DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the at least one spacer is disposed along a line that corresponds to the gap” of claim 1; the limitations of claim 2; and the limitations of claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “wherein the at least one spacer is disposed along a line that corresponds to the gap” of claim 1; the limitations of claim 2; and the limitations of claim 12 should be added to the specification. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6, 12, 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 8-9: “that corresponds to the gap” should be changed to --configured to correspond to the gap--.
Claim 4, line 2: “is” (between “that” and “flexible”) should be changed to --are--.
Claim 6, line 1: “extends” should be changed to --extend--.
Claim 12, line 2: “that corresponds to a gap” should be changed to --configured to correspond to a gap--.
Claim 16, line 1: “extends” should be changed to --extend--.
Claim 17, line 3: the second “.” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites ““wherein the at least one spacer is disposed along a line that corresponds to the gap.” It is unclear what is meant by this limitation as such is not described in the specification nor illustrated in the drawings. A further clarifying amendment is required.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the line is a U-shaped line.” It is unclear what is meant by this limitation as such is not described in the specification nor illustrated in the drawings. A further clarifying amendment is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the installed state" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the at least one spacer is disposed along a line that corresponds to a gap formed between the skull and the bone flap removed from the skull.” It is unclear what is meant by this limitation as such is not described in the specification nor illustrated in the drawings. A further clarifying amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Myerson et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2006/0241609.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Myerson et al. discloses an affixation device for a human skull, comprising: a base plate (10) comprising an outer area configured to secure to the skull and an inner area configured to secure to a bone flap that has been removed from the skull; and at least one spacer (20) located between the outer area and the inner area, wherein the at least one spacer is configured to extend from the base plate into a gap between the bone flap and the skull in an installed state, and wherein the at least one spacer is disposed along a line (longitudinal axis of spacer 20 is a line) that corresponds to the gap (examiner annotated Fig. 2 below and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Myerson discloses wherein the at least one spacer (20) extends from a first surface of the base plate (10), and wherein the first surface of the base plate includes a concave shape configured to conform to an outer skull surface of the skull (examiner annotated Figs. 3 and 4 below).
Regarding claims 8-10, Myerson discloses wherein the base plate (10) comprises a first plurality of holes (15) in the outer area configured to receive screws that engage the skull, and wherein the base plate comprises a second plurality of holes (also 15) in the inner area configured to receive screw that engage the bone flap (examiner annotated Fig. 2 above); wherein the at least one spacer comprises a first spacer with at least one tapered surface (22) such that an apex (24) of the first spacer is smaller than a base end (end directly attached to first surface) of the first spacer, and wherein the base end of the first spacer abut a first surface of the base plate (examiner annotated Fig. 3 above); and wherein the at least one spacer comprises a first spacer formed of a compliant material ([0030] discloses titanium, which is a compliant material).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwa et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2012/0165878.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, as best understood, Hwa et al. discloses an affixation device for a human skull, comprising: a base plate (1) comprising an outer area configured to be secured to the skull and an inner area configured to secure to a bone flap that has been removed from the skull; and at least one spacer (4) located between the outer area and the inner area, wherein the at least one spacer is configured to extend from the base plate into a gap between the bone flap and the skull in an installed state, and wherein the at least one spacer is disposed along a U-shaped line (in as much as any of applicant’s spacers 206) that corresponds to the gap (examiner annotated Fig. 2B below).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Hwa et al. discloses wherein the base plate (1) comprises a plurality of flex lines (22) that are flexible relative to surrounding areas of the base plate; and wherein the plurality of flex lines delineates a plurality of rigid zones (areas between the flex lines) of the base plate, and wherein each rigid zone of the plurality of rigid zones is secured to at least one of the skull and the bone plate when the affixation device is in an installed state (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0032]).
Claim(s) 11-13, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Price et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2012/0184959.
Regarding claim 11, Price et al. discloses an affixation device for a human skull, comprising: a base plate (10) comprising an outer area configured to be secured to the skull and an inner area configured to be secured to a bone flap that has been removed from the skull; wherein the base plate comprises a void surrounded by the inner area, wherein the void is aligned with the bone flap when the affixation device is in an installed state; and at least one spacer (40) located between the outer area and the inner area, wherein the at least one spacer is removably attached to the base plate (examiner annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claims 12 (as best understood) and 13, Price et al. discloses wherein the at least one spacer (40) is disposed along a line (longitudinal axis of spacer 40 is a line) configured to correspond to a gap formed between the skull and the bone flap removed from the skull; and wherein the base plate comprises a first plurality of holes in the outer area, configured for receiving fasteners that engage the skull, and wherein the base plate comprises a second plurality of holes in the inner area, configured for receiving fasteners that engage the bone flap (examiner annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Price et al. discloses wherein the at least one spacer (40) includes at least one fastener (44, 46) configured for extending at least partially through a thickness of the base plate (1); and wherein the base plate further comprises at least one opening (43, 47) for receiving the at least one fastener (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0020]).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ralph et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2010/0094428.
Regarding claim 19, Ralph et al. discloses a method, comprising: providing a base plate comprising an outer area configured to secure to a skull (1) and an inner area configured to secure to a bone flap (2) that has been removed from the skull; attaching at least one spacer (23) to the base plate along a line (axis a--a) that corresponds to a gap (4) formed between the skull and the bone flap removed from the skull; and securing the outer area to the skull and securing the inner area to the bone flap such that the at least one spacer extends into the gap between the bone flap and the skull in an installed state (Figs. 2, 2A,12, 13, examiner annotated Fig. 3C below and paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 20, Ralph et al. further comprises forming a first plurality of hole in the outer area, configured for receiving fasteners that engage the skull, and forming a second plurality of holes in the inner area, configured for receiving fasteners that engage the bone flap (examiner annotated Fig. 3C above and paragraph [0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwa et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2012/0165878.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Hwa et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein at least three flex lines of the plurality of flex lines converge at a flex point and extend radially away from a center area of the affixation device.
However, Hwa et al. discloses flex lines (22) may be formed on random or predetermined positions on the surface of the base plate in accordance with the needs of the user (paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flex lines of Hwa et al. to have three flex lines converge at a flex point or have the flex lines extend radially away from a center area of the affixation device to permit the base plate be suitable in accordance with the needs of the user.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2012/0184959 in view of Hwa et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2012/0165878.
Regarding claims 14-16, Price et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein the base plate includes a plurality of flex lines that are flexible relative to surrounding areas of the base plate, wherein at least three flex lines of the plurality of flex lines converge at a flex point and extend radially away from a center area of the affixation device.
Hwa et al. discloses a bone plate having flex lines (22) that allow a surgeon to contour or deform the shape of the plate and that the flex lines may be formed random or at predetermined positions on the surface of the plate in accordance with the needs of the user (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the base plate of Price et al. to include a plurality of flex lines that are flexible relative to surrounding areas of the base plate, wherein at least three flex lines of the plurality of flex lines converge at a flex point and extend radially away from a center area of the affixation device in view of Hwa et al. to permit a surgeon to contour or deform the shape of the base plate in accordance with the needs of the user.
Conclusion
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775