Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/4/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 6,7,9 are objected to because of the following informalities: Such claims recite the term “course”. The specification discloses “coarse quantization”. The term is spelled incorrectly in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “relatively higher bitrate”. It is unclear and indefinite as to what the boundaries are for the recited limitation. What constitutes as a “relatively higher bitrate”?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,9-11,13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al (US Publication No.: 20190333527).
Claim 1, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses
Preamble: A device (Fig. 1 shows the device) configured to decode audio data (Fig. 13 shows the receiver with decoder. Fig. 2 shows the transmitter with encoder.), the device comprising:
a memory configured to store an encoded audio bitstream representative of the audio data (Fig. 13, label 25 as the encoded audio bitstream representing audio data, label 21’. Paragraph 46 discloses “the source device 12 may output the bitstream 31 to an intermediate device positioned between the source device 12 and the sink device 14. The intermediate device may store the bitstream 31 for later delivery to the sink device 14…”. Paragraph 47 discloses the source device 12 may store the bitstream 31 to a storage medium. Fig. 15,16 shows memory and processor.); and
processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Fig. 15,16 shows the processing circuitry in communication with memory.), the processing circuitry configured to:
perform inverse multi-stage vector quantization (Fig. 13, label subband processing unit. Abstract discloses performing inverse pyramid vector quantization. Fig. 13, label 106’,108’,104’ shows the multi-stage vector quantization.) with respect to the encoded audio bitstream (Fig. 13, label encoded audio data, where label 128’ processes inputs in accordance with the encoded audio bitstream.) to obtain one or more subbands representative of the audio data (Fig. 13, label 114’ as the subbands representing audio data, label 21’.);
reconstruct, based on the one or more subbands, the audio data (Fig. 13, label 100’,102’ reconstructs the audio data based on the subbands.);
render, based on the audio data, one or more speaker feeds (Fig. 13, label audio data 21’ is output to label 48a-n of Fig. 1, wherein Fig. 13 shows label 44 of Fig. 1.); and
output, for playback, the one or more speaker feeds (Fig. 1, label 49a-n).
Claim 2, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to recursively perform each stage of the inverse multi-stage vector quantization with respect to the encoded audio bitstream to obtain the one or more subbands representative of the audio data (paragraph 50 discloses audio decoder 44 may operate in a manner that is reciprocal to the audio encoder 24. Fig. 7 shows the unification unit found in the compact map generation unit of 12 and 14 (paragraph 78). Paragraph 82 discloses a recursive function is used to generate unified vectors from subbands. Since the decoder works in reciprocal of the encoder, this indicates the recursive function is also used in the decoder.).
Claim 3, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the encoded audio bitstream includes, for each stage of the multi-stage vector quantization, residual data that has been normalized to standardize energy (Paragraph 63 discloses the vector quantizer quantizes the residual vector 118 (residual data). Label 108 quantizes the residual vector using pyramid vector quantization. Paragraph 64 discloses vector 108 may be configured to map the residual vector 118 to a hyperpyramid or hypersphere (with constant L2 norm).) prior to performing each successive stage of the multi-stage vector quantization (Fig. 3 shows the internals of the vector quantization. Label 140 performs mapping unit to map the residual vector onto N-dimensional hyperphyramid or hypersphere as per paragraph 64. This is done prior to enumeration unit, a successive stage of the multi-stage vector quantization of Fig. 2, label 128 and bitstream encoder, label 110.).
Claim 4, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the residual data is normalized according to an L2 norm (paragraph 64 discloses L2 norm or hypersphere.).
Claim 5, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform inverse multi-stage pyramid vector quantization with respect to the encoded audio bitstream to obtain the one or more subbands representative of the audio data (Fig. 13, label 128’, paragraph 63,50.).
Claim 6, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the encoded audio bitstream includes, for a first stage of a multi-stage vector quantization, a course quantization value for each of the one or more subbands and a fine quantization value for each of the one or more subbands (paragraph 61 discloses a subband processing unit configured to perform a gain-shape vector quantization process with extended-range coarse-fine quantization. Paragraph 65 discloses “these energy-assigned bits may then be allocated between a coarse quantization process and a fine quantization process.” Fig. 2, label 120,122 as the fine and coarse energy of the energy level 116. Paragraph 67 discloses energy quantizer 106 may first quantize the energy level 116 with a first number of bits for a coarse quantization process and paragraph 68 discloses label 106 may then quantize the quantization error using a second number of bits in a fine quantization process to produce the fine energy 122.).
Claim 9, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the fine quantization value is allocated based on the course quantization value (Paragraph 68 discloses “the number of bits used for fine quantization bits is determined by the total number of energy assigned bits minus the number of bits used for coarse quantization process”.).
Claim 10, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the inverse multi-stage vector quantization has a limited number of stages that is greater than one and less than a maximum number of stages (Paragraph 63 discloses quantization occurs on a block of samples, wherein more than 1 block can exist in the encoded audio data. Depending on the number of blocks, the number of states of quantization occurs.), the maximum number of stages limited by a number of bits allocated for each of the one or more subbands (Paragraph 63 discloses block of samples are quantized. Depending on the quantization parameters and the vector quantization 108, the maximum number of stages can be limited to the number of bits allocated per a subband and number of blocks of samples.).
Claim 11, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform the inverse multi-stage vector quantization to facilitate a scalable bitrate in which a bitrate for the encoded audio bitstream scales between a low bitrate and a relatively higher bitrate (paragraph 107 discloses a scalable quality/bitrate of the audio decoder and encoder. Depending on the encoder and decoder, the bitrate or quality is scaled to a range between a low bitrate and a relatively higher bitrate.).
Claim 13, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the one or more subbands exclude one or more low energy subbands representative of the audio data that were filtered, based on an energy threshold, by an audio encoder (Fig. 2, label 24) that encoded the audio data to obtain the encoded audio bitstream (Fig. 2, label 24,102 filters the subbands to obtain encoded audio bitstream, label 25.).
Claim 14, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein bits allocated to the low energy subbands are reallocated by the audio encoder to the one or more subbands (paragraph 59 discloses subband filter separates the frequency domain audio data 112 into subbands 114. Paragraph 60 discloses the subband filter may be configured to separate the frequency domain audio data 112 into subbands according to Bark scale where subbands have frequency ranges that are perceptually equal distance. This indicates the subbands are generated according to a scheme such as Bark scale, wherein depending on the scheme, the subbands with low energy can be shifted or reallocated or divided into other subbands.).
Claim 15, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein bits are allocated to each of the one or more subbands across each stage of a multi-stage vector quantization process performed by the audio encoder that encoded the audio data to obtain the encoded audio bitstream (Fig. 2, label quantization 128’ and bistream encoder adds bits to each of the subbands.).
Claim 16, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses
Preamble: A method for decoding audio data (Fig. 13 shows the receiver with decoder. Fig. 2 shows the transmitter with encoder.), the method comprising:
obtaining an encoded audio bitstream representative of the audio data (Fig. 2, label encoded audio bitstream, Fig. 13, label encoded audio bistream.); and
performing inverse multi-stage vector quantization (Fig. 13, label subband processing unit. Abstract discloses performing inverse pyramid vector quantization. Fig. 13, label 106’,108’,104’ shows the multi-stage vector quantization.) with respect to the encoded audio bitstream (Fig. 13, label encoded audio data, where label 128’ processes inputs in accordance with the encoded audio bitstream.) to obtain one or more subbands representative of the audio data (Fig. 13, label 114’ as the subbands representing audio data, label 21’.);
reconstructing, based on the one or more subbands, the audio data (Fig. 13, label 100’,102’ reconstructs the audio data based on the subbands.);
rendering, based on the audio data, one or more speaker feeds (Fig. 13, label audio data 21’ is output to label 48a-n of Fig. 1, wherein Fig. 13 shows label 44 of Fig. 1..); and
outputting, for playback, the one or more speaker feeds (Fig. 1, label 49a-n).
Claim 17, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses
Preamble: A device (Fig. 1 shows the device) configured to decode audio data (Fig. 13 shows the receiver with decoder. Fig. 2 shows the transmitter with encoder.), the device comprising:
A memory configured to store the audio data (Fig. 13, label 25 as the encoded audio bitstream representing audio data, label 21’. Paragraph 46 discloses “the source device 12 may output the bitstream 31 to an intermediate device positioned between the source device 12 and the sink device 14. The intermediate device may store the bitstream 31 for later delivery to the sink device 14…”. Paragraph 47 discloses the source device 12 may store the bitstream 31 to a storage medium. Fig. 15,16 shows memory and processor.); and
processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Fig. 15,16 shows the processing circuitry in communication with memory.), the processing circuitry configured to:
perform multi-stage vector quantization (Fig. 2, label 128,104,108,06 as the stages of vector quantization.) with respect to one or more subbands of the audio data (Fig. 2, label subbands 114) to obtain quantized audio data (Fig. 2, label 106,108);
generate, based on the quantized audio data, an encoded audio bitstream representative of the audio data (Fig. 13, label 128’ includes 106,108.); and
output, to an audio decoding device, the encoded audio bitstream (Fig. 2, label 25).
Claim 18, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to recursively perform each stage of the multi-stage vector quantization with respect to the one or more subbands of the audio data to obtain the encoded audio bitstream (paragraph 50 discloses audio decoder 44 may operate in a manner that is reciprocal to the audio encoder 24. Fig. 7 shows the unification unit found in the compact map generation unit of 12 and 14 (paragraph 78). Paragraph 82 discloses a recursive function is used to generate unified vectors from subbands. Since the decoder works in reciprocal of the encoder, this indicates the recursive function is also used in the decoder.).
Claim 19, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, when performing the multi-stage vector quantization, normalize residual data to standardize the energy (Paragraph 63 discloses the vector quantizer quantizes the residual vector 118 (residual data). Label 108 quantizes the residual vector using pyramid vector quantization. Paragraph 64 discloses vector 108 may be configured to map the residual vector 118 to a hyperpyramid or hypersphere (with constant L2 norm).) prior to performing each successive stage of the multi-stage vector quantization (Fig. 3 shows the internals of the vector quantization. Label 140 performs mapping unit to map the residual vector onto N-dimensional hyperphyramid or hypersphere as per paragraph 64. This is done prior to enumeration unit, a successive stage of the multi-stage vector quantization of Fig. 2, label 128 and bitstream encoder, label 110.).
Claim 20, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to normalize the residual data according to an L2 norm (paragraph 64 discloses L2 norm or hypersphere.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al (US Publication No.: 20190333527) in view of Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al (‘348) (US Publication No.: 20190371348).
Claim 12, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses subband processing unit comprising vector quantization (Fig. 2, label 128), but fails to disclose bitrate range as recited.
Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al (‘348) discloses wherein the low bitrate is equal to or less than 82 Kilobits per second - Kbps, and wherein the relatively higher bitrate is equal to or greater than one Megabits per second – Mbps (Paragraph 74 discloses determining K, determines the total number of bits required. That minimizes E^i. The bits allocated to code each residual vector are less than the maximum number of bits each register in the implementation platform can contain. This indicates depending on the determination of K, the bitrate of the quantized residual vector can be between 82 Kbits/s and 1 Mbit/s.). Both references discloses audio encoding and decoding, hence it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al’s audio encoder/decoder by incorporating bitrates for quantization as disclosed by Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al (‘348) so to improve the encoder decoder’s ability to generate encoded audio at a rate without distorting the input audio, hence improving the decoder’s ability to decode encoded audio without loosing excess amount of data.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al (US Publication No.: 20190333527) in view of Lauber (DE 000010065363).
Claim 7, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al discloses multi-stage vector quantization (Fig. 13, label 128’), but fails to discloses the recited limitations.
Lauber discloses wherein the coarse quantization value is selected based on a type of the audio data (Page 2 discloses “The encoder described, in which a variable data rate on the one hand and an arbitrarily high data rate on the other hand is permitted, will therefore quantize tonal areas of the audio signal very finely, which leads to a high data rate and thus to a low data reduction. On the other hand, this encoder will quantize noisy audio signal components very coarsely, which introduces a lot of quantization noise, which in turn leads to a low data rate and thus to a high data rate reduction.” Such disclosure indicates coarse quantization is selected based on the type of audio data (noisy or tonal).), and wherein the type of the audio data includes one of speech type, a tonal music type, and a non-tonal music type (Page 2 discloses tonal as a type of audio, wherein tonal music is a type of tonal audio signal. Noisy is a type of non-tonal music type.), and
wherein the type of the audio data corresponds to a different vector table used for performing the vector quantization (Page 2 discloses variable data rate for quantization, wherein the type of audio signal corresponds to different data rate for quantization (fine or coarse). This indicates a different vector table used for performing vector quantization.). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al’s decoder by incorporating variable quantization rate as disclosed by Lauber so to improve the decoders ability to accurate decode the audio signal.
Claim 8, Lauber discloses wherein the encoded audio bitstream includes a syntax element identifying the type of the audio data, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform the inverse multi-stage vector quantization based on the syntax element to select the corresponding different vector table. (page 3 discloses information about the data signal includes information about the data signal decoded or general information about the data signal known externally to the decoder such as information indicating the general nature of the data signal such as whether a particular instrument is dominant, and information about the coded data signal currently present at the decoder, wherein such information includes type of audio data (information about the coded data signal). Such information is used to generate a substitute value for quantization value (page 3 discloses the substitute value is generated using the information about the data signal available from the decoder.). The decoder uses either the substitute value or quantization value from the encoded data signal for decoding. Such indicates syntax element (information about the data signal) enables selection of quantization value or substitute value to select different vector table or quantization for decoding the encoded signal.).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4,6-16,19,20 of copending Application No. 19573044 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the recited claimed language of this application is broader than the copending application, hence anticipates the invention of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/LINDA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655