DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 24, 2026 have been fully considered.
The 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections are withdrawn based on the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C 102 rejection of the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new grounds of rejection are presented below.
The changes to the grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment; the rejections are therefore final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keith et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20060024164) hereinafter Keith in view of Gayman et al (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20160230567) hereinafter Gayman.
Regarding claim 18, Keith discloses:
A turbine blade {Figure 8 (50); [0029]} comprising:
an airfoil including a tip, a body, and a base {Figure 2 airfoil (60) has a tip (80), body (60), and base (78); [0080]};
a platform connected to the base of the airfoil {Figure 2 (62) is connected to (78)};
a root including a shank and a dovetail {Figure 2, root includes shank (64) and dovetail (66)},
the shank extending from the platform to the dovetail {Figure 2 shank (64) extends from the platform (62) to the dovetail (66). Above (III) in Annotated Figure 2 may be considered the shank and below (III) may be considered the dovetail },
the shank further including forward and aft walls below and connected to respective forward and aft ends of the platform {Annotated Figure 1, the shank (64) has forward wall (Ia) and aft wall (Ib) connected to respective forward and aft ends of the platform (90) and (92). Due to the perspective, the wall itself cannot be seen so leaders in dashed lines are used}, and
first and second inner walls on respective suction and pressure sides of the shank {Annotated Figure 1, (Ic) is a first inner wall on the suction side of the shank and (Id) is a second inner wall on the pressure side of the shank. Due to the perspective, the wall itself cannot be seen so leaders in dashed lines are used},
wherein a cross-sectional profile of the shank in a plane parallel to the platform includes an inner portion that includes the first and second inner walls {Annotated Figure 2 (IV) includes an inner portion that includes the first and second inner walls (Ic) and (Id)}
wherein the shank further includes first and second buttresses on the suction and pressure sides of the shank, respectively {Figure 8 is ambiguous if the left side of the figure corresponds to the pressure side or suction side of the airfoil. Depending on if the left side corresponds to the suction side or pressure side, the first and second buttress interpretations may be reversed. For rejection purposes, the left side of Figure 8 is assumed as the suction side, but the rejection applies equally appropriately if the right side is the suction side. The shank includes a first buttress (197) and a second buttress (196) on the suction and pressure side respectively},
each of the first and second buttresses extending from a lower portion of the shank away from the respective first and second inner walls to corresponding circumferential ends of the platform {Figure 8 (197) and (196) extend from a lower portion of the shank away from (Ic) and (Id) respectively to circumferential ends (IIa) and (IIb); [0030]},
at least the first and second buttresses together with the respective first and second inner walls and a bottom of the platform defining respective first and second pockets below the platform {Figure 8, (197) ad (196) each with inner walls (Ic) and (Id) as well as bottom of the platform (182) define first pocket (190) and second pocket (180) respectively}.
Keith does not disclose:
Wherein the first and second buttresses and at least the shank are a single piece of material
Gayman pertains to gas turbine engine airfoils. Gayman teaches:
Where the entire airfoil component is a single piece of material {[0043], the entirety of (64) may be additively manufactured}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed entirety of the airfoil of Keith by an additive manufacturing process as taught by Gayman. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as both traditional casting techniques and additive manufacturing techniques are alternatives {Gayman [0043]}. Additionally, making the airfoil as a single piece of material is making integral the separate pieces of Keith that were connected together is an obvious engineering design choice, see MPEP 2144.04 V B.
The combination of Keith and Gayman therefore teaches:
Wherein the first and second buttresses and at least the shank are a single piece of material {The identified first and second buttresses and shank of Keith are a single piece of material based on making the entirety of the airfoil component via additive manufacturing as taught by Gayman [0043]}.
Regarding claim 19, Keith further discloses:
wherein a first portion of each of the first and second buttresses are oriented at respective angles of at least 30° with the first and second inner walls, respectively {Figure 8, (198) is about 45° for both buttresses; [0030]}.
Regarding claim 20, Keith further discloses:
wherein at least one of the first and second pockets is in fluid communication with a cooling circuit of the turbine blade {Figure 8, (190) and (180) are in fluid communication with (150) which is part of a cooling circuit of the turbine blade; [0028]}.
Regarding claim 21, Keith discloses:
A turbine blade {Figure 8 (50); [0029]} comprising:
an airfoil including a tip, a body, and a base {Figure 2 airfoil (60) has a tip (80), body (60), and base (78); [0080]};
a platform connected to the base of the airfoil and including opposed circumferential ends distal from a longitudinal axis of the turbine blade {Figure 2 (62) is connected to (78); Annotated Figure (IIa) and (IIb) are opposed circumferential ends that are distal from a longitudinal axis of the turbine blade};
a root including a shank and a dovetail {Figure 2, root includes shank (64) and dovetail (66). Above (III) in Annotated Figure 2 may be considered the shank and below (III) may be considered the dovetail},
the shank extending from the platform to the dovetail {Figure 2 shank (64) extends from the platform (62) to the dovetail (66)},
the shank including:
an inner portion, relative to the longitudinal axis of the turbine blade, defined by at least first and second inner walls extending from the platform and away from the airfoil in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the turbine blade on respective suction and pressure sides of the shank {Annotated Figure 1, the shank has an inner portion that includes (Ic) as a first inner wall on the suction side of the shank and (Id) as a second inner wall on the pressure side of the shank. These inner walls extend away from the platform (62) and away from the airfoil (60) in a radial direction which is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the blade on the suction and pressure sides respectively. Due to the perspective, the wall itself cannot be seen so leaders in dashed lines are used};
an outer portion relative to the longitudinal axis of the turbine blade, including first and second buttresses on the suction and pressure sides of the shank, respectively {Figure 8 is ambiguous if the left side of the figure corresponds to the pressure side or suction side of the airfoil. Depending on if the left side corresponds to the suction side or pressure side, the first and second buttress interpretations may be reversed. For rejection purposes, the left side of Figure 8 is assumed as the suction side, but the rejection applies equally appropriately if the right side is the suction side. The outer portion of (64) includes a first buttress (197) and a second buttress (196) on the suction and pressure side of the shank respectively},
each of the first and second buttresses extending away from the first and second inner walls in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the turbine blade, respectively, between a lower portion of the shank that is distal from the platform and a corresponding circumferential end of the platform {Figure 8 (197) and (196) extend from a lower portion of the shank circumferentially away from (Ic) and (Id) respectively to ends (IIa) and (IIb); [0030]},
a first pocket defined at least by the first inner wall and the first buttress {Annotated Figure 2 (190) is defined by the first inner wall (Ic) and the first buttress (197)}; and
a second pocket defined at least by the second inner wall and the second buttress {Annotated Figure 2 (180) is defined by the second inner wall (Id) and the second buttress (196)},
wherein cross-sections of the inner portion taken in planes parallel to the platform vary with distance from the platform {Figure 8, the inner portion of the shank has different cross-sectional shapes in planes parallel to the platform when taken at different distances from the platform as the lines in Figure 8 which define the shank are curved along the radial direction and are not straight}.
Keith does not disclose:
Wherein at least the platform, the shank, and the first and second buttresses are a single piece of material.
Gayman pertains to gas turbine engine airfoils. Gayman teaches:
Where the entire airfoil component is a single piece of material {[0043], the entirety of (64) may be additively manufactured}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed entirety of the airfoil of Keith by an additive manufacturing process as taught by Gayman. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as both traditional casting techniques and additive manufacturing techniques are alternatives {Gayman [0043]}. Additionally, making the airfoil as a single piece of material is making integral the separate pieces of Keith that were connected together is an obvious engineering design choice, see MPEP 2144.04 V B.
The combination of Keith and Gayman therefore teaches:
Wherein at least the platform, the shank, and the first and second buttresses are a single piece of material {The identified first and second buttresses and shank of Keith are a single piece of material based on making the entirety of the airfoil component via additive manufacturing as taught by Gayman [0043]}.
Regarding claim 22, Keith further discloses:
wherein the first and second pockets are further defined by a bottom of the platform {Figure 8, first and second pockets (190) and (180) are further defined by the bottom of the platform (182)}.
Regarding claim 23, Keith further discloses:
wherein a first portion of each of the first and second buttresses is oriented at an angle of at least 30° with the first and second inner walls, respectively {Figure 8, (198) is about 45° for both buttresses; [0030]}.
Regarding claim 24, Keith further discloses:
wherein at least one of the first and second pockets is in fluid communication with a cooling circuit of the turbine blade {Figure 8, (190) and (180) are in fluid communication with (150) which is part of a cooling circuit of the turbine blade; [0028]}.
Regarding claim 25, Keith further discloses:
wherein the profile of the inner portion of the shank gradually transitions in a direction perpendicular to the platform to a cross-sectional profile of the dovetail where the shank meets the dovetail {Annotated Figure 2, the shank meets the dovetail at roughly the plane of (III) which defines the cross-section profile. The profile of the inner portion of the shank transitions in the radially direction (which is perpendicular to the platform) radially inward to the plane of (III) based on the shown curvature}.
Regarding claim 26, Keith further discloses:
wherein the cross-sectional profile of the dovetail is rectangular {Annotated Figure 2, the cross-section profile of the dovetail is rectangular as the dovetail is roughly and extruded shape that is axially slid into a corresponding slot in a disk, see implicit disclosure MPEP 2112 and MPEP 2144.01}.
Regarding claim 27, Keith discloses:
A gas turbine system {Figure 1 (10); [0001]}, comprising:
a turbine section including a hot gas flow path {Figure 1 (18) has a hot gas flow path; [0016]}; and
a plurality of circumferentially spaced turbine blades in the turbine section extending radially from a rotor of the turbine section and into the hot gas flow path {Figure 1, non-labeled circumferentially space turbine blades which extend radially from the rotor into the hot gas flow path are shown near (18); [0017]. The turbine blades (50) are shown in more detail in Figure 2},
each turbine blade {Figure 8 (50); [0029]} including:
an airfoil including a tip, a body, and a base {Figure 2 airfoil (60) has a tip (80), body (60), and base (78); [0080]};
a platform connected to the base of the airfoil {Figure 2 (62) is connected to (78)};
a root including a shank and a dovetail {Figure 2, root includes shank (64) and dovetail (66). Above (III) in Annotated Figure 2 may be considered the shank and below (III) may be considered the dovetail},
the shank extending from the platform to the dovetail {Figure 2 shank (64) extends from the platform (62) to the dovetail (66)},
the shank including:
an inner portion defined by at least first and second inner walls extending from the platform and away from the airfoil on respective suction and pressure sides of the shank {Annotated Figure 1, the shank has an inner portion that includes (Ic) as a first inner wall on the suction side of the shank and (Id) as a second inner wall on the pressure side of the shank. These inner walls extend away from the platform (62) and away from the airfoil (60) on the suction and pressure sides respectively. Due to the perspective, the wall itself cannot be seen so leaders in dashed lines are used};
an outer portion including first and second buttresses on the suction and pressure sides of the shank, respectively {Figure 8 is ambiguous if the left side of the figure corresponds to the pressure side or suction side of the airfoil. Depending on if the left side corresponds to the suction side or pressure side, the first and second buttress interpretations may be reversed. For rejection purposes, the left side of Figure 8 is assumed as the suction side, but the rejection applies equally appropriately if the right side is the suction side. The outer portion of (64) includes a first buttress (197) and a second buttress (196) on the suction and pressure side of the shank respectively},
each of the first and second buttresses extending away from the first and second inner walls, respectively, between a lower portion of the shank and a corresponding end of the platform {Figure 8 (197) and (196) extend from a lower portion of the shank away from (Ic) and (Id) respectively to ends (IIa) and (IIb); [0030]},
a first pocket defined at least by the first inner wall and the first buttress {Annotated Figure 2 (190) is defined by the first inner wall (Ic) and the first buttress (197)}; and
a second pocket defined at least by the second inner wall and the second buttress {Annotated Figure 2 (180) is defined by the second inner wall (Id) and the second buttress (196)},
wherein cross-sections of the inner portion taken in planes parallel to the platform vary with distance from the platform {Figure 8, the inner portion of the shank has different cross-sectional shapes in planes parallel to the platform when taken at different distances from the platform as the lines in Figure 8 which define the shank are curved along the radial direction and are not straight}.
Keith does not disclose:
Wherein at least the platform, the shank, and the first and second buttresses are a single piece of material.
Gayman pertains to gas turbine engine airfoils. Gayman teaches:
Where the entire airfoil component is a single piece of material {[0043], the entirety of (64) may be additively manufactured}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed entirety of the airfoil of Keith by an additive manufacturing process as taught by Gayman. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as both traditional casting techniques and additive manufacturing techniques are alternatives {Gayman [0043]}. Additionally, making the airfoil as a single piece of material is making integral the separate pieces of Keith that were connected together is an obvious engineering design choice, see MPEP 2144.04 V B.
The combination of Keith and Gayman therefore teaches:
Wherein at least the platform, the shank, and the first and second buttresses are a single piece of material {The identified first and second buttresses and shank of Keith are a single piece of material based on making the entirety of the airfoil component via additive manufacturing as taught by Gayman [0043]}.
Claims 28-32 are substantially identical to claims 22-26. For the purposes of brevity and clarity the rejection of these claims is not repeated. Please see the rejections of claim 22-26 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745