DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not follow the guidelines set out above. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of array ports and plurality of beam ports (claims 1 and 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 5): “to a different port in the array of ports” should read “to a different port in the plurality of array
Claim 2 (line 2): “receiving antenna” should read “receiving antennas”.
Claim 8 (line 5): “to a different port in the array of ports of the” should read “to a different port in the plurality of array
Claim 9: “Buttler” should read “Butler”.
Claim 10: “Frensel” should read “Fresnel”.
Claim 11 (line 2): “receiving antenna” should read “receiving antennas”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-7 are objected to due to their dependency on claim 1. Claims 12-16 are objected to due to their dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch et al. (NPL “5G/mm-wave fully-passive dual Rotman lens-based harmonic mmID for long range microlocalization over wide angular ranges” – published Jan 2023; “Lynch”) in view of Tran et al. (US 10530448; “Tran”).
Claim 1: Lynch discloses (annotated fig. 1 below) A localization and orientation sensing tag (p. 331, line 1, “multitag and localized sensing applications”), comprising:
a Rotman lens (upper Rotman lens of fig. 1) having a plurality of array ports (p. 331, Section II, “eight array ports”) and a plurality of beam ports (p. 331, Section II, “six beam ports”);
a set of receiving antennas (upper antennas for receiving signal with frequency f0), each antenna in the set of receiving antennas is electrically coupled to a different port in the plurality of array ports of the Rotman lens (eight antenna sets are each electrically coupled to a different port of the plurality of array ports);
a set of transmitting antennas (eight of the lower antennas for transmitting signal with frequency 2f0), each antenna in the set of transmitting antennas is electrically coupled to a different port in the plurality of beam ports of the Rotman lens (all transmitting antennas are electrically coupled to the different ports of the plurality of beam ports of the upper Rotman lens via the lower Rotman lens);
a set of switches (fig. 5 & p. 332, “Schottky diode” – a diode can act as a switch), where a switch from the set of switches is disposed in each path electrically coupling a port in the plurality of beam ports to an antenna in the set of transmitting antennas (shown in annotated fig. 1)”.
Lynch does not explicitly disclose “and a baseband circuit interfaced with each switch in the set of switches”.
Tran teaches an apparatus (fig. 1) comprising an antenna array capable of supporting different beampatterns. The Tran apparatus includes using a Butler matrix 140 with eight beam ports (antenna ports 142), where each beam port is connected to a different switched port 122 of a switch network 120. The switch network 120 includes a set of switches. A baseband circuit (radio baseband unit 111) is interfaced with each switch in the set of switches (col. 1, lines 40-44 - “In operation, the RBU 111 provides (i) an FEM-control signal 112 to control the operations of the FEM 115 and (ii) a switch-control signal 113 to control the switch network 120 to connect its common port 121 to one and only one of its eight switched ports 122”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensing tag of Lynch to include a baseband circuit interfaced with each switch in the set of switches, as taught by Tran. Doing so allows for a received signal to be that can be processed for localization and orientation sensing on board the sensing tag (Tran col. 2, lines 10-12; “the RBU 111 which performs suitable signal processing on the Rx signal”).
Examiner’s note: According to MPEP 2112.01, when the structure recited in the
reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are
presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or
substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially
identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been
established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO
shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705,
709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Claim 2: Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 1 wherein each antenna in the set of receiving antennas is further defined as a patch antenna (p. 331, Section II of Lynch, “series-fed patch antenna arrays”).
Claim 4: Lynch teaches the sensing tag at different frequencies (Lynch discloses the range of the sensing tag is enabled through the 5G/mm-Wave frequency bands (p. 334, col. 2), that is, at different frequencies).
Lynch does not specifically disclose modulate signals prior to the signals reaching an antenna in the set of transmitting antennas.
Tran teaches the baseband circuit (RBU 111) modulates signals prior to the signals reaching an antenna in the set of transmitting antennas (col. 1, lines 45-57; “When operated in the transceiver's transmit (Tx) mode, the RBU 111 transmits a digital baseband Tx signal 114 to the FEM 115, which converts the baseband signal Tx 114 into an analog RF Tx signal 116, which is transmitted to the switch network 120. Based on the switch-control signal 113 received from the RBU 111, the switch network 120 routes the Tx signal 116 as Tx signal 123 to one and only one of the eight beam ports 141 of the Butler matrix 140, which phase-shifts, routes, and transmits the Tx signal 123 as eight differently phase-shifted Tx signals 143 from the Butler matrix's eight antenna ports 142 to the eight feed networks 180, which wirelessly transmit the eight phase-shifted Tx signals 143 in a particular beampattern”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensing tag of Lynch modulate signals prior to the signals reaching an antenna in the set of transmitting antennas. Doing so allows for a received signal to be that can be processed for localization and orientation sensing on board the sensing tag (Tran col. 2, lines 10-12; “the RBU 111 which performs suitable signal processing on the Rx signal”).
Claim 5: Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 4 wherein the baseband circuit modulates signals by turning on and off switches in the set of switches. Tran teaches (col. 1, lines 40-44) the baseband circuit (RBU 111) provides a switch-control signal 113 to control the switch network to connect its common port 121 to one and only one of its eight switched ports 122, thereby modulating the signal.
Claim 6: Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 1 further comprises a capacitor (p. 332, “a surface mount 100 nF capacitor is placed at the output of the frequency doubler to ensure that each diode is not connected in parallel at DC”) disposed in each path electrically coupling a port in the plurality of beam ports to an antenna in the set of transmitting antennas (fig. 5 of Lynch).
Claim 8: Lynch discloses (annotated fig. 1) A localization and orientation sensing tag, comprising: a passive beam forming network (title, Fully-Passive Dual Rotman Lens; upper Rotman lens of fig. 1) having a plurality of array ports (p. 331, Section II, “eight array ports”) and a plurality of beam ports (p. 331, Section II, “six beam ports”);
a set of receiving antennas (upper antennas for receiving signal with frequency f0), each antenna in the set of receiving antennas is electrically coupled to a different port in the plurality of array ports of the beam forming network (eight antenna sets are each electrically coupled to a different port of the plurality of array ports), wherein beams incident upon the set of receiving antennas (upper antennas) from different directions are directed to different ports in the plurality of beam ports of the beam forming network (see fig. 3 which shows angle-dependent gain of Rotman lens at six beam ports; also see Examiner’s note);
a set of transmitting antennas (eight of the lower antennas for transmitting signal with frequency 2f0), each antenna in the set of transmitting antennas is electrically coupled to a different port in the plurality of beam ports of the beam forming network (all transmitting antennas are electrically coupled to the different ports of the plurality of beam ports of the upper Rotman lens via the lower Rotman lens);
a set of switches (fig. 5 & p. 332, “Schottky diode” – a diode can act as a switch), where a switch from the set of switches is disposed in each path electrically coupling a port in the plurality of beam ports to an antenna in the set of transmitting antennas (shown in annotated fig. 1)
Lynch does not explicitly disclose “and a baseband circuit interfaced with each switch in the set of switches”.
Tran teaches an apparatus (fig. 1) comprising an antenna array capable of supporting different beampatterns. The Tran apparatus includes using a Butler matrix 140 with eight beam ports (antenna ports 142), where each beam port is connected to a different switched port 122 of a switch network 120. The switch network 120 includes a set of switches. A baseband circuit (radio baseband unit 111) is interfaced with each switch in the set of switches (col. 1, lines 40-44 - “In operation, the RBU 111 provides (i) an FEM-control signal 112 to control the operations of the FEM 115 and (ii) a switch-control signal 113 to control the switch network 120 to connect its common port 121 to one and only one of its eight switched ports 122”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensing tag of Lynch to include a baseband circuit interfaced with each switch in the set of switches, as taught by Tran. Doing so allows for a received signal to be that can be processed for localization and orientation sensing on board the sensing tag (Tran col. 2, lines 10-12; “the RBU 111 which performs suitable signal processing on the Rx signal”).
Examiner’s note: According to MPEP 2112.01, when the structure recited in the
reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are
presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or
substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially
identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been
established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO
shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705,
709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Claim 9: Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 8, wherein the beam forming network is further defined as one of a Butler matrix (Tran teaches the Butler matrix 140, col. 1, lines 65- to col. 2, lines 1-5).
Claim 10: Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 8, wherein the beam forming network is further defined as one of a dielectric lens (Section IIA of Lynch; “two passive BFNs were fabricated on a Rogers 4350 B substate”).
Claim 11: Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 8 wherein each antenna in the set of receiving antennas is further defined as a patch antenna (p. 331, Section II of Lynch, “series-fed patch antenna arrays”).
Claim 4: Lynch teaches the sensing tag at different frequencies (Lynch discloses the range of the sensing tag is enabled through the 5G/mm-Wave frequency bands (p. 334, col. 2), that is, at different frequencies).
Lynch does not specifically disclose modulate signals prior to the signals reaching an antenna in the set of transmitting antennas.
Tran teaches the baseband circuit (RBU 111) modulates signals prior to the signals reaching an antenna in the set of transmitting antennas (col. 1, lines 45-57; “When operated in the transceiver's transmit (Tx) mode, the RBU 111 transmits a digital baseband Tx signal 114 to the FEM 115, which converts the baseband signal Tx 114 into an analog RF Tx signal 116, which is transmitted to the switch network 120. Based on the switch-control signal 113 received from the RBU 111, the switch network 120 routes the Tx signal 116 as Tx signal 123 to one and only one of the eight beam ports 141 of the Butler matrix 140, which phase-shifts, routes, and transmits the Tx signal 123 as eight differently phase-shifted Tx signals 143 from the Butler matrix's eight antenna ports 142 to the eight feed networks 180, which wirelessly transmit the eight phase-shifted Tx signals 143 in a particular beampattern”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensing tag of Lynch modulate signals prior to the signals reaching an antenna in the set of transmitting antennas. Doing so allows for a received signal to be that can be processed for localization and orientation sensing on board the sensing tag (Tran col. 2, lines 10-12; “the RBU 111 which performs suitable signal processing on the Rx signal”).
Claim 14: Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 13 wherein the baseband circuit modulates signals by turning on and off switches in the set of switches. Tran teaches (col. 1, lines 40-44) the baseband circuit (RBU 111) provides a switch-control signal 113 to control the switch network to connect its common port 121 to one and only one of its eight switched ports 122, thereby modulating the signal.
Claim 15: Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 8 further comprises a capacitor (Lynch p. 332, “a surface mount 100 nF capacitor is placed at the output of the frequency doubler to ensure that each diode is not connected in parallel at DC”) disposed in each path electrically coupling a port in the plurality of beam ports to an antenna in the set of transmitting antennas (fig. 5 of Lynch).
Claim(s) 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch et al. (NPL “5G/mm-wave fully-passive dual Rotman lens-based harmonic mmID for long range microlocalization over wide angular ranges” – published Jan 2023; “Lynch”) in view of Tran, and further in view of Dabrowski et al. (US 2020/0136271; “Dab”).
Claim 3: the modified Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein antennas in the set of receiving antennas are vertically polarized and antennas in the set of transmitting antennas are horizontally polarized.
Dab teaches an RFID (¶8) comprising patch antennas (¶6) wherein the receive antenna is vertically polarized and the transmit antenna is horizontally polarized (¶9, “a method for operating an antenna apparatus comprises receiving, by a receive antenna of the antenna apparatus, a signal with a first polarization. The method further comprises passively modifying, by the antenna apparatus, the first polarization of the signal to a second polarization. Further, the method comprises transmitting, by a transmit antenna of the antenna apparatus, the signal with the second polarization. In one or more embodiments, the receive antenna is communicatively coupled (e.g., via a feed line) to the transmit antenna.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the tag of Lynch in view of Tran, wherein antennas in the set of receiving antennas are vertically polarized and antennas in the set of transmitting antennas are horizontally polarized, as taught by Dab. Doing so allows for a localization tag which has a smaller size and simpler components than other, known tags (¶31 of Dab).
Claim 12: the modified Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 8 but does not explicitly teach wherein antennas in the set of receiving antennas are vertically polarized and antennas in the set of transmitting antennas are horizontally polarized.
Dab teaches an RFID (¶8) comprising patch antennas (¶6) wherein the receive antenna is vertically polarized and the transmit antenna is horizontally polarized (¶9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the tag of Lynch in view of Tran, wherein antennas in the set of receiving antennas are vertically polarized and antennas in the set of transmitting antennas are horizontally polarized, as taught by Dab. Doing so allows for a localization tag which has a smaller size and simpler components than other, known tags (¶31 of Dab).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch et al. (NPL “5G/mm-wave fully-passive dual Rotman lens-based harmonic mmID for long range microlocalization over wide angular ranges” – published Jan 2023; “Lynch”) in view of Tran et al. (US10530448B1; “Tran”), and further in view of Boddi et al. (US 2024/0094332; “Boddi”).
Claim 7: the modified Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 1.
Lynch fails to disclose the sensing tag is integrated into a vehicle. However, Lynch does disclose the sensing tag operates as part of a radar system (abstract).
Boddi teaches a radar sensor integrated into a vehicle (abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensing tag of Lynch in view of Tran, wherein the sensing tag is integrated into a vehicle, as taught by Boddi. Doing so allows for the sensing tag to be used to detect the presence of an occupant within the cabin of the vehicle, as well as outward facing sensors which can be used, for example, for autonomous driving control (¶10 of Boddi).
Claim 16: the modified Lynch teaches the sensing tag of claim 8.
Lynch does not explicitly disclose the sensing tag integrated into a vehicle. However, Lynch does disclose that the tag is a radar tag (FMCW radar).
Lynch fails to disclose the sensing tag is integrated into a vehicle. However, Lynch does disclose the sensing tag operates as part of a radar system (abstract).
Boddi teaches a radar sensor integrated into a vehicle (abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensing tag of Lynch in view of Tran, wherein the sensing tag is integrated into a vehicle, as taught by Boddi. Doing so allows for the sensing tag to be used to detect the presence of an occupant within the cabin of the vehicle, as well as outward facing sensors which can be used, for example, for autonomous driving control (¶10 of Boddi).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lynch et al. NPL “Ultra-long-range dual rotman lenses-based harmonic mmID’s for 5G/mm-Wave IoT Applications” – pub. 2022.
Louberg (US 7,019,682) - imaging millimeter wave radar system (fig. 1) having a receiving antenna (42), a Rotman lens (40) and a baseband circuit.
Williams (US 2021/0373141) – radar system including a Rotman lens.
Chowdhury et al. (US 2013/0027240) – radar system including a Rotman lens.
Wang (US 2021/0174157) – passive RFID tag with embedded sensor interface (onboard baseband circuitry).
Kinamon (US 2017/0149135) – beamforming using a Rotman lens or a Butler matrix.
Artemenko (US 2017/0062948) – beam steerable apparatus using Butler matrix and baseband circuitry.
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845