DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable for examination purposes.
Drawings
The drawings received on 06/04/2025 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
The reference(s) listed in the disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/04/2025 have been considered. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (US 8451918 B1), herein Cheng in view of Bhukania et al (US 20080043888 A1), herein Bhukania in further view of Shin (EP 3123682 B1).
As per claim 1, Cheng teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receive a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) via a channel associated with the UE (A wireless OFDM signal received by an antenna may be down converted from radio frequencies (RF) to baseband frequencies by a down conversion block 101; Cheng Col. 3, lines 11-15)(The set of outputs from the FFT block 104 may be input to a channel estimation block 105 to determine, for each subcarrier, a change in both amplitude and phase that the channel may induce on a transmitted symbol; Col. 3, lines 35-40)(OFDM is the waveform or modulation technique used to transmit signals across multiple frequency-domain subcarriers. DMRS is a reference signal transmitted using resource elements within an OFDM);
generate a frequency-domain noise signal associated with one or more frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS by performing, based at least in part on a channel estimation of the channel associated with the UE, a filtering procedure on the one or more frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS (A pilot spur adjustment block 501 may receive an output from the digital processing block 106 that may represent the received symbols at each sub-carrier corrected by the estimated channel transfer characteristic provided by the channel estimation block 105. The pilot spur adjustment block 501 may estimate the noise level at each pilot sub-carrier to determine whether the sub-carrier's CSI may be adjusted. Note from Equation (1) above that given a channel estimate H.sub.k and a known transmit symbol X.sub.k for a sub-carrier k, one may calculate the noise N.sub.k=Y.sub.k-H.sub.kX.sub.k from the received symbol Y.sub.k or equivalently using Equation (2) from the zero-forcing estimate of the transmit symbol {circumflex over (X)}.sub.k because of the equality Y.sub.k=H.sub.k{circumflex over (X)}.sub.k; Col 5, lines 41-54),
detect one or more frequency spurs associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols by performing a spur detection procedure on the frequency-domain noise signal (FIG. 4 illustrates an embodiment of the spur detection block 206 that may receive a digital signal prior to or after processing by the spur cancellation block 202…the output of the FFT block 403 may be examined by a spur tracking block 404 for the presence of narrowband interferers; Col. 4 lines 50-68)(If the maximum power 801 exceeds the average power 802 by a pre-determined threshold, e.g. 12 dB, the frequency of the sub-carrier with the maximum power 801 may contain a narrowband interference spur; Col. 5 lines 35-40);
and estimate a frequency associated with the one or more frequency spurs based at least in part on the spur detection procedure (an efficient fine estimate of the spur center frequency may be determined using a separate DFT block 405 that accepts as an input a digital signal output from the digital filter 201, i.e. the received digital signal before spur cancellation, and also receives information from the spur tracking block 404, for example a coarse estimate of the spur's center frequency. The DFT block may then calculate outputs at a set of frequencies narrowly surrounding a spur's coarse frequency estimate from which a fine frequency estimate of a narrowband interference spur may be obtained; Col. 5 lines 54-63)( a four point DFT may use fine frequency adjustments of -2.DELTA., -.DELTA., +.DELTA., and +2.DELTA. in blocks 603, 606, 609 and 612 respectively. FIG. 7C illustrates how the DFT outputs 705 of the DFT block 405 may provide a set of closely spaced estimates for the narrowband interference spur 701. These DFT outputs 705 may be communicated to the spur tracking block 404 to provide a finer estimate of the spur center frequency; Col.6 lines 5-13).
Cheng does not explicitly teach one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE;
a filtering procedure on the one or more frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS;
detect one or more frequency spurs associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols by performing a spur detection procedure on the frequency-domain noise signal.
However, Bhukania in an analogous art teaches one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (The software instructions (as well as data) may be stored in memory 1160 (which may correspond to RAM, ROM, secondary storage media such as hard disk, CD-ROM etc, in general machine readable medium), and executed by a processor; Bhukania p. 0172);
a filtering procedure on the one or more frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS (The quality of the channel estimates can be improved if the noise and interference samples are removed from the raw estimate given by equation 4. Since windowing in time domain is equivalent to filtering in frequency domain, wireless device 110A filters, in the frequency domain, the raw channel estimates represented by equation 4. The filtering can be performed in a known way; Bhukania p. 0079);
detect one or more frequency spurs associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols by performing a spur detection procedure on the frequency-domain noise signal (the error may include only the narrowband interference and the noise….Wireless device 110A checks if the residue signal contains portions within the band of interest (denoted by B) that have a power level greater than a threshold value, denoted by 550); Bhukania p. 0083-0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng with the teachings of Bhukania by configuring a filtering procedure on the one or more frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS in the system of Cheng because Bhukania teaches the residue signal may reveal the presence of an interference component, which might otherwise be hard to distinguish. Thus, the approach described above may be used even to detect interference signals whose power is much lower than the power of the signal of interest (Bhukania p. 0044).
Cheng in view of Bhukania, as combined above, does not explicitly teach receive a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) via a channel associated with the UE.
However, Shin in an analogous art teaches receive a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) via a channel associated with the UE (DMRS is a reference signal that is transmitted for a specific UE (i.e., a UE-specific signal); Shin p. 0020)(First, the UE may detect a received signal of an antenna port of p=7 or p=8, from a signal received at a DMRS position, by applying OCC in Table 3 or Table 4. A received signal of RE corresponding to the DMRS position at an antenna port of p=7 or p=8 may be expressed as shown in Equation 5; p. 0144)(The present disclosure proposes a channel estimation process that uses DMRS, as a method of performing DMRS detection for an interference signal. However, the method of detecting DMRS of an interference signal will not be limited to the following method.; p. 0141).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania with the teachings of Shin by configuring receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) via a channel associated with the UE.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ DMRS in the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania because Shin teaches the UE may determine the presence/absence of an interference signal based on the DMRS detection results for the interference signal in operation (Shin p. 0148).
As per claim 4, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin, as combined, teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to estimate the frequency associated with the one or more frequency spurs, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
determine a set of frequency-domain kernels, wherein a range of frequencies associated with the set of frequency-domain kernels is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing centered around a frequency spur of the one or more frequency spurs, and wherein the set of frequency-domain kernels are associated with a uniform spacing or a non-uniform spacing over the range of frequencies (The DFT block may then calculate outputs at a set of frequencies narrowly surrounding a spur's coarse frequency estimate from which a fine frequency estimate of a narrowband interference spur may be obtained; Col. 5 lines 54-63)(a four point DFT may use fine frequency adjustments of -2.DELTA., -.DELTA., +.DELTA., and +2.DELTA. in blocks 603, 606, 609 and 612 respectively. FIG. 7C illustrates how the DFT outputs 705 of the DFT block 405 may provide a set of closely spaced estimates for the narrowband interference spur 701; Col.6 lines 5-13)(DFT operations is a technical basis for frequency-domain kernels);
and estimate the frequency associated with the one or more frequency spurs based at least in part on one or more frequency-domain kernels of the set of frequency- domain kernels associated with the one or more frequency spurs (These DFT outputs 705 may be communicated to the spur tracking block 404 to provide a finer estimate of the spur center frequency; Col.6 lines 5-13).
As per claim 18, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin, as combined, teaches A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) via a channel associated with the UE (A wireless OFDM signal received by an antenna may be down converted from radio frequencies (RF) to baseband frequencies by a down conversion block 101; Cheng Col. 3, lines 11-15)(The set of outputs from the FFT block 104 may be input to a channel estimation block 105 to determine, for each subcarrier, a change in both amplitude and phase that the channel may induce on a transmitted symbol; Col. 3, lines 35-40);
generating a frequency-domain noise signal associated with one or more frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS by performing, based at least in part on a channel estimation of the channel associated with the UE, a filtering procedure on the one or more frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS (A pilot spur adjustment block 501 may receive an output from the digital processing block 106 that may represent the received symbols at each sub-carrier corrected by the estimated channel transfer characteristic provided by the channel estimation block 105. The pilot spur adjustment block 501 may estimate the noise level at each pilot sub-carrier to determine whether the sub-carrier's CSI may be adjusted. Note from Equation (1) above that given a channel estimate H.sub.k and a known transmit symbol X.sub.k for a sub-carrier k, one may calculate the noise N.sub.k=Y.sub.k-H.sub.kX.sub.k from the received symbol Y.sub.k or equivalently using Equation (2) from the zero-forcing estimate of the transmit symbol {circumflex over (X)}.sub.k because of the equality Y.sub.k=H.sub.k{circumflex over (X)}.sub.k; Col 5, lines 41-54),
detecting one or more frequency spurs associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols by performing a spur detection procedure on the frequency-domain noise signal (FIG. 4 illustrates an embodiment of the spur detection block 206 that may receive a digital signal prior to or after processing by the spur cancellation block 202…the output of the FFT block 403 may be examined by a spur tracking block 404 for the presence of narrowband interferers; Col. 4 lines 50-68)(If the maximum power 801 exceeds the average power 802 by a pre-determined threshold, e.g. 12 dB, the frequency of the sub-carrier with the maximum power 801 may contain a narrowband interference spur; Col. 5 lines 35-40);
and estimating a frequency associated with the one or more frequency spurs based at least in part on the spur detection procedure (an efficient fine estimate of the spur center frequency may be determined using a separate DFT block 405 that accepts as an input a digital signal output from the digital filter 201, i.e. the received digital signal before spur cancellation, and also receives information from the spur tracking block 404, for example a coarse estimate of the spur's center frequency. The DFT block may then calculate outputs at a set of frequencies narrowly surrounding a spur's coarse frequency estimate from which a fine frequency estimate of a narrowband interference spur may be obtained; Col. 5 lines 54-63)( a four point DFT may use fine frequency adjustments of -2.DELTA., -.DELTA., +.DELTA., and +2.DELTA. in blocks 603, 606, 609 and 612 respectively. FIG. 7C illustrates how the DFT outputs 705 of the DFT block 405 may provide a set of closely spaced estimates for the narrowband interference spur 701. These DFT outputs 705 may be communicated to the spur tracking block 404 to provide a finer estimate of the spur center frequency; Col.6 lines 5-13).
Cheng does not explicitly teach
a filtering procedure on the one or more frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS;
detecting one or more frequency spurs associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols by performing a spur detection procedure on the frequency-domain noise signal.
However, Bhukania in an analogous art teaches a filtering procedure on the one or more frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS (The quality of the channel estimates can be improved if the noise and interference samples are removed from the raw estimate given by equation 4. Since windowing in time domain is equivalent to filtering in frequency domain, wireless device 110A filters, in the frequency domain, the raw channel estimates represented by equation 4. The filtering can be performed in a known way; Bhukania p. 0079);
detecting one or more frequency spurs associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols by performing a spur detection procedure on the frequency-domain noise signal (the error may include only the narrowband interference and the noise….Wireless device 110A checks if the residue signal contains portions within the band of interest (denoted by B) that have a power level greater than a threshold value, denoted by 550); Bhukania p. 0083-0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng with the teachings of Bhukania by configuring a filtering procedure on the one or more frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ frequency-domain symbols of the DMRS in the system of Cheng because Bhukania teaches the residue signal may reveal the presence of an interference component, which might otherwise be hard to distinguish. Thus, the approach described above may be used even to detect interference signals whose power is much lower than the power of the signal of interest (Bhukania p. 0044).
Cheng in view of Bhukania, as combined above, does not explicitly teach receive a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) via a channel associated with the UE.
However, Shin in an analogous art teaches receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) via a channel associated with the UE (DMRS is a reference signal that is transmitted for a specific UE (i.e., a UE-specific signal); Shin p. 0020)(First, the UE may detect a received signal of an antenna port of p=7 or p=8, from a signal received at a DMRS position, by applying OCC in Table 3 or Table 4. A received signal of RE corresponding to the DMRS position at an antenna port of p=7 or p=8 may be expressed as shown in Equation 5; p. 0144)(The present disclosure proposes a channel estimation process that uses DMRS, as a method of performing DMRS detection for an interference signal. However, the method of detecting DMRS of an interference signal will not be limited to the following method.; p. 0141).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania with the teachings of Shin by configuring receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) via a channel associated with the UE.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ DMRS in the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania because Shin teaches the UE may determine the presence/absence of an interference signal based on the DMRS detection results for the interference signal in operation (Shin p. 0148).
Claims 2-3 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of Shoemake et al (US 20060211377 A1), herein Shoe.
As per claim 2, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin, as combined, teaches the UE of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 2.
However, Shoemake in an analogous art teaches wherein, to detect the one or more frequency spurs, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
combine, for a plurality of DMRSs received via the channel, a plurality of frequency-domain noise signals associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols in a time-domain to obtain a combined frequency-domain noise signal (After the channel estimation is performed, the invention can estimate the noise and its power across each subcarrier of an OFDM symbol associated with the channel estimation sequence. The estimated noise is defined as: {circumflex over (N)}.sub.k,n=R.sub.k,n-H.sub.k,nS.sub.n,k Equation 2 The noise power (variance) is defined as: .sigma. ^ 2 = 1 KN .times. k .times. n .times. N ^ k , n 2 Equation .times. .times. 3; Shoe p. 0037)(To improve this estimate, one can average over several OFDM symbols and packets… the algorithm averages over the time-frequency code (TFC) per subcarrier over several OFDM symbols and packets; Shoe p. 0045-0046)(Cheng brings the pilot noise level while Shin brings the DMRS-based processing)
and detect the one or more frequency spurs associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols based at least in part on the combined frequency-domain noise signal (The invention looks for significant increases (spikes) in the SNR as a way of distinguishing interfering signals from noise; p. 0044)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin with the teachings of Shoe by configuring combining a plurality of frequency-domain noise signals associated with symbols
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ combining frequency noise with symbols in the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin because Shoe teaches to improve this estimate, one can average over several OFDM symbols and packets (Shoe p. 0045).
As per claim 3, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of Shoe, as combined, teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein, to detect the one or more frequency spurs, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
detect the one or more frequency spurs associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols based at least in part on a combined frequency-domain noise signals satisfying a frequency threshold (If the maximum power 801 exceeds the average power 802 by a pre-determined threshold, e.g. 12 dB, the frequency of the sub-carrier with the maximum power 801 may contain a narrowband interference spur…If the maximum power 801 of a sub-carrier exceeds a "left" power 803 of an adjacent lower frequency sub-carrier and exceeds a "right" power 803 of an adjacent higher frequency sub-carrier by a second pre-determined threshold, e.g. 6 dB, a narrowband interference spur may be detected at the center sub-carrier.; Cheng Col. 5 lines 35-46)(wireless device 110A may determine if the residue signal has a power level above a threshold level in any portion of the band of interest; Bhukania p. 0042).
As per claim 19, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of Shoe, as combined, teaches the method of claim 18,
wherein, to detecting the one or more frequency spurs, further comprises:
combining, for a plurality of DMRSs received via the channel, a plurality of frequency-domain noise signals associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols in a time-domain to obtain a combined frequency-domain noise signal (After the channel estimation is performed, the invention can estimate the noise and its power across each subcarrier of an OFDM symbol associated with the channel estimation sequence. The estimated noise is defined as: {circumflex over (N)}.sub.k,n=R.sub.k,n-H.sub.k,nS.sub.n,k Equation 2 The noise power (variance) is defined as: .sigma. ^ 2 = 1 KN .times. k .times. n .times. N ^ k , n 2 Equation .times. .times. 3; Shoe p. 0037)(To improve this estimate, one can average over several OFDM symbols and packets… the algorithm averages over the time-frequency code (TFC) per subcarrier over several OFDM symbols and packets; Shoe p. 0045-0046)(Cheng brings the pilot noise level while Shin brings the DMRS-based processing)
and detecting the one or more frequency spurs associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols based at least in part on the combined frequency-domain noise signal (The invention looks for significant increases (spikes) in the SNR as a way of distinguishing interfering signals from noise; p. 0044)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin with the teachings of Shoe by configuring combining a plurality of frequency-domain noise signals associated with symbols
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ combining frequency noise with symbols in the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin because Shoe teaches to improve this estimate, one can average over several OFDM symbols and packets (Shoe p. 0045).
As per claim 20, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of Shoe, as combined, teaches the method of claim 18,
wherein, to detect the one or more frequency spurs, further comprises,
detecting the one or more frequency spurs associated with the one or more frequency-domain symbols based at least in part on a combined frequency-domain noise signals satisfying a frequency threshold (If the maximum power 801 exceeds the average power 802 by a pre-determined threshold, e.g. 12 dB, the frequency of the sub-carrier with the maximum power 801 may contain a narrowband interference spur…If the maximum power 801 of a sub-carrier exceeds a "left" power 803 of an adjacent lower frequency sub-carrier and exceeds a "right" power 803 of an adjacent higher frequency sub-carrier by a second pre-determined threshold, e.g. 6 dB, a narrowband interference spur may be detected at the center sub-carrier.; Cheng Col. 5 lines 35-46)(wireless device 110A may determine if the residue signal has a power level above a threshold level in any portion of the band of interest; Bhukania p. 0042).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of Rafique (US 20160112976 A1).
As per claim 5, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin, as combined, teaches the UE of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 5.
However, Rafique in an analogous art teaches wherein, to estimate the frequency associated with the one or more frequency spurs, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: estimate, in accordance with a sampling function, a frequency associated with a frequency spur of the one or more frequency spurs based at least in part on an index (a weighted average of the angle θ.sub.1 and angle θ.sub.2 can provide a rough (coarse) spur frequency estimate; Rafique p. 0045)(a weighted average of a first angle (formed by the samples k.sub.max and k.sub.max−1) and a second angle (formed by the samples k.sub.max and k.sub.max+1) (e.g., angles θ.sub.1 602 and θ.sub.2 604 of FIG. 6) using equation (9); p. 0047)(Depending on the sampling frequency, the FFT may or may not sample the peak of the spurs.; p. 0044) associated with the frequency spur being within one index of a maximum frequency (the angle θ.sub.2 corresponds to an angle formed by the max FFT sample k.sub.max and the adjacent FFT sample k.sub.max+1; p. 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin with the teachings of Rafique by configuring estimating a frequency associated with a frequency spur.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ index associated with the frequency spur in the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin because Rafique teaches in one aspect of the disclosure, the search region may be defined to be between the frequencies where the maximum sample and second highest sample lie (Rafique p. 0044).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of Dallal et al (US 20220191083 A1), herein Dallal.
As per claim 6, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin, as combined, teaches the UE of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 6.
However, Dallal in an analogous art teaches wherein, to estimate the frequency associated with the one or more frequency spurs, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit information indicating one or more spur parameters that correspond to the one or more frequency spurs, wherein the one or more spur parameters includes the frequency (the UE 115-a may request pre-compensation for an impairment because the UE 115-a is unable to compensate for the impairment or because pre-compensation of the impairment at the base station 105-a would avoid relatively high power-consumption processing operations at the UE 115-a. For example, the UE 115-a may experience a spur in some communication scenarios with the base station 105-a and, without compensation, the spur may reduce the likelihood of a receiver at the UE 115-a to successfully decode a downlink transmission 225 from the base station 105-a. In some examples, the UE 115-a may be unable to or otherwise refrain from compensating for the spur because the UE 115-a has a simple receiver design, because the UE 115-a is in a low power or battery saving mode, or because the UE 115-a is unable to process algorithms for compensating for the spur…the UE 115-a may include information associated with the spur in the impairment report 215.; Dallal p. 0093-0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin with the teachings of Dallal by configuring transmitting information indicating spur parameters that correspond to the frequency spurs.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ transmitting information indicating spur parameters in the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin because Dallal teaches re-compensation for select impairments may improve the reliability of downlink communication between the base station and the UE, which may result in a greater likelihood for successful communication between the base station and the UE (Dallal p. 0035).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of BURY (US 20110058618 A1).
As per claim 7, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin, as combined, teaches the UE of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 7.
However, BURY in an analogous art teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
apply log-likelihood scaling to the frequency associated with the one ormore frequency spurs based at least in part on the spur detection procedure (scaling of the equalizer output data as described above is needed to achieve a fair weighting between different equalized symbols for optimum decoder performance…he noise variance would have to be replaced by the variance of noise plus interference; BURY p. 0010)(Detection unit 20 performs equalization on a per-subcarrier basis, scaling of the equalized symbols, and, in case of a QAM constellation of 16-QAM or higher, QAM (quadrature amplitude modulation) demapping; p. 0033)(LLR scaling in units 230 and 330 obtain a vector of equalized and scaled symbols; p. 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin with the teachings of BURY by configuring applying log-likelihood scaling to the frequency associated with the frequency spurs.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ applying log-likelihood scaling in the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin because BURY teaches scaling of the equalizer output data as described above is needed to achieve a fair weighting between different equalized symbols for optimum decoder performance (BURY p. 0010).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of BURY in further view of SIDON (WO 2007092744 A2).
As per claim 8, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of BURY, as combined, teaches the UE of claim 7. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 8.
However, SIDON in an analogous art teaches wherein log-likelihood ratios associated with the frequency are limited to a range for the log-likelihood scaling based at least in part on one or more saturation values (the required range for the LLRs is from -A to A, where A is a positive integer…The input data is multiplied by the identified scaling factor (Q) for the measured SNR value…Then a saturation is applied to these values, by replacing all values outside the interval [-A, +A] by the closest end of this interval; SIDON page 10 lines 8-25)(Page 13 shows quantized LLRs are clipped to numerical limits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of BURY with the teachings of SIDON by configuring log-likelihood ratios are limited to a range for the log-likelihood scaling.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ log-likelihood ratios are limited to a range for the scaling in the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of BURY because SIDON teaches by incorporating a substantially linear interpolation between simulated scaling factors , a reduced complexity, and improved accuracy of the received demodulated signal can be achieved (SIDON page 15 lines 1-8).
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin in further view of Annavajjala et al (US 20130114765 A1), herein Anna.
As per claim 9, Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin, as combined, teaches the UE of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 9.
However, Anna in an analogous art teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
apply a noise mitigation procedure to the DMRS based at least in part on the spur detection procedure, wherein the one or more frequency-domain symbols are excluded from the noise mitigation procedure (Interference can be detected by comparing the relative power of each received pilot signal on a subcarrier to the estimated AWGN variance 414; Anna p. 0032)(The corrupted pilot signals are erased 406. The remained pilot signals in the set are used to estimate 407 the channels on pilot subcarriers, which are used in turn to estimate channels 427 on data subcarriers; Anna p. 0032)( after erasing pilot signals 404 higher than the threshold 505, the remained uncorrupted pilot signals 601 can be used to estimate channels; Anna p. 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin with the teachings of Anna by configuring applying a noise mitigation procedure to the DMRS based at least in part on the spur detection procedure.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ applying a noise mitigation procedure to the DMRS based on the spur detection procedure in the system of Cheng in view of Bhukania in further view of Shin because Anna teaches interference detection, channel estimation and data detection are needed to improve the performance of networks affected by PBPTI (Anna p. 0025).
Claims 10-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallal in view of MA et al (US 20220007372 A1), herein MA.
As per claim 10, Dallal in view of MA, as combined, teaches A network entity, comprising:
obtain information indicating one or more spur parameters that correspond to one or more frequency spurs associated with a user equipment (UE) (the UE 115-a may include information associated with the spur in the impairment report 215; Dallal p. 0094)( the UE 115-a may transmit, to the base station 105-a, an impairment report 215 requesting pre-compensation; Dallal p. 0092);
output, after reception of the information, a control message indicating a rate matching pattern forone ormore subsequent communicationsfor the UE, wherein the rate matching pattern is based at least in part on the oneor more spur parameters that correspond to the one ormore frequency spurs associated with the UE (the base station 105-a may pre-compensate a downlink transmission 225 for the spur by refraining from allocating resources for the downlink transmission 225 around the spur; Dallal p. 0094);
Dallal does not explicitly teach one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
output, after reception of the information, a control message indicating a rate matching pattern forone ormore subsequent communicationsfor the UE, wherein the rate matching pattern is based at least in part on the oneor more spur parameters that correspond to the one ormore frequency spurs associated with the UE
and obtain or output one or more messages in accordance with the rate matching pattern for the UE.
However, MA in an analogous art teaches one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (The transceiver may be used by a processor (e.g., controller/processor 240) and memory 242 to perform aspects of any of the methods described herein (for example, as described with reference to FIGS. 5-7)…Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120, respectively; MA p. 0047-0048):
output, after reception of the information, a control message indicating a rate matching pattern forone ormore subsequent communicationsfor the UE, wherein the rate matching pattern is based at least in part on the oneor more spur parameters that correspond to the one ormore frequency spurs associated with the UE (the indication of the set of interfered frequency resources may explicitly indicate the set of interfered frequency resources… the UE 120 may communicate with the wireless communication device 505 using the communication procedure by rate matching around the set of interfered frequency resources.; MA p. 0068-0070)( a base station (which may include a non-terrestrial base station, such as a satellite, a terrestrial base station, and/or the like) may determine interfered frequency resources and indicate those frequency resources to a UE; MA p. 0062).
and obtain or output one or more messages in accordance with the rate matching pattern for the UE (the UE 120 may communicate with the wireless communication device 505 using the communication procedure by rate matching around the set of interfered frequency resources.; MA p. 0070)(communicating with the UE using the communication procedure comprises rate matching around the set of interfered frequency resources; MA p. 0101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Dallal with the teachings of MA by configuring memories and processors to output a control message indicating a rate matching pattern for one or more subsequent communications for the UE.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ outputting a control message indicating a rate matching pattern in the system of Dallal because MA teaches a UE may communicate with the wireless communication device using a communication procedure that mitigates the effect of the interference (MA p. 0073).
As per claim 11, Dallal in view of MA, as combined, teaches the network entity of claim 10,
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
obtain second information indicating one ormore second spur parameters that correspond to one ormore additional frequency spurs (the UE 115-a may detect any emerging (or worsening) impairments or noise sources…The UE 115-a may transmit the second impairment report 215 according to various reporting options, including periodically, aperiodically, semi-persistently, or semi-statically. For example, the UE 115-a may receive a configured set of periodic or semi-persistent resources over which the UE 115-a may transmit impairment reports 215 (which may provide regular feedback to the base station 105-a as to which impairments are most severe or most limiting to the UE 115-a). Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115-a may be configured with a threshold (such as a threshold severity, a threshold amount of processing resources, or a threshold power consumption) and, if the UE 115-a determines that any of the impairments experienced at the UE 115-a satisfy or exceed the threshold, the UE 115-a may transmit an instance of the impairment report 215 requesting pre-compensation for the impairments that satisfy or exceed the threshold; Dallal p. 0107);
and output, after reception of the second information, a second control message indicating an updated rate matching pattern for the one or more subsequent communications for the UE, wherein the updated rate matching pattern is based at least in part on the one or more second spur parameters (the base station 105-a may allocate a set of resources that are not (or that are not likely to be) impacted by the spur; Dallal p. 0103)(process 700 may include transmitting an indication of a set of interfered frequency resources that are subject to interference by a set of interfering frequency resources (block 710); MA p. 0094)(communicating with the UE using the communication procedure comprises rate matching around the set of interfered frequency resources; MA p. 0101).
As per claim 12, Dallal in view of MA, as combined, teaches the network entity of claim 11,
wherein the second control message schedules one or more downlink messages in accordance with the updated rate matching pattern based at least in part on the one or more second spur parameters (The base station 105-a may indicate the set of resources to the UE 115-a via signaling (such as downlink control signaling) and may transmit the downlink transmission 225 to the UE 115-a over the set of resources; Dallal p. 0103)(the UE 115-a may detect any emerging (or worsening) impairments or noise sources; Dallal p. 0106)(process 700 may include transmitting an indication of a set of interfered frequency resources that are subject to interference by a set of interfering frequency resources (block 710); MA p. 0094)(communicating with the UE using the communication procedure comprises rate matching around the set of interfered frequency resources; MA p. 0101).
As per claim 13, Dallal in view of MA, as combined, teaches the network entity of claim 11,
wherein the updated rate matching pattern is based at least in part on one ormore modulation and coding scheme values associated with the one ormore subsequent communications (At base station 110, a transmit processor 220 may receive data from a data source 212 for one or more UEs, select one or more modulation and coding schemes (MCS) for each UE based at least in part on channel quality indicators (CQIs) received from the UE; MA p. 0042)(the UE 120 may communicate with the wireless communication device 505 using the communication procedure based at least in part on a determination that a modulation scheme to be used to communicate with the base station satisfies a condition… the UE 120 may communicate with the wireless communication device 505 using the communication procedure by rate matching around the set of interfered frequency resources. ; MA p. 0069-0070)(the base station 105-a may switch from a first modulation scheme with a higher coding rate (such as a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) scheme, for example, a 64-QAM) to a second modulation scheme with a lower coding rate (such as a binary phase-shift keying (BPSK) modulation scheme). The second modulation scheme may be associated with higher reliability and lower data rates; Dallal p. 0104).
As per claim 14, Dallal in view of MA, as combined, teaches the network entity of claim 10, wherein, to receive the information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
obtain a report comprising channel state feedback and the information indicating the one or more spur parameters (the UE 115-a may include information associated with the spur in the impairment report 215; Dallal p. 0094)(select one or more modulation and coding schemes (MCS) for each UE based at least in part on channel quality indicators (CQIs) received from the UE; MA p. 0042)(control information (e.g., for reports that include RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, and/or CQI); MA p. 0046).
As per claim 16, Dallal in view of MA, as combined, teaches the network entity of claim 10,
wherein the information indicates a bandwidth part index, a serving cell index, a frequency index, or any combination thereof associated with the one or more frequency spurs (the UE 115-a, the base station 105-a may pre-compensate the downlink transmission 225 for the spur based on refraining from allocating resources around (for example, near or within a threshold separation in frequency) the spur; Dallal p. 0103)(the indication of the set of interfered frequency resources indicates at least one of: a partially interfered resource block, a fully interfered RB, an interfered subcarrier of a partially interfered RB or a combination thereof; MA p. 0097)(the indication of the set of interfered frequency resources may explicitly indicate the set of interfered frequency resources; MA p. 0068).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallal in view of MA in further view of Khandekar et al (US 20100296389 A1), herein Khande.
As per claim 15, Dallal in view of MA, as combined, teaches the network entity of claim 10. The combination does not explicitly teach claim 10.
However, Khande in an analogous art teaches wherein, to receive the information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
obtain a bitmap corresponding to the information indicating the one ormore spur parameters, wherein the bitmap indicates one ormore component carriers associated with the one ormore frequency spurs (the additional bits of information can include a bitmap, wherein each bit position is associated with a corresponding component carrier; Khande p. 0063)(Each bit of the bitmap can indicate whether a corresponding component carrier has a reliable channel quality; Khande p. 0068)(a bitmap included in a scheduling request, the bitmap indicates component carriers from the plurality of component carriers with reliable channel quality; Khande Claim 9)(quality information module 126 can generate a bitmap, wherein each bit position corresponds to a respective anchor component carrier; Khande p. 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Dallal in view of MA with the teachings of Khande by configuring obtaining a bitmap corresponding to the information indicating the spur parameters.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ obtaining a bitmap in the system of Dallal in view of MA because Khande teaches when a loss of channel quality occurs, can retry transmission on different carriers, thus avoiding a failing carrier (Khande p. 0010).
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallal in view of MA in further view of Wang et al (US 20220006551 A1), herein Wang
As per claim 17, Dallal in view of MA, as combined, teaches the network entity of claim 10,
output, after reception of the information, downlink control information indicating the rate matching pattern, a puncturing pattern, or both for the one or more concurrent transmissions, wherein the rate matching pattern, the puncturing pattern, or both are based at least in part on the one or more spur parameters (the UE 115-a, the base station 105-a may pre-compensate the downlink transmission 225 for the spur based on refraining from allocating resources around (for example, near or within a threshold separation in frequency) the spur; Dallal p. 0103)(communicating with the UE using the communication procedure comprises rate matching around the set of interfered frequency resources; MA p. 0101)(the base station may determine that the determined, second configuration of the user equipment cannot be supported by the base station or that an alternative configuration would result in more efficient scheduling of resources for the base station. The base station may determine alternate wireless-communication parameters (e.g., subcarriers, transmission duty cycles and patterns, beam forming parameters, or transmission power parameters) that correspond to a third configuration of the wireless-communication hardware of the user equipment, and transmit a response message that includes the determined, alternate wireless-communication parameters; Wang p. 0065)
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
obtain the information indicating the one or more spur parameters that correspond to the one or more frequency spurs, wherein the one or more frequency spurs are associated with one or more concurrent transmissions via a first frequency range and a second frequency range.
However, Wang in an analogous art teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
obtain the information indicating the one or more spur parameters that correspond to the one or more frequency spurs, wherein the one or more frequency spurs are associated with one or more concurrent transmissions via a first frequency range and a second frequency range (At operation 602 the base station receives a request message from the user equipment.; Wang p. 0061)(the UE 110 may concurrently transmit first and second data to the base station(s) 120…The respective frequency ranges of the first and second sets of subcarriers can be non-overlapping; Wang p. 0045-0047)(intermodulation can be a bi-product of non-linearities that are inherent to radio transmitter components of the UE; Wang p. 0003)(non-linearities that may be inherent to radio transmitter components of the UE 110 (e.g., power supplies, oscillators, modulators, amplifiers, antennas, and antenna tuners) may cause intermodulation between subcarriers of the multiple RATs; Wang p. 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Dallal in view of MA with the teachings of Wang by configuring spurs are associated with concurrent transmissions frequency ranges.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ spurs are associated with concurrent transmissions frequency ranges.in the system of Dallal in view of MA because Wang teaches data contention or data losses resulting from the described interferences may be detrimental to data integrity and impact operations of the radio access network. In addition to this immediate compromise in effectiveness, the data contention or losses may lead to a compromise in efficiency due to a need to re-transmit the data, requiring additional power consumption on behalf of the user equipment and base stations of the radio access network, and also due to a need to a re-allocate subcarriers of the radio access network (Wang p. 0006).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
The prior arts of record teach:
Black et al (US 20210328838 A1) teaches a wireless communication channel between two nodes can be estimated based on a received reference signal, such as a Sounding Reference Signal. Techniques are disclosed to improve performance of reference signal channel estimation and make channel estimates more robust in the presence of one or more of a variety of impairments. Frequency domain processing and/or time domain processing can be performed to reduce distortion in channel estimates.
Mozzes et al (US 20150281987 A1) teaches method includes receiving a receive signal comprising a periodic data signal component and a periodic interference signal component; determining an average value by averaging over sub-samples of the receive signal, wherein the average value is independent of at least one sub-sample of the receive signal having a same phase as a particular sample of the receive signal ; and determining for the particular sample of the receive signal an estimate of the interference signal component based on the average value.
ZHANG et al (US 20150163710 A1) teaches methods and apparatus for wireless communication that may include determining that a dedicated physical channel (DPCH) is spurious, removing the DPCH from soft combining, and sending a report indicating that a cell associated with the DPCH is unavailable. Further, the methods and apparatus may include incrementing a counter for the cell associated with the DPCH in response to removing the DPCH, determining whether the counter exceeds a removal threshold, and increasing a time to trigger for sending a report to add the cell to an active set in response to the counter exceeding the removal threshold. A cell associated with a removed DPCH may also be excluded from measurements of a current frequency.
Conclusion
/JAYLUN A JACKSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112