DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable for examination purposes.
Drawings
The drawings received on 06/04/2025 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
The reference, as combined,(s) listed in the disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2025 and 01/21/2026 have been considered. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GE et al (US 20180278369 A1), herein GE, in view of GE et al (US 20190305889 A1), herein GE2.
As per claim 1, GE teaches a method for determining an information bit (sorting of a reliability sequence to be performed for a reduced-length vector to identify the information bit positions in the reduced-length polar code vector; GE p. 0010), comprising:
determining a first sequence based on a mother code length of a polar code and a length of a to-be-sent bit (The information vector is encoded with a mother polar code having length N=2.sup.n to produce a polar code codeword… M is the length* of the codeword after puncturing.; GE p. 0093)(M is an output codeword bit length after puncturing using the puncturing pattern P; GE p. 0012, 0036-0037, 0042, 0052. 0160, 0205, 0237, 0260)(using a respective reliability sequence for each punctured codeword length; GE p. 0034)(block Puncturing with N=16 is used, with a puncturing order: [0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15]. Table 2; GE p. 0236),
and determining a position of of the information bit in the polar code based on the reliability order and the first sequence (a reliability sequence is used to determine information bit positions from remaining sub-channels…Then at least one reliability sequence is used to determine K information bit positions from among remaining M input bit positions; GE p. 0237-0239)(using a respective reliability sequence for each punctured codeword length; GE p. 0034).
GE does not explicitly teach wherein the mother code length is a positive integer power of 2, and the first sequence is for adjusting a reliability order of bits in the polar code.
However, GE2 in an analogous art teaches wherein the mother code length is a positive integer power of 2, and the first sequence is for adjusting a reliability order of bits in the polar code (Determine the information set custom-character by selecting K most reliable sub-channels according to Q, starting from q.sub.N, q.sub.N-1, . . . , and skipping the indices specified in the disabled set custom-character, if the entries in Q are arranged in increasing reliability order from 1 to N; GE2 p. 0111)(An ordered sub-channel sequence as determined at 1806, and a disabled sub-channel set as disclosed herein, could be used to select information sub-channels; GE2 p. 0114)(Sub-channel selection at 1958 also takes into account disabled sub-channels; GE2 p. 0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE with the teachings of GE2 by having the first sequence for adjusting a reliability order of bits in the polar code.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ adjusting a reliability order of bits in the system of GE because GE2 teaches rate matching can improve the performance of polar codes compared to state-of-the-art rate matching such as block puncturing (GE2 p. 0207).
As per claim 6, GE in view of GE2, as combined, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining a pre-freezing position of a bit of the polar code (The puncturing pattern evolution approach described above (the process of determining puncturing patterns for shorter and shorter codes) can be used to determine disabled sub-channels based on the puncturing patterns by continuing to iterate until N.sub.ref=1…A zero means a disabled sub-channel, one means a not-disabled sub-channel… for each input bit position, if the puncturing pattern of the corresponding length 1 polar code is one, that bit position is an information bit position, and if the puncturing pattern of the corresponding length 1 polar code is zero, that bit is a frozen bit position; GE1 p. 0151) based on the mother code length and the length of the to-be-sent bit (N is a mother polar code length, M is an output codeword bit length after puncturing using a puncturing pattern P…determine respective punctured codeword lengths M.sub.0, M.sub.1 for the two polar codes based on the puncturing patterns; GE1 p. 0042-0043),
wherein the pre-freezing position is not used as the position of the information bit (the K.sub.i information bits are chosen from amongst M information sub-channels that do not include disabled sub-channels…if the puncturing pattern of the corresponding length 1 polar code is one, that bit position is an information bit position, and if the puncturing pattern of the corresponding length 1 polar code is zero, that bit is a frozen bit position.; GE1 p. 0149-0151).
As per claim 9, GE teaches a method for determining an information bit, comprising:
receiving first information wherein the first information comprises a mother code length of a polar code and a length of a to-be-sent bit, and the mother code length is a positive integer power of 2 (The general notation of (K,M,N,P,C) is used herein to denote the polar code and the communication scenario. K is the length of an information vector bit length. The information vector is encoded with a mother polar code having length N=2.sup.n to produce a polar code codeword…A memory 1412 is also shown in FIG. 10, coupled to the encoder 1404, to the sub-channel processing module 1410, and to the transmitter 1406.; GE1 p. 0093);
determining a first sequence based on the mother code length of the polar code and the length of the to-be-sent bit (The information vector is encoded with a mother polar code having length N=2.sup.n to produce a polar code codeword… M is the length* of the codeword after puncturing.; GE p. 0093)(M is an output codeword bit length after puncturing using the puncturing pattern P; GE p. 0012, 0036-0037, 0042, 0052. 0160, 0205, 0237, 0260)(using a respective reliability sequence for each punctured codeword length; GE p. 0034)(block Puncturing with N=16 is used, with a puncturing order: [0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15]. Table 2; GE p. 0236),
determining a position of the information bit in the polar code based on the reliability order and the first sequence (a reliability sequence is used to determine information bit positions from remaining sub-channels…Then at least one reliability sequence is used to determine K information bit positions from among remaining M input bit positions; GE p. 0237-0239)(using a respective reliability sequence for each punctured codeword length; GE p. 0034);
and decoding, based on the position of the information bit, data encoded by using the polar code (the location of each frozen bit is known to both the encoder and the decoder; GE1 p. 0082)(determine information bit positions for the polar code, based on at least one reliability sequence and on the information bit lengths determined in a last of the at least one iteration of polar code decomposition, by using a respective reliability sequence for each punctured codeword length determined in the last of the at least one iteration of polar code construction; GE1 p. 0272).
GE does not explicitly teach wherein the first sequence is for adjusting a reliability order of bits in the polar code.
However, GE2 in an analogous art teaches wherein the first sequence is for adjusting a reliability order of bits in the polar code (Determine the information set custom-character by selecting K most reliable sub-channels according to Q, starting from q.sub.N, q.sub.N-1, . . . , and skipping the indices specified in the disabled set custom-character, if the entries in Q are arranged in increasing reliability order from 1 to N; GE2 p. 0111)(An ordered sub-channel sequence as determined at 1806, and a disabled sub-channel set as disclosed herein, could be used to select information sub-channels; GE2 p. 0114)(Sub-channel selection at 1958 also takes into account disabled sub-channels; GE2 p. 0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE with the teachings of GE2 by having the first sequence for adjusting a reliability order of bits in the polar code.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ adjusting a reliability order of bits in the system of GE because GE2 teaches rate matching can improve the performance of polar codes compared to state-of-the-art rate matching such as block puncturing (GE2 p. 0207).
As per claim 14, GE in view of GE2, as combined, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 9, further comprising:
determining a pre-freezing position of a bit of the polar code (The puncturing pattern evolution approach described above (the process of determining puncturing patterns for shorter and shorter codes) can be used to determine disabled sub-channels based on the puncturing patterns by continuing to iterate until N.sub.ref=1…A zero means a disabled sub-channel, one means a not-disabled sub-channel… for each input bit position, if the puncturing pattern of the corresponding length 1 polar code is one, that bit position is an information bit position, and if the puncturing pattern of the corresponding length 1 polar code is zero, that bit is a frozen bit position; GE1 p. 0151) based on the mother code length and the length of the to-be-sent bit (N is a mother polar code length, M is an output codeword bit length after puncturing using a puncturing pattern P…determine respective punctured codeword lengths M.sub.0, M.sub.1 for the two polar codes based on the puncturing patterns; GE1 p. 0042-0043),
wherein the pre-freezing position is not used as the position of the information bit (the K.sub.i information bits are chosen from amongst M information sub-channels that do not include disabled sub-channels…if the puncturing pattern of the corresponding length 1 polar code is one, that bit position is an information bit position, and if the puncturing pattern of the corresponding length 1 polar code is zero, that bit is a frozen bit position.; GE1 p. 0149-0151).
As per claim 17, GE teaches a communication apparatus, comprising:
a processor; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to (which includes a sub-channel selector, a polar encoder and a coded-bit processor…K information bits, M-bit codeword, and R=K/M code rate that is achieved by puncturing by the coded bit processor using puncturing pattern P in the coded bit processor; GE1 p. 0094)(A memory 1412 is also shown in FIG. 10, coupled to the encoder 1404, to the sub-channel processing module 1410, and to the transmitter 1406; GE1 p. 0242):
determine a first sequence based on a mother code length of a polar code and a length of a to-be-sent bit (The information vector is encoded with a mother polar code having length N=2.sup.n to produce a polar code codeword… M is the length* of the codeword after puncturing.; GE p. 0093)(M is an output codeword bit length after puncturing using the puncturing pattern P; GE p. 0012, 0036-0037, 0042, 0052. 0160, 0205, 0237, 0260)(using a respective reliability sequence for each punctured codeword length; GE p. 0034)(block Puncturing with N=16 is used, with a puncturing order: [0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15]. Table 2; GE p. 0236),
and determine a position of an information bit in the polar code based on the reliability order and the first sequence (a reliability sequence is used to determine information bit positions from remaining sub-channels…Then at least one reliability sequence is used to determine K information bit positions from among remaining M input bit positions; GE p. 0237-0239)(using a respective reliability sequence for each punctured codeword length; GE p. 0034).
GE does not explicitly teach wherein the mother code length is a positive integer power of 2, and the first sequence is for adjusting a reliability order of bits in the polar code.
However, GE2 in an analogous art teaches wherein the mother code length is a positive integer power of 2, and the first sequence is for adjusting a reliability order of bits in the polar code (Determine the information set custom-character by selecting K most reliable sub-channels according to Q, starting from q.sub.N, q.sub.N-1, . . . , and skipping the indices specified in the disabled set custom-character, if the entries in Q are arranged in increasing reliability order from 1 to N; GE2 p. 0111)(An ordered sub-channel sequence as determined at 1806, and a disabled sub-channel set as disclosed herein, could be used to select information sub-channels; GE2 p. 0114)(Sub-channel selection at 1958 also takes into account disabled sub-channels; GE2 p. 0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE with the teachings of GE2 by having the first sequence for adjusting a reliability order of bits in the polar code.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ adjusting a reliability order of bits in the system of GE because GE2 teaches rate matching can improve the performance of polar codes compared to state-of-the-art rate matching such as block puncturing (GE2 p. 0207).
Claims 2, 4-5, 10, 12-13, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI et al (US 20210176007 A1), herein LI.
As per claim 2, GE in view of GE2, as combined above, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 2.
However, LI in an analogous art teaches wherein the determining the position of the information bit in the polar code based on the reliability order of the bits in the polar code and the first sequence comprises obtaining a first position value of a bit in the polar code (the coding device first reads, from the maximum mother code sequence, a mother code sequence in a required length, then determines an information bit index set (which is also referred to as an information bit sequence number (sequence number set equates position values) set) based on the read mother code sequence, and finally performs polar coding on to-be-coded bits by using the information bit index set; LI p. 0064);
selecting an offset value from the first sequence based on the first position value (the plurality of fourth bits are used to indicate an offset multiplier of the sequence number stored at the current location with respect to a sequence number at a corresponding location in the base sequence. An i.sup.th sequence number in each offset sequence corresponds to an i.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence; LI p. 0106);
and determining a second position value of the bit in the polar code based on the offset value and the first position value, wherein the second position value is a position index of the information bit in the polar code (for a k.sup.th sequence number whose most significant bit is 1 and whose offset multiplier is y, the value of the sequence number stored at the current location is the k.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence+(the offset multiplier y×a length of the base sequence); LI p. 0126)(which is also referred to as an information bit sequence number (sequence number set equates position values) set) based on the read mother code sequence, and finally performs polar coding on to-be-coded bits by using the information bit index set; LI p. 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 with the teachings of LI by configuring the position of the information bit in the polar code to obtain a first position value, select an offset value and determine a second position value of the bit in the polar code based on the offset value and the first position value.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ determining a second position value of the bit in the polar code based on the offset value and the first position value in the system of GE in view of GE2 because LI teaches the maximum mother code sequence supported by the system may be stored in a compressed storage mode, to further reduce the storage overheads of the system (LI p. 0086).
As per claim 4, GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI, as combined above, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 2, wherein the determining the offset value from the first sequence based on the first position value comprises:
determining, based on the first position value and a subblock length, a sequence number of a subblock to which the first position value belongs (a quantity of sequence numbers included in each offset sequence is the same as a quantity of sequence numbers included in the base sequence, and an i.sup.th sequence number in each offset sequence corresponds to an i.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence; LI p. 0020)( to obtain the offset sequence 1={4 5 6 7}. Similarly, the offset sequence 2={8 9 10 11}, and the offset sequence 3={12 13 14 15}; LI p. 0120);
and determining the offset value from a plurality of elements in the first sequence based on the sequence number (a same offset difference (or offset multiplier) exists for sequence numbers that belong to one offset sequence with respect to sequence numbers at corresponding locations in the base sequence…A difference between the offset sequence 1 and the base sequence is 4 (an offset multiplier is 1), a difference between the offset sequence 2 and the base sequence is 8 (an offset multiplier is 2), and a difference between the offset sequence 3 and the base sequence is 12 (an offset multiplier is 3); LI p. 0019-0120).
As per claim 5, GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI, as combined above, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 4,
wherein the second position value is determined based on the offset value, the first position value, and the subblock length (for a k.sup.th sequence number whose most significant bit is 1 and whose offset multiplier is y, the value of the sequence number stored at the current location is the k.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence+(the offset multiplier y×a length of the base sequence) (first position+offset x sublock length = second position); LI p. 0126)(a result of dividing a difference between the sequence number stored at the current location and the sequence number stored at the corresponding location in the base sequence by a length of the base sequence, and the first bit is different from the third bit; LI p. 0020).
As per claim 10, GE in view of GE2, as combined, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 9. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 10.
However, LI in an analogous art teaches wherein the determining the position of the information bit in the polar code based on the reliability order of the bits in the polar code and the first sequence comprises obtaining a first position value of a bit in the polar code (the coding device first reads, from the maximum mother code sequence, a mother code sequence in a required length, then determines an information bit index set (which is also referred to as an information bit sequence number (sequence number set equates position values) set) based on the read mother code sequence, and finally performs polar coding on to-be-coded bits by using the information bit index set; LI p. 0064);
selecting an offset value from the first sequence based on the first position value (the plurality of fourth bits are used to indicate an offset multiplier of the sequence number stored at the current location with respect to a sequence number at a corresponding location in the base sequence. An i.sup.th sequence number in each offset sequence corresponds to an i.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence; LI p. 0106);
and determining a second position value of the bit in the polar code based on the offset value and the first position value, wherein the second position value is a position index of the information bit in the polar code (for a k.sup.th sequence number whose most significant bit is 1 and whose offset multiplier is y, the value of the sequence number stored at the current location is the k.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence+(the offset multiplier y×a length of the base sequence); LI p. 0126)(which is also referred to as an information bit sequence number (sequence number set equates position values) set) based on the read mother code sequence, and finally performs polar coding on to-be-coded bits by using the information bit index set; LI p. 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 with the teachings of LI by configuring the position of the information bit in the polar code to obtain a first position value, select an offset value and determine a second position value of the bit in the polar code based on the offset value and the first position value.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ determining a second position value of the bit in the polar code based on the offset value and the first position value in the system of GE in view of GE2 because LI teaches the maximum mother code sequence supported by the system may be stored in a compressed storage mode, to further reduce the storage overheads of the system (LI p. 0086).
As per claim 12, GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI, as combined above, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 10, wherein the determining the offset value from the first sequence based on the first position value comprises:
determining, based on the first position value and a subblock length, a sequence number of a subblock to which the first position value belongs (a quantity of sequence numbers included in each offset sequence is the same as a quantity of sequence numbers included in the base sequence, and an i.sup.th sequence number in each offset sequence corresponds to an i.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence; LI p. 0020)( to obtain the offset sequence 1={4 5 6 7}. Similarly, the offset sequence 2={8 9 10 11}, and the offset sequence 3={12 13 14 15}; LI p. 0120);
and determining the offset value from a plurality of elements in the first sequence based on the sequence number (a same offset difference (or offset multiplier) exists for sequence numbers that belong to one offset sequence with respect to sequence numbers at corresponding locations in the base sequence…A difference between the offset sequence 1 and the base sequence is 4 (an offset multiplier is 1), a difference between the offset sequence 2 and the base sequence is 8 (an offset multiplier is 2), and a difference between the offset sequence 3 and the base sequence is 12 (an offset multiplier is 3); LI p. 0019-0120).
As per claim 13, GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI, as combined above, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 12,
wherein the second position value is determined based on the offset value, the first position value, and the subblock length (for a k.sup.th sequence number whose most significant bit is 1 and whose offset multiplier is y, the value of the sequence number stored at the current location is the k.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence+(the offset multiplier y×a length of the base sequence) (first position+offset x sublock length = second position); LI p. 0126)(a result of dividing a difference between the sequence number stored at the current location and the sequence number stored at the corresponding location in the base sequence by a length of the base sequence, and the first bit is different from the third bit; LI p. 0020).
As per claim 18, GE in view of GE2, as combined, teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 17. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 18.
However, LI in an analogous art teaches wherein the communication apparatus is further caused to: obtain a first position value of a bit in the polar code (the coding device first reads, from the maximum mother code sequence, a mother code sequence in a required length, then determines an information bit index set (which is also referred to as an information bit sequence number (sequence number set equates position values) set) based on the read mother code sequence, and finally performs polar coding on to-be-coded bits by using the information bit index set; LI p. 0064);
select an offset value from the first sequence based on the first position value (the plurality of fourth bits are used to indicate an offset multiplier of the sequence number stored at the current location with respect to a sequence number at a corresponding location in the base sequence. An i.sup.th sequence number in each offset sequence corresponds to an i.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence; LI p. 0106);
and determine a second position value of the bit in the polar code based on the offset value and the first position value, wherein the second position value is a position index of the information bit in the polar code (for a k.sup.th sequence number whose most significant bit is 1 and whose offset multiplier is y, the value of the sequence number stored at the current location is the k.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence+(the offset multiplier y×a length of the base sequence); LI p. 0126)(which is also referred to as an information bit sequence number (sequence number set equates position values) set) based on the read mother code sequence, and finally performs polar coding on to-be-coded bits by using the information bit index set; LI p. 0064),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 with the teachings of LI by configuring the position of the information bit in the polar code to obtain a first position value, select an offset value and determine a second position value of the bit in the polar code based on the offset value and the first position value.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ determining a second position value of the bit in the polar code based on the offset value and the first position value in the system of GE in view of GE2 because LI teaches the maximum mother code sequence supported by the system may be stored in a compressed storage mode, to further reduce the storage overheads of the system (LI p. 0086).
As per claim 20, GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI, as combined above, teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the communication apparatus is further caused to:
determine, based on the first position value and a subblock length, a sequence number of a subblock to which the first position value belongs (a quantity of sequence numbers included in each offset sequence is the same as a quantity of sequence numbers included in the base sequence, and an i.sup.th sequence number in each offset sequence corresponds to an i.sup.th sequence number in the base sequence; LI p. 0020)( to obtain the offset sequence 1={4 5 6 7}. Similarly, the offset sequence 2={8 9 10 11}, and the offset sequence 3={12 13 14 15}; LI p. 0120);
and determine the offset value from a plurality of elements in the first sequence based on the sequence number (a same offset difference (or offset multiplier) exists for sequence numbers that belong to one offset sequence with respect to sequence numbers at corresponding locations in the base sequence…A difference between the offset sequence 1 and the base sequence is 4 (an offset multiplier is 1), a difference between the offset sequence 2 and the base sequence is 8 (an offset multiplier is 2), and a difference between the offset sequence 3 and the base sequence is 12 (an offset multiplier is 3); LI p. 0019-0120).
Claims 3, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI in further view of KERANEN (WO 2018109266 A1).
As per claim 3, GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI, as combined, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 2. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 3.
However, KERANEN in an analogous art teaches selecting an invalid value from the first sequence based on the first position value (The Subtrees Lookup Tables 910 are small buffers (e.g. 65536 entries, 256 x 256 texels) that are filled in with the addresses of the subtree root nodes within the Frame Subtrees buffer 920. The lookup tables use node Location IDs as indices, using the Location IDs that are stored in the Reference Octree 900. Deleted locations are written as special invalid values (e.g., -1 ); KERANEN Page 12, ll. 25-31);
and determining, based on the invalid value, not to solve the position index of the information bit in the polar code based on the first position value (When the current node has a Location ID 905, the currently active Subtree Lookup Table 91 1 is checked. There are three possible outcomes for this check: 1 ) The lookup table entry contains a zero value, which means that the node is not animated. Raycasting continues as usual. 2) The lookup table entry contains a special invalid value (e.g. -1 ), indicating that the node has been deleted in this frame. The node is treated as empty and raycasting returns to the parent node; KERNANEN Page 12-13 ll. 1-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI with the teachings of KERANEN by configuring selecting an invalid value from the first sequence and determining not to solve the position index of the information bit in the polar code
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ determining not to solve the position index from an invalid value in the system of GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI because KERANEN teaches recasting the ray only in the nodes that have location I to save time during rendering (Page 13 ll. 30-35).
As per claim 11, GE in view of GE2, as combined, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 10. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 11.
However, KERANEN in an analogous art teaches selecting an invalid value from the first sequence based on the first position value (The Subtrees Lookup Tables 910 are small buffers (e.g. 65536 entries, 256 x 256 texels) that are filled in with the addresses of the subtree root nodes within the Frame Subtrees buffer 920. The lookup tables use node Location IDs as indices, using the Location IDs that are stored in the Reference Octree 900. Deleted locations are written as special invalid values (e.g., -1 ); KERANEN Page 12, ll. 25-31);
and determining, based on the invalid value, not to solve the position index of the information bit in the polar code based on the first position value (When the current node has a Location ID 905, the currently active Subtree Lookup Table 91 1 is checked. There are three possible outcomes for this check: 1 ) The lookup table entry contains a zero value, which means that the node is not animated. Raycasting continues as usual. 2) The lookup table entry contains a special invalid value (e.g. -1 ), indicating that the node has been deleted in this frame. The node is treated as empty and raycasting returns to the parent node; KERNANEN Page 12-13 ll. 1-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI with the teachings of KERANEN by configuring selecting an invalid value from the first sequence and determining not to solve the position index of the information bit in the polar code
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ determining not to solve the position index from an invalid value in the system of GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI because KERANEN teaches recasting the ray only in the nodes that have location I to save time during rendering (Page 13 ll. 30-35).
As per claim 19, GE in view of GE2, as combined, teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 18. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 19.
However, KERANEN in an analogous art teaches wherein the communication apparatus is further caused to:
select an invalid value from the first sequence based on the first position value (The Subtrees Lookup Tables 910 are small buffers (e.g. 65536 entries, 256 x 256 texels) that are filled in with the addresses of the subtree root nodes within the Frame Subtrees buffer 920. The lookup tables use node Location IDs as indices, using the Location IDs that are stored in the Reference Octree 900. Deleted locations are written as special invalid values (e.g., -1 ); KERANEN Page 12, ll. 25-31);
and determine, based on the invalid value, not to solve the position index of the information bit in the polar code based on the first position value (When the current node has a Location ID 905, the currently active Subtree Lookup Table 91 1 is checked. There are three possible outcomes for this check: 1 ) The lookup table entry contains a zero value, which means that the node is not animated. Raycasting continues as usual. 2) The lookup table entry contains a special invalid value (e.g. -1 ), indicating that the node has been deleted in this frame. The node is treated as empty and raycasting returns to the parent node; KERNANEN Page 12-13 ll. 1-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI with the teachings of KERANEN by configuring selecting an invalid value from the first sequence and determining not to solve the position index of the information bit in the polar code
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ determining not to solve the position index from an invalid value in the system of GE in view of GE2 in further view of LI because KERANEN teaches recasting the ray only in the nodes that have location I to save time during rendering (Page 13 ll. 30-35).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GE in view of GE2 in further view of ZHANG et al (US 20190296769 A1), herein ZHANG, in further view of Huang et al (US 20220045784 A1), herein Huang.
As per claim 7, GE in view of GE2, as combined, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 6. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 7.
However, ZHANG in an analogous art teaches wherein if a code length E of the to-be-sent bit is not exactly divided by N/32, a quantity P of pre-freezing positions meets:
P=N-floor(E/(N/32))*(N/32), or
if E is exactly divided by N/32, the quantity P of pre-freezing positions meets:
P=N-E+(N/32), wherein N represents the mother code length of the polar code, and floor() represents rounding down (A quantity of groups may be fixed, for example, 32. In this way, rate matching for any code length may be implemented by using a fixed block interleaver, a specific operation of the interleaver is determined by a sequence S whose length is 32; ZHANG p. 0121)(Coded bits of a polar code are sequentially divided into 32 equal-length groups, and a quantity of coded bits in each group is N/32…When a quantity of to-be-punctured/shortened bits is P, a quantity of groups that need to be completely deleted is numG=floor(P/(N/32))…a quantity of to-be-punctured bits in a remaining group that does not need to be completely deleted is P−numG*N/32, where floor indicates rounding down; ZHANG p. 0176)(selecting (N−M) coded bits from the mother code as to-be-punctured/shortened bits based on a puncturing/shortening pattern, placing a frozen bit on a polarized channel with a sequence number corresponding to the (N−M) coded bits need to be punctured/shortened; ZHANG p. 0175).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 with the teachings of ZHANG by configuring a quantity P of pre-freezing position wherein N represents the mother code length of the polar code, and floor() represents rounding down.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a quantity P of pre-freezing positions in the system of GE in view of GE2 because ZHANG teaches a grouping manner with a relatively small granularity may be used to further improve performance (Zhang p. 0120).
GE in view of GE2 in further view of ZHANG, as combined above, does not teach P=N-E+(N/32).
However, Huang in an analogous art teaches P=N-E+(N/32) which is essentially adding an additional subblock (N/32) to the punctured/frozen positions (N-E, taught in Zhang). Huang (p. 0039) states “These impacted bits thus need to be additionally frozen to preserve system performance….E representing the transmitted bits after rate-matching and N representing the polar mother code size for retransmission…a subblock size (N/32 with N being the polar mother code size for the initial transmission… an implementation of the proposed scheme may additionally free a corresponding subblock in the polar encoder input so as to avoid the vulnerable bits (additional freeze block equates the adding of N-E to (N/32)); Huang p. 0028-0030)( input subblock corresponding to the interleaved subblock which contains the largest index of punctured bits tends to have less polarization gain.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 in further view of ZHANG with the teachings of Huang by configuring an additional subblock to the punctured/frozen position.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ an additional subblock in the system of GE in view of GE2 in further view of ZHANG because Huang teaches polar encoding may involve additionally freezing the encoder input subblock corresponding to the interleaved subblock containing the largest index of punctured bits plus additional following one or more subblocks to achieve extra enhancement (Huang p. 0040).
As per claim 15, GE in view of GE2, as combined, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 14. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 7.
However, ZHANG in an analogous art teaches wherein if a code length E of the to-be-sent bit is not exactly divided by N/32, a quantity P of pre-freezing positions meets:
P=N-floor(E/(N/32))*(N/32), or
if E is exactly divided by N/32, the quantity P of pre-freezing positions meets:
P=N-E+(N/32), wherein N represents the mother code length of the polar code, and floor() represents rounding down (A quantity of groups may be fixed, for example, 32. In this way, rate matching for any code length may be implemented by using a fixed block interleaver, a specific operation of the interleaver is determined by a sequence S whose length is 32; ZHANG p. 0121)(Coded bits of a polar code are sequentially divided into 32 equal-length groups, and a quantity of coded bits in each group is N/32…When a quantity of to-be-punctured/shortened bits is P, a quantity of groups that need to be completely deleted is numG=floor(P/(N/32))…a quantity of to-be-punctured bits in a remaining group that does not need to be completely deleted is P−numG*N/32, where floor indicates rounding down; ZHANG p. 0176)(selecting (N−M) coded bits from the mother code as to-be-punctured/shortened bits based on a puncturing/shortening pattern, placing a frozen bit on a polarized channel with a sequence number corresponding to the (N−M) coded bits need to be punctured/shortened; ZHANG p. 0175).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 with the teachings of ZHANG by configuring a quantity P of pre-freezing position wherein N represents the mother code length of the polar code, and floor() represents rounding down.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a quantity P of pre-freezing positions in the system of GE in view of GE2 because ZHANG teaches a grouping manner with a relatively small granularity may be used to further improve performance (Zhang p. 0120).
GE in view of GE2 in further view of ZHANG, as combined above, does not teach P=N-E+(N/32).
However, Huang in an analogous art teaches P=N-E+(N/32) which is essentially adding an additional subblock (N/32) to the punctured/frozen positions (N-E, taught in Zhang). Huang (p. 0039) states “These impacted bits thus need to be additionally frozen to preserve system performance….E representing the transmitted bits after rate-matching and N representing the polar mother code size for retransmission…a subblock size (N/32 with N being the polar mother code size for the initial transmission… an implementation of the proposed scheme may additionally free a corresponding subblock in the polar encoder input so as to avoid the vulnerable bits (additional freeze block equates the adding of N-E to (N/32)); Huang p. 0028-0030)( input subblock corresponding to the interleaved subblock which contains the largest index of punctured bits tends to have less polarization gain.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 in further view of ZHANG with the teachings of Huang by configuring an additional subblock to the punctured/frozen position.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ an additional subblock in the system of GE in view of GE2 in further view of ZHANG because Huang teaches polar encoding may involve additionally freezing the encoder input subblock corresponding to the interleaved subblock containing the largest index of punctured bits plus additional following one or more subblocks to achieve extra enhancement (Huang p. 0040).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GE in view of GE2 in further view of ZHANG et al (US 20170366205 A1), herein ZHANG2.
As per claim 8, GE in view of GE2, as combined, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 8.
However, ZHANG2 in an analogous art teaches wherein N is the mother code length, and E is the length of the to-be-sent bit,
in response to a first condition where 15.5*N/16<E<N, the first sequence is {0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
in response to a second condition where 14.5*N/16<E<15.5*N/16, the first sequence is { 1, 1, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0};
in response to a third condition where 13.5*N/16<E<14.5 N/16, the first sequence is {NA, 1, 1, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
in response to a fourth condition where 12.5*N/16<E<13.5*N/16, the first sequence is {NA, NA, 2, NA, -1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
in response to a fifth condition where 11.5*N/16<E<12.5 N/16, the first sequence is {NA, 3, NA, 2, NA, 1, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
in response to a sixth condition where 10.5*N/16<E<11.5 N/16, the first sequence is {NA, NA, NA, 3, 1, NA, 1, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
in response to a seventh condition where 9.5*N/16<E<10.5*N/16, the first sequence is {NA, NA, NA, NA, 2, NA, 1, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0};
and in response to an eighth condition where 8*N/16<E<9.5 N/16, the first sequence is {NA, NA, NA, 4, NA, NA, NA, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0} (The LUT 302 indicates which information sequence to use for various ranges of M. For each range, a single information sequence is computed offline for a representative value of M inside the range, and then that information sequence is used for any value of M inside the range; ZHANG2 p. 0090)(Different LUTs may contain different numbers of ranges of M and the associated representative sequences…the different information sequences for the different ranges of M (e.g. Sequence #1, Sequence #2, . . . etc. in FIG. 16) may each correspond to the same mother code length N.sub.b; ZHANG p. 0094-0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 with the teachings of ZHANG2 by configuring multiple conditions that determines sequences.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ multiple conditions that determines sequences in the system of GE in view of GE2 because ZHANG2 teaches dividing the coding bit length space and choosing a representative block length which may reduce implementation complexity (ZHANG p. 0097).
As per claim 16, GE in view of GE2, as combined, teaches the method for determining the information bit according to claim 9. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 8.
However, ZHANG2 in an analogous art teaches wherein N is the mother code length, and E is the length of the to-be-sent bit,
in response to a first condition where 15.5*N/16<E<N, the first sequence is {0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
in response to a second condition where 14.5*N/16<E<15.5*N/16, the first sequence is { 1, 1, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0};
in response to a third condition where 13.5*N/16<E<14.5 N/16, the first sequence is {NA, 1, 1, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
in response to a fourth condition where 12.5*N/16<E<13.5*N/16, the first sequence is {NA, NA, 2, NA, -1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
in response to a fifth condition where 11.5*N/16<E<12.5 N/16, the first sequence is {NA, 3, NA, 2, NA, 1, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
in response to a sixth condition where 10.5*N/16<E<11.5 N/16, the first sequence is {NA, NA, NA, 3, 1, NA, 1, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
in response to a seventh condition where 9.5*N/16<E<10.5*N/16, the first sequence is {NA, NA, NA, NA, 2, NA, 1, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0};
and in response to an eighth condition where 8*N/16<E<9.5 N/16, the first sequence is {NA, NA, NA, 4, NA, NA, NA, NA, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0} (The LUT 302 indicates which information sequence to use for various ranges of M. For each range, a single information sequence is computed offline for a representative value of M inside the range, and then that information sequence is used for any value of M inside the range; ZHANG2 p. 0090)(Different LUTs may contain different numbers of ranges of M and the associated representative sequences…the different information sequences for the different ranges of M (e.g. Sequence #1, Sequence #2, . . . etc. in FIG. 16) may each correspond to the same mother code length N.sub.b; ZHANG p. 0094-0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of GE in view of GE2 with the teachings of ZHANG2 by configuring multiple conditions that determines sequences.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ multiple conditions that determines sequences in the system of GE in view of GE2 because ZHANG2 teaches dividing the coding bit length space and choosing a representative block length which may reduce implementation complexity (ZHANG p. 0097).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
The prior arts of record teach:
YU (US 20190068225 A1) teaches a polar polar code encoding and decoding method and an apparatus. The decoding method may include: obtaining a polar polar code a code length N of the polar polar; determining a survivor path quantity L of the polar polar code according to the code length N of the polar polar code and a signal-to-noise ratio SNR for receiving the polar polar code, where L is a positive integer; and performing successive cancellation list SCL decoding on the polar polar code according to the survivor path quantity L, to obtain L survivor paths, and checking at least one of the L survivor paths, to obtain a decoding result of the polar polar code. The present invention can address a prior-art disadvantage that decoding is rather complex because of a fixed survivor path quantity L for polar code decoding.
Conclusion
/JAYLUN A JACKSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112