2P network communications.
Claims 11 and 17 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 4 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Conclusion
V. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: USPN 11516676, US 2022/0394484, US 2023/0254675.
VI. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTIE D SHINGLES whose telephone number is (571)272-3888. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 10am-7pm.
/KRISTIE D SHINGLES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453