DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.03.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 07/07/2026 does not place the Application in condition for allowance.
Status of the Rejections
The rejection of claim 2-15 and 17-21 from the Office Action mailed on 04/07/2026 is maintained. All other rejections from the Office Action dated 04/07/2026 are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is presented below for claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LUNT, III et al. (US 2014/0283896 A1) (cited in IDS dated 06/04/2025).
Regarding claim 2, Lunt, III discloses a solar concentrator device (500, fig. 5, [0039-0056]) comprising:
a waveguide having a first refractive index (implicit or inherent) and comprising a luminophore (figure 5; see also figure 3 that shows the waveguide 310 comprising transparent substrate 315 and luminophore 320; [0035] and [0039]);
a photovoltaic component (solar array) operably coupled to the waveguide (“the SC 500 comprises a plurality of solar arrays positioned at the first surface 520 and/or the second surface 525”, [0040]; see also [0028] that discloses solar arrays are positioned on top and/or bottom of the waveguide, rather than an edge of the waveguide); and
an uninterrupted film (one of first wavelength-dependent mirror 505 and second wavelength-dependent mirror 530) having a second refractive index (implicit or inherent),
the uninterrupted film (530) having a first film surface (top surface) and a second film surface (bottom surface) opposite the first film surface (top surface), the first film surface (top surface) disposed on the waveguide (see annotated figure), and the second film surface configured to be disposed on a substrate ([0056] discloses the solar concentrator is disposed on a vehicle, whose surface is interpreted as the substrate),
wherein the entire solar concentrator device has an average visible transmittance (AVT) of greater than or equal to 50% (see figure 8A that shows VIS absorption being less than 0.3, i.e. the AVT being at least 70%).
Lunt, III further discloses that the waveguide comprises polymer PMMA substrate ([0035]) similar to instant application ([0086]) having luminophore (320) such as cyanine dyes ([0044]) similar to instant application ([0088]).
Lunt, III further discloses the film comprises SiO2 material ([0041]) similar to instant application [[0039]).
"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP §2112.01.
Since the waveguide and the film of Lunt, III are made of same materials as in that case of the instant application, the refractive indices of the waveguide and film of Lunt, III would be same as instant application, and the second refractive index would be lower than the first refractive index.
Regarding claim 3, Lunt, III further discloses that the luminophore includes an organic molecule ([0043]).
Regarding claim 4, Lunt, III further discloses that the luminophore includes an inorganic molecule ([0043]).
Regarding claim 5, Lunt, III further discloses that the luminophore is configured to emit near infrared (NIR) light ([0043] and claim 7).
Regarding claim 6, Lunt, III further discloses that luminophore has a maximum peak emission in the NIR spectrum ([0043] and figure 8A).
Regarding claim 7, Lunt, III further discloses that the photovoltaic component includes a copper indium gallium selenide (CIGS) photovoltaic cell ([0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Lunt, III further discloses that the photovoltaic component includes a gallium arsenide (GaAs) solar cell ([0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Lunt, III further discloses that the first film surface is disposed directly on the waveguide (see annotated fig. or figure 5).
Regarding claim 10, Lunt, III further discloses an adhesive between the first film surface and the waveguide (mirror comprises alternating layers as disclosed in [0041], and thus the intervening TiO2 would be interpreted as the claimed adhesive as it allows for connection between layers during the formation of the device).
Regarding claim 11, Lunt, III further discloses that the waveguide includes a first waveguide surface (top surface) and a second waveguide surface (bottom surface) opposite the first waveguide surface, and the photovoltaic component is disposed on the first waveguide surface (top surface) (fig. 5 and [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Lunt, III further discloses that the uninterrupted film (505) is disposed on the first waveguide surface (top surface).
Regarding claim 13, Lunt, III further discloses an edge of the photovoltaic component is less than or equal to 10 centimeters (cm) from an edge of the waveguide (figure 5 and [0040], the distance would between edges is zero).
Regarding claim 14, Lunt, III further discloses that the edge of the photovoltaic component abuts the edge of the waveguide (figure 5 and [0040]).
Regarding claim 15, Lunt, III further discloses that wherein the second film surface configured to extend uninterrupted across the substrate (surface of the vehicle, [0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Lunt, III further discloses that the waveguide comprises polymer PMMA substrate ([0035]) similar to instant application ([0086]) having luminophore (320) such as cyanine dyes ([0044]) similar to instant application ([0088]).
Lunt, III further discloses the film comprises SiO2 material ([0041]) similar to instant application [[0039]).
"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP §2112.01.
Thus, the first and second refractive indices of Lunt, III would be within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 17, Lunt, III further discloses that the film or mirror comprises alternating layers ([0041]) and thus the intervening TiO2 would be interpreted as the claimed adhesive as it allows for connection between layers during the formation of the device.
Regarding claim 18, Lunt, III further discloses that the uninterrupted film comprises a SiO2 layer ([0040]) as in the case of the instant application ([0039].
"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP §2112.01.
Thus, the film must have a tensile strength of greater than or equal to 0.05 MPa, and a Young's modulus of less than or equal to about 10 MPa.
Regarding claim 20, Lunt, III discloses a solar concentrator device comprising: a waveguide having a first refractive index ranging from 1.45 to 2.5,
the waveguide comprising a polymer substrate, and a plurality of luminophores throughout the polymer substrate;
a visibly transparent film directly on the waveguide, the visibly transparent film having a second refractive index ranging from 1.05 to 1.45; and a photovoltaic device operatively coupled to the waveguide, wherein the first refractive index is at least 0.1 greater than the second refractive index.
Regarding claim 20, Lunt, III discloses a solar concentrator device (500, fig. 5, [0039-0056]) comprising:
a waveguide having a first refractive index (implicit or inherent) (figure 5; see also figure 3 that shows the waveguide 310 comprising transparent substrate 315 and luminophore 320; [0035] and [0039]), the waveguide comprising a polymer substrate (315), and a plurality of luminophores (320) throughout the polymer substrate (315) (fig. 3 and [0035]);
a visibly transparent film (one of first wavelength-dependent mirror 505 and second wavelength-dependent mirror 530 that is made of visibly transparent material such as SiO2, [0041]) having a second refractive index of 1.45 (SiO2 has a refractive index of 1.45); and
a photovoltaic component (solar array) operably coupled to the waveguide (“the SC 500 comprises a plurality of solar arrays positioned at the first surface 520 and/or the second surface 525”, [0040]; see also [0028] that discloses solar arrays are positioned on top and/or bottom of the waveguide, rather than an edge of the waveguide).
Lunt, III further discloses that the waveguide comprises polymer PMMA substrate ([0035]) similar to instant application ([0086]) having luminophore (320) such as cyanine dyes ([0044]) similar to instant application ([0088]).
Lunt, III further discloses the film comprises SiO2 material ([0041]) similar to instant application ([0039]).
"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP §2112.01.
Since the waveguide and the film of Lunt, III are made of same materials as in that case of the instant application, the refractive indices of the waveguide and film of Lunt, III would be same as instant application, and the first refractive index would be at least 0.1 greater than the second refractive index.
Regarding claim 21, Lunt, III discloses a solar concentrator device (500, fig. 5, [0039-0056]) comprising:
a visibly transparent luminescent solar concentrator (waveguide) having a first refractive index (implicit or inherent) (figure 5; see also figure 3 that shows the waveguide 310 comprising transparent substrate 315 and luminophore 320; [0035] and [0039]);
a visibly transparent film (second wavelength-dependent mirror 530 that is made, for example of visibly transparent material SiO2, [0041]) having a second refractive index (implicit or inherent) that is configured to be directly coupled to an opaque, curved, solid substrate (the device is capable of being place on opaque, curved, solid substrate as disclosed in [0056])
a photovoltaic component (solar array) operably coupled to the visibly transparent luminescent solar concentrator (“the SC 500 comprises a plurality of solar arrays positioned at the first surface 520 and/or the second surface 525”, [0040]; see also [0028] that discloses solar arrays are positioned on top and/or bottom of the waveguide, rather than an edge of the waveguide).
Lunt, III further discloses that the waveguide comprises polymer PMMA substrate ([0035]) similar to instant application ([0086]) having luminophore (320) such as cyanine dyes ([0044]) similar to instant application ([0088]).
Lunt, III further discloses the film comprises SiO2 material ([0041]) similar to instant application ([0039]).
"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP §2112.01.
Since the waveguide and the film of Lunt, III are made of same materials as in that case of the instant application, the refractive indices of the waveguide and film of Lunt, III would be same as instant application, and the second refractive index would be lower than the first refractive index.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunt, III as applied above.
Regarding claim 19, Lunt, III does not disclose that that the uninterrupted film has a thickness ranging from 0.1 µm to 1 mm.
Regarding the limitation “”, selection of element’s dimension is considered to be a matter of design choice, depending upon the dimensions and gradient present in the installation site, among other considerations. In the absence of evidence of criticality, selection of “” as claimed is considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Also note that in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 12,336,322 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent encompass all the limitations of the pending claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 2-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by the amendments.
On pages 8-9 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Lunt, III does not disclose the refractive indices as claimed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lunt, III further discloses that the waveguide comprises polymer PMMA substrate ([0035]) similar to instant application ([0086]) having luminophore (320) such as cyanine dyes ([0044]) similar to instant application ([0088]). Lunt, III further discloses the film comprises SiO2 material ([0041]) similar to instant application [[0039]).
"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP §2112.01.
Since the waveguide and the film of Lunt, III are made of same materials as in that case of the instant application, the refractive indices of the waveguide and film of Lunt, III would be same as instant application, and the second refractive index would be lower than the first refractive index.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence/Contact Information
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721