DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehn et al. (US 2021/0146792) in view of Saha et al (US 2020/0389115)
Re Claim 1; Lehn discloses an electrified vehicle comprising:
[Lehn discloses a vehicle equipped with a dual‑inverter traction system and batteries. Lehn states that “the first inverter module and the second inverter modules are coupled to an electric motor… mounted in a vehicle” (¶[0014]). This establishes that Lehn teaches an electrified vehicle.
a motor including a plurality of windings corresponding to a first phase, a second phase, and a third phase;]
[Lehn teaches a motor having three windings. Figure 2 shows a PMSM with three open‑end windings labeled a, b, and c. Lehn states that “AC terminals of each of the first inverter module and the second inverter module are coupled to open‑ended windings of an electric motor” (¶[0022]). The three windings correspond to the first, second, and third phases.]
a first inverter including a first DC link and a plurality of legs connected to one end of each of the plurality of windings;
[Lehn teaches a first inverter connected to one side of the motor windings. Figure 2 shows “Inverter 1” connected to the a, b, and c terminals of the motor. Lehn states that “a first inverter module corresponding to a first battery” is provided (¶[0006]). Lehn further states that each inverter module includes “a set of three half‑bridge switch networks” (¶[0023]–[0024]), which constitute the plurality of legs. The first DC link is shown as V1 in Figure 2.]
a second inverter including a second DC link and a plurality of legs connected to the other end of each of the plurality of windings;
[Lehn teaches a second inverter connected to the opposite ends of the same windings. Figure 2 shows “Inverter 2” connected to the opposite a, b, and c terminals. Lehn states that “a second inverter module corresponding to second battery” is provided (¶[0006]). The second DC link is shown as V2 in Figure 2. The plurality of legs is again taught by the three half‑bridge networks (¶[0023]–[0024]).]
a first battery and a second battery respectively connected to the first DC link and the second DC link;
Lehn explicitly teaches two batteries, each connected to its respective inverter. Figure 2 shows “Battery 1” connected to V1 and “Battery 2” connected to V2. Lehn states “a first battery” and “a second battery” (¶[0006]) and further states that “the first battery and the second battery are EV battery packs” (¶[0019]).
a charging terminal including one electrode connected to a corresponding electrode of the first DC link and another electrode connected to a corresponding electrode of the second DC link;
[Lehn teaches DC charging terminals connected between the high‑side of the first inverter and the low‑side of the second inverter. Lehn states that the system includes “DC terminals tapping off a high‑side of the first inverter module and a low‑side of the second inverter module” (¶[0006], ¶[0009]). These DC terminals correspond to the claimed charging terminal.]
and a controller configured to control switching states of the first inverter and the second inverter based on a maximum charging voltage applicable to the charging terminal and at least one of voltages and charging current commands of the first battery and the second battery, and such that the first battery and the second battery are charged.
[Lehn teaches a controller that controls the switching states of both inverters during charging. Lehn states that the method includes “controlling the switch networks with complementary switching” (¶[0011]) and “controlling the switch networks with interleaved switching” (¶[0012]). Lehn further teaches that the controller performs “constant current control” and “voltage balancing control” as shown in Figure 8, where the controller receives V1, V2, and idc_ref.
Lehn teaches that the charging voltage applied to the charging terminals is the DC grid voltage Vdc, which is the maximum charging voltage. Figures 1(e) and 9 show Vdc applied to the DC terminals. Lehn states that the system provides “rapid charging of the first battery and the second battery” (¶[0017]).]
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses battery voltages to regulate charging. Lehn states that the switching device is controlled “based on at least one voltage of the at least one respective battery” (¶[0008]). Figure 8 shows V1 and V2 being fed into the controller for voltage balancing.
Lehn further teaches that the controller uses charging current commands. Figure 8 shows idc_ref, which is the charging current command used for constant current charging.
Thus, Lehn teaches controlling the switching states of both inverters based on the maximum charging voltage (Vdc), the voltages of the first and second batteries (V1 and V2), and the charging current command (idc_ref), in order to charge both batteries.
Lehn discloses wherein, to charge the first battery and the second battery, the controller is configured to: determine, based on the maximum charging voltage and at least one of the voltages and the charging current commands of each of the first battery and the second battery, (Par 0159)
Lehn does not disclose
at least one leg to be fixed in a single switching state within a switching period among the plurality of legs of the first inverter and the second inverter; control the at least one leg determined to be fixed to maintain the single switching state during the switching period; and control switching of remaining legs among the plurality of legs during the switching period.
However, Saha discloses Discontinuous pulse-width modulation (DPWM), also known as bus-clamping PWM, is a modulation technique for three-phase converters that pauses switching on one converter leg for a total of 120 degrees per fundamental cycle.
Wherein at least one leg to be fixed in a single switching state within a switching period among the plurality of legs of the first inverter and the second inverter; control the at least one leg determined to be fixed to maintain the single switching state during the switching period; and control switching of remaining legs among the plurality of legs during the switching period. (Par 0052)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have regulated the switching period among the plurality of legs of the first inverters in order to provide reliable power required to effectively charge the batteries.
Re Claim 2; Lehn discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the switching states of the first inverter and the second inverter based on relationships between the maximum charging voltage and the voltages of the first battery and the second battery.
[Lehn teaches a controller that regulates the switching states of both inverters using the voltages of the first and second batteries and the maximum charging voltage applied at the charging terminals.
Lehn discloses that the charging terminals are connected to a DC grid voltage Vdc. Figures 1(e) and 9 show Vdc applied to the DC terminals used for charging. Vdc is the maximum charging voltage applied to the system during charging.
Lehn further teaches that the controller uses the voltages of the first battery and the second battery, V1 and V2, to regulate the switching states of the inverters. Figure 8 shows V1 and V2 being fed directly into the controller as part of the voltage balancing control loop. Lehn states that the switching device and inverter switches are controlled “based on at least one voltage of the at least one respective battery” (¶[0008]).
Lehn also teaches that the controller adjusts the switching states of the inverters to maintain appropriate relationships between Vdc and the battery voltages. Figure 9 shows the relationship between Vdc, V1, and V2 during charging, where the controller modulates d1 and d2 to maintain proper charging behavior. The controller adjusts the switching states to ensure that the battery voltages remain within allowable limits relative to the charging voltage Vdc.
Lehn further teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries, which necessarily requires evaluating the relationship between the charging voltage Vdc and the individual battery voltages V1 and V2. Figure 8 shows the voltage balancing control block that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching states of the inverters accordingly.
Because Lehn teaches controlling the switching states of the inverters based on the relationship between the maximum charging voltage Vdc and the battery voltages V1 and V2, the subject matter of Claim 2 is taught by Lehn.]
Re Claim 3; Lehn discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the switching states based on a first charging power of the first battery, a second charging power of the second battery, and a constant for the second charging power when both the voltages of the first battery and the second battery are equal to or higher than the maximum charging voltage, wherein the first charging power is determined based on the voltage and charging current command of the first battery, and the second charging power is determined based on the voltage and charging current command of the second battery.
[Lehn teaches a controller that regulates the switching states of both inverters using the charging power associated with each battery. Lehn discloses that the controller receives the battery voltages V1 and V2 and the charging current command idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. The charging power of each battery is the product of the battery voltage and the charging current. Because Lehn provides both the voltage and the charging current command for each battery, Lehn inherently provides the information necessary to compute the first charging power and the second charging power.
Lehn teaches that the controller regulates the switching states of the inverters based on the battery voltages and the charging current command. Figure 8 shows that V1, V2, and idc_ref are inputs to the voltage balancing and constant current control loops. These loops directly influence the switching signals d1,abc and d2,abc that control the switching states of the first and second inverters.
Lehn further teaches that the controller regulates the switching states when the battery voltages are at or above the charging voltage. Figure 9 shows V1 and V2 rising toward the charging voltage Vdc during charging. The controller adjusts the switching states to maintain proper charging behavior as the battery voltages approach and reach the charging voltage. This satisfies the requirement that the controller operates when both battery voltages are equal to or higher than the maximum charging voltage.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional or constant factors in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks used in the voltage balancing and constant current control loops. These gain values correspond to the constant for the second charging power recited in the claim. The use of constants or proportional gains in power‑based control is a standard technique in dual‑inverter charging systems.
Because Lehn teaches determining charging power from battery voltage and charging current command, and because Lehn teaches controlling the switching states based on these quantities and control constants, the subject matter of Claim 3 is taught by Lehn.]
Re Claim 4; Lehn discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the switching states such that the first phase and the second phase charge only the second battery, and the third phase charges the first battery and the second battery in equal proportions when a condition expressed by P1 < P2/a is satisfied, wherein P1* is the first charging power, P2* is the second charging power, and a is a constant for the second charging power.”
Lehn teaches a controller that allocates charging current among phases of the dual‑inverter system in order to regulate charging power delivered to each battery. Lehn discloses that the controller performs voltage balancing and constant current control using V1, V2, and idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. These control loops generate switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc that independently regulate the phase currents of the first and second inverters.
Lehn teaches that the controller adjusts the switching states of individual phases to direct charging current to one battery or both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is independently connected to the motor’s open‑end windings, which allows the controller to direct current from a given phase to either battery or to both batteries. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]). This requires the controller to allocate phase currents in a manner that increases charging power to one battery while reducing charging power to the other.
Lehn further teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the constant “a” recited in Claim 4. The use of constants to scale charging power or to determine thresholds for phase allocation is a standard technique in dual‑inverter charging systems.
Lehn also teaches that the controller adjusts the switching states of the phases based on the relative charging power of the two batteries. Figure 9 shows that the controller modulates d1 and d2 to regulate the charging power delivered to each battery as V1 and V2 change. When one battery requires more charging power than the other, the controller adjusts the switching states to direct more current to that battery. This satisfies the requirement that the controller uses a condition involving P1* and P2* to determine how the phases are allocated.
Lehn does not disclose P1* < P2*/a
Because Lehn teaches independent phase control, power balancing between batteries, and the use of proportional constants in determining phase allocation, Lehn teaches the subject matter of Claim 4. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to implement a threshold condition such as P1* < P2*/a to determine when two phases charge only the second battery and when the third phase charges both batteries equally. Such threshold‑based phase allocation is a routine design choice in dual‑inverter charging systems.
Re Claim 5; Lehn discloses Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, which allows the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]). This requires the controller to allocate phase currents in a manner that increases charging power to one battery while reducing charging power to the other.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives the voltages of the first and second batteries, V1 and V2, and the charging current command idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. These quantities determine the charging power delivered to each battery. The controller uses these values to generate switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc that independently regulate the phase currents of the first and second inverters.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the constant “a” recited in Claim 5.
Lehn further teaches that the controller adjusts the switching states of the phases based on the relative charging power of the two batteries. Figure 9 shows that the controller modulates d1 and d2 to regulate the charging power delivered to each battery as V1 and V2 change. When one battery requires more charging power than the other, the controller adjusts the switching states to direct more current to that battery.
Lehn does not explicitly teach the specific phase‑allocation pattern recited in Claim 5, namely:
the first phase charging only the first battery, the second phase charging only the second battery, and the third phase charging both batteries in equal proportions, triggered specifically when the condition P2/a ≤ P1 < aP2* is satisfied.
Lehn teaches independent phase control and power balancing, but it does not disclose this exact three‑phase allocation rule or the specific inequality involving P1, P2, and a.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to implement the phase‑allocation rule of Claim 5 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems inherently require phase‑selective current routing to maintain stable DC‑link utilization, minimize circulating currents, and achieve balanced charging power between two energy storage devices.
In particular: Open‑end winding machines allow each phase to be independently controlled, and the literature teaches that selective phase routing is used to shape the instantaneous power delivered to each DC link. Lehn already uses independent phase modulation to balance energy between batteries (¶[0013]). When the charging powers P1 and P2 are close in magnitude, as expressed by the inequality P2/a ≤ P1 < aP2*, the system benefits from a symmetrical phase‑sharing strategy to reduce neutral‑point oscillations and minimize torque ripple in the motor during charging. This is a well‑known engineering requirement in open‑end winding systems.
Assigning one phase exclusively to each battery and using the third phase as a shared balancing phase is a standard technique for: reducing cross‑coupling between DC links, minimizing circulating currents, improving harmonic cancellation, and maintaining equal average power flow when the two batteries have similar charging power demands.
The inequality P2/a ≤ P1 < aP2* simply defines the region where neither battery dominates the power demand, making a mixed‑allocation strategy the most stable and efficient. Engineers routinely use such threshold‑based rules to determine when to switch between pure‑allocation and mixed‑allocation modes.
Thus, even though Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the exact phase‑allocation pattern, the modification would have been obvious because phase‑selective current routing is a fundamental control strategy in dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems, and the claimed allocation pattern is a predictable and technically advantageous method for achieving stable charging when the two batteries have comparable charging power requirements.
Re Claim 6; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, which allows the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]). This requires the controller to allocate phase currents in a manner that increases charging power to one battery while reducing charging power to the other.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives the voltages of the first and second batteries, V1 and V2, and the charging current command idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. These quantities determine the charging power delivered to each battery. The controller uses these values to generate switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc that independently regulate the phase currents of the first and second inverters.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the constant “a” recited in Claim 6.
Lehn further teaches that the controller adjusts the switching states of the phases based on the relative charging power of the two batteries. Figure 9 shows that the controller modulates d1 and d2 to regulate the charging power delivered to each battery as V1 and V2 change. When one battery requires significantly more charging power than the other, the controller adjusts the switching states to direct more current to that battery.
Lehn does not explicitly teach the specific phase‑allocation pattern recited in Claim 6, namely: the first phase charging only the first battery, the second phase charging only the first battery, and the third phase charging both batteries in equal proportions, triggered specifically when the condition aP2 ≤ P1* is satisfied.
Lehn teaches independent phase control and power balancing, but it does not disclose this exact allocation rule or the specific inequality involving P1, P2, and a.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the phase‑allocation rule of Claim 6 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems require selective phase routing to prevent DC‑link overvoltage, reduce circulating currents, and maintain stable power flow when one battery demands substantially more charging power than the other.
Specifically:
When P1 becomes significantly larger than P2, as expressed by the condition aP2 ≤ P1, the first battery becomes the dominant load. In this situation, routing two phases exclusively to the first battery provides a stable and efficient way to deliver higher average power without saturating the shared phase.
Using the third phase as a shared balancing phase is a known engineering method for preventing DC‑link voltage divergence when one battery is charged at a much higher power level. The shared phase provides a controlled path for equal‑proportion current flow, which reduces neutral‑point oscillations and prevents the motor’s open‑end winding from experiencing unbalanced flux.
Assigning two phases exclusively to the higher‑power battery reduces the instantaneous current stress on the shared phase and minimizes harmonic distortion. This is a standard engineering practice in multi‑phase power converters when one DC link requires substantially more power than the other.
Threshold‑based phase allocation rules such as aP2* ≤ P1* are routinely used in dual‑inverter systems to determine when the system should transition from balanced charging to dominant‑battery charging. Engineers use such inequalities to prevent instability when the power demand of one battery exceeds the balancing capability of the shared phase.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the exact phase‑allocation pattern, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed allocation rule is a predictable and technically advantageous method for delivering higher charging power to one battery while maintaining system stability in a dual‑inverter open‑end winding architecture.
Re Claim 7; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which the controller regulates the switching states of both inverters using the voltages of the first and second batteries and the charging current command. Figure 8 shows that V1, V2, and idc_ref are inputs to the controller. These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]).
Lehn teaches that the controller regulates charging when one battery voltage is higher than the other. Figure 9 shows V1 and V2 diverging during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to maintain proper charging behavior. Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops, as shown in Figure 8. These gain values correspond to the voltage parameter recited in Claim 7.
Lehn further teaches that the controller regulates charging when one battery approaches the charging voltage Vdc while the other battery remains below it. Figure 9 shows V1 rising toward Vdc while V2 remains lower, and the controller modulates d1 and d2 to maintain stable charging.
Lehn does not explicitly teach:
the use of a specific voltage parameter for the second charging power, the explicit condition where the voltage of the first battery is equal to or higher than the maximum charging voltage while the voltage of the second battery is less than the maximum charging voltage, and
the explicit requirement that the controller uses first charging power, second charging power, and the voltage parameter to determine switching states under this asymmetric‑voltage condition.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing and power‑based control, but it does not disclose the specific asymmetric‑voltage rule or the explicit voltage parameter used to scale the second charging power.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 7 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding charging systems must prevent overcharging of one battery while ensuring continued charging of the other battery when the battery voltages diverge significantly.
Specifically: When the first battery reaches or exceeds the maximum charging voltage, the controller must reduce or limit charging power to that battery to prevent overvoltage, cell imbalance, or thermal stress. This is a fundamental safety requirement in battery charging systems. When the second battery remains below the maximum charging voltage, the system must continue delivering charging power to the second battery. This requires the controller to allocate more current to the second battery while reducing current to the first battery.
Using a voltage parameter to scale the second charging power is a known engineering method for compensating for the voltage difference between the two batteries. When V1 ≥ Vmax and V2 < Vmax, the voltage parameter allows the controller to increase the effective charging power of the second battery without destabilizing the DC‑link voltages.
Power‑based control using P1 and P2 is a standard technique in dual‑inverter systems because it allows the controller to regulate energy flow rather than only current or voltage. When one battery reaches its voltage limit, power‑based control ensures smooth transitions and prevents abrupt changes in phase currents.
The asymmetric‑voltage condition described in Claim 7 is a common scenario in dual‑battery EV architectures, and engineers routinely implement control rules that reduce charging power to the higher‑voltage battery while increasing charging power to the lower‑voltage battery. This prevents overcharging and maintains efficient use of the available charging voltage.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact voltage parameter or the specific asymmetric‑voltage rule recited in Claim 7, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for preventing overvoltage in one battery while continuing to charge the other battery in a dual‑inverter open‑end winding system.
Re Claim 8; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, which allows the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery or to both batteries simultaneously.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives the voltages of the first and second batteries, V1 and V2, and the charging current command idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]).
Lehn teaches that the controller regulates charging when one battery voltage is significantly lower than the other. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the lower‑voltage battery. This demonstrates that Lehn teaches allocating a greater proportion of charging current to the second battery when its voltage is lower.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the voltage parameter (Vmax − V2)/V2 recited in Claim 8.
Lehn does not explicitly teach:
the specific condition P1 < ((Vmax − V2)/V2) P2*,
the explicit use of the voltage parameter (Vmax − V2)/V2 to scale the second charging power, and the explicit requirement that all three phases charge both batteries with a greater proportion directed to the second battery under this condition.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing and power‑based control, but it does not disclose this exact inequality or the explicit proportional‑charging rule.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 8 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must increase charging power to the lower‑voltage battery to prevent voltage divergence, maintain DC‑link stability, and ensure efficient utilization of the available charging voltage.
Specifically:
When V2 is significantly lower than Vmax, the second battery is capable of accepting more charging power without approaching its voltage limit. Engineers routinely increase charging power to the lower‑voltage battery to prevent imbalance and to avoid underutilizing the available charging voltage.
The voltage parameter (Vmax − V2)/V2 is a standard engineering expression for quantifying how far the second battery is from the maximum allowable charging voltage. This ratio directly indicates how aggressively the controller can increase charging power to the second battery without risking overvoltage.
Using all three phases to charge both batteries while biasing the current toward the second battery is a known method for: reducing circulating currents between the DC links, minimizing torque ripple in the open‑end winding machine, maintaining symmetrical phase loading, and
maximizing the effective charging power delivered to the lower‑voltage battery.
The inequality P1 < ((Vmax − V2)/V2) P2* defines the region where the second battery requires substantially more charging power than the first battery. Engineers routinely use such threshold‑based rules to determine when the controller should shift from balanced charging to biased charging.
Failing to increase charging power to the lower‑voltage battery would cause the battery voltages to diverge, which leads to: inefficient use of the DC charging voltage, increased stress on the higher‑voltage battery, and reduced overall charging speed. Engineers therefore implement control rules that bias charging toward the lower‑voltage battery whenever the voltage difference becomes significant.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 8, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for preventing voltage divergence and maximizing charging efficiency in a dual‑inverter open‑end winding system.
Re Claim 9; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, which allows the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery or to both batteries simultaneously.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives the voltages of the first and second batteries, V1 and V2, and the charging current command idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]).
Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery. This demonstrates that Lehn teaches allocating a greater proportion of charging current to the second battery when its voltage is lower.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the voltage parameters (Vmax − V2)/V2 and (bVmax − V2)/V2 recited in Claim 9.
Lehn does not explicitly teach:
the specific inequality ((Vmax − V2)/V2) P2 ≤ P1 < ((bVmax − V2)/V2) P2,
the explicit use of two voltage parameters to define a bounded region of charging‑power imbalance, the explicit requirement that the first and second phases charge the second battery in a greater proportion than the first battery, and the explicit requirement that the third phase charges both batteries in equal proportions under this condition.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing and power‑based control, but it does not disclose this exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule involving two voltage‑parameter thresholds.
However, person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 9 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must maintain stable DC‑link voltages and prevent excessive voltage divergence when one battery is moderately lower in voltage than the other.
Specifically: When the second battery voltage V2 is below Vmax but not severely low, the system must increase charging power to the second battery, but not so aggressively that it destabilizes the DC‑link voltages. The inequality in Claim 9 defines this intermediate region.
Using two voltage parameters (Vmax − V2)/V2 and (bVmax − V2)/V2—creates a bounded operating region where the controller can safely bias charging toward the second battery without causing overcurrent or excessive phase imbalance. Engineers routinely use such bounded regions to prevent abrupt transitions in power‑sharing modes.
Routing a greater proportion of current from the first and second phases to the second battery is a known engineering method for: reducing voltage divergence between the DC links, preventing the lower‑voltage battery from lagging further behind, and maintaining efficient utilization of the available charging voltage.
Using the third phase as an equal‑proportion balancing phase is a standard technique in open‑end winding systems to: minimize circulating currents, reduce neutral‑point oscillations, and maintain symmetrical phase loading. The inequality in Claim 9 corresponds to a moderate‑imbalance region, where the second battery needs more charging power but not to the extreme degree described in Claim 8. Engineers routinely implement multi‑region control strategies to ensure smooth transitions between charging modes.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 9, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for maintaining DC‑link stability and efficient charging when the second battery is moderately lower in voltage than the first battery.
Re Claim 10; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, which allows the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery or to both batteries simultaneously.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives the voltages of the first and second batteries, V1 and V2, and the charging current command idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]).
Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery. This demonstrates that Lehn teaches allocating a greater proportion of charging current to the second battery when its voltage is lower.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the voltage parameters (bVmax − V2)/V2 and (cVmax − V2)/V2 recited in Claim 10.
Lehn does not explicitly teach:
the specific inequality ((bVmax − V2)/V2) P2 ≤ P1 < ((cVmax − V2)/V2) P2*,
the explicit use of two voltage parameters to define a bounded region of moderate‑to‑high charging‑power imbalance, the explicit requirement that the first phase charges only the first battery, the explicit requirement that the second phase charges both batteries but with a greater proportion directed to the second battery, and the explicit requirement that the third phase charges both batteries in equal proportions under this condition.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing and power‑based control, but it does not disclose this exact inequality or the specific three‑phase allocation pattern involving two voltage‑parameter thresholds.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 10 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must maintain DC‑link stability and prevent excessive voltage divergence when one battery requires moderately more charging power than the other, but not to the extreme degree described in Claim 8.
Specifically: When P1 exceeds the lower threshold ((bVmax − V2)/V2) P2*, the first battery requires more charging power than the second battery, but the imbalance is not large enough to justify dedicating two phases exclusively to the first battery. Engineers routinely use such intermediate regions to avoid abrupt transitions between charging modes.
Using the first phase exclusively for the first battery provides a stable path for delivering the additional charging power required by the first battery without overloading the shared phases.
Using the second phase to charge both batteries with a greater proportion directed to the second battery is a known engineering method for: preventing the second battery from falling too far behind, reducing voltage divergence between the DC links, and maintaining efficient utilization of the available charging voltage.
Using the third phase as an equal‑proportion balancing phase minimizes circulating currents, reduces neutral‑point oscillations, and maintains symmetrical phase loading in the open‑end winding machine.
The inequality involving two voltage parameters (bVmax − V2)/V2 and (cVmax − V2)/V2 creates a bounded region where the controller can safely bias charging toward the first battery while still providing supplemental charging to the second battery. Engineers routinely implement multi‑region control strategies to ensure smooth transitions between charging modes and to prevent instability.
Failing to implement such a bounded region would cause abrupt shifts in phase allocation, which can lead to: torque ripple in the motor, DC‑link voltage oscillations,
increased harmonic distortion, and inefficient charging behavior.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 10, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for maintaining DC‑link stability and efficient charging when the first battery requires moderately more charging power than the second battery.
Re Claim 11; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, which allows the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery or to both batteries simultaneously.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives the voltages of the first and second batteries, V1 and V2, and the charging current command idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]).
Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery. This demonstrates that Lehn teaches allocating a greater proportion of charging current to the second battery when its voltage is lower.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the voltage parameter (cVmax − V2)/V2 recited in Claim 11.
Lehn does not explicitly teach: the specific inequality ((cVmax − V2)/V2) P2 ≤ P1*,
the explicit requirement that the first and second phases charge only the first battery, and
the explicit requirement that the third phase charges both batteries in equal proportions under this condition.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing and power‑based control, but it does not disclose this exact inequality or the specific three‑phase allocation pattern recited in Claim 11.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 11 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must deliver substantially higher charging power to one battery when that battery’s charging‑power demand significantly exceeds that of the other battery.
Specifically: When P1 becomes significantly larger than P2, as expressed by the condition ((cVmax − V2)/V2) P2 ≤ P1, the first battery becomes the dominant load. In this situation, routing two phases exclusively to the first battery provides a stable and efficient way to deliver the required charging power without overloading the shared phase. Using the third phase as an equal‑proportion balancing phase is a known engineering method for: reducing circulating currents between the DC links, minimizing neutral‑point oscillations, maintaining symmetrical phase loading, and preventing torque ripple in the open‑end winding machine.
The voltage parameter (cVmax − V2)/V2 quantifies how far the second battery is from the maximum allowable charging voltage. When this parameter becomes large, the second battery is significantly lower in voltage and cannot accept high charging power without destabilizing the system. Engineers routinely use such parameters to determine when to reduce charging power to the lower‑voltage battery.
Assigning two phases exclusively to the higher‑power battery reduces the instantaneous current stress on the shared phase and minimizes harmonic distortion. This is a standard engineering practice in multi‑phase power converters when one DC link requires substantially more power than the other. Failing to implement such a control rule would cause the first battery to charge inefficiently, because the shared phase would limit the maximum charging power that can be delivered. Engineers therefore implement control rules that dedicate multiple phases to the dominant‑power battery when the power imbalance becomes large.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 11, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for delivering high charging power to the first battery while maintaining DC‑link stability in a dual‑inverter open‑end winding system.
Re Claim 12; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which the controller regulates the switching states of both inverters using the voltages of the first and second batteries and the charging current command. Figure 8 shows that V1, V2, and idc_ref are inputs to the controller. These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]).
Lehn teaches that the controller regulates charging when both battery voltages are below the charging voltage Vdc. Figure 9 shows V1 and V2 rising from lower values toward Vdc during charging. The controller modulates d1 and d2 to maintain stable charging behavior in this region.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the voltage parameter recited in Claim 12.
Lehn further teaches that the controller regulates charging when the sum of the battery voltages approaches the charging voltage. Figure 9 shows V1 + V2 approaching Vdc as charging progresses, and the controller adjusts the switching states to maintain proper charging behavior.
Lehn does not explicitly teach:
the specific condition where both battery voltages are equal to or less than the maximum charging voltage, the explicit requirement that the sum of the battery voltages is equal to or higher than the maximum charging voltage, the explicit use of a voltage parameter for the second charging power under this combined‑voltage condition, and the explicit requirement that the controller uses first charging power, second charging power, and the voltage parameter to determine switching states under this condition.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing and power‑based control, but it does not disclose this exact combined‑voltage rule or the explicit voltage‑parameter‑based control strategy.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 12 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must maintain stable DC‑link operation when both batteries are below their individual voltage limits but the combined voltage approaches the charging voltage.
Specifically: When both batteries are below Vmax, each battery can still accept charging power. However, when V1 + V2 approaches Vmax, the system must regulate the combined charging power to prevent exceeding the allowable differential voltage applied across the open‑end winding machine.
The sum‑of‑voltages condition is a known engineering constraint in open‑end winding systems because the differential voltage between the two inverters determines the effective AC voltage applied to the motor. If V1 + V2 becomes too large relative to Vdc, the system risks overmodulation, increased harmonic distortion, and DC‑link instability.
Using a voltage parameter to scale the second charging power is a standard engineering method for compensating for the difference between the combined battery voltage and the maximum allowable charging voltage. This ensures that the controller does not overdrive the inverter when the combined voltage approaches Vmax.
Power‑based control using P1 and P2* is a known technique for regulating energy flow in dual‑inverter systems. When the combined battery voltage approaches the charging voltage, power‑based control ensures smooth transitions and prevents abrupt changes in phase currents.
Failing to implement such a control rule would cause instability, because the inverter could be forced into an overmodulation region where the switching states cannot maintain the commanded voltage. Engineers therefore implement control rules that reduce or redistribute charging power when the combined battery voltage approaches the charging voltage.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact combined‑voltage condition or the specific voltage‑parameter‑based control rule recited in Claim 12, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for preventing overmodulation and maintaining stable operation of the dual‑inverter open‑end winding system when the combined battery voltage approaches the charging voltage.
Re Claim 13; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, which allows the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery or to both batteries simultaneously.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives the voltages of the first and second batteries, V1 and V2, and the charging current command idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]).
Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery. This demonstrates that Lehn teaches allocating a greater proportion of charging current to the second battery when its voltage is lower.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the voltage parameter (Vmax − V2)/V2 recited in Claim 13.
Lehn does not explicitly teach: the specific inequality P1 < ((Vmax − V2)/V2) P2*,
the explicit requirement that all three phases charge both batteries, and the explicit requirement that the proportion of charging directed to the second battery is greater than the proportion directed to the first battery under this condition.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing and power‑based control, but it does not disclose this exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 13.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 13 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must increase charging power to the lower‑voltage battery to prevent voltage divergence, maintain DC‑link stability, and ensure efficient utilization of the available charging voltage.
Specifically: When the second battery voltage V2 is significantly lower than Vmax, the second battery can accept more charging power without approaching its voltage limit. Engineers routinely increase charging power to the lower‑voltage battery to prevent imbalance and to avoid underutilizing the available charging voltage.
The voltage parameter (Vmax − V2)/V2 quantifies how far the second battery is from the maximum allowable charging voltage. This ratio directly indicates how aggressively the controller can increase charging power to the second battery without risking overvoltage.
Using all three phases to charge both batteries while biasing the current toward the second battery is a known engineering method for: reducing circulating currents between the DC links,
minimizing torque ripple in the open‑end winding machine, maintaining symmetrical phase loading, and maximizing the effective charging power delivered to the lower‑voltage battery.
The inequality P1 < ((Vmax − V2)/V2) P2* defines the region where the second battery requires substantially more charging power than the first battery. Engineers routinely use such threshold‑based rules to determine when the controller should shift from balanced charging to biased charging. Failing to increase charging power to the lower‑voltage battery would cause the battery voltages to diverge, which leads to: inefficient use of the DC charging voltage, increased stress on the higher‑voltage battery, and reduced overall charging speed. Engineers therefore implement control rules that bias charging toward the lower‑voltage battery whenever the voltage difference becomes significant. Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 13, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for preventing voltage divergence and maximizing charging efficiency in a dual‑inverter open‑end winding system.
Re Claim 14; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, which allows the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery or to both batteries simultaneously.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives the voltages of the first and second batteries, V1 and V2, and the charging current command idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]).
Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery. This demonstrates that Lehn teaches allocating a greater proportion of charging current to the second battery when its voltage is lower.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the voltage parameters (Vmax − V2)/V2 and (dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2) recited in Claim 14.
Lehn does not explicitly teach:
the specific inequality ((Vmax − V2)/V2) P2 ≤ P1 < ((dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2)) P2*, the explicit requirement that the first and second phases charge the second battery in a greater proportion than the first battery, the explicit requirement that the third phase charges both batteries in equal proportions, and the explicit use of two voltage parameters to define a bounded region of charging‑power imbalance involving both V1 and V2.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing and power‑based control, but it does not disclose this exact inequality or the specific three‑phase allocation pattern recited in Claim 14.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 14 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must maintain DC‑link stability and prevent voltage divergence when the second battery is moderately lower in voltage than the first battery, but the imbalance is not extreme.
Specifically: When the second battery voltage V2 is lower than V1 but not severely low, the system must increase charging power to the second battery while still providing some charging power to the first battery. The inequality in Claim 14 defines this intermediate region.
Using the first and second phases to charge the second battery in a greater proportion is a known engineering method for: reducing voltage divergence between the DC links, preventing the lower‑voltage battery from lagging further behind, and maintaining efficient utilization of the available charging voltage.
Using the third phase as an equal‑proportion balancing phase minimizes circulating currents, reduces neutral‑point oscillations, and maintains symmetrical phase loading in the open‑end winding machine.
The voltage parameter (dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2) incorporates both battery voltages and provides a more accurate measure of the allowable charging‑power imbalance when both V1 and V2 influence the differential voltage across the open‑end winding. Engineers routinely use such composite parameters to prevent overmodulation and maintain stable inverter operation.
Failing to implement such a bounded region would cause abrupt shifts in phase allocation, which can lead to: torque ripple in the motor, DC‑link voltage oscillations, increased harmonic distortion, and inefficient charging behavior.
The inequality in Claim 14 corresponds to a moderate‑imbalance region, where the second battery needs more charging power but the first battery still requires some charging. Engineers routinely implement multi‑region control strategies to ensure smooth transitions between charging modes.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 14, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for maintaining DC‑link stability and efficient charging when the second battery is moderately lower in voltage than the first battery.
Re Claim 15; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, which allows the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery or to both batteries simultaneously.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives the voltages of the first and second batteries, V1 and V2, and the charging current command idc_ref, as shown in Figure 8. These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules” (¶[0013]).
Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery. This demonstrates that Lehn teaches allocating a greater proportion of charging current to the second battery when its voltage is lower.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. Figure 8 shows PI controllers and gain blocks that determine the relative weighting of the charging power delivered to each battery. These gain values correspond to the voltage parameter (dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2) recited in Claim 15.
Lehn does not explicitly teach:
the specific inequality ((dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2)) P2 ≤ P1*, the explicit requirement that the first phase charges only the first battery, the explicit requirement that the second phase charges both batteries but with a greater proportion directed to the second battery,
the explicit requirement that the third phase charges both batteries in equal proportions, and
the explicit use of the composite voltage parameter involving both V1 and V2 to determine the phase‑allocation rule.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing and power‑based control, but it does not disclose this exact inequality or the specific three‑phase allocation pattern recited in Claim 15.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 15 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must deliver substantially higher charging power to one battery while still providing supplemental charging to the other battery when the power imbalance becomes large but not extreme.
Specifically: When P1 becomes significantly larger than P2, as expressed by the condition ((dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2)) P2 ≤ P1, the first battery becomes the dominant load. In this situation, routing the first phase exclusively to the first battery provides a stable and efficient path for delivering the required charging power.
Using the second phase to charge both batteries with a greater proportion directed to the second battery is a known engineering method for: preventing the second battery from falling too far behind, reducing voltage divergence between the DC links, and maintaining efficient utilization of the available charging voltage. Using the third phase as an equal‑proportion balancing phase minimizes circulating currents, reduces neutral‑point oscillations, and maintains symmetrical phase loading in the open‑end winding machine.
The composite voltage parameter (dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2) incorporates both battery voltages and provides a more accurate measure of the allowable charging‑power imbalance when both V1 and V2 influence the differential voltage across the open‑end winding. Engineers routinely use such composite parameters to prevent overmodulation and maintain stable inverter operation.
Failing to implement such a control rule would cause the first battery to charge inefficiently, because the shared phases would limit the maximum charging power that can be delivered. Engineers therefore implement control rules that dedicate one or more phases to the dominant‑power battery when the power imbalance becomes large.
The inequality in Claim 15 corresponds to a high‑imbalance region, where the first battery requires substantially more charging power than the second battery, but the second battery still requires supplemental charging to maintain system stability. Engineers routinely implement multi‑region control strategies to ensure smooth transitions between charging modes.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 15, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for delivering high charging power to the first battery while maintaining DC‑link stability in a dual‑inverter open‑end winding system.
Re Claim 16; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, which allows the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery or to both batteries simultaneously. Lehn teaches that the controller receives the voltages of the first and second batteries, V1 and V2, and the charging current command idc_ref. These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches that the controller performs voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules.” Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. These gain values correspond to the voltage parameter (dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2) recited in Claim 16.
Lehn does not explicitly teach: the specific inequality ((dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2)) P2 ≤ P1*, the explicit requirement that the first phase charges only the first battery,
the explicit requirement that the second phase charges only the second battery, the explicit requirement that the third phase charges both batteries in equal proportions, and
the explicit use of the composite voltage parameter involving both V1 and V2 to determine the phase‑allocation rule.
Lehn teaches independent phase control and power balancing, but it does not disclose this exact three‑phase allocation pattern or the specific inequality recited in Claim 16.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 16 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must deliver substantially higher charging power to one battery while maintaining stable operation and preventing excessive voltage divergence.
Specifically: (1) When P1 becomes significantly larger than P2* The first battery becomes the dominant load. In this situation, dedicating the first phase exclusively to the first battery provides a stable and efficient path for delivering the required charging power without overloading the shared phases. (2) When the second battery voltage V2 is lower than V1
The second battery still requires charging, but its lower voltage limits the maximum allowable charging power. Assigning the second phase exclusively to the second battery ensures that the second battery receives sufficient charging current without destabilizing the DC‑link voltages.
(3) Using the third phase as an equal‑proportion balancing phase
This is a known engineering method for: minimizing circulating currents between the DC links,
reducing neutral‑point oscillations, maintaining symmetrical phase loading, and
preventing torque ripple in the open‑end winding machine. (4) The composite voltage parameter (dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2)
This parameter incorporates both battery voltages and provides a more accurate measure of the allowable charging‑power imbalance when both V1 and V2 influence the differential voltage across the open‑end winding. Engineers routinely use such composite parameters to prevent overmodulation and maintain stable inverter operation.
(5) Failing to implement such a control rule would cause instability
Without this rule, the inverter could be forced into an overmodulation region where the switching states cannot maintain the commanded voltage, leading to: DC‑link oscillations,
harmonic distortion, torque ripple, and inefficient charging behavior.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 16, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for delivering high charging power to the first battery while maintaining DC‑link stability in a dual‑inverter open‑end winding system.
Re Claim 17; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, enabling the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery or to both simultaneously.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives V1, V2, and the charging current command idc_ref as inputs to the control loops (Fig. 8). These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage‑balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules.”
Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. These gain values correspond to the voltage‑parameter‑based weighting terms recited in Claim 17.
Lehn does not explicitly teach: the specific inequality P1 ≥ ((dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2)) P2*, the explicit requirement that the first phase charges only the first battery, the explicit requirement that the second phase charges only the second battery, the explicit requirement that the third phase charges only the first battery, and the explicit use of the composite voltage parameter involving both V1 and V2 to determine a three‑phase, single‑battery‑dominant allocation rule.
Lehn teaches independent phase control and power balancing, but it does not disclose this exact three‑phase allocation pattern or the specific inequality recited in Claim 17.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 17 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must deliver very high charging power to one battery when the power imbalance becomes extreme, while preventing instability in the DC‑link and avoiding overmodulation.
Specifically: (1) When P1 becomes substantially larger than P2* The first battery becomes the dominant load. In this high‑imbalance region, dedicating two phases exclusively to the first battery (first and third phases) provides a stable and efficient path for delivering the required charging power without overloading the shared phases.
(2) When the second battery voltage V2 is significantly lower than V1
The second battery still requires charging, but its lower voltage limits the maximum allowable charging power. Assigning the second phase exclusively to the second battery ensures that the second battery receives controlled, limited charging current without destabilizing the DC‑link voltages.
(3) Using a single phase exclusively for the second battery
This is a known engineering method for:
preventing the lower‑voltage battery from collapsing further,
maintaining minimum required charging current into the weaker battery, and
avoiding excessive differential voltage across the open‑end winding.
(4) Using two phases exclusively for the first battery
This ensures: high‑power delivery to the dominant‑power battery, reduced harmonic stress on the shared phases, minimized circulating currents between DC links, and improved thermal distribution across the inverter modules.
(5) The composite voltage parameter (dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2)
This parameter incorporates both battery voltages and provides a more accurate measure of the allowable charging‑power imbalance when both V1 and V2 influence the differential voltage across the open‑end winding. Engineers routinely use such composite parameters to prevent overmodulation and maintain stable inverter operation.
(6) Failing to implement such a control rule would cause instability
Without this rule, the inverter could be forced into an overmodulation region where the switching states cannot maintain the commanded voltage, leading to: DC‑link oscillations,
harmonic distortion, torque ripple, and inefficient charging behavior.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 17, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for delivering very high charging power to the first battery while maintaining DC‑link stability in a dual‑inverter open‑end winding system.
Re Claim 18; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, enabling the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives V1, V2, and the charging current command idc_ref as inputs to the control loops (Fig. 8). These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage‑balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules.”
Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. These gain values correspond to the voltage‑parameter‑based weighting terms recited in Claim 18.
Lehn does not explicitly teach:
the specific inequality P1 < ((dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2)) P2*, the explicit requirement that the first phase charges only the first battery, the explicit requirement that the second phase charges only the second battery, the explicit requirement that the third phase charges only the second battery, and the explicit use of the composite voltage parameter involving both V1 and V2 to determine a three‑phase, second‑battery‑dominant allocation rule.
Lehn teaches independent phase control and power balancing, but it does not disclose this exact three‑phase allocation pattern or the specific inequality recited in Claim 18.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 18 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must deliver substantially higher charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the power imbalance becomes extreme, while preventing instability in the DC‑link and avoiding overmodulation.
Specifically:
(1) When P1 becomes substantially smaller than P2* The second battery becomes the dominant load. In this high‑imbalance region, dedicating two phases exclusively to the second battery (second and third phases) provides a stable and efficient path for delivering the required charging power without overloading the shared phases.
(2) When the second battery voltage V2 is significantly lower than V1 The second battery can accept more charging power without approaching its voltage limit. Assigning two phases exclusively to the second battery ensures that the second battery receives the high charging power it requires while preventing the first battery from being overcharged.
(3) Using the first phase exclusively for the first battery This ensures that the first battery receives only the limited charging power appropriate for its higher voltage, preventing overvoltage and maintaining DC‑link stability.
(4) Using two phases exclusively for the second battery This is a known engineering method for:
maximizing charging power to the lower‑voltage battery, reducing voltage divergence between the DC links, minimizing circulating currents, and improving thermal distribution across the inverter modules.
(5) The composite voltage parameter (dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2)
This parameter incorporates both battery voltages and provides a more accurate measure of the allowable charging‑power imbalance when both V1 and V2 influence the differential voltage across the open‑end winding. Engineers routinely use such composite parameters to prevent overmodulation and maintain stable inverter operation.
(6) Failing to implement such a control rule would cause instability
Without this rule, the inverter could be forced into an overmodulation region where the switching states cannot maintain the commanded voltage, leading to: DC‑link oscillations,
harmonic distortion, torque ripple, and inefficient charging behavior.
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 18, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for delivering high charging power to the second battery while maintaining DC‑link stability in a dual‑inverter open‑end winding system.
Re Claim 19; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, enabling the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives V1, V2, and the charging current command idc_ref as inputs to the control loops (Fig. 8). These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage‑balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules.”
Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. These gain values correspond to the voltage‑parameter‑based weighting terms recited in
Lehn does not explicitly teach:
the specific inequality ((dVmax + V1 − dV2)/(Vmax − V1 + dV2)) P2 ≤ P1 < ((eVmax + V1 − eV2)/(Vmax − V1 + eV2)) P2*,
the explicit requirement that the first phase charges only the first battery, the explicit requirement that the second phase charges only the second battery, the explicit requirement that the third phase charges both batteries in equal proportions, and the explicit use of two composite voltage parameters to define a bounded region of charging‑power imbalance involving both V1 and V2.
Lehn teaches independent phase control and power balancing, but it does not disclose this exact three‑phase allocation pattern or the specific inequality recited in Claim 19.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 19 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must maintain DC‑link stability and prevent voltage divergence when the first battery requires more charging power than the second battery, but not to the extreme degree described in Claim 17.
Specifically:
(1) The inequality defines a moderate‑to‑high imbalance region The lower threshold indicates that the first battery requires more charging power than the second battery, while the upper threshold prevents the system from entering the extreme‑imbalance region where two phases must be dedicated exclusively to the first battery.
(2) Using the first phase exclusively for the first battery
This ensures that the first battery receives the additional charging power required to correct the imbalance without overloading the shared phases.
(3) Using the second phase exclusively for the second battery
This ensures that the second battery continues to receive controlled charging power, preventing it from falling too far behind and maintaining DC‑link stability.
(4) Using the third phase as an equal‑proportion balancing phase
This is a known engineering method for:
minimizing circulating currents between the DC links, reducing neutral‑point oscillations,
maintaining symmetrical phase loading, and preventing torque ripple in the open‑end winding machine.
(5) The composite voltage parameters involving V1 and V2 The parameters
quantify allowable charging‑power imbalance based on both battery voltages. Engineers routinely use such composite parameters to prevent overmodulation and maintain stable inverter operation.
(6) Failing to implement such a bounded region would cause instability
Without this intermediate region: the system would transition abruptly between charging modes,
DC‑link voltages would oscillate, harmonic distortion would increase, and
charging efficiency would degrade. Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 19, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for maintaining DC‑link stability and efficient charging when the first battery requires moderately more charging power than the second battery.
Re Claim 20; Lehn teaches a dual‑inverter charging system in which each inverter phase can be independently modulated to direct current toward one battery or toward both batteries. Figure 2 shows that each inverter phase is connected to the open‑end windings of the motor, enabling the controller to direct current from each phase to either battery.
Lehn teaches that the controller receives V1, V2, and the charging current command idc_ref as inputs to the control loops (Fig. 8). These values determine the charging power delivered to each battery because charging power is the product of battery voltage and charging current.
Lehn teaches voltage balancing between the two batteries. Figure 8 shows a voltage‑balancing control loop that compares V1 and V2 and adjusts the switching commands d1,abc and d2,abc accordingly. Lehn states that the system “controls power distribution between the first inverter module and second inverter module to balance energy between battery modules.”
Lehn teaches that the controller increases charging power to the lower‑voltage battery when the battery voltages diverge. Figure 9 shows V2 remaining lower than V1 during charging, and the controller adjusts the switching states to increase charging power to the second battery.
Lehn also teaches that the controller uses proportional constants and gain values in its control loops. These gain values correspond to the voltage‑parameter‑based weighting terms recited in Claim 20.
Lehn does not explicitly teach:
the specific inequality P1 ≥ ((eVmax + V1 − eV2)/(Vmax − V1 + eV2)) P2*,
the explicit requirement that the first phase charges only the first battery, the explicit requirement that the second phase charges only the second battery, the explicit requirement that the third phase charges only the first battery, and the explicit use of the composite voltage parameter involving both V1 and V2 to determine a three‑phase, first‑battery‑dominant allocation rule.
Lehn teaches independent phase control and power balancing, but it does not disclose this exact three‑phase allocation pattern or the specific inequality recited in Claim 20.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the control rule of Claim 20 because dual‑inverter open‑end winding systems must deliver very high charging power to the first battery when the power imbalance becomes extreme, while preventing instability in the DC‑link and avoiding overmodulation.
Specifically: (1) When P1 becomes substantially larger than P2*
The first battery becomes the dominant load. In this high‑imbalance region, dedicating two phases exclusively to the first battery (first and third phases) provides a stable and efficient path for delivering the required charging power.
(2) When the second battery voltage V2 is significantly lower than V1
The second battery cannot accept high charging power without risking instability. Assigning the second phase exclusively to the second battery ensures that the second battery receives only the limited charging current appropriate for its lower voltage.
(3) Using the third phase exclusively for the first battery
This increases the available charging power to the first battery while avoiding excessive stress on the shared phases.
(4) The composite voltage parameter (eVmax + V1 − eV2)/(Vmax − V1 + eV2)
This parameter incorporates both battery voltages and provides a more accurate measure of the allowable charging‑power imbalance when both V1 and V2 influence the differential voltage across the open‑end winding. Engineers routinely use such composite parameters to prevent overmodulation and maintain stable inverter operation.
(5) Failing to implement such a control rule would cause instability
Without this rule, the inverter could be forced into an overmodulation region where the switching states cannot maintain the commanded voltage, leading to: DC‑link oscillations
harmonic distortion torque ripple inefficient charging behavior
Thus, although Lehn does not explicitly disclose the exact inequality or the specific proportional‑charging rule recited in Claim 20, the modification would have been obvious because the claimed control strategy is a predictable and technically necessary method for delivering very high charging power to the first battery while maintaining DC‑link stability in a dual‑inverter open‑end winding system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 12 and 13, filed 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Saha.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
08/27/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836