DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present Office Action is pursuant to Applicant’s communication on 08-13-2026; current application filed on 05-06-2025. This application is a CIP of 18218136 07/05/2023 ABN 18218136 has PRO of 63359986 07/11/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are within the four statutory categories. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are drawn to a method1 non-transitory computer readable medium2 and computing device3 which means that said claims(s) is/are within the four statutory categories (i.e. process). However, as will be shown below, arguendo, Aforementioned claim(s) is/are nonetheless unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Prong 1 of Step 2A
Claim(s) 1, which is/are representative of the inventive concept, recite(s):
1. A training and education delivery platform for a healthcare provider comprising:
one or more dedicated and secure data connections to a medical device, a clinical activity database indicative of clinical activities of a plurality of healthcare providers, and a patient scheduling database; and
a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions readable and executable by at least one electronic processor to perform an educational refreshment method comprising:
obtaining medical device log data from a medical device via one of the dedicated and secure data connections;
obtaining clinical activity data from the clinical activity database via one of the dedicated and secure data connections;
obtaining upcoming patient schedule data from the patient securing database via one the dedicated and secure data connections;
tracking consumption of educational content units related to one or more medical procedures by a healthcare provider;
predicting future clinical activities to be performed by the healthcare provider based on the medical device log data, the clinical activity data, and the upcoming patient schedule data;
calculating one or more metrics related to the healthcare provider’s knowledge and/or experience for a future time, the calculating including (i) calculating an erosion of knowledge metric over a time interval ending at the future time over which the erosion of knowledge of the healthcare provider occurs based on the tracked consumption of educational content units and/or (ii) calculating an erosion of experience metric over the time interval ending at the future time over which the erosion of experience of the healthcare provider occurs based on the clinical activity data and the predicted future clinical activities;
dynamically updating the one or more metrics based on changes to the medical professional’s knowledge and/or experience; and
recommending one or more refreshment educational content units based on the one or more metrics meeting an educational content refreshment criterion; and
a display that provides the medical professional the recommended one or more refreshment educational content units.
The underlined limitations as shown above, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover the abstract ideas of a mental process and/or a certain method of organizing human activity because they recite a process that could be practically performed in the human mind (i.e. observations, evaluations, judgments, and/or opinions - in this case connecting human medical practitioners able to obtain information about healthcare professionals in a hospital/clinic or related system and ascertain from analysis the knowledge and training of the practitioners and based on this analysis recommending training in line with a future schedule of clinical activities in pursuit of best meeting patient needs of clinics to be serviced, or using a pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components (i.e. the computer), e.g. see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Any limitations not identified above as part of the abstract ideas are deemed “additional elements,” and will be discussed in further detail below.
Dependent claim(s) 2-12, include other limitations, for example:
2. The training and education delivery platform of claim 1, wherein predicting future clinical activities performed by the healthcare provider is further based on statistics related to performance of procedures by the healthcare provider.
3. The training and education delivery platform of claim 1, wherein the refreshment educational content units are divided into one or more segments.
4. The training and education delivery platform of claim 3, wherein the refreshment educational content units include a quantitative activity content tag.
5. The training and education delivery platform of claim 1, wherein the erosion of knowledge metric is calculated according to:
k_a (t+δ)=〖min(0,max(k〗_a (t)-λ*δ+r(t,t+δ),1))
and the erosion of experience metric is calculated according to:
e_a (t+δ)=min(0,max(e_a (t)-θ*δ+p(t,t+δ),1))
where k_a (t) and e_a (t) are the knowledge and experience, respectively, for a given activity at time t, λ and θ are decay factors of the knowledge and experience, respectively, r(t,t+δ) is a normalized number of content read by the user on activity a between time t and t+δ, and p(t,t+δ) is a normalized amount of activity a performed by the user between time t and t+δ.
6. The training and education delivery platform of claim 5, wherein the erosion of knowledge metric is calculated according to:
k_a (t+δ)=〖min(0,max(k〗_a (t)-λ*δ+r(t,t+δ),1))
where k_a (t) is the knowledge for a given activity at time t, λ is a decay factor of the knowledge, and r(t,t+δ) is a normalized number of content read by the user on activity a between time t and t+δ.
7. The training and education delivery platform of claim 5, wherein the erosion of experience metric is calculated according to:
e_a (t+δ)=min(0,max(e_a (t)-θ*δ+p(t,t+δ),1))
where e_a (t) is the experience for a given activity at time t, θ is a decay factor of the experience, and p(t,t+δ) is a normalized amount of activity a performed by the user between time t and t+δ.
8. The training and educational delivery platform of claim 1, wherein a portion of the educational content delivered is a simulation of a clinical procedure.
9. The training and educational delivery platform of claim 8, wherein the simulation includes simulating use of a medical device used in the clinical procedure.
10. The training and educational delivery platform of claim 8, wherein the simulation records inputs from the healthcare provider and generates one or more outputs in response to the inputs from the healthcare provider.
11. The training and educational delivery platform of claim 8, wherein the outputs in response to the inputs from the healthcare provider modify the simulation.
12. The training and educational delivery platform of claim 8, wherein the simulation captures a set of results that are used as inputs to the calculation of the one or more metrics related to the healthcare provider’s knowledge and/or experience.
However these dependent claims only serve to further narrow the abstract idea, and a claim may not preempt abstract ideas, even if the judicial exception is narrow, e.g. see MPEP 2106.04. Additionally, any limitations in dependent claim(s) 2-12 are deemed additional elements to the abstract idea, and will be further addressed below. Hence dependent claim(s) 2-12 are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent Claim(s) 1.
Prong 2 of Step 2A
Claim(s) 1 is/are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (i.e. comprising non-underlined limitations above - in this case a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, medical device, databases) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception - for example, the recitation of a computer, which amounts to merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, e.g. see ¶¶3-61 of the present Specification, see MPEP 2106.05(f);
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, which amounts to limiting the abstract idea to the field of healthcare, see MPEP 2106.05(h); and/or
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Additionally, dependent claim(s) 2-12 include other limitations, but these limitations also amount to no more than generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and/or do not include any additional elements beyond those already recited in independent Claim(s) 1, hence also do not integrate the aforementioned abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
Claim(s) 1 do/does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception because the additional elements (i.e. comprising non-underlined limitations above - in this case a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, medical device, databases), as stated above, are directed towards no more than limitations that amount to mere instructions to apply the exception, generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and/or add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, wherein the insignificant extra-solution activity comprises limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, as demonstrated by:
The Specification expressly disclosing that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional in nature:
¶¶3-61 of the Specification discloses that the additional elements (i.e. the computer) comprise a plurality of different types of generic computing systems that are configured to perform generic computer functions (i.e. receive and process data) that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry (i.e. healthcare);
Relevant court decisions: The following are examples of court decisions demonstrating well-understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g. see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II):
Storing and retrieving information in memory, e.g. see Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. - similarly, the current invention recites storing or uploading media;
Dependent claim(s) 2-12 include other limitations, but none of these limitations are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea because, as stated above, the limitations of the aforementioned dependent claims amount to no more than generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and/or do not recite any additional elements not already recited in independent Claim(s) 1 hence does not amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, claim(s) 1-12 is/are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wysocki4 in view of Masood (US 2014/0329210).
Regarding claim(s) 1, Wysocki discloses: A training and education delivery platform for a healthcare provider comprising:
one or more dedicated and secure data connections to a medical device, a clinical activity database indicative of clinical activities of a plurality of healthcare providers, and a patient scheduling database (i.e., accessing an EHR, a secure database, to access information including patient activities); [Accessing “patients scheduled on date of visit5,” and other information from computerized systems] and
a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions readable and executable by at least one electronic processor to perform an educational refreshment method comprising:
obtaining medical device log data from a medical device via one of the dedicated and secure data connections (i.e., accessing patient information from computerized EHR systems); [Accessing “patients scheduled on date of visit6,” and other information from computerized systems]
obtaining clinical activity data from the clinical activity database via one of the dedicated and secure data connections; [“Data were collected only about the TCP7 of interest and no data were extracted regarding any concurrent clinical problems that the patient may have been experiencing. The team developed a D-t statistic, the number of days since the prior encounter with the index clinical problem, as its measure of frequency of exposure. In addition to the D-t statistic, a number of measures of worker characteristics (provider age, race/ethnicity, years of experience, nation of origin, first language, board certifications, EHR proficiency) and workplace characteristics (# patients scheduled on date of visit, day of week of visit, time of visit”8]
obtaining upcoming patient schedule data from the patient securing database via one the dedicated and secure data connections (i.e., information about patients scheduled to visit); [“workplace characteristics (# patients scheduled on date of visit, day of week of visit, time of visit”9]
Wysocki does not explicitly disclose as disclosed by Masood:
tracking consumption of educational content units related to one or more medical procedures by a healthcare provider; [“automatically assign training to members of the plurality of workers, based upon the comparisons; and track enrollment, progress, and completion of assigned training by the plurality of workers”10]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wysock, including mechanism(s) [e] as taught by Masood. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to employ said mechanism(s) to train workers to deliver optimal services. [¶¶2-3]
Wysocki discloses:
predicting future clinical activities to be performed by the healthcare provider based on the medical device log data, the clinical activity data, and the upcoming patient schedule data (i.e., having information about patients scheduled to visit to facilitate prediction of retraining); [“workplace characteristics (# patients scheduled on date of visit, day of week of visit, time of visit”11 and having “learning (improvements in performance with practice). Unlike the other TCPs, influenza vaccination has a predictable seasonality with routine broad dissemination of updated vaccine dosing12”, enabling prediction of staffing of future patient and provide interventions to prevent “knowledge decay” by “[r]epeated exposure to this annual retraining could yield a ‘‘learning set phenomenon [31], in which providers demonstrate more rapid and efficient learning of influenza vaccination details with each successive year of retraining13”]
calculating one or more metrics related to the healthcare provider’s knowledge and/or experience for a future time, the calculating including (i) calculating an erosion of knowledge metric over a time interval ending at the future time over which the erosion of knowledge of the healthcare provider occurs based on the tracked consumption of educational content units and/or (ii) calculating an erosion of experience metric over the time interval ending at the future time over which the erosion of experience of the healthcare provider occurs based on the clinical activity data and the predicted future clinical activities; [“knowledge decline [decay] over time14” and “decay [decline] in … clinical declarative knowledge15” based on “duration between successive episodes of exposure to the clinical problem16”]
dynamically updating the one or more metrics based on changes to the medical professional’s knowledge and/or experience (i.e., building a computer model, a dynamic system capable of updates); [“building a multivariate model to enable prediction of clinical skill decay/maintenance and to test a range of interventions focused on preventing decay of clinical knowledge and skills. Data collection for the model-testing phase includes extraction of extensive 2013 EHR data relative to each targeted clinical problem as well as available data on worker characteristics (e.g., HCP demographics; training and certifications; years of clinical experience; EHR proficiency) and workplace characteristics (e.g., density of clinic schedule; temporal distribution of encounters early or late in the day; on-call previous night versus not)” to “identify and target specific areas where quality of care (QOC) improvement efforts align with ‘‘Meaningful Use” EHR systems through a High Reliability Organization”17] and
Wysocki does not explicitly disclose as disclosed by Masood:
recommending one or more refreshment educational content units based on the one or more metrics meeting an educational content refreshment criterion; [“automatically assign training to members of the plurality of workers, based upon the comparisons; and track enrollment, progress, and completion of assigned training by the plurality of workers”18] and
a display that provides the medical professional the recommended one or more refreshment educational content units (i.e., wherein recommended content comprises progress bars on a display interface to track completion status). [Fig 56: a progress bar and an interface showing goals and listing of courses19]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wysock, including mechanism(s) [i]-[j] as taught by Masood. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to employ said mechanism(s) to train workers to deliver optimal services. [¶¶2-3]
Regarding claim(s) 2, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and education delivery platform of claim 1, Masood disclosing [a]: wherein predicting future clinical activities performed by the healthcare provider is further based on statistics related to performance of procedures by the healthcare provider (i.e., collective information on statistics associated with a level of performance expected by workers). [¶118]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wysock, including mechanism(s) [a] as taught by Masood. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to employ said mechanism(s) to train workers to deliver optimal services. [¶¶2-3]
Regarding claim(s) 3, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and education delivery platform of claim 1, Masood disclosing [a]: wherein the refreshment educational content units are divided into one or more segments (i.e., wherein training is composed of trackable segment for which a progress bar indicated a completion status of course goals).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wysock, including mechanism(s) [a] as taught by Masood. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to employ said mechanism(s) to train workers to deliver optimal services. [¶¶2-3]
Regarding claim(s) 4, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and education delivery platform of claim 3, Masood disclosing [a]: wherein the refreshment educational content units include a quantitative activity content tag (i.e., wherein training includes assessments).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wysock, including mechanism(s) [a] as taught by Masood. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to employ said mechanism(s) to train workers to deliver optimal services. [¶¶2-3]
Regarding claim(s) 5, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and education delivery platform of claim 1, Wysocki disclosing: wherein the erosion of knowledge metric is calculated according to:
k_a (t+δ)=〖min(0,max(k〗_a (t)-λ*δ+r(t,t+δ),1))
and the erosion of experience metric is calculated according to:
e_a (t+δ)=min(0,max(e_a (t)-θ*δ+p(t,t+δ),1))
where k_a (t) and e_a (t) are the knowledge and experience, respectively, for a given activity at time t, λ and θ are decay factors of the knowledge and experience, respectively, r(t,t+δ) is a normalized number of content read by the user on activity a between time t and t+δ, and p(t,t+δ) is a normalized amount of activity a performed by the user between time t and t+δ (i.e., an exponential estimated knowledge decay curve for ascertaining decay of healthcare practitioner’s to arrest skill declines including minimum asymptotic information, including standardized knowledge utility). [Page(s) 17, 19, 22]
Regarding claim(s) 6, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and education delivery platform of claim 5, Wysocki disclosing: wherein the erosion of knowledge metric is calculated according to:
k_a (t+δ)=〖min(0,max(k〗_a (t)-λ*δ+r(t,t+δ),1))
where k_a (t) is the knowledge for a given activity at time t, λ is a decay factor of the knowledge, and r(t,t+δ) is a normalized number of content read by the user on activity a between time t and t+δ (i.e., an exponential estimated knowledge decay curve for ascertaining decay of healthcare practitioner’s to arrest skill declines including minimum asymptotic information). [Page(s) 17, 19, 22]
Regarding claim(s) 7, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and education delivery platform of claim 5, Wysocki disclosing: wherein the erosion of experience metric is calculated according to:
e_a (t+δ)=min(0,max(e_a (t)-θ*δ+p(t,t+δ),1))
where e_a (t) is the experience for a given activity at time t, θ is a decay factor of the experience, and p(t,t+δ) is a normalized amount of activity a performed by the user between time t and t+δ (i.e., an exponential estimated knowledge decay curve for ascertaining decay of healthcare practitioner’s to arrest skill declines). [Page(s) 17, 19, 22]
Regarding claim(s) 8, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and educational delivery platform of claim 1, Masood disclosing [a]: wherein a portion of the educational content delivered is a simulation of a clinical procedure (i.e., employing role-pay in training based upon factors including a trainees demonstrated level of skill, proficiency or skill, proficiency or experience). [¶¶180]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wysock, including mechanism(s) [a] as taught by Masood. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to employ said mechanism(s) to train workers to deliver optimal services. [¶¶2-3]
Regarding claim(s) 9, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and educational delivery platform of claim 8, Masood disclosing [a]: wherein the simulation includes simulating use of a medical device used in the clinical procedure (i.e., employing role-pay in training based upon factors including a trainees demonstrated level of skill, proficiency or skill, proficiency or experience). [¶¶180]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wysock, including mechanism(s) [a] as taught by Masood. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to employ said mechanism(s) to train workers to deliver optimal services. [¶¶2-3]
Regarding claim(s) 10, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and educational delivery platform of claim 8, Masood disclosing [a]: wherein the simulation records inputs from the healthcare provider and generates one or more outputs in response to the inputs from the healthcare provider (i.e., employing role-pay in training based upon factors including a trainees demonstrated level of skill, proficiency or skill, proficiency or experience). [¶¶180]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wysock, including mechanism(s) [a] as taught by Masood. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to employ said mechanism(s) to train workers to deliver optimal services. [¶¶2-3]
Regarding claim(s) 11, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and educational delivery platform of claim 8, Masood disclosing [a]: wherein the outputs in response to the inputs from the healthcare provider modify the simulation (i.e., employing role-pay in training based upon input factors including a trainees demonstrated level of skill, proficiency or skill, proficiency or experience). [¶¶180]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wysock, including mechanism(s) [a] as taught by Masood. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to employ said mechanism(s) to train workers to deliver optimal services. [¶¶2-3]
Regarding claim(s) 12, Wysocki-Masood as a combination disclose: The training and educational delivery platform of claim 8, Masood disclosing [a]: wherein the simulation captures a set of results that are used as inputs to the calculation of the one or more metrics related to the healthcare provider’s knowledge and/or experience (i.e., employing role-pay in training based upon input factors including a trainees demonstrated level of skill, proficiency or skill, proficiency or experience). [¶¶180]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wysock, including mechanism(s) [a] as taught by Masood. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to employ said mechanism(s) to train workers to deliver optimal services. [¶¶2-3]
1. Summary and Rebuttal of Applicant's § 101 Arguments
Summary of Applicant's § 101 Arguments
Applicant advances the following arguments to traverse the § 101 rejection of claims 1-12:
Not a mental process (Step 2A, Prong 1): Applicant asserts that claim 1 recites a "specific training and education delivery platform" with "dedicated and secure data connections to a medical device, a clinical activity database, and a patient scheduling database," and that the operations (obtaining log data, predicting future clinical activities, calculating erosion metrics, dynamic updating, criterion-based content delivery) "are not practically performable in the human mind or with pen and paper." Applicant characterizes the claim as "a computer-implemented healthcare technology workflow, not merely an observation, judgment, or opinion."
Not organizing human activity (Step 2A, Prong 1): Applicant argues the claim does not recite "a commercial transaction, legal obligation, interpersonal relationship, or social behavior," and that the examiner's characterization as "connecting human medical practitioners" and "recommending training" "dramatically oversimplifies the claim."
Practical application (Step 2A, Prong 2): Applicant contends the claim addresses specific technical problems (complex medical devices requiring updated configurations; knowledge fade for infrequently encountered situations; inadequacy of conventional periodic refreshers) and uses "particular healthcare data connections and particular technical data sources to produce a specific improvement in the timing and personalization of medical-device-related training."
Significantly more (Step 2B): Applicant argues the "ordered combination" of secure connections, data acquisition, prediction, erosion-metric calculation, and criterion-based delivery "is not merely routine storage and retrieval," and that the rejection "addresses isolated computer components at a high level" without showing the combination was "well-understood, routine, and conventional."
Dependent claims 2-12: Applicant states "the same or similar reasoning applies."
Rebuttal of Applicant's § 101 Arguments
Rebuttal to Argument 1 (Not a mental process)
Applicant's assertion that the claimed operations "are not practically performable in the human mind" is a conclusion, not a showing. The question at Prong 1 is whether the underlying concept is a judicial exception, not whether the claimed implementation requires a computer. The core of the claim-observing a healthcare provider's clinical exposure, evaluating knowledge/experience decay over time, and recommending training in line with a future schedule-is, at its abstract level, a process of observation, evaluation, and judgment that a human could perform with pen and paper. The addition of "a computer" or "a platform" does not transform the abstract concept. See MPEP § 2106.05(f) (merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not save the claim).
Moreover, the prior art confirms that the underlying concepts are well within the realm of human-organizable activity. Wysocki discloses a human-performed process of tracking clinical encounters over time, measuring the interval between exposures, and determining when a provider's knowledge has decayed-precisely the conceptual core of the claim. Wysocki [§ 2.2.1]: "The team developed a Δ-t statistic, the number of days since the prior encounter with the index clinical problem, as its measure of frequency of exposure." Wysocki [§ 3, Results]: "Exploratory analyses showed that maximum scores obtained on this knowledge metric declined significantly with increasing values of the Δ-t statistic for 8 of the 9 TCPs." This is a human-conducted observation-and-evaluation process. The fact that a computer is used to scale it does not remove it from the abstract-idea category.
Rebuttal to Argument 2 (Not organizing human activity)
Applicant's argument that the claim does not involve "a commercial transaction, legal obligation, interpersonal relationship, or social behavior" misstates the MPEP. The "certain methods of organizing human activity" category is not limited to those narrow subcategories; it encompasses "fundamental economic practices" and "other methods of organizing human activity" that are not tied to a specific technological implementation. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2). The claim recites a process of managing the training schedule and educational delivery to a healthcare provider based on that provider's clinical activity history-this is a method of organizing the human activity of medical training and scheduling, a long-recognized administrative function. The prior art confirms this: Wysocki [§ 4, Discussion]: "Identification of HCPs at elevated risk of clinical knowledge decay could prompt targeted provision of preventive education, for example: job performance aids such as procedural checklists, computerized decision supports at the moment of care, or simulation-based training." This is a method of organizing the human activity of training and scheduling. The claim does not escape the "organizing human activity" category merely because it is set in a healthcare context.
Rebuttal to Argument 3 (Practical application)
Applicant's reliance on the specification's description of "technical problems" (complex medical devices, knowledge fade, inadequacy of periodic refreshers) does not establish a practical application. A "field of use" or "environment of use" is not a practical application. MPEP § 2106.05(h). The claim still recites the abstract idea of evaluating knowledge decay and recommending training, merely applied in the healthcare field. The "dedicated and secure data connections" and "databases" are generic limitations that "amount to no more than a mere instruction to apply the exception on a computer." MPEP § 2106.05(f).
The prior art further undermines Applicant's "specific improvement" argument. Wysocki [§ 2.3, Knowledge decay model]: "K(Δt) = w + qe^(−cΔt)" already discloses a mathematical model for forecasting knowledge decay as a function of time since last exposure. Wysocki [§ 4, Discussion]: "The work reported here describes the first step in an initiative that seeks to determine if frequency of exposure to targeted clinical problems is a risk factor for decay in HCP's clinical declarative knowledge and if timely, cost-efficient interventions can favorably impact the expression of that risk." The "improvement" Applicant describes-timing and personalization of training-is the very outcome Wysocki already achieves through its EHR-based analysis. The claim adds no new technical solution beyond what Wysocki already discloses.
Rebuttal to Argument 4 (Significantly more / ordered combination)
Applicant's assertion that the "ordered combination" is non-routine is unsupported. The individual elements-accessing a database, retrieving data, performing a calculation, displaying a result-are each well-understood, routine, and conventional. MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II). The "ordered combination" adds nothing new because each step is a conventional data-processing operation. Masood [§ 0118]: "the method directs a computer system such as the LMS 290 of FIG. 2 to access business operational performance data corresponding to each of the plurality of workers/associates." Masood [§ 0119]: "the method may cause the calculation of values corresponding to one or more metrics for each of the plurality of workers … for each of the plurality of workers or associates, compare the values of each of the one or more metrics to one or more respective thresholds … the method … may assign or recommend training … based upon results of the comparisons." This is a conventional access-calculate-compare-recommend workflow. The claim's "ordered combination" is identical to the routine sequence in Masood.
The Specification's own disclosure of generic computing components (¶¶3-61) confirms the conventional nature. The examiner's reliance on Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. is apt: storing and retrieving information in memory and performing data processing on a computer are "well-understood, routine, conventional activity."
Rebuttal to Argument 5 (Dependent claims 2-12)
The dependent claims do not add patent-eligible subject matter. Claims 2-4 add "statistics," "segments," and "content tags"-these are mere data-formatting refinements that do not change the abstract idea. Claims 5-7 recite mathematical formulas for knowledge/experience decay, but Wysocki [§ 2.3] already discloses "an exponential decay model modified by adding a parameter defining a range for knowledge decay, a minimum asymptote of knowledge, and a shape factor": "K(Δt) = w + qe^(−cΔt)." The claimed formulas are a minor algebraic restatement of the same exponential decay concept. Claims 8-12 (simulation, inputs/outputs, modifying the simulation, capturing results) are directed to conventional training-delivery mechanisms already present in Masood. Masood [§ 0180]: "instructions for an exemplary 'role playing exercise' to be recorded in video format by a user/worker as part of their 'To Do List' of education, training, and certification." Masood [§ 0183]: "a screen enabling a user to view and submit a video the user/worker recorded as part of a 'role playing exercise.'" These are conventional training-delivery features, not "significantly more."
The § 101 rejection of claims 1-12 is maintained.
2. Summary and Rebuttal of Applicant's § 103 Arguments
Summary of Applicant's § 103 Arguments
Applicant advances the following arguments to traverse the § 103 rejection over Wysocki in view of Masood:
Medical device log data ≠ EHR/scheduling data: Applicant argues that "patient scheduling information and EHR workplace characteristics are not 'medical device log data from a medical device,'" and that Wysocki does not disclose obtaining data "from a medical device itself via a dedicated and secure connection."
No future-time erosion metric calculation: Applicant argues Wysocki "does not teach the claimed calculation of one or more metrics for a future time," and that Masood's "tracking of enrollment, progress, or completion of assigned training likewise does not supply the missing calculation of a future-time erosion metric based on the specific claim inputs."
No integrated platform: Applicant argues the cited art "separately describes clinical exposure analysis and training assignment/tracking" but "does not teach the claimed integrated platform."
Inadequate KSR rationale: Applicant argues the Office's stated motivation-"train workers to deliver optimal services"-is "a desired result at a high level" and does not satisfy KSR's requirement of "an articulated reasoning with rational underpinning."
Rebuttal to Applicant's § 103 Arguments
Rebuttal to Argument 1 (Medical device log data)
Applicant's distinction between "medical device log data" and "EHR data" is not supported by the claim language under the broadest reasonable interpretation. The claim recites "obtaining medical device log data from a medical device via one of the dedicated and secure data connections." Under BRI, "medical device log data" encompasses any log or record data generated by or associated with a medical device or clinical operation. Wysocki [§ 2.3.5, Design of indicators]: "Where possible, the queries returned structured items, such as DX codes, radiological test orders, blood tests and pharmaceutical orders. Many of the pertinent references to concepts were recorded in unstructured fields such as progress notes and patient information. Natural language processing was used to locate specific character strings indicating the presence or absence of declarative knowledge elements." These structured and unstructured data elements extracted from the EHR are, in substance, "log data" of clinical activity performed with or in the context of medical devices (radiological tests, blood tests, pharmaceutical orders). Wysocki [§ 2.2, Procedure]: "The Health System's Data Warehouse was queried to extract necessary data for further evaluation of each of these clinical problems." The "Data Warehouse" is a secure, dedicated data repository-a "dedicated and secure data connection" in functional terms.
Furthermore, Masood [§ 0113]: "The business intelligence system 220 may comprise one or more computer systems geographically co-located or remote from one one another, in which the software applications executing on the computer system(s) gather various data from the operation of an enterprise, and may provide statistical information derived from the gathered data." Masood [§ 0118]: "the method directs a computer system such as the LMS 290 of FIG. 2 to access business operational performance data corresponding to each of the plurality of workers/associates. Such data may reside, for example, in a computer system such as the business intelligence system 220 of FIG. 2." Masood discloses a dedicated, structured data-connection architecture (LMS 290 → business intelligence system 220 → point-of-sale/operational terminals) that is functionally equivalent to the claimed "dedicated and secure data connections to a medical device, a clinical activity database … and a patient scheduling database."
The combination of Wysocki's EHR-based clinical data extraction and Masood's dedicated data-connection architecture to a training platform squarely teaches the claimed data-acquisition structure.
Rebuttal to Argument 2 (Future-time erosion metric calculation)
Applicant's assertion that neither Wysocki nor Masood teaches a "future-time erosion metric" is incorrect.
Wysocki [§ 2.3, Knowledge decay model]: "We selected an exponential decay model modified by adding a parameter defining a range for knowledge decay, a minimum asymptote of knowledge, and a shape factor, all three of which can be determined mathematically from historical data using a non-linear equation fitting program. The actual equation we selected was: K(Δt) = w + qe^(−cΔt) where: Δt is the time since last encounter with the condition, K(Δt) is the estimated or forecast level of knowledge at time Δt, w is the minimum level of knowledge below which the practitioner will not descend, q is the range the knowledge will vary, or how much it can be expected to descend, and c is the shape factor for the decay function." This is, by its own terms, a forecast of knowledge at a future time (Δt), calculated from a decay rate (c) and a range (q)-functionally identical to the claimed "erosion of knowledge metric over a time interval ending at the future time." The "minimum asymptote" (w) corresponds to the "min(0, …, 1)" bounding in the claimed formula. The "range" (q) corresponds to the decay factor λ·δ. The "shape factor" (c) is the exponential decay rate.
Wysocki [§ 3, Results]: "Fig. 6 portrays a representative illustration of these analyses in displaying the maximum score obtained on the standardized Knowledge Utility Score for each TCP as a function of increasing values of the Δ-t statistic." Wysocki [§ 4, Discussion]: "Subsequent steps in our research include building a multivariate model to enable prediction of clinical skill decay/maintenance." This is an explicit disclosure of predicting (i.e., projecting to a future time) a knowledge-decay metric.
Masood [§ 0119]: "the method may cause the calculation of values corresponding to one or more metrics for each of the plurality of workers … for each of the plurality of workers or associates, compare the values of each of the one or more metrics to one or more respective thresholds." Masood [§ 0194]: "accessing business operational performance data corresponding to each of a plurality of workers; calculating a value corresponding to each of one or more metrics for each of the plurality of workers, using the business operational performance data; for each of the plurality of workers, comparing the value corresponding to each of the one or more metrics to one or more respective thresholds; automatically assigning training to members of the plurality of workers, based upon the comparisons; and tracking enrollment, progress, and completion of assigned training by the plurality of workers." Masood discloses the calculation of performance metrics, comparison to thresholds (the "refreshment criterion"), and automated assignment of training (the "recommendation"). The "tracking of enrollment, progress, and completion" is the "tracking consumption of educational content units" recited in the claim.
The combination of Wysocki's predictive decay model and Masood's metric-calculation-and-threshold-comparison methodology teaches the full claimed "calculating one or more metrics related to the healthcare provider's knowledge and/or experience for a future time" and "recommending … based on … meeting an educational content refreshment criterion."
Rebuttal to Argument 3 (No integrated platform)
Applicant's "integrated platform" argument conflates the requirement for a single unified source with the requirement for a functional combination. Under § 103, a combination of two or more prior-art references is proper where each reference discloses a piece of the claimed invention and there is a motivation to combine. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Wysocki provides the clinical-data-extraction and knowledge-decay-forecasting component; Masood provides the training-assignment, metric-calculation, threshold-comparison, and display-delivery component. The motivation to combine is explicit and rational:
Wysocki [§ 4, Discussion]: "Targeting interventions to individual clinicians at risk for clinical knowledge or cognitive performance decay through predictive modeling would be more efficient and likely more productive than a broad training program to an entire medical staff. Identification of HCPs at elevated risk of clinical knowledge decay could prompt targeted provision of preventive education, for example: job performance aids such as procedural checklists, computerized decision supports at the moment of care, or simulation-based training." Wysocki itself calls for the very integration that Applicant says is missing: using the decay prediction to trigger targeted training delivery.
Masood [§ 0091]: "An LMS in accordance with the present disclosure may access and leverage various operational metrics generated from business operational data for an enterprise, to automatically make training module/coursework recommendations to a worker/associate based on, for example, performance gaps of the worker/associate in relation to their immediate peers, to a geographic region of the enterprise, or to overall enterprise goals." Masood's LMS is designed to accept operational data (equivalent to Wysocki's EHR/clinical activity data) and use it to make training recommendations.
Masood [§ 0171]: "the screen image shown in FIG. 52 illustrates a notification that assessment of the individual is completed, and the system has automatically identified any education/training courses needed based on the results of the assessment of the individual, the requirements for the position in which the individual is to work, and business requirements." This is the "recommending one or more refreshment educational content units based on the one or more metrics meeting an educational content refreshment criterion."
Masood [§ 0110]: "The LMS 290 includes functionality to support course management, course rules, course feedback, the administration of quizzes and/or tests, the tracking of course enrollment and worker/associate progress, and the generation of various reports outlining course enrollment, course completion, training campaigns, materials delivered, and training achievements of workers/associates of the enterprise." This is the "tracking consumption of educational content units."
The "integrated platform" is the natural and obvious combination of Wysocki's data-extraction/decay-forecasting with Masood's LMS training-delivery architecture.
Rebuttal to Argument 4 (Inadequate KSR rationale)
Applicant's assertion that "train workers to deliver optimal services" is too vague misreads the Office Action. The rationale is not merely that training is beneficial; it is that Wysocki itself identifies the problem and calls for the solution that Masood provides:
Wysocki [§ 1, Introduction]: "The pace of advances in medical knowledge continues to accelerate and health care providers are challenged with assimilating new knowledge while retaining what has already been learned. Performance decay is inevitable and yet physicians cannot accurately assess their own knowledge proficiency." Wysocki [§ 4, Discussion]: "Use of the EHR to characterize frequency of exposure of HCPs to specific health care problems will allow health care organizations to be better prepared to identify intervention loci that can lead to improved quality and safety of care in a cost efficient manner."
Masood [§ 0081]: "Aspects of the present disclosure relate to systems and methods that support the training of workers. More specifically, certain aspects of the present disclosure relate to systems and methods that support the creation and timely electronic scheduling and delivery of course materials for training of individuals in an organization, in which course recommendations, scheduling, and rollout are based upon a number of factors including, for example, specific individual and/or business day-to-day operational performance measures." Masood [§ 0092]: "for an individual involved in retail sales, a representative embodiment of the present disclosure may automatically recommend or assign to an individual, training on a particular skill or aspect of sales … based on data for actual sales transactions of the individual."
The combination rationale is not a general "training is good" statement; it is a specific, art-directed motivation: Wysocki identifies that knowledge decay can be measured and predicted from EHR data and that targeted interventions should follow; Masood provides the LMS architecture that receives operational performance data, calculates metrics, compares to thresholds, and automatically assigns/delivers training. A person of ordinary skill in healthcare informatics-precisely the audience of Wysocki's journal (Journal of Biomedical Informatics)-would recognize that combining Wysocki's decay-forecasting with Masood's LMS is the obvious next step. Wysocki [§ 4, Discussion]: "Subsequent steps in our research include building a multivariate model to enable prediction of clinical skill decay/maintenance and to test a range of interventions focused on preventing decay of clinical knowledge and skills." This is Wysocki's own articulation of the motivation to combine.
Rebuttal to the specific dependent-claim mappings
Claim 2 (prediction based on statistics of procedure performance): Masood [§ 0118]: "the method directs a computer system such as the LMS 290 … to access business operational performance data corresponding to each of the plurality of workers/associates." Masood [§ 0113]: "the business intelligence system 220 may collect and use such information to track transactions occurring throughout an enterprise, and may derive from that data various statistics on various levels of granularity, including per worker/associate, per department or group, per store/enterprise location, by country, and over the entire enterprise." This discloses statistics related to performance of procedures/transactions by a specific worker, used to inform training recommendations.
Claim 3 (content divided into segments): Masood [§ 0173]: "FIG. 54 is an illustration of an exemplary screen image of a user device 5400. The screen image shown in FIG. 54 illustrates the tracking of progress in education/training of an individual in completion of a 'To Do List' of education/training course work or certification." Masood [§ 0174]: "FIG. 55 … illustrates exemplary information about user progress in completing their 'To Do List' of education, training, and certification." The "To Do List" is composed of discrete course segments, each trackable independently.
Claim 4 (quantitative activity content tag): Masood [§ 0126]: "the answers provided by the user to the questions of the training course quiz 752 may be used both to determine the level of understanding of particular aspects or features of a product, service, or process, and may also be used to determine points to be awarded to the user as part of gamification aspects of a training activity." Masood [§ 0134]: "Based on the viewer completion of training courses listed in their training history, a representative embodiment of the present disclosure may award points and/or badges based on one or more levels of achievement." The badges/points are quantitative activity content tags.
Claims 5-7 (erosion metric formulas): Wysocki [§ 2.3]: "K(Δt) = w + qe^(−cΔt) where: Δt is the time since last encounter with the condition, K(Δt) is the estimated or forecast level of knowledge at time Δt, w is the minimum level of knowledge below which the practitioner will not descend, q is the range the knowledge will vary, or how much it can be expected to descend, and c is the shape factor for the decay function." Wysocki [§ 3, Table 3]: "Parameters estimates for decay curves … Curves fitted to maximum knowledge performance score at each value of Delta T. … Psi Estimate … Rho Estimate … Gamma Estimate … Approx Pr > F <0.0001." The claimed formulas (with min/max bounding, decay factors λ and θ, and content-activity terms r and p) are a direct algebraic restatement of Wysocki's K(Δt) = w + qe^(−cΔt) model, where w corresponds to the lower bound (0), q·e^(−cΔt) corresponds to the decay term (λ·δ or θ·δ), and the "range" (q) is the maximum knowledge level (1). The "content read" (r) and "activity performed" (p) terms correspond to Wysocki's "learning set" and "frequency of exposure" data.
Claims 8-12 (simulation, inputs/outputs, results feeding back into metrics): Masood [§ 0180]: "instructions for an exemplary 'role playing exercise' to be recorded in video format by a user/worker as part of their 'To Do List' of education, training, and certification for the user/worker, in accordance with a representative embodiment of the present disclosure. Based upon one or more factors (e.g., the demonstrated level or skill, proficiency, or experience of a worker), such content may be used as crowd-sourced training materials." Masood [§ 0181]: "a user/worker performing the actions of recording a 'role playing exercise' that is part of the 'To Do List' of education, training, and certification for a user in video format." Masood [§ 0182]: "a screen enabling a user to view and submit a video the user/worker recorded as part of a 'role playing exercise.'" Masood [§ 0186]: "a review screen enabling a reviewer to approve or request a redo of a video 'role playing exercise' … in accordance with a representative embodiment of the present disclosure." Masood [§ 0187]: "a review results screen showing the rating by the reviewer of a video 'role playing exercise'." The "role playing exercise" is a simulation of a clinical procedure; the "reviewer" records inputs and generates outputs (approval/redo); the "rating" is a set of results that feeds back into the worker's performance metrics. Masood [§ 0196]: "the system may crowd-source materials used in training members of the plurality of workers by automatically assigning creation of the materials to one or more members of the plurality of workers that have been selected based on the one or more metrics for each of the plurality of workers." The results of the simulation/role-play are used as inputs to the metric calculation, exactly as claimed.
Conclusion
The Applicant's § 101 arguments fail because the claim, at its core, recites an abstract process of observing clinical activity, evaluating knowledge decay, and recommending training-operations that are "practically performable in the human mind" (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)) and constitute "organizing human activity" (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)). The "dedicated and secure connections" and "databases" are generic computer components that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.05(f)-(h)). At Step 2B, the ordered combination is the same as the routine access-calculate-compare-recommend sequence disclosed in Masood [§ 0119] and Masood [§ 0194], and the decay-forecasting is the same exponential model disclosed in Wysocki [§ 2.3]. No "significantly more" is present.
The Applicant's § 103 arguments fail because Wysocki discloses the EHR-based clinical data extraction, the Δ-t-based knowledge-decay forecast, and the call for targeted training interventions; Masood discloses the LMS architecture for accessing operational data, calculating per-worker metrics, comparing to thresholds, and automatically assigning and delivering training with progress tracking and display. The motivation to combine is explicitly articulated in Wysocki [§ 4, Discussion]: "Targeting interventions to individual clinicians at risk of clinical knowledge or cognitive performance decay through predictive modeling would be more efficient and likely more productive than a broad training program," and in Masood [§ 0091]: "automatically make training module/coursework recommendations … based on … performance gaps." The rejection of claims 1-12 under § 103 is maintained.
The § 101 rejection of claims 1-12 is maintained. The § 103 rejection of claims 1-12 over Wysocki in view of Masood is maintained.
Conclusion
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial- and-appeal-board/about-ptab/new-ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/patent-trial-and-appeal-board-pro-bono-program-independent. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final replay that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
The prior art made of record20 and NOT relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: THOMAIDOU21:
Methods, computer program products, and systems are presented. The method computer program products, and systems can include, for instance: parameterizing with train- ing data one or more model that expresses, for a set of historical activities, a known outcome as a function of a plurality of factors, the plurality of factors including one or more activity factor and a worker factor; solving the one or more model to learn by machine learning values of the worker random effect vector associated to the set of histori- cal activities, wherein the values of the worker random effect vector provide an indication of learned worker skill level for respective workers identified by the worker identifiers; and providing, by the one or more processor, one or more output based on the solving.
/MICHAEL I EZEWOKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682
1 Claim(s) 1-7
2 Claim(s) 8-13
3 Claim(s) 14-20
4 See Form 892: Non-Patent Literature
5 Page 17
6 Page 17
7 Page 1: targeted clinical problem
8 Page 17
9 Page 17
10 Claim 8
11 Page 17
12 Page 23
13 Page 23
14 Page 15
15 Page 22
16 Page 15
17 Page 24
18 Claim 8
19 ¶131
20 US 2019/0258983; Please see Form 892 for complete listing
21 Please see Form 892 for complete listing: Non-Patent Literature