Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12340338 in view of Sun (US 11151481).
Claims in Patent No. 12340338
Claims in current application
A combined facial recognition event venue entry at a venue and concession item procurement system, comprising: at least one image collection device for placement in a photo zone leading to a limited-access area of an event venue, said image collection device being configured to capture a series of pass-through images of a group of people as they move through the photo zone; a detection sensor synced to said image collection device to initiate image capture with said image collection device as at least one person from the group encounters a detection zone to activate said sensor; a user image database configured to store facial data of the at least one person prior to commencement of an event; and a processor configured to: compare the facial data stored in said user image database with a pass-through image of the series of pass-through images of the group captured by said image collection device using facial recognition technology; determine whether the at least one person is an authorized entrant as the group moves through the photo zone based on the comparison between the facial data and the pass-through image, said processor being configured to analyze the series of pass-through images and select an image therefrom based on a minimum threshold including optical recognition of key facial data points, wherein the minimum threshold is based at least on accuracy, said processor being configured to identify the at least one person as the at least one person moves using only facial recognition technology as a primary method of identification; provide an alert if the at least one person is unidentified after the comparison between the facial data and the pass-through image; confirm entry of the at least one person into the event venue without presentation of a ticket or pass for the event; process a concession item procurement to receive a concession item at a specific section of the venue, the concession item processing being based on the same facial data stored in said user image database used to determine authorized event entry; and automatically purge the stored facial data on a scheduled basis.
A combined facial recognition event venue entry at a venue and concession item procurement system, comprising: at least one image collection device for placement in a photo zone leading to a limited-access area of an event venue, said image collection device being configured to capture a series of pass-through images of a group of people as they move through the photo zone; a detection sensor synced to said image collection device to initiate image capture with said image collection device as at least one person from the group encounters a detection zone to activate said sensor; a user image database configured to store facial data of the at least one person prior to commencement of an event; and a processor configured to: compare the facial data stored in said user image database with the pass-through image of the series of pass-through images of the group captured by said image collection device using facial recognition technology; determine whether the at least one person is an authorized entrant as the group moves through the photo zone based on the comparison between the facial data and the pass-through image, said processor being configured to analyze the series of pass-through images and select an image therefrom based on a minimum threshold including optical recognition of key facial data points, wherein the minimum threshold is based at least on accuracy, said processor being configured to identify the at least one person as the at least one person moves using only facial recognition technology as a primary method of identification, said processor being configured to determine whether any person unidentified with facial recognition technology is associated with an authorized entry; provide an alert if the at least one person is unidentified after the comparison between the facial data and the pass-through image; confirm entry of the at least one person into the event venue without presentation of a ticket or pass for the event; process a concession item procurement to receive a concession item at a specific section of the venue, the concession item processing being based on the same facial data stored in said user image database used to determine authorized event entry.
9. A method for facial recognition event venue entry at a venue and concession item procurement, comprising: guiding a group of people through a guided entry way at an event venue towards a photo zone; taking a series of pass-through images of the group as they move through the photo zone with an image collection device after detecting at least one person from the group in the photo zone, and tracking the at least one person as the at least one person moves through the photo zone; conducting, as a primary method of identification, a facial recognition comparison of at least one of the pass-through images of the group with facial data of the at least one person contained in a personal profile associated with the at least one person, as the group moves towards a limited-access area of the event venue, the conducting of the facial recognition comparison including determining whether at least one of the pass-through images meets a minimum threshold including optical recognition of key facial data points, wherein the minimum threshold is at least based on accuracy, the personal profile including a pre-authorization for event entry at an event; providing an alert if the at least one person is unidentified after the comparison between the facial data and the at least one of the pass-through images; confirming entry of the person into the venue upon successful facial identification of the person; processing a concession item procurement based on the same facial data stored in the personal profile used to confirm entry into the event venue; and automatically purging the stored facial data on a scheduled basis.
10. A method for facial recognition event venue entry at a venue and concession item procurement, comprising: guiding a group of people through a guided entry way at an event venue towards a photo zone; taking a series of pass-through images of the group as they move through the photo zone with an image collection device after detecting at least one person from the group in the photo zone, and tracking the at least one person as the at least one person moves through the photo zone; conducting, as a primary method of identification, a facial recognition comparison of at least one of the pass-through images of the group with facial data of the at least one person contained in a personal profile associated with the at least one person, as the group moves towards a limited-access area of the event venue, the conducting of the facial recognition comparison including determining whether at least one of the pass-through images meets a minimum threshold including optical recognition of key facial data points, wherein the minimum threshold is at least based on accuracy, the personal profile including a pre-authorization for event entry at an event; providing an alert if the at least one person is unidentified after the comparison between the facial data and the at least one of the pass-through images; confirming entry of the person into the venue upon successful facial identification of the person; determining whether any person unidentified with facial recognition technology is associated with an authorized entry; and processing a concession item procurement based on the same facial data stored in the personal profile used to confirm entry into the event venue.
The patent US12340338 discloses the same limitations as the current claims except for the bolded limitation. However, Sun (US 11,151,481) discloses the bolded limitation and it would be obvious of a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Sun with US12340338 in order to include an alternative identity check method in case of facial recognition failure.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 10 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10: “confirming entry of the person into the venue upon successful facial identification of the person” should read “confirming entry of the at least one person into the venue upon successful facial identification of the at least one person”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 11151481) in view of Hayase (US 2019/0050631), Ranganath (US 2017/0161550) hereinafter “Rang” and LaRovere (US 10347063).
As per claim 1, Sun discloses a combined facial recognition event venue entry at a venue and concession item procurement system, comprising:
at least one image collection device for placement in a photo zone leading to a limited-access area of an event venue (fig. 1a, col. 4:14-47),
a user image database configured to store facial data of the at least one person prior to commencement of an event (fig. 3a, col.2-3:10, 9:66-10:2 and 13:3-14:25); and a processor configured to:
compare the facial data stored in said user image database with the pass-through image of at least one person from the group captured by said image collection device using facial recognition technology (4:14-35, 5:19-29, “For example, the image data may be captured by the camera(s) 116 included in a gate 112 in the entrance 20 to the event. The system 100 may detect (132) a face in the image data, determine (134) an identity associated with the face and determine (136) an account associated with the identity. For example, the system 100 may detect a face of the user 10, determine an identity (e.g., “John Smith”) associated with the face and determine the account with which John Smith purchased access to the event. While FIG. 1A illustrates the system 100 determining an identity associated with the user 10, the disclosure is not limited thereto and in some examples the system 100 may determine the account associated with the user 10 without determining the identity of the user 10, or using a different technique.”);
determine whether the at least one person is an authorized entrant as they move through the photo zone based on the comparison between the facial data and the pass-through image (4:30-37), said processor being configured to identify the at least one person as the at least one person moves using only facial recognition technology as a primary method of identification, (fig. 1a, col. 4:14-47, 5:19-29);
said processor being configured to determine whether any person unidentified with facial recognition technology is associated with an authorized entry (col. 20:53-67);
provide an alert if the person is unidentified after the comparison between the facial data and the pass-through image (3:52-62, 4:30-37, “(26) The system 100 may also send/display a message to customer support and/or security personnel monitoring the entrance to indicate that the user 10 is allowed to enter the event. For example, the system 100 may send a message to a security booth indicating that the user 10 is allowed to enter the event along with additional information about the user 10. Additionally or alternatively, the system 100 may send a command to a device to cause a visual indication that the user 10 is allowed to enter the event. For example, the system 100 may cause a green light to flash when the user 10 is allowed to enter, although the disclosure is not limited thereto.”, “For example, when the user 10 approaches a gate (e.g., gate 112) in the entrance, the system 100 may identify the gate corresponding to the user 10 and send an instruction to the gate to allow the user 10 to enter the event.”);
confirm entry of the person into the event venue without presentation of a ticket or pass for the event (3:34-62 and 4:30-37, “(25) When the user 10 is in proximity to an entrance (e.g., entrance 20) to the event, the system 100 may detect the user 10 using one or more techniques known to one of skill in the art (e.g., near field communication (NFC) technology and/or radio frequency identification (RFID) technology using sensor(s) 114, facial recognition using camera(s) 116, voice recognition using microphone(s) 118, etc.), may determine the account associated with the user 10, and may determine that the account has access to the event based on the indication. Thus, as the user 10 approaches the entrance, the system 100 has already verified the account and determined that the user 10 may enter the event.”, “25) When the user 10 is in proximity to an entrance (e.g., entrance 20) to the event, the system 100 may detect the user 10 using one or more techniques known to one of skill in the art (e.g., near field communication (NFC) technology and/or radio frequency identification (RFID) technology using sensor(s) 114, facial recognition using camera(s) 116, voice recognition using microphone(s) 118, etc.), may determine the account associated with the user 10, and may determine that the account has access to the event based on the indication. Thus, as the user 10 approaches the entrance, the system 100 has already verified the account and determined that the user 10 may enter the event. Therefore, the system 100 may allow the user 10 to enter the event without requiring a physical or electronic ticket or other proof of purchase.”); and
process a concession item procurement to receive a concession item at a specific section of the venue, the concession item processing being based on the same facial data stored in said user image database used to determine authorized event entry (8:11-31, 32-54 and 16:21-17:11, “(80) In some examples, the user 10 may remotely place an order for static pickup 440 and the system 100 may receive the order and process the order using the account. To fulfill the order, the system 100 may determine a user location 442 associated with the user 10 when the order was placed and may determine vendor(s) 410 in proximity to the user location 442 that have the vendor items in stock. The system 100 may send an instruction to the vendor (s) 410 to prepare the vendor items for pickup at a pickup location 444 and may send an instruction to the user 10 to pickup the vendor items at the pickup location 444… (82) When the user 10 arrives at one of the pickup locations 462, the system 100 may detect the user 10 in proximity to one of the pickup locations 462 and verify the account associated with the user 10, as discussed in greater detail above with regard to FIGS. 2A-2D. After verifying the account, the system 100 may send an instruction to the vendor(s) 410 to deliver the vendor items to the user 10. For example, the pickup locations 462 may include an automated device that detects the user 10 (e.g., using facial recognition, NFC technology and/or RFID technology) in proximity to the automated device, retrieves the vendor items and individually dispenses the vendor items to the user 10. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto. Instead, the pickup locations 462 may include employees that verify the vendor items associated with the user 10 and deliver the vendor items to the user 10 without departing from the disclosure. Additionally or alternatively, the user 10 may select the vendor items at the pickup locations 462 and walk through a checkpoint that verifies that the vendor items are associated with the user 10 without departing from the disclosure.).
However, Sun does not disclose but Hayase discloses said image collection device being configured to capture a series of pass-through images of a group of people as they move through the photo zone (fig. 1-2, paragraph 76-79, 99, 159-160, a group of people are lined up to enter an event where pictures are taken of the entrants for facial recognition); compare the facial data with the pass-through image of the series of pass-through images of the group captured by said image collection device using facial recognition technology ([0007] According to one example aspect of the present invention, provided is a face recognition system including: a face detection unit that detects a face image from an image including an authentication subject as a detected face image; a storage unit that stores identification information identifying the authentication subject and a registered face image of the authentication subject in association with each other; and a face matching unit that, in response to acquisition of the identification information identifying the authentication subject, matches, against the registered face image corresponding to the acquired identification information, the detected face image detected by the face detection unit from an image captured before the acquisition; [0120] The face matching unit 314 calculates a matching score in accordance with a similarity between a face feature amount of a detected face image and a face feature amount of a registered face image in N:1 matching. The matching score is a larger value for a higher similarity between the face feature amount of a detected face image and the face feature amount of a registered face image.);
wherein the minimum threshold is based at least on accuracy (paragraph 111, 182-184).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitations above as taught by Hayase, a reference in the field of facial recognition event entry systems, in the system of Sun, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
However, Sun does not disclose but Rang discloses said processor being configured to analyze the image series and select an image therefrom based on a minimum threshold including optical recognition of key facial data points (paragraph 4, 32-33, the key facial data points in the selected picture need to meet a minimum quality requirements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitation above as taught by Rang in the teaching of Sun, in order to enable capture of a usable image from the sequential set of probe images despite variation in at least one of an amount of light and a skin tone of the face of the individual (please see Rang abstract).
However, Sun does not disclose but LaRovere discloses a detection sensor synced to said image collection device to initiate image capture with said image collection device as at least one person from the group encounters a detection zone to activate said sensor (Col. 10:33-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitation above as taught by LaRovere, a reference in the field of authorized smart access to a property, in the teaching of Sun, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, Sun in view of Hayase, Rang and LaRovere discloses all the limitation of claim 2. Sun does not disclose but Rang discloses wherein said processor is configured to analyze the image series as images are being acquired (paragraph 4, 19-20, 23, 33-34)(please see claim 1 rejection for combination rationale).
As per claim 3, Sun in view of Hayase, Rang and LaRovere discloses all the limitation of claim 3. Sun does not disclose but Rang discloses wherein the key facial data points include user eye location relative to user nose and/or cheek bone location (paragraph 4, 19-20, 23, 32-33)(please see claim 1 rejection for combination rationale).
As per claim 4, Sun discloses wherein said processor is integrated with said image collection device within a housing (23:23-36, 23:63-24:6, 24:60-25:12).
As per claim 5, Sun discloses wherein the concession item processing involves a consumable food item or beverage (8:11-54 and 16:21-17:11).
As per claim 6, Sun discloses wherein said processor is configured to operate a barrier to permit passage of the person therethrough after said processor has determined the person is authorized to enter the event venue (4:1-43).
As per claim 7, Sun discloses wherein said image collection device is a tablet computer with a component camera (23:23-36, 23:63-24:6, 24:60-25:12).
As per claim 8, Sun discloses wherein said processor is configured to determine entry authorization of a person unidentified with facial recognition technology using a device to scan details associated with the unidentified person (col. 20:53-21:12).
As per claim 10, Sun discloses a method for facial recognition event venue entry at a venue and concession item procurement, comprising:
guiding at least one person through a guided entry way at an event venue towards a photo zone (fig. 1, col. 14-37, the side wall guides event goer towards the gate with the camera);
taking an image of the at the least one person as they move through the photo zone with an image collection device, tracking the at least one person as the at least one person moves through the photo zone; (fig. 1a (116), col. 4:14-37);
conducting, as a primary method of identification, a facial recognition comparison of at least one of the pass-through images of the group with facial data of the at least one person contained in a personal profile associated with the at least one person, as the person moves towards limited access area of the event venue, the personal profile including a pre-authorization for event entry ((Col.4:14-35, 30-37 and col. 5:19-29);
providing an alert if the at least one person is unidentified after the comparison between the facial data and the at least one of the pass-through images (3:52-62, 4:30-37)
confirming entry of the at least one person into the venue upon successful facial identification of the person ((3:34-62 and 4:30-37).
determining whether any person unidentified with facial recognition technology is associated with an authorized entry (col. 20:53-67);
processing a concession item procurement based on the same facial data stored in the personal profile used to confirm entry into the event venue (8:11-31, 32-54 and 16:21-17:11).
However, Sun does not disclose but Hayase discloses guiding a group of people through a guided entry way at an event venue towards a photo zone (fig. 1-2, paragraph 76-79, 99, 159-160, a group of people are lined up to enter an event where pictures are taken of the entrants for facial recognition);
taking a series of pass-through images of the group as they move through the photo zone with an image collection device after detecting at least one person from the group in the photo zone (fig. 1-2, paragraph 76-79, 99, 159-160, a group of people are lined up to enter an event where pictures are taken of the entrants for facial recognition); compare the facial data with the pass-through image of the series of pass-through images of the group captured by said image collection device using facial recognition technology ([0007] According to one example aspect of the present invention, provided is a face recognition system including: a face detection unit that detects a face image from an image including an authentication subject as a detected face image; a storage unit that stores identification information identifying the authentication subject and a registered face image of the authentication subject in association with each other; and a face matching unit that, in response to acquisition of the identification information identifying the authentication subject, matches, against the registered face image corresponding to the acquired identification information, the detected face image detected by the face detection unit from an image captured before the acquisition; [0120] The face matching unit 314 calculates a matching score in accordance with a similarity between a face feature amount of a detected face image and a face feature amount of a registered face image in N:1 matching. The matching score is a larger value for a higher similarity between the face feature amount of a detected face image and the face feature amount of a registered face image.);
wherein the minimum threshold is based at least on accuracy (paragraph 111, 182-184).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitations above as taught by Hayase, a reference in the field of facial recognition event entry systems, in the system of Sun, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
However, Sun does not disclose but Rang discloses the conducting of the facial recognition comparison including determining whether at least one of the pass-through images meets a minimum threshold including optical recognition of key facial data points (paragraph 4, 32-33, the key facial data points in the selected picture need to meet a minimum quality requirements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitation above as taught by Rang in the teaching of Sun, in order to enable capture of a usable image from the sequential set of probe images despite variation in at least one of an amount of light and a skin tone of the face of the individual (please see Rang abstract).
However, Sun does not disclose but LaRovere discloses the image collection device is synced to a detection sensor to initiate image capture with said image collection device as at least one person from the group encounters a detection zone to activate the sensor (Col. 10:33-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitation above as taught by LaRovere in the teaching of Sun, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 11, Sun discloses wherein the concession item procurement involves a consumable food and/or beverage (8:11-54 and 16:21-17:11).
As per claim 12, Sun does not disclose but Rang discloses wherein the conducting of the facial recognition comparison includes determining a primary facial pass-through image from a series of pass-through images of the person as the image series is being expanded, and as the person move through the photo zone (paragraph 4, 19-20, 23, 32-33)(please see claim 10 rejection for combination rationale).
As per claim 13, Sun discloses wherein the facial recognition comparison is conducted while the person is walking through the photo zone (3:34-62 and 4:30-47).
As per claim 14, Sun discloses wherein the event is a sporting event or concert (2:1-7).
As per claim 15, Sun does not disclose but Hayase discloses wherein the group is guided with opposed side barriers (paragraph 83-84)(please see claim 10 rejection for combination rationale).
As per claim 16, Sun discloses receiving the facial data from a means for accessing a personal profile on a database (fig. 1b, 10:13-25).
As per claim 17, Sun discloses wherein the image collection device is a tablet computer with a component camera (23:23-36, 23:63-24:6, 24:60-25:12).
As per claim 18, Sun discloses wherein confirmation of entry of the person is conducted without presentation of a ticket or pass for the event (3:34-62 and 4:30-37, “(25) When the user 10 is in proximity to an entrance (e.g., entrance 20) to the event, the system 100 may detect the user 10 using one or more techniques known to one of skill in the art (e.g., near field communication (NFC) technology and/or radio frequency identification (RFID) technology using sensor(s) 114, facial recognition using camera(s) 116, voice recognition using microphone(s) 118, etc.), may determine the account associated with the user 10, and may determine that the account has access to the event based on the indication. Thus, as the user 10 approaches the entrance, the system 100 has already verified the account and determined that the user 10 may enter the event.”, “25) When the user 10 is in proximity to an entrance (e.g., entrance 20) to the event, the system 100 may detect the user 10 using one or more techniques known to one of skill in the art (e.g., near field communication (NFC) technology and/or radio frequency identification (RFID) technology using sensor(s) 114, facial recognition using camera(s) 116, voice recognition using microphone(s) 118, etc.), may determine the account associated with the user 10, and may determine that the account has access to the event based on the indication. Thus, as the user 10 approaches the entrance, the system 100 has already verified the account and determined that the user 10 may enter the event. Therefore, the system 100 may allow the user 10 to enter the event without requiring a physical or electronic ticket or other proof of purchase.”).
Novelty and Non-Obviousness
No prior art was applied to claim 9 limitation because a combination of the known prior art that discloses claim 9 limitation would result in a piecemeal combination using impermissible hindsight.
The closest prior art is Stephani (US 20130070974) discloses automatically purge the stored facial data on a scheduled basis (paragraph 59, “the facial recognition process of the disclosed embodiments may be used in conjunction with other facial recognition systems such as those used for security purposes. Thus, the captured facial recognition features may deleted after a predetermined time period, such as every 15 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hours or daily, for example (there is no intention to limit the time period which may vary by facility use, for example”).
Conclusion
OMAR . ZEROUAL
Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/OMAR ZEROUAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629