DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications: Amendment filed on 1/7/2026.
Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 1, 2, and 6 are independent. Claims 8-11 are newly added.
The previous rejection of claims 1-7 under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US9,519,886) in view of Mitsufuji (US2008/0250311) as made of reference in IDS dated 10/1/2025.
In regards to claim 1, Berger et al. discloses a computer-implemented digital content collaboration system for facilitating annotation of an original digital content file comprising original digital content data between a first computing device and a second computing device, the system comprising:
a) a database/server including a memory and a processor, wherein the database/server is in communication with the first computing device and the second computing device over a network (Berger et al. fig. 1 col3 ln24-39, server 110 in communication with client devices 102);
b) a first set of computer instructions that when executed by the processor performs the steps of:
i) storing a shared digital content file comprising shared digital content data, wherein the shared digital content data includes the original digital content data (Berger et al. col5 ln1-21, databases stores workspaces containing digital content accessible to collaborators), and
ii) communicating the shared digital content data to the second computing device over the network (Berger et al. fig. 2 col5 ln66 to col6 ln7, communicates document to collaborators), and
c) a second set of computer instructions configured for being stored in a respective memory of the first computing device and the second computing device (Berger et al. fig. 1, col3 ln31-39, the client devices 102 can be any combination of devices/systems that is able to establish a connection with another device and the host server 110. ), the second set of computer instructions configured for being executed by a respective processor of the first computing device and the second computing device to perform the steps of:
i) receiving the shared digital content data from the database/server over the network (Berger et al. col5 ln1-21, receives document from host server over the network),
ii) displaying the shared digital content data as the shared digital content file on a respective display of the first computing device and the second computing device (Berger et al. fig. 2 col5 ln66 to col6 ln15, concurrently displays document to multiple collaborators),
iii) allowing annotation of the shared digital content file via a respective input device associated with the first computing device and the second computing device (Berger et al. fig. 2 col5 ln22-33, col5 ln66 to col6 ln15, col8 ln54-67, access rights can vary between users and collaborators who can edit document and annotations, multiple users can concurrently view document and add annotations that overlay document),
iv) communicating the annotated digital content data to the database/server over the network (Berger et al. col3 ln24-39, communicates annotated document to host server),
v) receiving, at the first computing device and the second computing device, the annotated digital content data from the database/server over the network (Berber et al. fig. 1 col3 ln24-39, receives annotated document from cloud server over network),
vi) displaying the annotated digital content file including each annotation of the plurality of annotations on the respective display of the first computing device and the second computing device (Berger et al. fig. 1 col6 ln8-25, simultaneous display annotations to collaborators on different devices); and
vii) allowing modification of the original digital content data at only the first computing device (Berger et al. fig. 6 col5 ln22-33, creator or uploader of content controls access rights to edit or annotate document).
Berger et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the annotation produces an annotated digital content file which includes the shared digital content data and annotated digital content data wherein the annotated digital content data overlays the shared digital content without modification to the original digital content data.
However Mitsufuji discloses wherein the annotation produces an annotated digital content file which includes the shared digital content data and annotated digital content data wherein the annotated digital content data overlays the shared digital content without modification to the original digital content data (Mitsufuji fig. 38 para[0329], The content to be displayed on the annotation layer may be recorded in the document. Also, the content may be recorded in a separate file that is different from the document, e.g., a definition file. The annotation detection unit 72 acquires the file that specifies the content to be displayed on the annotation layer. The annotation display unit 74 serves as a second rendering unit, which creates an annotation layer layout based upon the content specified in the annotation layer file. Also, the annotation display unit 74 serves as a display unit, which superimposes the annotation layer on the document layer displayed by a first rendering unit such as the display unit 56, 66, or the like, provided in the form of a document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the collaborative annotation method of Berger et al. with the document annotation method of Mitsufuji in order to add additional information that is distinguishable from the original document (Mitsufuji para[0007]).
In regards to claim 2, Berger et al. discloses a computer-implemented digital content collaboration system comprising:
a) a database/server including a memory and a processor, wherein the database/server is in communication a plurality of computing devices over a network (Berger et al. fig. 1 col3 ln24-39, server 110 in communication with client devices 102);
b) a first set of computer instructions that when executed by the processor performs the steps of:
i) storing a first shared digital content file comprising first shared digital content data, wherein the first shared digital content data includes first original digital content data associated with a first original digital content file (Berger et al. fig. 2 215 col5 ln1-21, workspace associated with digital content 215),
ii) storing a second shared digital content file comprising second shared digital content data, wherein the second shared digital content data includes second original digital content data associated with a second original digital content file (Berger et al. fig. 2 235 col5 ln1-21, workspace B associated with digital content 235), and
iii) communicating the first shared digital content data and the second shared digital content data to each of said computing devices over the network (Berger et al. fig. 2 col5 ln66 to col6 ln7, communicates documents in a workspace to collaborators), and
c) a second set of computer instructions configured for being stored in a respective memory of said computing devices (Berger et al. fig. 1, col3 ln31-39, the client devices 102 can be any combination of devices/systems that is able to establish a connection with another device and the host server 110. ), the second set of computer instructions configured for being executed by a respective processor of each of said computing devices to perform the steps of:
i) receiving the first shared digital content data and the second shared digital content data from the database/server over the network (Berger et al. col5 ln1-21, receives documents from host server over the network),
ii) displaying one or both of the first shared digital content data and the second shared digital content data as a respective first shared digital content file or second shared digital content file on a respective display of each of said computing devices (Berger et al. fig. 2 col5 ln66 to col6 ln15, concurrently displays document to multiple collaborators),
iii) allowing a first annotation of the first shared digital content via a respective input device associated with any of the plurality of computing devices,(Berger et al. fig 2 col5 ln22-33, col5 ln66 to col6 ln15, col8 ln54-67, access rights can vary between users and collaborators who can edit document and annotations, multiple users can concurrently view document and add annotations that overlay document),
iv) allowing a second annotation of the second shared digital content via a respective input device associated with any of the plurality of computing devices, (Berger et al. fig 2 col5 ln22-33, col5 ln66 to col6 ln15, col8 ln54-67, access rights can vary between users and collaborators who can edit document and annotations, multiple users can concurrently view document and add annotations that overlay document),
v) allowing cross-referencing of the first annotation with the second annotation wherein the first shared digital content file includes a first hyperlink to the second shared digital content file (Berger et al. fig. 6 col8 ln29-53, users can input additional annotations (comments) responding to any other annotations).
Berger et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first annotation produces a first annotated digital content file which includes the first shared digital content data and first annotated digital content data wherein the first annotated digital content data overlays the first shared digital content without modification to the first original digital content data;
wherein the second annotation produces a second annotated digital content file which includes the second shared digital content data and second annotated digital content data wherein the second annotated digital content data overlays the second shared digital content without modification to the second original digital content data.
However Mitsufuji discloses wherein the first annotation produces a first annotated digital content file which includes the first shared digital content data and first annotated digital content data wherein the first annotated digital content data overlays the first shared digital content without modification to the first original digital content data and wherein the second annotation produces a second annotated digital content file which includes the second shared digital content data and second annotated digital content data wherein the second annotated digital content data overlays the second shared digital content without modification to the second original digital content data. (Mitsufuji fig. 38 para[0329], The content to be displayed on the annotation layer may be recorded in the document. Also, the content may be recorded in a separate file that is different from the document, e.g., a definition file. The annotation detection unit 72 acquires the file that specifies the content to be displayed on the annotation layer. The annotation display unit 74 serves as a second rendering unit, which creates an annotation layer layout based upon the content specified in the annotation layer file. Also, the annotation display unit 74 serves as a display unit, which superimposes the annotation layer on the document layer displayed by a first rendering unit such as the display unit 56, 66, or the like, provided in the form of a document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the collaborative annotation method of Berger et al. with the document annotation method of Mitsufuji in order to add additional information that is distinguishable from the original document (Mitsufuji para[0007]).
In regards to claim 3, Berger et al. as modified by Mitsufuji et al. discloses the system of claim 2 wherein the first hyperlink is directed to a location of the second annotation within the second shared digital content file (Berger et al. col8 ln54-67, comment tied to specific portion of document and represent as hyperlink).
In regards to claim 4, Berger et al. as modified by Mitsufuji et al. discloses the system of claim 3 wherein the second shared digital content file includes a second hyperlink to the first shared digital content file(Burger et al. col7 ln63 to col8 ln3, each collaborator may receive an email message with a hyperlink to the stored note).
In regards to claim 5, Berger et al. as modified by Mitsufuji et al. discloses the system of claim 4 wherein the second hyperlink is directed to a location of the first annotation within the first shared digital content file(Berger et al. col8 ln54-67, comment tied to specific portion of document and represent as hyperlink).
In regards to claim 6, Berger et al. discloses a computer-implemented digital content collaboration system comprising:
a) a database/server including a memory and a processor, wherein the database/server is in communication with of a plurality of computing devices over a network (Berger et al. fig. 1 col3 ln24-39, server 110 in communication with client devices 102);
b) a first set of computer instructions that when executed by the processor performs the steps of:
i) storing a first shared digital content file comprising first shared digital content data, wherein the first shared digital content data includes first original digital content data associated with a first original digital content file (Berger et al. fig. 2 215 col5 ln1-21, workspace associated with digital content 215),
ii) storing a second shared digital content file comprising second shared digital content data, wherein the second shared digital content data includes second original digital content data associated with a second original digital content file (Berger et al. fig. 2 235 col5 ln1-21, workspace B associated with digital content 235), and
iii) communicating the first shared digital content data and the second shared digital content data to each of the plurality of computing devices over the network (Berger et al. fig. 2 col5 ln66 to col6 ln7, communicates documents in a workspace to collaborators), and
c) a second set of computer instructions configured for being stored in a respective memory of each of said computing devices (Berger et al. fig. 1, col3 ln31-39, the client devices 102 can be any combination of devices/systems that is able to establish a connection with another device and the host server 110. ), the second set of computer instructions configured for being executed by a respective processor of each of t said computing devices to perform the steps of:
i) receiving the first shared digital content data and the second shared digital content data from the database/server over the network (Berger et al. col5 ln1-21, receives documents from host server over the network),
ii) displaying one or both of the first and second shared digital content data as a respective first shared digital content file or second shared digital content file on a respective display of each said of computing devices (Berger et al. fig. 2 col5 ln66 to col6 ln15, concurrently displays document to multiple collaborators),
iii) allowing a first annotation of the first shared digital content file via a respective input device associated with any of t said computing devices (Berger et al. fig 2 col5 ln22-33, col5 ln66 to col6 ln15, col8 ln54-67, access rights can vary between users and collaborators who can edit document and annotations, multiple users can concurrently view document and add annotations that overlay document),
iv) allowing a second annotation of the second shared digital content file via a respective input device associated with any of said computing devices, (Berger et al. fig 2 col5 ln22-33, col5 ln66 to col6 ln15, col8 ln54-67, access rights can vary between users and collaborators who can edit document and annotations, multiple users can concurrently view document and add annotations that overlay document),
v) generating a marker report including each of the first annotation and the second annotation (Berger et al. fig. 6 col8 ln44-47, displays list of annotations (comments) made by authors), wherein the marker report further includes one or more of the following fields:
a) an identification of a respective shared digital content file associated with each of the first annotation and the second annotation (Berger et al. col6 ln32-39, identifies work items and action items shared by collaborators),
b) an identification of a respective computing device of the plurality of computing devices which created each of the first annotation and the second annotation (Berger et al. fig. 6, col8 ln40-47, information about the author and date of the comment are shown),
c) an identification of a type of annotation of each of the first annotation and the second annotation (Berger et al. col8 ln 38-43, displays comment and related information),
d) a reproduction of each respective annotation (Berger et al. col9 ln40-47, text of the comment is shown), and
e) a status of each respective annotation (Berger et al. fig. 6 601, col8 ln47-53, user may request an update of his or her comment).
Berger et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first annotation produces a first annotated digital content file which includes the first shared digital content data and first annotated digital content data wherein the first annotated digital content data overlays the first shared digital content file without modification to the first original content data;
wherein the second annotation produces a second annotated digital content file which includes the second shared digital content data and second annotated digital content data wherein the second annotated digital content data overlays the second shared digital content file without modification to the second original content data.
However Mitsufuji discloses wherein the first annotation produces a first annotated digital content file which includes the first shared digital content data and first annotated digital content data wherein the first annotated digital content data overlays the first shared digital content without modification to the first original digital content data and wherein the second annotation produces a second annotated digital content file which includes the second shared digital content data and second annotated digital content data wherein the second annotated digital content data overlays the second shared digital content without modification to the second original digital content data. (Mitsufuji fig. 38 para[0329], The content to be displayed on the annotation layer may be recorded in the document. Also, the content may be recorded in a separate file that is different from the document, e.g., a definition file. The annotation detection unit 72 acquires the file that specifies the content to be displayed on the annotation layer. The annotation display unit 74 serves as a second rendering unit, which creates an annotation layer layout based upon the content specified in the annotation layer file. Also, the annotation display unit 74 serves as a display unit, which superimposes the annotation layer on the document layer displayed by a first rendering unit such as the display unit 56, 66, or the like, provided in the form of a document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the collaborative annotation method of Berger et al. with the document annotation method of Mitsufuji in order to add additional information that is distinguishable from the original document (Mitsufuji para[0007]).
In regards to claim 7, Berger et al. as modified by Mitsufuji et al. discloses the system of claim 6 wherein one or more of each field a) through e) is an operable hyperlink wherein selection of a specific field directs a user from the marker report to the first or second annotation within the first shared digital content file or the second shared digital content file linked to the specific field (Berger et al. col8 ln54-67, comment can be represented by a hyperlink to the comment).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. in view of Mitsufuji et al. and Bhatt (US2017/0060829).
In regards to claim 8, Berger et al. as modified by Mitsufuji discloses the computer-implemented digital content collaboration system of claim 3. Berger et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the second shared digital content file comprises a three-dimensional image;
the location is associated with the three-dimensional image; and
the first hyperlink comprises three-dimensional coordinate data associated with a position on the three-dimensional image.
However Bhatt discloses wherein the second shared digital content file comprises a three-dimensional image (Bhatt para[0030], the annotation system may operate on any sort of document, including web pages, graphical images, sound files, video files, etc.);
the location is associated with the three-dimensional image (Bhatt para[0030], Each document 122 will have a coordinate space associated with it, which coordinate space indicates the type and dimensions of the document.); and
the first hyperlink comprises three-dimensional coordinate data associated with a position on the three-dimensional image (Bhatt para[0066], A time-based document includes a plurality of components to be presented at different times, such as a plurality of frames in a video file. Each point in time contains information, such as a frame or a sound. In addition to the type, the size of each page, canvas, or frame may be determined as part of the coordinate space.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the collaborative annotation method of Berger et al. with the annotation linking method of Bhatt et al. in order to share annotations and connections between users (Bhatt para[0004]).
In regards to claim 9, Berger et al. as modified by Mitsufuji discloses the computer-implemented digital content collaboration system of claim 3. Berger et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the second shared digital content file comprises a video file;
the location is associated with the video file;
the first hyperlink comprises three-dimensional coordinate data associated with a position on the video file; and
the three-dimensional coordinate data comprises a z-coordinate data point representing a temporal data point.
However Bhatt discloses wherein the second shared digital content file comprises a video file (Bhatt et al. para[0030], the annotation system may operate on any sort of document, including web pages, graphical images, sound files, video files, etc.);
the location is associated with the video file (Bhatt para[0030], Each document 122 will have a coordinate space associated with it, which coordinate space indicates the type and dimensions of the document.);
the first hyperlink comprises three-dimensional coordinate data associated with a position on the video file (Bhatt para[0066], A time-based document includes a plurality of components to be presented at different times, such as a plurality of frames in a video file. Each point in time contains information, such as a frame or a sound. In addition to the type, the size of each page, canvas, or frame may be determined as part of the coordinate space.); and
the three-dimensional coordinate data comprises a z-coordinate data point representing a temporal data point (Bhatt para[0066], A time-based document includes a plurality of components to be presented at different times, such as a plurality of frames in a video file. Each point in time contains information, such as a frame or a sound. In addition to the type, the size of each page, canvas, or frame may be determined as part of the coordinate space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the collaborative annotation method of Berger et al. with the annotation linking method of Bhatt in order to share annotations and connections between users (Bhatt para[0004]).
In regards to claim 10, Berger et al. as modified by Mitsufuji discloses the computer-implemented digital content collaboration system of claim 5. Berger et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first shared digital content file comprises a three-dimensional image;
the location is associated with the three-dimensional image; and
the second hyperlink comprises three-dimensional coordinate data associated with a position on the three-dimensional image.
However Bhatt discloses wherein the first shared digital content file comprises a three-dimensional image (Bhatt para[0030], the annotation system may operate on any sort of document, including web pages, graphical images, sound files, video files, etc.);
the location is associated with the three-dimensional image (Bhatt para[0030], Each document 122 will have a coordinate space associated with it, which coordinate space indicates the type and dimensions of the document.); and
the second hyperlink comprises three-dimensional coordinate data associated with a position on the three-dimensional image (Bhatt para[0066], A time-based document includes a plurality of components to be presented at different times, such as a plurality of frames in a video file. Each point in time contains information, such as a frame or a sound. In addition to the type, the size of each page, canvas, or frame may be determined as part of the coordinate space.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the collaborative annotation method of Berger et al. with the annotation linking method of Bhatt in order to share annotations and connections between users (Bhatt para[0004]).
In regards to claim 11, Berger et al. as modified by Mitsufuji discloses the computer-implemented digital content collaboration system of claim 3. Berger et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first shared digital content file comprises a video file;
the location is associated with the video file;
the second hyperlink comprises three-dimensional coordinate data associated with a position on the video file; and
the three-dimensional coordinate data comprises a z-coordinate data point representing a temporal data point.
However Bhatt discloses wherein the first shared digital content file comprises a video file (Bhatt para[0030], the annotation system may operate on any sort of document, including web pages, graphical images, sound files, video files, etc.);
the location is associated with the video file (Bhatt para[0030], Each document 122 will have a coordinate space associated with it, which coordinate space indicates the type and dimensions of the document.);
the second hyperlink comprises three-dimensional coordinate data associated with a position on the video file (Bhatt para[0066], A time-based document includes a plurality of components to be presented at different times, such as a plurality of frames in a video file. Each point in time contains information, such as a frame or a sound. In addition to the type, the size of each page, canvas, or frame may be determined as part of the coordinate space.); and
the three-dimensional coordinate data comprises a z-coordinate data point representing a temporal data point (Bhatt para[0066], A time-based document includes a plurality of components to be presented at different times, such as a plurality of frames in a video file. Each point in time contains information, such as a frame or a sound. In addition to the type, the size of each page, canvas, or frame may be determined as part of the coordinate space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the collaborative annotation method of Berger et al. with the annotation linking method of Bhatt in order to share annotations and connections between users (Bhatt para[0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to claim 2, applicant argues on page 15 that the references does not teach “allowing cross-referencing of the first annotation with the second annotation wherein the first shared digital content includes a first hyperlink to the second shared digital content”.
However Berger et al. as modified by Mitsufuji substantially discloses allowing cross-referencing of the first annotation with the second annotation wherein the first shared digital content includes a first hyperlink to the second shared digital content (Berger et al. fig. 6 col8 ln29-53, allows a user to respond to another users comment, col8 ln1-3, collaborator may receive hyperlink to associated note, col8 ln64-67, the user can enter and submit a URL or any other linkable address).
In regards to claim 7, applicant argues on page 15 that Mitsufuji does not teach “wherein one or more of each field a) through e) is an operable hyperlink wherein selection of a specific field directs a user from the marker report to the first or second annotation within the first shared digital content file linked to the specific field”.
However Berger et al. as modified by Mitsufuji et al. substantially discloses wherein one or more of each field a) through e) is an operable hyperlink wherein selection of a specific field directs a user from the marker report to the first or second annotation within the first shared digital content file linked to the specific field (Berger et al. col8 ln54-67, In one embodiment, an annotation can be represented as a hyperlink, by text, and so on. When the user chooses a representation as a hyperlink, the GUI module can allow the user to enter and submit a URL or any other linkable address using one or more graphical elements. Col8 ln1-3, Each collaborator may receive a message with a hyperlink to the stored note)
In regards to claim 6, applicant argues on page 16 that Berger does not teach “generating a marker report including each of the first annotation and the second annotation, wherein the marker report further includes one or more of the following fields: a) an identification of a respective shared digital content file associated with each of the first annotation and the second annotation; b) an identification of a respective computing device of the plurality of computing devices which created each of the first annotation and the second annotation; c) an identification of a type of annotation of each of the first annotation and the second annotation; d) a reproduction of each respective annotation; and e) a status of each respective annotation”.
However, the specification para[0078] states “system may monitor and track all annotations to one or more documents which may then be compiled and displayed in a marker report”. The various indications on the marker report are non-functional descriptive material and not afforded patentable weight, see MPEP 2111.05. Despite this, the examiner has mapped art in the interest of compact prosecution. Berger et al. discloses generating a marker report including each of the first annotation and the second annotation (Berger et al. fig. 6 col8 ln44-47, generates list including user comments (first annotation) and another’s user’s comment (second annotation)), wherein the marker report further includes one or more of the following fields: a) an identification of a respective shared digital content file associated with each of the first annotation and the second annotation; b) an identification of a respective computing device of the plurality of computing devices which created each of the first annotation and the second annotation (Berger et al. fig. 6, col8 ln40-47, information about the author and the date of the comment are shown in addition to the text of the comment); c) an identification of a type of annotation of each of the first annotation and the second annotation; d) a reproduction of each respective annotation; and e) a status of each respective annotation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Powers et al. (US2018/0374276) teaches placing annotations in a three-dimensional representation.
Jain et al. (US2006/0041564) teaches creating annotation overlays for parallel slices of a three-dimensional image.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 10/01/2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141