DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to application No. 19/228,192, filed on 06/04/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follow,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are not compliant with 101, according with the last “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (2019 PEG), published in the MPEP 2103 through 2106.07(c). Examiner’s analysis is presented below for all the claims
As to claim 16, Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a method.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim? Yes. The claim recites the limitations of
“determining a valuation for the item based on the obtained information;determining a loan amount and a loan tenure for the item based on the valuation; and completing the transaction by at least one of: pawning and selling the item”.
The “determining, completing” limitations, as drafted, is a process and system that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as certain methods of organizing human activity, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. A method for collateral appraisal and loan entry integration. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. The claim recites additional limitations, such as,
“receiving, from a user device via a network, a request to initiate a transaction for at least one of: pawning and buying an item; obtaining information corresponding to the item; receiving confirmation from the user device to proceed with a transaction based on the valuation, loan amount, and loan tenure;”These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data. It is merely gathering data.
The Examiner analyses other supplementary elements in the claim in view of the instant disclosure:
“from a user device via a network; providing a user interface to the user device;” The limitations comprise generic recited computer elements and software. The use of “a user interface to the user device” is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea because it merely reflects the use of conventional technology and amounts to only generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. MPEP 2106.05(h).
The combination of these additional elements can also be considered no more than mere instructions “to apply” the exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The Examiner gives the broadest reasonable interpretation to the above elements. They are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim as a whole does not integrate the method of organizing human activity into a practical application. Thus, the claim is ineligible because is directed to the recited judicial exception (abstract idea).
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim,
“from a user device via a network; providing a user interface to the user device;” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic hardware and software cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B.
Here, the limitations:
“from a user device via a network; providing a user interface to the user device;”
were considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
Other limitations in the claim, such as:
“receiving, from a user device via a network, a request to initiate a transaction for at least one of: pawning and buying an item; obtaining information corresponding to the item; receiving confirmation from the user device to proceed with a transaction based on the valuation, loan amount, and loan tenure;”
These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data (gathering data). Accessing or receiving data is very well understood, routine and conventional computer task activity; It represents insignificant extra solution activity. Mere data-gathering step[s] cannot make an otherwise nonstaturory claim statutory In re Grams,888 F.2d 835, 840 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (quoting In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 794 (CCPA 1982)).
Further, the instant specification does not provide any indication that the elements
“from a user device via a network; providing a user interface to the user device;”
are anything other than generic software and hardware, and the “i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information)” and the OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely computer receives and sends information over a network and presenting or displaying information, is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the
“from a user device via a network; providing a user interface to the user device;”
limitations (pointed above) are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 1: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a system.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
The claim recites additional limitations, such as, “ a server configured to operate a collateral appraisal and loan entry platform; a network communicatively coupling the server to one or more user devices and one or more host devices; the server comprising: a processor; a memory storing a set of instructions executable by the processor”. All these elements are recited in a very generic way. They have the same treatment pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-15 and 17-20, the claims recite elements such as “determining whether research is required for the item, and when research is required, conducting research using an artificial intelligence (Al) or machine learning (ML) model”, etc. These elements do not integrate the system of organizing human activity into a practical application. The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG. Pub. No. 20080195527 (Kocher) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20220358584 (SLIWKA).
As to claims 16 and 1, Kocher discloses
a method for collateral appraisal and loan entry integration (Fig. 1 and “[0060] Item 13 is the pawn-loan-processing site”, paragraph 60), comprising:
a) receiving, from a user device via a network, a request to initiate a transaction for at least one of: pawning and buying an item;
(“The system and method for electronic value determination and pawn brokering will enable new methods and efficiencies for pawning through electronic commerce. This invention includes: on-line value determination; options for pawning, selling or buying an item; electronic and manual appraisals; pawn brokering; and collateralized lending, buying, and reselling services. Alternate embodiments include an artificial intelligence system that assesses items' values by monitoring similar items being bought and sold thought out the world. The system can factor in business costs and profit margins to computes each item's value”, abstract.
“[0005] The advent of electronic commerce has revolutionized the ways we do business by creating new business methods and processes. Inventors have developed numerous patented methods for auctioning, reverse auctioning, loan making, buying and selling over the internet. Until now, however, no one has revolutionized the pawn brokering industry. Electronic value determination and pawn brokering can provide a significant service in electronic commerce markets as an alternate method for collateralized borrowing money, selling of a thing or buying discounted products.”, paragraph 5.
“[0045] Item 1 is a plurality of customers with thing(s) to pawn, sell or buy over the communications network.
[0046] Item 1.P is a plurality of pawning customers.
[0050] Item 3 is customers' goal path i.e. buy, sell, or pawn.
[0051] Item 4 is the pawn path”, paragraphs 45 -51 and Figs. 1-2);
b) obtaining information corresponding to the item;
(“103] The value determination process begins with a pawning or selling customer 1 communicating with the web site 7 stating their goal 3 that they have a thing to … pawn 4. Value determination site 8 will provide the customer 1 an electronic screen form to fill in the blanks describing the thing for sale. The value determination site 8 may ask additional information, if required. The value determination site 8 builds a classification of the thing, such as manufacturer, model, age, condition, color, etc. The value determination site 8 then compares the recent selling prices of similar things in secondary markets ….”, paragraph 103.
“….The ES/AI 30 collects information on transactions and builds a database that automatically organizes and categorizes information on a thing such as its manufacturer, model, age, condition, color, where and when the thing was sold, sellers, and buyers, etc….”, paragraph 108);
c) determining a valuation for the item based on the obtained information;
(“[0103] The value determination process begins with a pawning or selling customer 1 communicating with the web site 7 stating their goal 3 that they have a thing to sell 5 or pawn 4. Value determination site 8 will provide the customer 1 an electronic screen form to fill in the blanks describing the thing for sale. The value determination site 8 may ask additional information, if required. The value determination site 8 builds a classification of the thing, such as manufacturer, model, age, condition, color, etc. The value determination site 8 then compares the recent selling prices of similar things in secondary markets and estimates the sales price for the thing in secondary markets 20. The value determination site 8 then calculates business factors in terms of required costs to resell the thing. These costs include the general administration cost for operating the website; inspection costs; storage costs; and shipping costs. Profit margin is also built into the cost model. Once these factors have been computed, the secondary market resale price estimate is reduced and the pawning or selling customer 1 is provided with a pawn price or price that the web site 7 will buy the thing. …”, paragraph 103);
d) determining a loan amount and a loan tenure for the item[ based on the valuation];
(“[0013] Pawnshops serve as a source of credit to millions of Americans, providing average small secured loans for a brief time period ( two to four months)”, paragraph 13.
“[0016] All customers provide collateral, eliminating the need to distinguish high risk from low risk borrowers. Most loans average between $70 and $100, but can be as high as several thousand dollars, depending on the collateral's value. Contracts vary from state to state; but the average loan period is 90 days”, paragraph 16
“…site 13 information is developed from monitoring secondary markets
20 and from human estimators located at or in communication with the value determination site 8….The pawn-loan section 13 communicates 14 with the warehouse 27 to expect a thing inbound on the shipping network 17 and special instructions
for verifying a thing's condition and the thing's disposition. Once the warehouse 27 verifies receipt of the thing and its condition, the warehouse 27 notifies the pawn-loan section 13 which, in tum, issues and maintains the pawn loan throughout the life of the loan. Once the pawn loan is paid off, the pawn-loan section 13 notifies the warehouse 27 to ship the pawned thing back lo the customer 1.P.”, paragraph 99 and Fig. 2.
See also claim 25);
e) providing a user interface (see website 7 Fig, 2) to the user device to display the item information, [valuation, loan amount, and loan tenure]
(see “20. A method for determining pawn price responsive to an
expert system,…”, claim 20.
“…site 13 information is developed from monitoring secondary markets
20 and from human estimators located at or in communication with the value determination site 8….”, paragraph 99 and Fig. 2.
See also, the value determination site,
“[0103] The value determination process begins with a pawning or selling customer 1 communicating with the web site 7 stating their goal 3 that they have a thing to sell 5 or pawn 4. Value determination site 8 will provide the customer 1 an electronic screen form to fill in the blanks describing the thing for sale. The value determination site 8 may ask additional information, if required. The value determination
site 8 builds a classification of the thing, such as manufacturer,
model, age, condition, color, etc. The value determination
site 8 then compares the recent selling prices of
similar things in secondary markets and estimates the sales
price for the thing in secondary markets 20. The value
determination site 8 then calculates business factors in terms
of required costs to resell the thing. These costs include the
general administration cost for operating the website;
inspection costs; storage costs; and shipping costs. Profit
margin is also built into the cost model. Once these factors
have been computed, the secondary market resale price
estimate is reduced and the pawning or selling customer 1 is
provided with a pawn price or price that the web site 7 will
buy the thing….”, paragraph 100 and Fig. 3.
“It is envisioned that with an ES/Al 30 system, buying and
pawning price estimates can be provided directly to customers
1 from the web site 7 without requiring human intervention
in the process at the web site 7…”, paragraph 104 and Fig. 4.
0105] FIG. 5 depicts more detailed operation of the
warehouse site 27. The warehouse site 27 process begins
with a message from the pawning or selling website 7 that
a thing is being shipped 27 to the warehouse. The message includes a tracking number that is used to reference the customer provided thing description and the price estimate
generated by the web site 7, along with any special instructions.
Once the thing arrives in the receiving section 32 the
receiver looks in the special instructions section of the web
site 7 message to see if the thing requires a simple inspection
36 or a specialized appraiser 35. Things that are sent 33 for
simple inspection 36 are normally low-dollar things whose
condition can be easily verified from initial description and
price estimate sheets. Simple inspections do not require a
specialized examiner. Specialized appraisals 35 are normally
conducted on high-dollar things, complex things, or things
for which a simple inspection is not sufficient. Appraisers 35
are normally specialized and reconfirm the thing's condition
and price estimate. Once an thing's condition has been
confirmed through simple inspection 36 or detailed appraisal
35 at the warehouse 27, appropriate management offices
within the web site 7 organization, are informed and the
thing is forwarded to storage 39 to be held or maintained/
repaired 40. The pawning or selling customer 1 is informed
of the final price and the customer 1 has the option to accept
the value or request that the thing be shipped back. When
inspectors 36 and appraisers 35 find that things do not match
the customer's description documentation or the web site's
value model they send their inspection results to web site 7
managing officer….”, paragraph 105 and Fig. 5);
f) receiving confirmation from the user device to proceed with a transaction based on [the valuation, loan amount, and loan tenure];
(“…The management offices then inform the customer 1 of the adjusted valuation. The customer 1 can then decide whether to accept the new value or request that
the thing be returned….”, paragraphs 105-106);
g) and completing the transaction by at least one of: pawning and selling the item.
(“…The management offices then inform the customer 1 of the adjusted valuation. The customer 1 can then decide whether to accept the new value or request that
the thing be returned. …[0106] Things that are pawned and held in storage 39
remain in storage until the pawning office notifies the warehouse 27 to [Examiner interprets as completing the transaction ] either forward 44 the thing to shipping 45 to be returned to the pawning customer 48…”, paragraphs 105-106.
See also “1. An electronic transaction system, comprising…”, claim 1).
Kocher does not expressly disclose but SLIWKA discloses
based on the valuation [loan amount and a loan tenure for the item]
([0328] During the lending stage 2712, the borrower may request a loan and/or may negotiate a loan with one or more lenders. Upon receiving confirmation that the lender and borrower have agreed to loan terms, the loan process smart contract 2022 may instantiate a loan smart contract 2034 in accordance with the agreed upon terms of the loan. In some embodiments, the tokenization platform 100 may provide a GUI to a borrower that allows the borrower to request a loan from one or more potential lenders and/or negotiate a loan agreement with the one or more lenders…., the borrower may request a loan amount that does not exceed the appraised value and a proposed loan term that indicates an amount of time to pay back the loan. In some of these embodiments, the tokenization platform 100 may generate a loan request that is presented to potential lenders via a GUI, whereby the loan request indicates the sought amount, the length of the loan, and information relating to the collateral item provided by the borrower (e.g., a VIRL of the collateral item, authentication reports, appraisal reports, safekeeping reports, verification that the authentication, appraisal, and safekeepers have secured their respective tasks (as described above), and/or the like…. In embodiments, the tokenization system 100 may suggest a loan repayment amount and/or an interest rate (e.g., based on current market conditions) for the loan. Alternatively, a potential lender may provide an interest rate or a total repayment amount that the borrower would have to pay back via the GUI. Additionally, the potential lender may counter one or more of the requested loan terms, such as the loan amount and/or the repayment period …”, paragraph 328 and Fig. 27).
the valuation, loan amount, and loan tenure;
(“…In some of these embodiments, the tokenization platform 100 may generate a loan request that is presented to potential lenders via a GUI, whereby the loan request indicates the sought amount, the length of the loan…”, paragraph 328).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate SLIWKA’s teaching with the teaching of Kocher. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to communicate item valuation (appraisal stage 2706 in Fig. 27), loan amount
(“the tokenization system 100 may suggest a loan repayment amount and/or an interest rate (e.g., based on current market conditions) for the loan. Alternatively, a potential lender may provide an interest rate or a total repayment amount that the borrower would have to pay back via the GUI. Additionally, the potential lender may counter one or more of the requested loan terms, such as the loan amount and/or the repayment period …”, paragraph 328 and Fig. 27), and loan tenure (“repayment period”, paragraph 328, in order to offer a loan process that indicates a collateral item (see SLIWAKA abstract).
As to claim 1, it comprises the same limitations than claim 16 above therefore tis rejected in similar manner. Further, the claim comprises
a system for collateral appraisal and loan entry integration (Kocher abstract), comprising: a server configured to operate a collateral appraisal and loan entry platform; (Kocher claim 20) a network communicatively coupling the server to one or more user devices and one or more host devices; (Kocher claim 3) the server comprising: a processor; a memory storing a set of instructions executable by the processor, (Kocher claim 1).
As to claim 17 and 4, Kocher discloses
determining whether research is required for the item, and when research is required, conducting research using an artificial intelligence (Al) or machine learning (ML) model.
(“[0104] FIG. 4 depicts an alternate embodiment of the value determination site 8 with the addition of an expert system using artificial intelligence system (ES/AI) 30. The ES/AI 30 comprises hardware and software that, through a communications network 29 with secondary markets, 20 monitors and receives inputs on daily transactions. The ES/AI 30 collects information on transactions and builds a database that automatically organizes and categorizes information based on such factors as: manufacturer; model; …age; condition; color; where and when things were sold; sellers; and buyers, etc….”, paragraph 104 and Fig. 4).
As to claim 18 and 5, Kocher discloses
wherein conducting research using the Al or ML model comprises analyzing at least one of: make, model, category, previous sales, customer history, market data, and creditworthiness information. (paragraph 104 and Fig. 4).
As to claims 19 and 2, Kocher discloses
one or more host devices.
(“1. An electronic transaction system, comprising: (a) a host computer network, the host computer network including a database server that electronically stores and organizes things by at least one of descriptions, appraisals, sales history and geographic region, in response to inputs from electronic data and manual inputs; (b) at least one computer workstation at at least one location the computer workstation including means to send user commands to the host computer network, and means to allow a user to ascertain at least one of values, sales information and loan instructions of selected one of the things retrieved and transmitted from the host computer network;…”, claim 1);
Kocher does not disclose but SLIWKA discloses
wherein obtaining information corresponding to the item comprises querying one or more external data sources via one or more host devices.
(“[0076] In embodiments, the platform 100 may receive data from one or more external data sources 170. An external data source 170 may refer to any system or device that can provide data to the platform. In embodiments, data sources may include merchant, manufacturer, or service provider systems and/or databases that provide the platform 100 with data related to an available item. External data sources may also include user devices 190, such that the user devices 190 may provide relevant data (e.g., contacts, cookies, and the like…”, paragraph 76);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate SLIWKA’s teaching with the teaching of Kocher. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to communicate item information in order to offer a loan process that indicates a collateral item (see SLIWAKA abstract).
As to claim 3, Kocher does not disclose
wherein the external data sources comprise at least one of: previous sales transaction data, customer history data, inventory data, creditworthiness information, and market data.
but from SLIWKA teaching of linking or incorporation of data from any external system (“[0099] In some embodiments, the user management system 116 creates new accounts for users. In these embodiments, a new user may access the platform 100 and may request a new account. In embodiments, the platform 100 may allow a user to link their account to an account of an external system (e.g., Google®, Facebook®, Twitter®, etc.). …”, paragraph 99; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate SLIWKA’s teaching with the teaching of Kocher. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to use any external data sources for example , previous sales transaction data, customer history data, inventory data, creditworthiness information, and market data or any other needed in order to integrate essential context to enhance decision-making.
As to claim 10, Kocher discloses
wherein the server is configured to integrate with an external financial application, wherein the external financial application comprises an accounting software platform.
Kocher’s system teaches (“22. A electronic transaction financial credit system comprising: (a) a thing used for collateral; (b) a physical holding location for said thing; (c) a transportation system to ship said thing to the physical holding location; (d) an appraisal system to determine the credit value of said thing; and, (e) a credit lending system to lend money to the user for said thing”, claim 22.
The Examiner notes that is well known that in a financial credit system is core part of the system accounting as accounting provides recording, measure and report of transactions that underpin lending, borrowing and credit use.
As to claim 11, Kocher discloses
wherein the server is configured to track inventory data, including item-specific location and availability within one or more storage locations.
(“[0074] Item 27 is the warehouse”, paragraph 74. “…The warehouse 27 receives things from selling and pawning customers 1 over a shipping systems, 17 such as a freight service or the postal service. The warehouse 27 receives its instructions and communications from the pawn loan site, sell site, and reselling site through various communications links 26. When instructed, the warehouse 27 ships 28 to buyers in the secondary market 20”, paragraph 97 and Fig. 2. “The normal physical location for things is in the warehouse 27”, paragraph101).
As to claim 12, Kocher does not expressly disclose but SLIWKA discloses
wherein the server is configured to generate business analytics reports across multiple store locations.
(“[0028] FIG. 6 is a schematic illustrating an example analytics and reporting system according to some embodiments of the present disclosure”, paragraph 28 and Fig. 6.
“[0165] In embodiments, a services-matching system 510 is configured to match consumers to service providers for user-selected services. In these embodiments, a user may be seeking service, and the service matching system 510 may identify service providers that are best suited to provide the service. For example, the services matching system 510 may match service seekers and service providers based on pricing, availability, location, and the like.
[0166] FIG. 6 illustrates the intelligence and automation system 110 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. In embodiments, the analytics and reporting system 112 is configured to capture and report analytics relating to various aspects of the e-commerce platform 100. In embodiments, the analytics and reporting system 112 may include an analytics system 602, a reporting system 604, and/or a regulated asset system 606. In embodiments, the analytics and reporting system 112 may provide an analytics interface that allows a user to access the analytics and reporting system 112”, paragraphs 165-166).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate SLIWKA’s teaching with the teaching of Kocher. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to generate analytic reports across multiple locations in order to match consumers to service providers for services. (SLIWKA paragraph 165).
As to claim 13 and 14, Kocher discloses
Claim 13:
wherein the server is configured to provide a consumer- facing interface via the user device, allowing the user to view, renew, and repay existing loans.
(Kocher teaches interface to view loans, “the system electronically interfaces with potential pawning and selling customers and makes tentative offers to buy or lend money for a fully collateralized loan. The result is better price spreads between pawn prices and resale prices…”, abstract and “[0060] Item 13 is the pawn-loan-processing site…”, paragraph 60.
“[0097] FIG. 1 depicts an overview of the key elements of the main embodiment. The key elements of the main embodiment are customers 1 with electronic interfaces, such as a computer, that communicate through a communications network 2 with the buy-sell-pawn website 7. The web site 7 contains a value determination system 8 that monitors and communicates directly with secondary markets 20 through a communications network 19. The web site 7 also contains a reselling site 9 that communicates 19 with the secondary markets 20 to offer things for sale. A pawn-loan site 13 processes pawning instructions and loans for customers 1 with things to pawn. A sell-processing site 15 processes instructions and payment for customers 1 with things to sell….”, paragraph 97 and Fig. 1).
Kocher teaches
a consumer- facing interface via the user device, allowing the user to view (Fig. 2 web site and pawn loan site 13) , Fig. 1-2 and paragraph 97).
Kocher does not disclose but SLIWKA discloses
to [view], renew, and repay existing loans.
(‘…wherein the loan process smart contract instance is configured to: instantiate a loan smart contract that includes computer-readable instructions that are configured to: receive a loan agreement notification indicating one or more loan term parameters of a loan agreement that was agreed to by a lender and the borrower and to manage repayment of a loan based on the one or more loan term parameters, determine a loan repayment schedule based on a loan length and a loan amount of the loan as defined in the loan term parameters and lock the collateral token in an escrow account stored on the distributed ledger until the loan smart contract instance determines a change of state of the loan that is relevant to a parameter of the loan that applies to an escrowing of the collateral”, claim 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate SLIWKA’s teaching with the teaching of Kocher. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to renew and repay a loan in order to revive a loan in default (SLIWKA paragraph 17).
Claim 14:
and wherein the consumer-facing interface further allows the user to browse available merchandise and request photos of items,
(“[0032] Electronic Descriptions. Electronic text and picture descriptions of pawned things for sale appear on Internet. This allows a wide range of potential buyers to closely examine things for sale without have to find or go to a pawnshop”, paragraph 32).
As to claim 15, Kocher discloses
wherein the server is configured to store and retrieve transaction data and historical data in a database communicatively coupled to the server.
(“[0110] Another embodiment is to use the electronic valuation determination component to provide an auctioning customer with a historical based estimate on the thing the customer wishes to sell or buy. Again, the electronic valuation determination component could function as a "Blue Book" to assist on-line buying, selling, auctioning, and reverse auctioning commerce.”, paragraph 110.
“1. An electronic transaction system, comprising: (a) a host computer network, the host computer network including a database server that electronically stores and organizes things by at least one of descriptions, appraisals, sales history and geographic region, in response to inputs from electronic data and manual inputs;…claim 1 and “…(d) forth means for using an electronic transaction system, comprising a host computer network, including a database server that electronically stores and organizes things by at least one of descriptions, appraisals, sales history and geographic region, in response to inputs from electronic data and manual inputs;…”, claim 20).
Claims 6, 7, 8, 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG. Pub. No. 20080195527 (Kocher) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20220358584 (SLIWKA) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20240273483 (Lyer).
As to claim 6, Kocher does not expressly disclose but Lyer discloses
wherein the server is further configured to populate a cart with the item information, valuation, loan amount, and loan tenure, and allow the user to modify the cart.
(“[0044] FIG. 3 is a sequence flow diagram illustrating an exemplary process facilitating the platform …financial gateway system 104 for managing financial transactions, in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. ….According to FIG. 3, each of the one or more customers approaching the one or client websites correspond to the actors. …The merchant application 302 refers to the one or more client platforms. Both the terms merchant application 302 and the one or more client platforms have similar meanings and are used interchangeably throughout the embodiments of the present disclosure. In the first step, the one or more customers navigate to the cart page of the merchant application 302. On the one or more customers 310 reaching the merchant application 302, the merchant application 302 loads an Icwbootstrap.js. The Icwbootstarp.js is loaded onto the one or more client platform dynamically, thereby enabling the invocation of the platform … financial gateway system 104 from the one or more client platforms. On loading the Icwbootsrap.js the merchant application 302 requests a software development Kit (SDK) Application Programming Interface (API) to the Paas-api 304. Based on the received request the Paas-api 304 sends a log event to the beacon 308 thereby conveying to the platform agnostic financial gateway system 104 the presence of the one or more customers 310 on the merchant application 302 registered with the one or financing gateway computing system 104. On sending the log event to the beacon 308 the Paas-api 304 replies to the merchant application 302 with client SDK, scripts. CSS session and the information of the merchant or one or more client platforms. On receiving the Client SDK, scripts, CSS, session, and merchant information the merchant application 302 processes the Icwclientsdk.js. Further, the merchant application 302 processes the Icwclient sdk.css, furthermore, the merchant application 302 creates a button with regard to the financing solution. The button illustrates the Pay later option enabling the one or more customers 310 to access the financing solution facilitated by the financing gateway computing system 104. On the creation of the button the one or more customers 310 clicks the button with the pay later option. On clicking the button, the merchant application 302 generates the request for a prequalification form to the paas api 304. The prequalification form corresponds to the templates. On receiving the request of the prequalification form generated, a log event is sent to the beacon 308 thereby updating the platform … financial gateway system 104 of the financing request obtained by the one or more customers 310. On sending the log event to the beacon 308 the paas api 304 then authenticates the API token based on the received request. On authenticating the API token, the paas-api 304 identifies the merchant application or one or more client platforms 302 based on the authenticated API token. On Authentication the API token the paas-api 304 sends a log event to the beacon 308, thereby informing the platform agnostic financial gateway system 104 about the financing request received by the identified merchant. On sending the log event to the beacon 308, the paas-api 304 generates and sends back pre-qualification HTTP scripts, and CSS codes to the merchant application 302. On receiving the pre-qualification HTTP scripts, and CSS codes the merchant application 302 opens pop up and populates a dynamic form with the one or more customer details, one or more product details, financial details, financial instrument details, loan type details and the like. On viewing the populated dynamic form, the one or more customers 310 clicks the submit button. On the submit button action by the one or more customers 310 the merchant application 302 submits the input data and metadata corresponding to the dynamic form to the prequalification-api 306. On evaluating the input data and metadata the prequalification-api 306 sends the log event to the beacon 308. On evaluating the input data and metadata the prequalification-api 306 sends the prequalification responses regarding the approval or disapproval of the financing solutions. The prequalification responses correspond to a form based on user inputs which enable the one or more customers to choose from various financing options available. On receiving the prequalification responses, the merchant application 302 notifies the result to the one or more customers 310 through the one or more electronic devices 102”, paragraph 44 and Fig. 3. See also Figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lyer’s teaching with the teaching of Kocher. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for a server to populate a cart with the item information and financial details such as valuation, loan amount, and loan tenure, and allow the user to modify the cart in order “the one or more customers 310 clicks the submit button” in order to facilitate a loan process (see Lyer paragraph 44).
As to claim 7, Kocher does not expressly disclose but Lyer discloses
wherein the server is further configured to generate real- time reports and send the reports to the one or more user devices.
(“2. The platform … financial gateway system of claim 1, wherein in managing the one or more platform-based services rendered to the one or more customers via the one or more client platforms, the service management module is configured to: … wherein the one or more output formats comprise native excel sheets with transaction data, Portable Document Formats (PDFs), dashboards and reports; and dynamically tracking the selected service on the one or more client platforms ….”, claim 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lyer’s teaching with the teaching of Kocher. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to generate reports in order to track client platforms (Lyer claim 2).
As to claims 8, 9 and 20, Kocher does not expressly disclose but Lyer discloses
Claims 8 and 20:
wherein the server is further configured to detect anomalous events in the transaction data and generate an alert when an anomalous event is detected.
(“…Additionally, the service management module is configured to generate one or more service summary reports based on event status message, one or more exceptions and the like. Furthermore, the service management module is configured to generate one or more recommendation messages for handling the one or more services based on pre-stored solution table”, paragraph 32. “…The one or more exceptions comprise duplicate transactions, missing transactions, transactions posted to a wrong account, accounting errors, timing differences, and lender errors. The one or more exceptions are outputted in one or more output formats for allowing one or more operators to handle the one or more exceptions and one or more aged reconciliation issues. The one or more output formats comprise native excel sheets with transaction data…”, paragraph 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lyer’s teaching with the teaching of Kocher. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to detect anomalous events [exception events] in order to support a manage platform-based loan services.
Claim 9:
Kocher does not expressly disclose wherein an anomalous event comprises at least one of: a user modifying item information, changing loan terms beyond a threshold, and overriding system-generated valuations.
but from Lyer teaching of exceptions such as “duplicate transactions, missing transactions, transactions posted to a wrong account, accounting errors, timing differences, and lender errors.”, paragraph 33 and claim 22; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lyer’s teaching with the teaching of Kocher. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to detect any kind of anomalous events like “user modifying item information, changing loan terms beyond a threshold, and overriding system-generated valuations” or any kind of errors in order to allow operator to handle the exceptions and the results would have been predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“Tariff Stroll For Monetary Trading Using Deep Learning”. IEEE. 2021.
Abstract-There is also an intermediary individual, called a
broker, who contacts the buyer and the seller in the Indian
traditional land registry scheme. Brokers shall ensure the
land/property is registered by a registered office and the sale
and purchase between the parties is completed subsequently.
This paper analyses and predicts the data with regression
algorithms by machine-learning method. It can be used
without the dealer to sell or purchase the land with high
security. Machine learning is used most commonly to evaluate
certain functionality that we can analyze in this project. A
scope economy means that manufacturing one commodity
decreases the cost to produce another commodity. Whenever a
wide variety of items or services are produced simultaneously,
efficiency gains are more value for an enterprise than a smaller
range of stuff or individual outputs. In this instance, the long term
minus total expense of a company, institution or economy
decreases because of the performance of supplementary
commodities. Size savings, for example, led to corporate
success by assembly line manufacturing in the 20th century.
The price trailing of the ground depends on the atmosphere
and the potential forecast, depending on position and the last
increase in the specifics of the soil, which enables us to monitor
the prices.
/MARIA V VANDERHORST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621
5/11/2026