DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-12, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipates by CHAE at el. (US 11,833,903).
Regarding claim 1, CHAE discloses a drive assembly for a work machine, comprising: an energy machine (MG2); a rotational speed compensating device (DF); a first power output (ES); and a magnetic-electric epicyclic gear set (CMG) connected to the energy machine (MG2) via a drive shaft (PS), the magnetic-electric epicyclic gear set (CMG) being arranged to adjust the rotational speed of one or more of the first power output (ES) or the rotational speed compensating device (DF).
Regarding claim 2, CHAE discloses the epicyclic gear set (CMG) is inserted into the power flow between the energy machine (MG2) and the first power output (ES).
Regarding claim 4, CHAE discloses the rotational speed compensating device (DF) is connected on the driven side to a first and second final driven shaft for driving ground-engaging means.
Regarding claim 6, CHAE discloses the energy machine (MG2) has an axis of rotation aligned coaxially with and parallel to the drive shaft (PS).
Regarding claim 8, CHAE discloses an axis of rotation the energy machine (MG2) and an axis of rotation of the epicyclic gear set (CMG) are arranged coaxially with and parallel to one another.
Regarding claim 9, CHAE discloses the epicyclic gear set (CMG) has an internal rotor (IR), an external rotor (OR), and an interposed magnetic modulation ring (PP).
Regarding claim 10, CHAE discloses the internal rotor of the epicyclic gear set (CMG) is designed as a drive side and the modulation ring is designed as a driven side.
Regarding claim 11, CHAE discloses the energy machine (MG2) is connected to the internal rotor of the epicyclic gear set (CMG) via the drive shaft (PS).
Regarding claim 12, CHAE discloses the first power output (ES) is connected on the drive side to the modulation ring.
Regarding claim 15, CHAE discloses an axle for a work machine including a drive assembly, comprising: an energy machine (MG2); a rotational speed compensating device (DF); a first power output (ES); and a magnetic-electric epicyclic gear set (CMG) connected to the energy machine (MG2) via a drive shaft (PS), the magnetic-electric epicyclic gear set (CMG) being arranged to adjust the rotational speed of one or more of the first power output (ES) or the rotational speed compensating device (DF).
Regarding claim 16, CHAE discloses a work machine including an axle having a drive assembly, comprising: an energy machine (MG2); a rotational speed compensating device (DF); a first power output (ES); and a magnetic-electric epicyclic gear set (CMG) connected to the energy machine (MG2) via a drive shaft (PS), the magnetic-electric epicyclic gear set (CMG) being arranged to adjust the rotational speed of one or more of the first power output (ES) or the rotational speed compensating device (DF).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHAE at el. (US 11,833,903).
Regarding claim 1, CHAE discloses a drive assembly for a work machine, comprising: an energy machine (E); a rotational speed compensating device (DF); a first power output (IN); and a magnetic-electric epicyclic gear set (CMG) connected to the energy machine (E) via a drive shaft (ES), the magnetic-electric epicyclic gear set (CMG) being arranged to adjust the rotational speed of one or more of the first power output (IN) or the rotational speed compensating device (DF).
Regarding claim 3, CHAE discloses the epicyclic gear set (CMG) is inserted into the power flow between the energy machine (MG1) and the rotational speed compensating device.
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHAE at el. (US 11,833,903).
Regarding claim 1, CHAE discloses a drive assembly for a work machine, comprising: an energy machine (MG2); a rotational speed compensating device (DF); a first power output (ES); and a magnetic-electric epicyclic gear set (CMG) connected to the energy machine (MG2) via a drive shaft (PS), the magnetic-electric epicyclic gear set (CMG) being arranged to adjust the rotational speed of one or more of the first power output (ES) or the rotational speed compensating device (DF).
Regarding claim 9, CHAE discloses the epicyclic gear set (CMG) has an internal rotor (IR), an external rotor (OR), and an interposed magnetic modulation ring (PP).
Regarding claim 14, CHAE discloses the external rotor (OR) is driven electrically via a control unit such that the first power output (ES) and the drive shaft (ES) rotate at a specifiable rotational speed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHAE at el. (US 11,833,903).
Regarding claim 5, CHAE discloses the drive shaft. But does not show or specifically disclose the drive shaft being designed as a hollow shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to design the drive shaft as a hollow shaft as it is well known in the art to have shafts of transmission assemblies be hollow to be used as a passage for oil or other fluid to be used for cooling or lubrication or transmission parts such as gears, clutches, bearing, etc.
Regarding claim 7, CHAE discloses one of the energy machine or the epicyclic gear set is connected to the first power output.
CHAE does not disclose the connection being via an angular gear set.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drive assembly of CHAE such that one of the energy machine or the epicyclic gear set is connected via an angular gear set to the first power output to allow for better packaging, weight distribution, or ease of maintenance, as the rearrangement of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. And the use of bevel gears to change the orientation of transmission components is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 13, CHAE discloses the rotational speed compensating device (DF) is connected to the modulation ring (PP).
CHAE does not disclose the rotational speed compensating device is connected on the drive side to the modulation ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drive assembly of CHAE such that the rotational speed compensating device is connected on the drive side to the modulation ring to allow for better packaging, weight distribution, or ease of maintenance, as the rearrangement of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/DEREK D KNIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655