DETAILED ACTION
In the event a determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102, 103, and 112 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102, 103, and 112) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and/or the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Notice of Claim Interpretation
Claims in this application are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) unless otherwise noted in an office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 900-1400. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “1502” should be --1802-- in paragraph 00120. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheng et al. (“FlexGen: High-Throughput Generative Inference of Large Language Models with a Single GPU”).
In regards to claims 1 and 15, Sheng teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium including executable instructions (“FlexGen is implemented on top of PyTorch”, page 7, paragraph 9) that, when executed by one or more processors (See Table 1, page 7), cause the one or more processors to perform or cause performance of:
receiving a tensor (“Given a tensor”, page 7, paragraph 1);
compressing the tensor by applying a compression scheme to values of the tensor to form a compressed tensor (“The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation. Since both the weights and KV cache consume a significant amount of memory, we compress both to 4 bits with a group size of 64.”, page 7, paragraph 2);
storing the compressed tensor into a tensor cache (“The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation. Since both the weights and KV cache consume a significant amount of memory, we compress both to 4 bits with a group size of 64.”, page 7, paragraph 2);
reading the compressed tensor from the tensor cache (“The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation. Since both the weights and KV cache consume a significant amount of memory, we compress both to 4 bits with a group size of 64.”, page 7, paragraph 2);
decompressing the compressed tensor by applying a decompression scheme to values of the compressed tensor to form a decompressed tensor (“The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation. Since both the weights and KV cache consume a significant amount of memory, we compress both to 4 bits with a group size of 64.”, page 7, paragraph 2); and
forwarding the decompressed tensor to a compute unit (“The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation.”, page 7, paragraph 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et al. (“FlexGen: High-Throughput Generative Inference of Large Language Models with a Single GPU”) in view of Loh (US 2020/0195273).
In regards to claims 2 and 16, Sheng teaches claims 1 and 15. Sheng fails to teach that the compression scheme is indicated by a compression flag in an instruction for storing the tensor. Loh teaches that the compression scheme is indicated by a compression flag in an instruction for storing the tensor (“When the processor executes a lossy store instruction, the value in the registers are recompressed by the compression unit 105, and these compressed values are stored in the cache.”, paragraph 0024) in order to support applications that need to exactly reproduce stored information (paragraph 0001). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sheng with Loh such that the compression scheme is indicated by a compression flag in an instruction for storing the tensor in order to support applications that need to exactly reproduce stored information (id.).
Claims 3-6, 8, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et al. (“FlexGen: High-Throughput Generative Inference of Large Language Models with a Single GPU”) in view of Vakili et al. (“Fast and Low-Cost Approximate Multiplier for FPGAs using Dynamic Reconfiguration”).
In regards to claims 3 and 17, Sheng further teaches that the compression scheme corresponds to quantizing an input into a quantized format having a reduced bit size (“For each group, we compute the min and max of the group elements and quantize each element x into b-bit integers by xquant = round(x−min/max−min × (2b − 1)). The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation.”, page 7, paragraphs 1-2). Sheng fails to teach quantizing an integer into a quantized floating-point format. Vakili teaches quantizing an integer into a quantized floating-point format (“For an INT8 case study, illustration of the design detail of a highly optimized encoder circuit to convert INT8 to 8-bit floating point format”, page 2, paragraph 2, bullet 3) thereby “reducing significantly the number of required LUTs in FPGAs” (page 2, paragraph 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shen with Vakili to include quantizing an integer into a quantized floating-point format thereby “reducing significantly the number of required LUTs in FPGAs” (id.).
In regards to claims 4 and 18, Vakili further teaches that the quantized floating-point format retains a sign bit of the integer (“
”, page 2, equation 4).
In regards to claims 5 and 19, Vakili further teaches that the quantized floating-point format includes an exponent portion corresponding to a position of a non-zero most significant bit (MSB) of the integer (“
”, page 2, equation 4).
In regards to claims 6 and 20, Sheng further teaches that the compression scheme includes determining the exponent portion for each integer value (“For each group, we compute the min and max of the group elements and quantize each element x into b-bit integers”, page 7, paragraph 1).
In regards to claim 8, Vakili further teaches that the quantized floating-point format includes a mantissa portion corresponding to a value of a non-zero most significant bit (MSB) of the integer (“The mantissa is a segment of mntBW bits from |X|, with the leftmost bit in |X| that contains ’1’ being the most significant bit.”, page 2, paragraph 6).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et al. (“FlexGen: High-Throughput Generative Inference of Large Language Models with a Single GPU”) in view of Vakili et al. (“Fast and Low-Cost Approximate Multiplier for FPGAs using Dynamic Reconfiguration”) and Ghaffari et al. (US 2025/0200277).
In regards to claim 7, Sheng in view of Vakili teaches claim 5. Sheng in view of Vakili fails to teach that the compression scheme includes determining the exponent portion for a group of integer values. Ghaffari teaches that the compression scheme includes determining the exponent portion for a group of integer values (“In this example, the processor 110 can be configured to determine, in each column, a group of the values having a groupsize<m, and determine the maximum exponent 404 in each group.”, paragraph 0091) which requires less space (paragraph 0100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sheng with Vakili and Ghaffari such that the compression scheme includes determining the exponent portion for a group of integer values which requires less space (id.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et al. (“FlexGen: High-Throughput Generative Inference of Large Language Models with a Single GPU”) in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0383081).
In regards to claim 9, Sheng teaches a system, comprising:
memory including one or more programs (“FlexGen is implemented on top of PyTorch”, page 7, paragraph 9) that are configured to be executed by one or more processors (See Table 1, page 7), the one or more programs including instructions for:
receiving a tensor (“Given a tensor”, page 7, paragraph 1);
compressing the tensor by applying a compression scheme to values of the tensor to form a compressed tensor (“The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation. Since both the weights and KV cache consume a significant amount of memory, we compress both to 4 bits with a group size of 64.”, page 7, paragraph 2);
storing the compressed tensor into a tensor cache (“The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation. Since both the weights and KV cache consume a significant amount of memory, we compress both to 4 bits with a group size of 64.”, page 7, paragraph 2);
reading the compressed tensor from the tensor cache (“The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation. Since both the weights and KV cache consume a significant amount of memory, we compress both to 4 bits with a group size of 64.”, page 7, paragraph 2);
decompressing the compressed tensor by applying a decompression scheme to values of the compressed tensor to form a decompressed tensor (“The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation. Since both the weights and KV cache consume a significant amount of memory, we compress both to 4 bits with a group size of 64.”, page 7, paragraph 2); and
forwarding the decompressed tensor to a compute unit (“The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation.”, page 7, paragraph 2).
Sheng fails to teach a wearable device; and
wherein the one or more processors are in communication with the wearable device.
Liu teaches a wearable device (“To achieve low latency and high energy efficiency for always-accessible user experiences, AR/VR hardware needs to reduce data movement cost between different modules, and needs to have a small form factor due to area and size constraints in wearable or portable devices.”, paragraph 0053); and
wherein the one or more processors (“In some embodiments, console 110 may include a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions executable by the processor.”, paragraph 0077) are in communication with the wearable device (“In some embodiments, console 110 may provide content to near-eye display 120 for presentation to the user in accordance with information received from one or more of external imaging device 150, near-eye display 120, and input/output interface 140.”, paragraph 0076)
“[t]o achieve low latency and high energy efficiency for always-accessible user experiences” (paragraph 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sheng with Liu to include a wearable device; and
wherein the one or more processors are in communication with the wearable device
“[t]o achieve low latency and high energy efficiency for always-accessible user experiences” (id.).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et al. (“FlexGen: High-Throughput Generative Inference of Large Language Models with a Single GPU”) in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0383081) and Loh (US 2020/0195273).
In regards to claim 10, Sheng in view of Liu teaches claim 9. Sheng in view of Liu fails to teach that the compression scheme is indicated by a compression flag in an instruction for storing the tensor. Loh teaches that the compression scheme is indicated by a compression flag in an instruction for storing the tensor (“When the processor executes a lossy store instruction, the value in the registers are recompressed by the compression unit 105, and these compressed values are stored in the cache.”, paragraph 0024) in order to support applications that need to exactly reproduce stored information (paragraph 0001). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sheng with Liu and Loh such that the compression scheme is indicated by a compression flag in an instruction for storing the tensor in order to support applications that need to exactly reproduce stored information (id.).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et al. (“FlexGen: High-Throughput Generative Inference of Large Language Models with a Single GPU”) in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0383081) and Vakili et al. (“Fast and Low-Cost Approximate Multiplier for FPGAs using Dynamic Reconfiguration”).
In regards to claim 11, Sheng further teaches that the compression scheme corresponds to quantizing an input into a quantized format having a reduced bit size (“For each group, we compute the min and max of the group elements and quantize each element x into b-bit integers by xquant = round(x−min/max−min × (2b − 1)). The tensors are stored in the quantized format and converted back to FP16 before computation.”, page 7, paragraphs 1-2). Sheng in view of Liu fails to teach quantizing an integer into a quantized floating-point format. Vakili teaches quantizing an integer into a quantized floating-point format (“For an INT8 case study, illustration of the design detail of a highly optimized encoder circuit to convert INT8 to 8-bit floating point format”, page 2, paragraph 2, bullet 3) thereby “reducing significantly the number of required LUTs in FPGAs” (page 2, paragraph 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shen with Liu and Vakili to include quantizing an integer into a quantized floating-point format thereby “reducing significantly the number of required LUTs in FPGAs” (id.).
In regards to claim 12, Vakili further teaches that the quantized floating-point format retains a sign bit of the integer (“
”, page 2, equation 4).
In regards to claim 13, Vakili further teaches that the quantized floating-point format includes an exponent portion corresponding to a position of a non-zero most significant bit (MSB) of the integer (“
”, page 2, equation 4).
In regards to claim 14, Sheng further teaches that the compression scheme includes determining the exponent portion for each integer value (“For each group, we compute the min and max of the group elements and quantize each element x into b-bit integers”, page 7, paragraph 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shao (US 2020/0042189) teaches compressing data for the L2 cache and decompressing it. Wu (US 11,461,625) teaches decompress compressed tensor data from the tensor cache. Gobriel (US 2025/0061316) teaches different quantization levels for KV cache pages. Guo (WO 2025/185502) as supported by its translation; its CN application, Guo (CN 120597956); and the translation of the CN application teaches storing compressed K or V data in a cache and performing inverse quantization processing. Ma (WO 2025/185500) as supported by its translation; its CN application, Ma (CN 120597957); and the translation of the CN application teaches decompressing KV cache data. Wang (WO 2025/222855) as supported by its translation; its CN application, Wang (CN 120849529); and the translation of the CN application teaches compressing key and value vectors. Kundu (WO 2025/244669) teaches quantizing key and value tensors to store in a compressed KV cache. Zhao et al. ("Atom: Low-Bit Quantization for Efficient and Accurate LLM Serving") teaches dequantizing the output of the KV cache. Zhang et al. ("Q-Hitter: A Better Token Oracle for Efficient LLM Inference via Sparse-Quantized KV Cache") teaches a quantized KV cache.
/Nathan Sadler/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139 9 June 2026