35 USC 102 rejections
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0091212 (Guilhamat).
Regarding independent claim 1, Guilhamat discloses a thermally responsive actuator 10, comprising: a housing 11 comprising a housing cavity and an opening in connection with the housing cavity; a thermal expansion material 12 accommodated in the housing cavity; a piston 14 extending at least partially through the opening into the housing cavity; and a closure assembly (note picture below) comprising a cover device and a sealing device, the closure assembly being attached to the housing 11 at the opening, and the closure assembly covering the opening and surrounding the piston 14; wherein the sealing device comprises a first sealing member and a second sealing member (note picture below); and wherein one or both of the housing 14 and the cover device define(s) a first accommodating portion (space for lower seal) and a second accommodating portion (space for upper seal), wherein the first accommodating portion and the second accommodating portion are separated from each other in an axial direction of the thermally responsive actuator by the cover device, so as to independently accommodate at least a portion of the first sealing member and at least a portion of the second sealing member, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Guilhamat teaches that wherein the first accommodating portion (space for lower seal) and the second accommodating portion (space for upper seal) respectively have a predetermined first axial distance and a predetermined second axial distance.
Regarding claim 3, Guilhamat teaches that wherein the second sealing member (upper seal) is further away from the expansion material 12 than the first sealing member (lower seal), wherein a minimum operating temperature of the second sealing member is less than a minimum operating temperature of the first sealing member, and an oil resistance of the first sealing member is superior to an oil resistance of the second sealing member.
Regarding claim 5, Guilhamat teaches that wherein the cover device comprises an outer cover comprising a separating portion, the first accommodating portion and the second accommodating portion being separated by the separating portion of the outer cover (note picture above).
Regarding claim 6, Guilhamat discloses that wherein the cover device further comprises an inner cover (note the marked inner cover above) disposed in the outer cover, the first axial distance of the first accommodating portion is defined by the inner cover and the separating portion of the outer cover, and the second axial distance of the second accommodating portion is defined by the housing and the separating portion of the outer cover.
Regarding claim 10, Guilhamat discloses a thermally responsive actuator 10 (note picture above), comprising: a housing 11 defining a housing cavity and an opening in connection with the housing cavity; a thermal expansion material 12 accommodated in the housing cavity; an outer cover (note picture above) attached to the housing at the opening, the outer cover having a separating portion an outer cover connecting passage; a piston 14 extending at least partially through the outer cover connecting passage into the housing cavity; and a first sealing member (lower seal) and a second sealing member (upper seal) sealingly connecting the piston 14 with the outer cover; wherein the first sealing member and the second sealing member are separated by the separating portion of the outer cover.
Regarding claim 11, Guilhamat discloses that wherein the outer cover defines a first outer cover cavity (space of lower seal) and a second outer cover cavity (space of upper seal) on opposite sides of the separating portion, wherein the second outer cover cavity is further away from the expansion material than the first outer cover cavity; the thermally responsive actuator further comprises an inner cover (note picture above) disposed in the second outer cover cavity; wherein the first sealing member is at least partially accommodated in the first outer cover cavity, and the second sealing member is accommodated between the inner cover and the separating portion of the outer cover.
Regarding claim 12, Guilhamat discloses that wherein the second sealing member (upper seal) is further away from the expansion material 12 than the first sealing member (lower seal), wherein a minimum operating temperature of the second sealing member is less than a minimum operating temperature of the first sealing member.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US 3166892 (Sherwood).
Regarding independent claim 1, Sherwood discloses a thermally responsive actuator (note picture below), comprising: a housing 10 comprising a housing cavity and an opening in connection with the housing cavity; a thermal expansion material (wax, column 2, lines 17-18) accommodated in the housing cavity; a piston (30, 31) extending at least partially through the opening into the housing cavity; and a closure assembly (end cap 11) comprising a cover device and a sealing device, the closure assembly 11 being attached to the housing 10 at the opening, and the closure assembly 11 covering the opening and surrounding the piston (30, 31); wherein the sealing device comprises a first sealing member 35 and a second sealing member 37; and wherein one or both of the housing 10 and the cover device 11 define(s) a first accommodating portion (space for seal 35 is formed by the cover 11 and the housing 10) and a second accommodating portion (space for seal 37), wherein the first accommodating portion and the second accommodating portion are separated from each other in an axial direction of the thermally responsive actuator by the cover device (separated by inner cover 36), so as to independently accommodate at least a portion of the first sealing member 25 and at least a portion of the second sealing member 37, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Sherwood teaches that wherein the first accommodating portion (space for seal 35) and the second accommodating portion (space for seal 37) respectively have a predetermined first axial distance and a predetermined second axial distance.
Regarding claim 3, Sherwood teaches that wherein the second sealing member 37 is further away from the expansion material than the first sealing member 35, wherein a minimum operating temperature of the second sealing member is less than a minimum operating temperature of the first sealing member, and an oil resistance of the first sealing member is superior to an oil resistance of the second sealing member.
Regarding claim 4, Sherwood teaches that wherein the first sealing member 35 is made of any one of the materials from the following group: hydrogenated nitrile rubber and nitrile rubber; and the second sealing member is made of any one of the materials from the following group: ethylene propylene diene monomer and silicone rubber (note column 2, lines 63-66, the seals are made by Rulon and Teflon which are equivalent with the claimed material).
Regarding claim 7, Sherwood discloses that wherein the cover device comprises an outer cover 11 and an inner cover (36, note picture above), the inner cover being disposed in the outer cover, and the first accommodating portion and the second accommodating portion being separated by the inner cover.
Regarding claim 8, Sherwood discloses that wherein the inner cover 36 and the outer cover 11 are provided with a limiting structure 49 to limit movement of the inner cover relative to the outer cover in a direction away from the expansion material.
Regarding claim 9, Sherwood discloses that wherein the outer cover 11 comprises a bottom away (near reference numeral 29) from the housing, the first axial distance of the first accommodating portion is defined by the inner cover and the housing, and the second axial distance of the second accommodating portion is defined by the inner cover and the bottom of the outer cover.
Regarding claim 13, Sherwood discloses a thermally responsive actuator, comprising: a housing 10 defining a housing cavity and an opening in connection with the housing cavity; a thermal expansion material (wax, column 2) accommodated in the housing cavity; an outer cover (11, note picture above) attached to the housing at the opening and having a bottom defining an outer cover connecting passage; an inner cover (36) disposed in the outer cover and having an inner cover connecting passage; a piston (30, 31) extending at least partially through the outer cover 11 connecting passage and the inner cover connecting passage into the housing cavity; and a first sealing member 35 and a second sealing member 37 sealingly connecting the piston (30, 31) with the outer cover 11; wherein the first sealing member 35 and the second sealing member 37 are separated by the inner cover 36.
Regarding claim 14, Sherwood discloses that wherein the outer cover 11 defines an outer cover cavity (space of seal 37) located on a side of the bottom close to the expansion material, and the second sealing member 37, the inner cover 36, and at least part of the first sealing member 35 are accommodated in the outer cover cavity.
Regarding claim 15, Sherwood discloses that wherein the second sealing member 37 is further away from the expansion material than the first sealing member 37, wherein a minimum operating temperature of the second sealing member is less than a minimum operating temperature of the first sealing member.
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0123310 (Hawkins).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hawkins discloses a thermally responsive actuator, comprising: a housing 216 comprising a housing cavity and an opening in connection with the housing cavity; a thermal expansion material 188 accommodated in the housing cavity; a piston 196 extending at least partially through the opening into the housing cavity; and a closure assembly (end cap 214) comprising a cover device and a sealing device, the closure assembly 214 being attached to the housing 216 at the opening, and the closure assembly 214 covering the opening and surrounding the piston 196; wherein the sealing device comprises a first sealing member 206 and a second sealing member 210; and wherein one or both of the housing 216 and the cover device 214 define(s) a first accommodating portion (space for seal 206 is formed by the cover 214 and the housing 216) and a second accommodating portion (space for seal 210), wherein the first accommodating portion and the second accommodating portion are separated from each other in an axial direction of the thermally responsive actuator by the cover device, so as to independently accommodate at least a portion of the first sealing member and at least a portion of the second sealing member, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Hawkins teaches that wherein the first accommodating portion (space for seal 206) and the second accommodating portion (space for seal 210) respectively have a predetermined first axial distance and a predetermined second axial distance.
Regarding claim 3, Hawkins teaches that wherein the second sealing member 210 is further away from the expansion material 188 than the first sealing member 206, wherein a minimum operating temperature of the second sealing member is less than a minimum operating temperature of the first sealing member, and an oil resistance of the first sealing member is superior to an oil resistance of the second sealing member.
Regarding claim 4, Hawkins teaches that wherein the first sealing member is made of any one of the materials from the following group: hydrogenated nitrile rubber and nitrile rubber; and the second sealing member is made of any one of the materials from the following group: ethylene propylene diene monomer and silicone rubber (note paragraph 56, Cup seals 204 and 206 provide a pressure boundary for containment of the wax 188. They may be constructed from PEEK (polyetheretherketone) and have sufficient strength to contain the wax 188 at high pressure and are chemically compatible with both the wax and the surrounding reactor coolant. O-ring seals 208, 210 and 212 are made of EPDM (ethylene-propylene diene M-class rubber) .
Regarding claim 5, Hawkins teaches that wherein the cover device 214 comprises an outer cover comprising a separating portion, the first accommodating portion and the second accommodating portion being separated by the separating portion of the outer cover.
Regarding claim 6, Hawkins discloses that wherein the cover device further comprises an inner cover (note the marked inner cover, the bottom of the cover in the attached picture, one-piece and a part of the closure 214, the outer cover is outer part) disposed in the outer cover, the first axial distance of the first accommodating portion is defined by the inner cover and the separating portion of the outer cover, and the second axial distance of the second accommodating portion is defined by the housing and the separating portion of the outer cover.
Regarding claim 7, Hawkins discloses that wherein the cover device comprises an outer cover and an inner cover (note picture above), the inner cover being disposed in the outer cover, and the first accommodating portion and the second accommodating portion being separated by the inner cover.
Regarding claim 8, Hawkins discloses that wherein the inner cover and the outer cover are provided with a limiting structure 218 to limit movement of the inner cover relative to the outer cover in a direction away from the expansion material.
Regarding claim 9, Hawkins discloses that wherein the outer cover comprises a bottom away (the part above pins 218) from the housing, the first axial distance of the first accommodating portion is defined by the inner cover and the housing, and the second axial distance of the second accommodating portion is defined by the inner cover and the bottom of the outer cover.
Regarding claim 10, Hawkins discloses a thermally responsive actuator, comprising: a housing 216 defining a housing cavity and an opening in connection with the housing cavity; a thermal expansion material 188 accommodated in the housing cavity; an outer cover (note picture above) attached to the housing at the opening, the outer cover having a separating portion (the separation portion is the marked inner cover in the picture above) defining an outer cover connecting passage; a piston 196 extending at least partially through the outer cover connecting passage into the housing cavity; and a first sealing member 206 and a second sealing member 210 sealingly connecting the piston 196 with the outer cover; wherein the first sealing member and the second sealing member are separated by the separating portion of the outer cover.
Regarding claim 11, Hawkins discloses that wherein the outer cover defines a first outer cover cavity (space of seal 206) and a second outer cover cavity (space of seal 216) on opposite sides of the separating portion, wherein the second outer cover cavity is further away from the expansion material than the first outer cover cavity; the thermally responsive actuator further comprises an inner cover (the upper inner flange of closure 214) disposed in the second outer cover cavity; wherein the first sealing member is at least partially accommodated in the first outer cover cavity, and the second sealing member is accommodated between the inner cover and the separating portion of the outer cover.
Regarding claim 12, Hawkins discloses that wherein the second sealing member 210 is further away from the expansion material 188 than the first sealing member 206, wherein a minimum operating temperature of the second sealing member is less than a minimum operating temperature of the first sealing member.
Regarding claim 13, Hawkins discloses a thermally responsive actuator, comprising: a housing 216 defining a housing cavity and an opening in connection with the housing cavity; a thermal expansion material 188 accommodated in the housing cavity; an outer cover (note picture above, part of the closure 214) attached to the housing at the opening and having a bottom defining an outer cover connecting passage; an inner cover (note picture above) disposed in the outer cover and having an inner cover connecting passage; a piston 196 extending at least partially through the outer cover connecting passage and the inner cover connecting passage into the housing cavity; and a first sealing member 206 and a second sealing member 210 sealingly connecting the piston with the outer cover; wherein the first sealing member and the second sealing member are separated by the inner cover.
Regarding claim 14, Hawkins discloses that wherein the outer cover defines an outer cover cavity (space of seal 210) located on a side of the bottom close to the expansion material, and the second sealing member 210, the inner cover, and at least part of the first sealing member 206 are accommodated in the outer cover cavity.
Regarding claim 15, Hawkins discloses that wherein the second sealing member 210 is further away from the expansion material 188 than the first sealing member 206, wherein a minimum operating temperature of the second sealing member is less than a minimum operating temperature of the first sealing member.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Duval, Lamb, McDonald, US 2014/0271288 disclose thermal actuators comprising wax, many seals at the end caps.
Conclusions
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HOANG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
HOANG NGUYEN
PRIMARY EXAMINER
ART UNIT 3746
Hoang Minh Nguyen
2/12/2026