DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9, 13, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “one or playerson” should instead read “one or more players on”
In claim 1, steps a-h, each instance of “a sum,” “a predetermined break number,” and “a predetermined number” should instead read “the sum,” “the predetermined break number,” or “the predetermined number,” respectively, since these terms were already recited in lines 4-5 of claim 1
In claims 1 and 20, “h) a combination SIDE BET of any of options a-h” should instead read “h) a combination SIDE BET of any of options a-g”
In claims 2-9, “wherein a combination side bet” should instead read “wherein the combination side bet” since “a combination side bet” is already recited in claim 1
In claims 2-9 and 13, “a predetermined number of the community cards” should instead read “the predetermined number of the community cards” since “a predetermined number” is already recited in claim 1
In claims 2-3 and 5, “a sum of the values” should instead read “the sum of the values” since “a sum of the values” is already recited in claim 1
In claims 2-5 and 13, “an red… indicia” should instead read “a red… indicia”
In claims 6-9 and 13, “an black… indicia” should instead read “a black… indicia”
In claim 18, “positioning bets on the at least one call wager” should instead read “positioning bets on the at least one call indicia” to maintain clarity and consistent phrasing
In claim 20, “one or players” should instead read “one or more players”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 repeatedly recites the limitation "the community cards," first in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea(s) without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1, analyzed as the representative claim:
[Step 1] Claim 1 recites “A method…” which falls within the “process” statutory category of invention under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
[Step 2A – Prong 1] Claim 1 recites “A method for playing a game of chance, comprising:
randomizing a deck of playing cards;
presenting a plurality of SIDE BET indicia presenting betting options associated with at least two of: whether a sum of a plurality of subsequently received community cards will be over, under or exactly a predetermined break number, whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be red or black, and whether a sum of the values of the community cards will be odd or even;
receiving at least one SIDE BET wager from one or [more players on] at least one of the following:
a) whether a sum of a plurality of subsequently revealed community cards will be over a predetermined break number;
b) whether a sum of the game cards will be under the predetermined break number;
c) whether a sum of the community cards will be exactly the predetermined break number;
d) whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be red;
e) whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be black;
f) whether a sum of the values of the community cards will be an odd number;
g) whether a sum of the values of the community cards will be an even number;
h) a combination SIDE BET of any of options a-[g];
revealing the community cards from the deck; and determining whether any of the one or more players are winners based on the received SIDE BET wagers of the one or more players, and paying the winners an amount associated with the SIDE BET wagers of the winners.”
The bolded limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, encompass methods of organizing human activity, including fundamental economic practices (rules for conducting a wagering game). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). Specifically, the claim encompasses a card game played between people with a standard deck of cards with rules for conducting a wagering game (i.e., collecting wagers and paying out winnings). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea(s).
[Step 2A – Prong 2] The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Specifically, the claim recites a physical card game with only the additional elements of a standard deck of playing cards and shuffling and revealing those cards, which the courts have found to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity and/or as insignificant extra-solution activity, which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea(s). In re Smith, 815 F.3d 816, 819, 118 USPQ2d 1245, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea(s).
[Step 2B] The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea(s) into a practical application, the additional elements of a standard deck of playing cards and the acts of shuffling and revealing those cards have been found to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II). Accordingly, representative claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-19 are dependent on representative claim 1 and include all of the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea(s) as those recited in the independent claim or contain limitations drawn to generic computer components and/or reciting extra solution activities. While the dependent claims may have a narrower scope than the representative claim, no claim contains an additional element to integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application or to render an inventive concept that transforms the corresponding claim into a patent eligible application of the otherwise ineligible abstract idea(s). Thereby, claims 2-19 are also patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2012/0165090 (hereinafter “Duffy”).
Regarding Claim 1, Duffy discloses randomizing a deck of playing cards (pars. 0004, 0039: Examiner notes shuffling/randomizing the deck of playing cards is an inherent and necessary step when playing a standard game of Texas hold’em);
presenting a plurality of SIDE BET indicia presenting betting options associated with at least two of: whether a sum of a plurality of subsequently received community cards will be over (fig. 2: designated player betting slot 24-8 for community cards being over a predetermined break number; par. 0083: “A side bet on the ‘Over’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to a value higher than a predetermined base number”), under or exactly a predetermined break number (fig. 2: designated player betting slot 24-9 for community cards being under a predetermined break number; par. 0084: “the ‘Under’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to a value lower than a predetermined base number”), whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be red or black (fig. 2: designated player betting slot 24-3 for community cards majority black and betting slot 24-4 for being majority red; pars. 0095-0096: “if a player places a side bet on ‘Majority Red’… player wins the side bet because there are 2 red cards and 1 black card”), and whether a sum of the values of the community cards will be odd or even (fig. 2: designated player betting slot 24-7 for community cards being even and betting slot 24-8 for being odd; par. 0077: “A side bet on the ‘Odd’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to an odd value;” par. 0080: “the ‘Even’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to an even value”);
receiving at least one SIDE BET wager from one or more players (abstract: “Players… have the option of placing side bets based solely on a predetermined sub-set of the community cards”) on at least one of the following:
a) whether a sum of a plurality of subsequently revealed community cards will be over a predetermined break number (par. 0083: “A side bet on the ‘Over’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to a value higher than a predetermined base number”);
b) whether a sum of the game cards will be under the predetermined break number (par. 0084: “the ‘Under’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to a value lower than a predetermined base number”);
c) whether a sum of the community cards will be exactly the predetermined break number;
d) whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be red (pars. 0095-0096: “if a player places a side bet on ‘Majority Red’… player wins the side bet because there are 2 red cards and 1 black card”);
e) whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be black (par. 0123: “player 14-1 may place a side bet on player betting slot 22-1 betting on the predetermined sub-set of community cards 18 being ‘Majority Black’”);
f) whether a sum of the values of the community cards will be an odd number (par. 0077: “A side bet on the ‘Odd’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to an odd value”);
g) whether a sum of the values of the community cards will be an even number (par. 0080: “the ‘Even’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to an even value”);
h) a combination SIDE BET of any of options a-g;
revealing the community cards from the deck (par. 0004: “a betting round. Then three community cards are dealt facing up to form the "flop"… fourth community card known as the "turn"… and a fifth community card known as the "river" is dealt; par. 0007: “Side bets are taken from each qualified player exercising their option and community cards are dealt during play”); and
determining whether any of the one or more players are winners based on the received SIDE BET wagers of the one or more players (par. 0039: “predetermined sub-set 18 of the community cards 20 is used to determine the outcome of the side betting according to rules that govern the side betting”), and paying the winners an amount associated with the SIDE BET wagers of the winners (par. 0007: “Each successful side bet is awarded according to the predetermined sub-set of the community cards and also according to rules governing side betting;” abstract: “Players… have the option of placing side bets based solely on a predetermined sub-set of the community cards… Successful side bets are awarded according to the predetermined sub-set of the community cards and rules governing the side betting”).
Regarding Claim 10, Duffy further discloses the subsequently received community cards include three randomly selected playing cards from the deck of playing cards (fig. 1: three community cards 18; par. 0004: “three community cards are dealt;” par. 0039: “three cards are used as the predetermined sub-set 18 of the community cards 20. This predetermined sub-set 18 of the community cards 20 is used to determine the outcome of the side betting according to rules that govern the side betting”).
Regarding Claim 11, Duffy further discloses the predetermined break number is twenty (par. 0079: “For example, the dealer (or casino) may set a base number of 20 and a rule that the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards has to be over the base number”).
Regarding Claim 12, Duffy further discloses the predetermined number of community cards in evaluating whether the predetermined number of the community cards will be red or black is a majority of the community cards being the selected one of red or black (fig. 2: designated player betting slot 24-3 for community cards majority black and betting slot 24-4 for being majority red; pars. 0095-0096: “if a player places a side bet on ‘Majority Red’… player wins the side bet because there are 2 red cards and 1 black card”).
Regarding Claim 20, Duffy discloses randomizing a deck of playing cards (pars. 0004, 0039: Examiner notes shuffling/randomizing the deck of playing cards is an inherent and necessary step when playing a standard game of Texas hold’em);
receiving at least one SIDE BET wager from one or more players (abstract: “Players… have the option of placing side bets based solely on a predetermined sub-set of the community cards”) on at least one of the following:
a) whether a sum of values of the community cards will be over a predetermined break number (par. 0083: “A side bet on the ‘Over’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to a value higher than a predetermined base number”);
b) whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be under the predetermined break number (par. 0084: “the ‘Under’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to a value lower than a predetermined base number”);
c) whether the sum of the community cards will be exactly the predetermined break number;
d) whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be red (pars. 0095-0096: “if a player places a side bet on ‘Majority Red’… player wins the side bet because there are 2 red cards and 1 black card”);
e) whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be black (par. 0123: “player 14-1 may place a side bet on player betting slot 22-1 betting on the predetermined sub-set of community cards 18 being ‘Majority Black’”);
f) whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be an odd number (par. 0077: “A side bet on the ‘Odd’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to an odd value”);
g) whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be an even number (par. 0080: “the ‘Even’ side betting slot is a side bet on the accumulative total of the predetermined sub-set of community cards adding up to an even value”);
h) a combination SIDE BET of any of options a-g;
revealing the community cards from the deck (par. 0004: “a betting round. Then three community cards are dealt facing up to form the "flop"… fourth community card known as the "turn"… and a fifth community card known as the "river" is dealt; par. 0007: “Side bets are taken from each qualified player exercising their option and community cards are dealt during play”); and
determining whether any of the one or more players are winners based on the received SIDE BET wagers of the one or more players (par. 0039: “predetermined sub-set 18 of the community cards 20 is used to determine the outcome of the side betting according to rules that govern the side betting”), and paying the winners an amount associated with the SIDE BET wagers of the winners (par. 0007: “Each successful side bet is awarded according to the predetermined sub-set of the community cards and also according to rules governing side betting;” abstract: “Players… have the option of placing side bets based solely on a predetermined sub-set of the community cards… Successful side bets are awarded according to the predetermined sub-set of the community cards and rules governing the side betting”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2014/0138915 (hereinafter “Sorge”).
Regarding Claim 2, Duffy further discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be even and whether a sum of the values of the community cards will be over the predetermined break number, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes an even / over indicia presenting the option to bet on the sum of the values of the community cards being even and the sum of the values of the community cards being over the predetermined break number (par. 0082: “the side betting slot of ‘Even’ can run under an alternative embodiment whereby the rule can include a further requirement of having to be over… a base number… a side bet placed on the side betting slot of ‘Even’”).
Duffy does not disclose the combination side bet includes the color of the cards. However, Sorge discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be red, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes a red combination indicia including the option to bet on the predetermined number of the community cards being red (par. 0067: “ Color Match 21 provides players with a side wager opportunity in which the player wagers on the dealt cards are of the same color;” par. 0121: “color side bets (for example… red…);” par. 0072: “This embodiment combines both the side wagering opportunity of Color Match 21 described above, with an additional side wager on the whether the player's dealt cards are paired. The pair side wager pays if the player's first two cards are the same denomination;” par. 0074: “a main wager area 402 and a color match wager area 404. In addition, the game table 500 includes a pair match wager area 502 for each player position and a payout schedule 504, which describes the payouts”).
Duffy teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and further offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (even/odd and over/under) (Duffy, pars. 0079-0082). Similarly, Sorge teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (whether a particular number of cards will be particular color and meet certain value-based criteria) (Sorge, pars. 0067, 0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the color bets in the combination bets as disclosed by Sorge in order to offer additional wagers with longer odds and higher payouts (Sorge, par. 0074), which is known within the field to increase player excitement and enjoyment.
Regarding Claim 3, Duffy further discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be odd and whether a sum of the values of the community cards will be over the predetermined break number, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes an odd / over indicia presenting the option to bet on the predetermined number of the sum of the values of the community cards being odd, and the sum of the values of the community cards being over the predetermined break number (par. 0079: “an alternative embodiment to the ‘Odd’ side betting slot, the rules governing this side bet variation can include a further requirement of having to be over… a base number… a side bet on the ‘Odd’ side betting slot”).
Duffy does not disclose the combination side bet includes the color of the cards. However, Sorge discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be red, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes a red combination indicia including the option to bet on the predetermined number of the community cards being red (par. 0067: “ Color Match 21 provides players with a side wager opportunity in which the player wagers on the dealt cards are of the same color;” par. 0121: “color side bets (for example… red…);” par. 0072: “This embodiment combines both the side wagering opportunity of Color Match 21 described above, with an additional side wager on the whether the player's dealt cards are paired. The pair side wager pays if the player's first two cards are the same denomination;” par. 0074: “a main wager area 402 and a color match wager area 404. In addition, the game table 500 includes a pair match wager area 502 for each player position and a payout schedule 504, which describes the payouts”).
Duffy teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and further offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (even/odd and over/under) (Duffy, pars. 0079-0082). Similarly, Sorge teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (whether a particular number of cards will be particular color and meet certain value-based criteria) (Sorge, pars. 0067, 0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the color bets in the combination bets as disclosed by Sorge in order to offer additional wagers with longer odds and higher payouts (Sorge, par. 0074), which is known within the field to increase player excitement and enjoyment.
Regarding Claim 4, Duffy further discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be odd and whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be under the predetermined break number, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes an odd / under indicia presenting the option to bet on the sum of the values of the community cards being odd and the sum of the values of the community cards being under the predetermined break number (par. 0079: “an alternative embodiment to the ‘Odd’ side betting slot, the rules governing this side bet variation can include a further requirement of having to be… under a base number… a side bet on the ‘Odd’ side betting slot”).
Duffy does not disclose the combination side bet includes the color of the cards. However, Sorge discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be red, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes a red combination indicia including the option to bet on the predetermined number of the community cards being red (par. 0067: “ Color Match 21 provides players with a side wager opportunity in which the player wagers on the dealt cards are of the same color;” par. 0121: “color side bets (for example… red…);” par. 0072: “This embodiment combines both the side wagering opportunity of Color Match 21 described above, with an additional side wager on the whether the player's dealt cards are paired. The pair side wager pays if the player's first two cards are the same denomination;” par. 0074: “a main wager area 402 and a color match wager area 404. In addition, the game table 500 includes a pair match wager area 502 for each player position and a payout schedule 504, which describes the payouts”).
Duffy teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and further offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (even/odd and over/under) (Duffy, pars. 0079-0082). Similarly, Sorge teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (whether a particular number of cards will be particular color and meet certain value-based criteria) (Sorge, pars. 0067, 0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the color bets in the combination bets as disclosed by Sorge in order to offer additional wagers with longer odds and higher payouts (Sorge, par. 0074), which is known within the field to increase player excitement and enjoyment.
Regarding Claim 5, Duffy further discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether a sum of the values of the community cards will be even and whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be under the predetermined break number, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes an even / under indicia presenting the option to bet on a sum of the values of the community cards being even, and the sum of the values of the community cards being under the predetermined break number (par. 0082: “the side betting slot of ‘Even’ can run under an alternative embodiment whereby the rule can include a further requirement of having to be… under a base number… a side bet placed on the side betting slot of ‘Even’”).
Duffy does not disclose the combination side bet includes the color of the cards. However, Sorge discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be red, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes a red combination indicia including the option to bet on the predetermined number of the community cards being red (par. 0067: “ Color Match 21 provides players with a side wager opportunity in which the player wagers on the dealt cards are of the same color;” par. 0121: “color side bets (for example… red…);” par. 0072: “This embodiment combines both the side wagering opportunity of Color Match 21 described above, with an additional side wager on the whether the player's dealt cards are paired. The pair side wager pays if the player's first two cards are the same denomination;” par. 0074: “a main wager area 402 and a color match wager area 404. In addition, the game table 500 includes a pair match wager area 502 for each player position and a payout schedule 504, which describes the payouts”).
Duffy teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and further offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (even/odd and over/under) (Duffy, pars. 0079-0082). Similarly, Sorge teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (whether a particular number of cards will be particular color and meet certain value-based criteria) (Sorge, pars. 0067, 0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the color bets in the combination bets as disclosed by Sorge in order to offer additional wagers with longer odds and higher payouts (Sorge, par. 0074), which is known within the field to increase player excitement and enjoyment.
Regarding Claim 6, Duffy further discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be even and whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be over the predetermined break number and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes an even / over indicia presenting the option to bet on the sum of the values of the community cards being even and the sum of the values of the community cards being over the predetermined break number (par. 0082: “the side betting slot of ‘Even’ can run under an alternative embodiment whereby the rule can include a further requirement of having to be over… a base number… a side bet placed on the side betting slot of ‘Even’”).
Duffy does not disclose the combination side bet includes the color of the cards. However, Sorge discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be black, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes a black combination indicia including the option to bet on the predetermined number of the community cards being black (par. 0067: “ Color Match 21 provides players with a side wager opportunity in which the player wagers on the dealt cards are of the same color;” par. 0121: “color side bets (for example, black…);” par. 0072: “This embodiment combines both the side wagering opportunity of Color Match 21 described above, with an additional side wager on the whether the player's dealt cards are paired. The pair side wager pays if the player's first two cards are the same denomination;” par. 0074: “a main wager area 402 and a color match wager area 404. In addition, the game table 500 includes a pair match wager area 502 for each player position and a payout schedule 504, which describes the payouts”).
Duffy teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and further offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (even/odd and over/under) (Duffy, pars. 0079-0082). Similarly, Sorge teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (whether a particular number of cards will be particular color and meet certain value-based criteria) (Sorge, pars. 0067, 0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the color bets in the combination bets as disclosed by Sorge in order to offer additional wagers with longer odds and higher payouts (Sorge, par. 0074), which is known within the field to increase player excitement and enjoyment.
Regarding Claim 7, Duffy further discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be odd and whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be over the predetermined break number, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes an odd / over indicia presenting the option to bet on the sum of the values of the community cards being odd and the sum of the values of the community cards being over the predetermined break number (par. 0079: “an alternative embodiment to the ‘Odd’ side betting slot, the rules governing this side bet variation can include a further requirement of having to be over… a base number… a side bet on the ‘Odd’ side betting slot”).
Duffy does not disclose the combination side bet includes the color of the cards. However, Sorge discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be black, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes a black combination indicia including the option to bet on the predetermined number of the community cards being black (par. 0067: “ Color Match 21 provides players with a side wager opportunity in which the player wagers on the dealt cards are of the same color;” par. 0121: “color side bets (for example, black…);” par. 0072: “This embodiment combines both the side wagering opportunity of Color Match 21 described above, with an additional side wager on the whether the player's dealt cards are paired. The pair side wager pays if the player's first two cards are the same denomination;” par. 0074: “a main wager area 402 and a color match wager area 404. In addition, the game table 500 includes a pair match wager area 502 for each player position and a payout schedule 504, which describes the payouts”).
Duffy teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and further offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (even/odd and over/under) (Duffy, pars. 0079-0082). Similarly, Sorge teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (whether a particular number of cards will be particular color and meet certain value-based criteria) (Sorge, pars. 0067, 0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the color bets in the combination bets as disclosed by Sorge in order to offer additional wagers with longer odds and higher payouts (Sorge, par. 0074), which is known within the field to increase player excitement and enjoyment.
Regarding Claim 8, Duffy further discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be odd and whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be under the predetermined break number, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes an odd / under indicia presenting the option to bet on the sum of the values of the community cards being odd and the sum of the values of the community cards being under the predetermined break number (par. 0079: “an alternative embodiment to the ‘Odd’ side betting slot, the rules governing this side bet variation can include a further requirement of having to be… under a base number… a side bet on the ‘Odd’ side betting slot”).
Duffy does not disclose the combination side bet includes the color of the cards. However, Sorge discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be black, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes a black combination indicia including the option to bet on the predetermined number of the community cards being black (par. 0067: “ Color Match 21 provides players with a side wager opportunity in which the player wagers on the dealt cards are of the same color;” par. 0121: “color side bets (for example, black…);” par. 0072: “This embodiment combines both the side wagering opportunity of Color Match 21 described above, with an additional side wager on the whether the player's dealt cards are paired. The pair side wager pays if the player's first two cards are the same denomination;” par. 0074: “a main wager area 402 and a color match wager area 404. In addition, the game table 500 includes a pair match wager area 502 for each player position and a payout schedule 504, which describes the payouts”).
Duffy teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and further offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (even/odd and over/under) (Duffy, pars. 0079-0082). Similarly, Sorge teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (whether a particular number of cards will be particular color and meet certain value-based criteria) (Sorge, pars. 0067, 0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the color bets in the combination bets as disclosed by Sorge in order to offer additional wagers with longer odds and higher payouts (Sorge, par. 0074), which is known within the field to increase player excitement and enjoyment.
Regarding Claim 9, Duffy further discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be even and whether the sum of the values of the community cards will be under the predetermined break number, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes an even / under indicia presenting the option to bet on the sum of the values of the community cards being even and the sum of the values of the community cards being under the predetermined break number (par. 0082: “the side betting slot of ‘Even’ can run under an alternative embodiment whereby the rule can include a further requirement of having to be… under a base number… a side bet placed on the side betting slot of ‘Even’”).
Duffy does not disclose the combination side bet includes the color of the cards. However, Sorge discloses a combination side bet includes a combination of whether a predetermined number of the community cards will be black, and wherein the plurality of SIDE BET indicia further includes a black combination indicia including the option to bet on the predetermined number of the community cards being black (par. 0067: “ Color Match 21 provides players with a side wager opportunity in which the player wagers on the dealt cards are of the same color;” par. 0121: “color side bets (for example, black…);” par. 0072: “This embodiment combines both the side wagering opportunity of Color Match 21 described above, with an additional side wager on the whether the player's dealt cards are paired. The pair side wager pays if the player's first two cards are the same denomination;” par. 0074: “a main wager area 402 and a color match wager area 404. In addition, the game table 500 includes a pair match wager area 502 for each player position and a payout schedule 504, which describes the payouts”).
Duffy teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and further offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (even/odd and over/under) (Duffy, pars. 0079-0082). Similarly, Sorge teaches a card game with side bets involving the color and/or value of cards and offers a combination bet comprising multiple side bets (whether a particular number of cards will be particular color and meet certain value-based criteria) (Sorge, pars. 0067, 0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the color bets in the combination bets as disclosed by Sorge in order to offer additional wagers with longer odds and higher payouts (Sorge, par. 0074), which is known within the field to increase player excitement and enjoyment.
Regarding Claim 13, see rejection of claims 2-9 above. Claim 13 recites each and every limitation of claims 2-9 verbatim and is therefore rejected under similar reasoning.
Regarding Claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Duffy so that each player is required to place a combination SIDE BET associated with one of the red / even / over indicia, the red / odd / over indicia, the red / odd / under indicia, the red / even / under indicia, the black / even / over indicia, the black / odd / over indicia, the black / odd / under indicia, and the black / even / under indicia. The KSR Court recognized that “[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1937. In this particular case, it is known that these combination side bets are available for the players to wager (see claims 13 and 2-9 above), so the only possibilities are that these combination side bets are either optional or required. Either of these options would therefore be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to pursue.
Regarding Claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Duffy so that only a single combination SIDE BET may be placed in association with each of the red / even / over indicia, the red / odd / over indicia, the red / odd / under indicia, the red / even / under indicia, the black / even / over indicia, the black / odd / over indicia, the black / odd / under indicia, and the black / even / under indicia. The KSR Court recognized that “[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1937. In this particular case, it is known that these combination side bets are available for the players to wager (see claims 13-14 above), so the only options are that the player is only allowed to place one combination side bet or that the player may place up to a specified number between two and eight of combination side bets. Any of these options would therefore be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to pursue.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Duffy further discloses the winners are paid at predetermined odds associated with the placed SIDE BETS (Duffy, par. 0053: “apparatus 10 includes printed information 26 providing an explanation of the rules governing the side bet game… printed information 28 providing an explanation of the payout odds;” par. 0128: “tournament chips can be used to awarding a win in… a side bet;” abstract: “Players… have the option of placing side bets based solely on a predetermined sub-set of the community cards… Successful side bets are awarded according to the predetermined sub-set of the community cards and rules governing the side betting”).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy in view of Sorge as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 2016/0247355 (hereinafter “Naylor”).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Duffy does not explicitly disclose a pool. However, Naylor discloses the SIDE BETS are contributed to a pool, and winners are paid from the pool (par. 0036: “As a side wager, the players may agree to contribute a certain amount of credits to a pool that will get awarded to the next player that gets a blackjack… A pot used for a side bet may be funded using fixed contributions by the participating players… to fund the side pot until the winning in-game event occurs for one of the players”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the pool of Naylor with the betting game of Duffy in order to fund the side bet pot with the players’ money (Naylor, abstract; par. 0036).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2008/0237984 (hereinafter “Kling”).
Regarding Claim 18, Duffy further discloses receiving a flop card wager from the one of more players by the one or more players positioning bets on the at least one flop card indicia (par. 0004: “a betting round. Then… community car[d is] dealt facing up to form the ‘flop’”);
distributing two random hole cards from the deck to the one or more players who placed a flop card wager (par. 0004: “each player is dealt two private cards (facing down);” par. 0038: “In return for the initial bet… a qualifying player is dealt two private cards 13”);
receiving a predetermined turn card wager from the one or more players who elect to advance to revealing a turn card by the one or more players positioning bets on the at least one turn card indicia (par. 0004: “a second betting round. [Then,] A fourth community card known as the ‘turn’ is dealt”);
drawing and revealing a random turn card from the deck (par. 0004: “A fourth community card known as the ‘turn’ is dealt”);
receiving a predetermined river card wager from the one or more players who elect to advance to revealing a river card by the one or more players positioning bets on the at least one river card indicia (par. 0004: “a third betting round, and [then] a fifth community card known as the ‘river’ is dealt”);
drawing and revealing a random river card from the deck (par. 0004: “a fifth community card known as the ‘river’ is dealt”);
receiving a call wager from the one or more players who wish to reveal all hole cards and establish a winner by the one or more players positioning bets on the at least one call indicia (par. 0004: “a final betting round. [Then] At showdown, each player plays the best five-card hand using a combination of none, one, or two of the cards in his/her hands combined with the relative number of community cards to make a five-card hand”); and
determining which of the one or more players is a winner based on combinations of the player of the one or more players respective hole cards, and the first, second and river cards (par. 0004: “At showdown, each player plays the best five-card hand using a combination of… two of the cards in his/her hands combined with the relative number of community cards to make a five-card hand”).
Duffy implies but does not explicitly disclose presenting specific indicia corresponding to each of the betting rounds and paying the winner of the game. However, Kling explicitly discloses presenting at least one flop card indicia, a turn card indicia, a river card indicia, and a call indicia (par. 0015: “After the first round of betting is complete, the dealer places three cards face up in the center of the table. These cards, known as the "flop," are community cards, and may be used by any or all of the players still in the game. There is another round of betting, before a fourth community card is added face up to the center (known as the "turn"). There is then another round of betting before the fifth and final community card is placed face up with the others (known as the "river"). There is a final round of betting, and then a showdown;” figs. 4-5: betting positions 71, 72, 73, and 75); and
paying the winner (par. 0003: “the remaining players reveal their cards and the winner is determined by ranking the relative value of the hands, as discussed below;” par. 0004: “a player may win the pot;” fig. 2: resolve bets at step 240 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the wagering indicia of Kling with the betting game of Duffy in order to maintain maximum clarity so the player and dealer are both aware of each player’s bets for each round of betting (Kling, pars. 0053-0055). Furthermore, it is well-known within the field that card tables typically have clear markings indicating where different bets go.
Regarding Claim 19, Duffy implies but does not explicitly disclose the deck being a standard 52 card deck. However, Kling discloses the deck of playing cards is a standard 52 card deck of playing cards (par. 0002: “Nearly all poker games use a standard 52-card deck of playing cards;” par. 0039: “the gaming method of the invention begins with a dealer shuffling a set of cards (step 110). A standard single deck… of cards may be used”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the standard 52 card deck of playing cards as disclosed by Kling in the betting game of Duffy because it is the most common choice for poker games (Kling, par. 0002).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2003/0207706 (Potter) teaches a method of playing a game with parlay side bets in which the player may combine multiple side bets into one bet with longer odds.
US 2013/0225276 (Au-Yeung) teaches a method of playing a card game with side bets in which a user may place a wager in respectively marked bet areas, some of the side bets including a given card being red/black or even/odd.
/J.G.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715