DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 4/15/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-17 is/are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 9,958,716) (hereinafter Matsumoto) in view of Ha (US 2014/0176852).
Claim 1: Matsumoto teaches an mold frame provided in a display device including a liquid crystal panel (1, fig. 3), an optical sheet (3, fig. 3) disposed at a rear of the liquid crystal panel (see fig. 3), a light guide plate (52, fig. 3) or a diffusion plate (diffusion sheet, see Col. 4 lines 31-38) disposed at a rear of the optical sheet (see fig. 3), and a light source module (51, fig. 3) configured to irradiate light to the light guide plate (52) or the diffusion plate, and disposed at an outer periphery of the liquid crystal panel and the optical sheet (see fig. 3), the mold frame comprising: a bumper portion (44, fig. 3) formed to surround an outer periphery (see fig. 3) of the liquid crystal panel (1); and a mounting portion (40, fig. 3) extending from the bumper portion (44) toward an inside of the optical sheet (3), configured to allow a portion of a rear surface of the liquid crystal panel to be mounted thereon (rear surface of 1 mounted on 43a, fig. 3) and forming a gap (gap between 1 and 3 in fig. 3) between the liquid crystal panel and the optical sheet (see fig. 3)
However, Matsumoto is silent about an elastic mold frame, the elastic mold frame is made of an elastic material, and the mounting portion disposed between the liquid crystal panel and the optical sheet when the liquid crystal panel is mounted, thereby forming the gap.
Ha teaches an elastic mold frame (210, 220, fig. 3B), the elastic mold frame (210, 220) is made of an elastic material (polycarbonate, see para [0087]), and a mounting portion (228, fig. 3) disposed between the liquid crystal panel (110, fig. 4B) and the optical sheet (121, fig. 4B) when the liquid crystal panel (110) is mounted, thereby forming the gap (gap between 110 and 121, fig. 4B).
Therefore, in view of Ha, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the mold frame of Matsumoto to be an elastic material and rearranging the optical sheet where the mounting portion disposed between the liquid crystal panel and the optical sheet when the liquid crystal panel is mounted, thereby forming the gap, in order to improve shock absorbance of the frame and the components within.
Claim 3: Matsumoto teaches a chassis-receiving groove (groove of 4 receiving 6, fig. 3) into which a portion of an end of a bottom chassis (protruding portion of 6 into 4, fig. 3), which is formed in a box shape with an open front and accommodates the light source module therein, is inserted and fastened (see figs. 3 and 5).
Claim 4: Matsumoto teaches the mold frame comprises a first mold, a second mold, a third mold, and a fourth mold (top bottom left and right sections of 4, fig. 2) respectively corresponding to four sides of the liquid crystal panel (1, fig. 2) having a rectangular shape (see fig. 2), (note: the examiner is interpreting the term mold as a frame on or around which an object is constructed since the claims do not specify the material for the first to fourth molds).
Matsumoto in view of Ha discloses the claimed invention except for the first mold, the second mold, the third mold, and the fourth mold are separately injection-molded. It has been held that “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Claim 5: Matsumoto teaches one of the first mold, second mold, third mold, and fourth mold includes the chassis-receiving groove (see fig. 3) recessed in a frontward direction of the light guide plate (left direction of 52, fig. 3), so that a portion of a non-light emitting substrate region (areas of 52 blocked by 40, fig. 3) of the light source module (51), which irradiates light toward the light guide plate (52) from a side of the light guide plate, is insertable into the chassis-receiving groove (see fig. 3).
Claim 6: Matsumoto teaches the chassis-receiving groove (groove of 4 receiving 6, fig. 3) is formed in the first mold and the third mold facing each other (see figs. 2 and 3) among the first mold, the second mold, the third mold, and the fourth mold (see fig. 2).
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 9,958,716) (hereinafter Matsumoto) in view of Ha (US 2014/0176852) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2013/0258240) (hereinafter Yu).
Claim 2: Matsumoto in view of Ha fails to teach the material is silicone or rubber.
Yu teaches the material is silicone or rubber (rubber frame, see para [0003]).
Therefore, in view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the mold frame of Matsumoto to a rubber material, in order to provide a frame with improve shock absorbance, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 8: Matsumoto teaches the bumper portion (44, fig. 3) has a rounded corner where the front and side surfaces are connected (see figs. 3-4).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 9,958,716) (hereinafter Matsumoto) in view of Ha (US 2014/0176852) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Fan (US 2021/0011326).
Claim 7: Matsumoto in view of Ha fails to teach the first mold and the third mold include the chassis-receiving groove recessed in a lateral direction of the optical sheet, so that an outer edge of the optical sheet and the diffusion plate is insertable into the chassis-receiving groove.
Fan teaches a first mold (11, fig. 3-4) and a third mold (13, fig. 3-4) include a chassis-receiving groove (groove between a and b, fig. 4) recessed in a lateral direction of the optical sheet (see fig. 3-4), so that an outer edge of the optical sheet is insertable into the chassis-receiving groove (see fig. 3-4).
Therefore, in view of Fan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the shape of the chassis-receiving groove to be recessed in a lateral direction of the optical sheet, so that an outer edge of the optical sheet and the diffusion plate is insertable into the chassis-receiving groove, in order to further secure the components together.
Claim(s) 9-12 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 9,958,716) (hereinafter Matsumoto) in view of Ha (US 2014/0176852) and Yu et al. (US 2013/0258240) (hereinafter Yu).
Claim 9: Matsumoto teaches a backlight unit comprising: an optical sheet (3, fig. 3); a bottom chassis (6, fig. 3) including a back plate (bottom plate of 6, fig. 3) and a side wall (protruding sidewalls of 6, fig. 3) and having an accommodating space (space accommodating 51 in 6, fig. 3) therein; a light source module (51, fig. 3) accommodated in the accommodating space and disposed between the optical sheet (3) and the back plate (6) to irradiate light; and an mold frame (4, fig. 3) including a mounting portion (40, fig. 3) coupled to the side wall (see fig. 3) of the bottom chassis and extending from an outer side of the optical sheet toward an inner side of the optical sheet (see fig. 3), and a bumper portion (44, fig. 3) protruded in a stepped manner from an outer side of the mounting portion toward a front side (see fig. 3), wherein the mounting portion (40) is configured to allow a portion of a rear surface (rear surface of 1 mounted on 43a, fig. 3) of a liquid crystal panel (1, fig. 3) to be mounted thereon, and forming a gap (gap between 1 and 3 in fig. 3) between the liquid crystal panel and the optical sheet (see fig. 3).
However, Matsumoto teaches an elastic mold frame, the elastic mold frame including silicone or rubber, the mounting portion disposed between the liquid crystal panel and the optical sheet when the liquid panel is mounted, thereby forming the gap.
Yu teaches an elastic mold frame (150, fig. 1), wherein the elastic mold frame (150) including silicone or rubber (rubber frame, see para [0003]).
Ha teaches an elastic mold frame (210, 220, fig. 3B),, and a mounting portion (228, fig. 3) disposed between the liquid crystal panel (110, fig. 4B) and the optical sheet (121, fig. 4B) when the liquid crystal panel (110) is mounted, thereby forming the gap (gap between 110 and 121, fig. 4B).
Therefore, in view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the mold frame of Matsumoto to a rubber material, in order to provide a frame with improve shock absorbance.
Therefore, in view of Ha, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the mold frame of Matsumoto to be an elastic material and rearranging the optical sheet where the mounting portion disposed between the liquid crystal panel and the optical sheet when the liquid crystal panel is mounted, thereby forming the gap, in order to improve shock absorbance of the frame and the components within.
Claim 10: Matsumoto teaches the light source module (51) disposed on the side wall (see fig. 3), a light guide plate (52, fig. 3) disposed between the back plate (6) and the optical sheet (3) so that the light source module (51) is positioned at a side thereof (see fig. 3), and a reflective film (53, fig. 3) disposed on a rear surface of the light guide plate (bottom surface of 52, fig. 3).
Claim 11: Matsumoto teaches the mold frame comprises: a chassis-receiving groove (groove of 4 receiving 6, fig. 3) into which an end portion of the side wall (sidewall of 6, fig. 3) and a portion of a non-light emitting substrate region of the light source module are inserted (see fig. 3).
However, Matsumoto is silent about an elastic mold frame.
Yu teaches an elastic mold frame (150, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the mold frame of Matsumoto to a rubber material, in order to provide a frame with improve shock absorbance.
Claim 12: Matsumoto teaches the light source module (51, fig. 3) is disposed on one of four sides of the optical sheet having a rectangular shape (see fig. 2), and wherein one of a first mold, a second mold, a third mold, and a fourth mold of the elastic mold frame, each corresponding to one of four sides of the optical sheet, may be provided with a chassis-receiving groove (groove of 4 receiving 6, fig. 3).
However, Matsumoto is silent about an elastic mold frame.
Yu teaches an elastic mold frame (150, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the mold frame of Matsumoto to a rubber material, in order to provide a frame with improve shock absorbance.
Claim 16: Matsumoto teaches the bumper portion (44, fig. 3) has a rounded corner where the front and side surfaces are connected (see figs. 3-4).
Claim 17: Matsumoto teaches a display device comprising: a liquid crystal panel (1, fig. 3); a backlight unit according to claim 9 (see claim 9) disposed at a rear side of the liquid crystal panel (1) to provide light to the liquid crystal panel; and a top chassis (2, fig. 3) covering a portion of a front outer periphery of the liquid crystal panel (1) and front and side surfaces of an mold frame (4) included in the backlight unit and coupled to a bottom chassis (6) included in the backlight unit.
However, Matsumoto is silent about an elastic mold frame.
Yu teaches an elastic mold frame (150, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the mold frame of Matsumoto to a rubber material, in order to provide a frame with improve shock absorbance.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 9,958,716) (hereinafter Matsumoto) in view of Ha (US 2014/0176852) and Yu et al. (US 2013/0258240) as applied to claim(s) 9 above, and further in view of Han (US 2023/0176409).
Claim 13: Matsumoto teaches the backlight unit comprising: a diffusion plate (diffusion sheet, see Col. 4 lines 31-38) disposed between the light source module (51) and the optical sheet (3); and a reflective plate (53, fig. 3) provided to surround a periphery of a light-irradiation gap (gap between 53 and 3, fig. 3) between the light source module and the optical sheet (see fig. 3).
However, Matsumoto in view of Ha and Yu fails to teach the light source module is disposed on the back plate and is configured to irradiate light toward the optical sheet.
Han teaches a light source module (51, fig. 4) is disposed on the back plate (31, fig. 4) and is configured to irradiate light toward the optical sheet (61, 62, fig. 4).
Therefore, in view of Han, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the orientation of the light source module of Matsumoto where the light source module is disposed on the back plate and is configured to irradiate light toward the optical sheet, in order to configure the backlight unit in a direct lit configuration improving light uniformity.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 9,958,716) (hereinafter Matsumoto) in view of Ha (US 2014/0176852) and Yu et al. (US 2013/0258240) and further in view of Han (US 2023/0176409) as applied to claim(s) 13 above, and further in view of Fan (US 2021/0011326).
Claim 14: Matsumoto teaches the mold frame comprises a chassis-receiving groove (groove of 4 receiving 6, fig. 3) into which an end portion of the side wall, an outer edge of the optical sheet, and an outer edge of the diffusion plate are inserted (see fig. 2).
However, Matsumoto fails to teach an elastic mold frame; and the chassis-receiving groove into which an end portion of the side wall, an outer edge of the optical sheet, and an outer edge of the diffusion plate are inserted.
Fan teaches the chassis-receiving groove (into which an end portion of the side wall, an outer edge of the optical sheet, and an outer edge of the diffusion plate are inserted (see fig. 3-4).
Therefore, in view of Fan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the shape of the chassis-receiving groove to be recessed in a lateral direction of the optical sheet, so that an outer edge of the optical sheet and the diffusion plate is insertable into the chassis-receiving groove, in order to further secure the components together.
Claim 15: Matsumoto teaches the mold frame comprises the chassis-receiving groove (groove of 4 receiving 6, fig. 3) in the first mold and the third mold facing each other (see fig. 2) among a first mold, a second mold, a third mold, and a fourth mold corresponding to each of four sides of the optical sheet formed in a rectangular shape (see fig. 2).
However, Matsumoto is silent about an elastic mold frame.
Yu teaches an elastic mold frame (150, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the mold frame of Matsumoto to a rubber material, in order to provide a frame with improve shock absorbance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9 has/have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENG SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875