Response to Amendment/Arguments
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed 2/5/26. Amended Claims 1, 4-9, 12-18 are pending.
Regarding the previous drawing objections, the amended drawings overcome the previous objection.
Regarding the previous claim objection, this has been remedied by the claim amendments.
Regarding the previous prior art rejections, KR672 has been overcome as an anticipatory reference by the amended claim language in Claims 1 and 9. Regarding the 103 rejection of KR672 in view of Lee, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As discussed below, KR672 is modified by the teaching reference Lee. KR672 discloses a movable arm damping valve assembly with two valves (22, 22) for connection of the arm cylinder with the accumulator and the tank on a loading machine for damping; KR672 also discloses a damping lock valve 23. Lee teaches, for a loading machine with damping, replacing two valves (Fig. 1) for connection of the arm cylinder with the accumulator and tank with a damping valve assembly (Fig. 2). Once the teachings of Lee are applied to the base reference KR672 the claimed invention is rendered obvious, as KR672 discloses the damping lock valve and Lee teaches the damping valve assembly, including the damping valve core with the fourth position. Examiner notes that the claimed fourth position (Lee - 28, p. 9-10 of translation) corresponds to both valves 22, 22 in KR672 being opened (ex. p. 9 of translation). In both references, the valve positions correspond to buffering/damping occurring after selection by the operator, like in applicant’s disclosed invention (ex. [0035] of the specification). The damping lock valve being either in the connected or disconnected position will be dependent on the pressure in the pilot line.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, the claim reads “the damping lock” which lacks antecedent basis; examiner believes this should read “the damping lock --valve--” consistent with the earlier part of Claim 1 (example annotation below, begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Examiner notes Claim 9 has the same issue.
The claims appear to have been amended but not marked versus the prior claim set dated 6/5/25 (MPEP 714 II). Examples include in Claim 1 (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Prior claim language (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
In Claim 12 (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Prior claim language (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
In Claim 9, after the deletion of the semi-colon the “damping lock valve an energy accumulator” is thought to need to a comma to separate the elements in the list (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Those claims not specifically mentioned are objected to by virtue of their dependence on an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note:
The preambles in Claims 1 and 9, and likewise their dependent claims, have been considered as limiting to the structure of the invention (MPEP 2111.02 I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (KR 200389672, machine translation accompanied prior office action), hereinafter KR672, in view Lee et al. (KR 20070066757, machine translation accompanied prior office action), as evidenced by Takada (US 10286894).
Regarding Claim 1, KR672 teaches
A movable arm damping system for a loading machine, comprising:
a multi-way valve assembly (14, 15), a movable arm oil cylinder (18), a movable arm damping valve assembly (with 22, 22), a damping lock valve (23), an energy accumulator (21) and an oil tank pipeline (noted second 22 valve leading to tank, Fig. 1, annotated below ); wherein
the multi-way valve assembly comprises a movable arm valve core (15) and a bucket valve core (14), a first movable arm oil port of the movable arm valve core is configured to communicate with a rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder (via 19b, Fig. 1), a second movable arm oil port of the movable arm valve core is configured to communicate with a rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder (via 19a, Fig. 1), the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder is configured to communicate with the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 1), and the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder is configured to communicate, via the damping lock valve, with the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 1);
the damping lock valve is provided with a damping connection position and a damping disconnection position (Fig. 1), and a switching oil port of the damping lock valve is configured to communicate with a switching oil port of the bucket valve core (via 17c) such that when a pressure at the switching oil port of the damping lock valve reaches a preset pressure during a bucket unloading process, the damping lock valve switches from the damping connection position to the damping disconnection position,
the energy accumulator communicates with the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder via the movable arm damping valve assembly and the damping lock valve (Fig. 1); and the oil tank pipeline is configured to communicate with the movable arm damping valve assembly, the movable arm valve core and the bucket valve core for supplying oil (Fig. 1), wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly comprises a damping valve core (part of 22), when the damping valve core is in a working position (22 open by S1) and the bucket valve core is in an unloading position (dump), the damping lock is in a damping disconnection position (actuated by pressure along 17c) and the movable arm valve core is in a closed state (neutral).
KR672 does not teach
wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly comprises a damping valve core the damping valve core is provided with a first damping oil port and a second damping oil port, the first damping oil port is configured to communicate the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port is configured to communicate the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator, wherein the damping valve core has a fourth working position, the fourth working position is configured for connection of the first damping oil port and connection of the second damping oil port, at the fourth working position, the first damping oil port communicates the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port communicates the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator, and when the damping valve core is in the fourth working position and the bucket valve core is in an unloading position, the damping lock is in the damping disconnection position and the movable arm valve core is in a closed state.
KR672 teaches two valves 22, 22 as valves for the movable arm damping valve assembly.
Lee teaches
For a loading machine (Fig. 2),
wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 2, partial annotation below) comprises a damping valve core (of 27); and the damping valve core is provided with a first damping oil port (to 24 with rod cavity 23B of 23) and a second damping oil port (to 26 with rodless cavity 23A of 23), the first damping oil port is configured to communicate the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline (to T), and the second damping oil port is configured to communicate the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator (to 25), wherein the damping valve core has a fourth working position (28), the fourth working position is configured for connection of the first damping oil port and connection of the second damping oil port, at the fourth working position, the first damping oil port communicates the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port communicates the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator, and
“As described above, according to the boom buffer device of the wheel loader of the present invention, the boom buffer function can be maintained by the pressure of the accumulator supplemented to the boom cylinder, the boom buffer responsiveness can be adjusted by adjusting the opening area of the orifice, the circuit is protected by preventing the circuit from being suddenly subjected to excessive pressure by a relief valve, and in case the boom buffer pressure needs to be removed due to damage to a component, the pressure remaining inside the circuit can be simply removed, making repair work easy.”
- p. 12 of translation.
Since both references are directed to damping systems for loading machines, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of KR672 by replacing the valves 22, 22 with the damping valve assembly as taught by Lee in order to provide the boom buffer function can be maintained by the pressure of the accumulator supplemented to the boom cylinder, the boom buffer responsiveness can be adjusted by adjusting the opening area of the orifice, the circuit is protected by preventing the circuit from being suddenly subjected to excessive pressure by a relief valve, and in case the boom buffer pressure needs to be removed due to damage to a component, the pressure remaining inside the circuit can be simply removed, making repair work easy.
Examiner note: KR672 uses the term “boom”. In loaders, the terms “boom” and “arm” are each sometimes used to describe same structure, as evidenced by Takada (Col. 3, lines 38-42, Figs. 1-3 for example). Accordingly, KR672 discloses the claimed (“arm”) invention, once modified by Lee.
Regarding Claim 4,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 1, wherein the damping valve core further has a first working position (Lee - 29, annotation above) and a second working position (Lee - 30, annotation above); the first working position (29) is configured for connection of the second damping oil port and disconnection of the first damping oil port, at the first working position, the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port communicates the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator; and the second working position (30) is configured for disconnection of the first damping oil port and disconnection of the second damping oil port, at the second working position, the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the oil tank pipeline, and the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the energy accumulator.
Regarding Claim 5,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 4, wherein the damping valve core further has a third working position (Lee - 31, annotation above) for connecting the energy accumulator and the oil tank pipeline.
Regarding Claim 6,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 1, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises a one-way throttle valve group (Lee - 33, annotation above) and a solenoid directional valve (Lee - 34, annotation above); and a switching oil port of the damping valve core is configured to communicate, via the one-way throttle valve group, with the solenoid directional valve, and the solenoid directional valve has two working positions for connecting or disconnecting the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder and the energy accumulator (Lee - Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 1, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises an overflow valve (Lee - 37, annotation above); the first damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the overflow valve, with the energy accumulator, and the overflow valve is used for limiting the pressure of the energy accumulator (Lee - Fig. 2).
Examiner note: The limitation “the first damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the overflow valve, with the energy accumulator” is true for certain positions of the valve 33 in applicant’s disclosure and likewise KR672 as modified by Lee is likewise true for certain positions of the valve 27.
Regarding Claim 8,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 1, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises a switch valve (Lee - 39, annotation above); the second damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the switch valve, with the first damping oil port, the switch valve has a connection position for connecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port, and a disconnection position for disconnecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port.
Examiner note: The limitations “the second damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the switch valve, with the first damping oil port, the switch valve has a connection position for connecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port, and a disconnection position for disconnecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port” are true for certain positions of the valve 33 in applicant’s disclosure and likewise KR672 as modified by Lee is likewise true for certain positions of the valve 27.
Regarding Claim 9, KR672 teaches
A loading machine (“wheel loader”), comprising a movable arm damping system for the loading machine, the movable arm damping system for the loading machine comprising:
a multi-way valve assembly (14, 15), a movable arm oil cylinder (18), a movable arm damping valve assembly (with 22, 22), a damping lock valve (23) an energy accumulator (21) and an oil tank pipeline (noted second 22 valve leading to tank, Fig. 1, annotated below), wherein
the multi-way valve assembly comprises a movable arm valve core (15) and a bucket valve core (14), a first movable arm oil port of the movable arm valve core is configured to communicate with a rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder (via 19b, Fig. 1), a second movable arm oil port of the movable arm valve core is configured to communicate with a rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder (via 19a, Fig. 1), the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder is configured to communicate with the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 1), and the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder is configured to communicate, via the damping lock valve, with the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 1); and
the damping lock valve is provided with a damping connection position and a damping disconnection position (Fig. 1), and a switching oil port of the damping lock valve is configured to communicate with a switching oil port of the bucket valve core (via 17c) such that when a pressure at the switching oil port of the damping lock valve reaches a preset pressure during a bucket unloading process, the damping lock valve switches from the damping connection position to the damping disconnection position;
the energy accumulator communicates with the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder via the movable arm damping valve assembly and the damping lock valve (Fig. 1); and the oil tank pipeline is configured to communicate with the movable arm damping valve assembly, the movable arm valve core and the bucket valve core for supplying oil (Fig. 1), wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly comprises a damping valve core (part of 22); and
when the damping valve core is in a working position (22 open by S1) and the bucket valve core is in an unloading position (dump), the damping lock is in a damping disconnection position (actuated by pressure along 17c) and the movable arm valve core is in a closed state (neutral).
KR672 does not teach
wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly comprises a damping valve core the damping valve core is provided with a first damping oil port and a second damping oil port, the first damping oil port is configured to communicate the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port is configured to communicate the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator, wherein the damping valve core has a fourth working position, the fourth working position is configured for connection of the first damping oil port and connection of the second damping oil port, at the fourth working position, the first damping oil port communicates the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port communicates the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator, and when the damping valve core is in the fourth working position and the bucket valve core is in an unloading position, the damping lock is in the damping disconnection position and the movable arm valve core is in a closed state.
KR672 teaches two valves 22, 22 as valves for the movable arm damping valve assembly.
Lee teaches
For a loading machine (Fig. 2),
wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 2, partial annotation below) comprises a damping valve core (of 27); and the damping valve core is provided with a first damping oil port (to 24 with rod cavity 23B of 23) and a second damping oil port (to 26 with rodless cavity 23A of 23), the first damping oil port is configured to communicate the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline (to T), and the second damping oil port is configured to communicate the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator (to 25), wherein the damping valve core has a fourth working position (28), the fourth working position is configured for connection of the first damping oil port and connection of the second damping oil port, at the fourth working position, the first damping oil port communicates the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port communicates the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator, and
“As described above, according to the boom buffer device of the wheel loader of the present invention, the boom buffer function can be maintained by the pressure of the accumulator supplemented to the boom cylinder, the boom buffer responsiveness can be adjusted by adjusting the opening area of the orifice, the circuit is protected by preventing the circuit from being suddenly subjected to excessive pressure by a relief valve, and in case the boom buffer pressure needs to be removed due to damage to a component, the pressure remaining inside the circuit can be simply removed, making repair work easy.”
- p. 12 of translation.
Since both references are directed to damping systems for loading machines, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of KR672 by replacing the valves 22, 22 with the damping valve assembly as taught by Lee in order to provide the boom buffer function can be maintained by the pressure of the accumulator supplemented to the boom cylinder, the boom buffer responsiveness can be adjusted by adjusting the opening area of the orifice, the circuit is protected by preventing the circuit from being suddenly subjected to excessive pressure by a relief valve, and in case the boom buffer pressure needs to be removed due to damage to a component, the pressure remaining inside the circuit can be simply removed, making repair work easy.
Examiner note: KR672 uses the term “boom”. In loaders, the terms “boom” and “arm” are each sometimes used to describe same structure, as evidenced by Takada (Col. 3, lines 38-42, Figs. 1-3 for example). Accordingly, KR672 discloses the claimed (“arm”) invention, once modified by Lee.
Regarding Claim 12,
The loading machine according to claim 11, wherein the damping valve core further has a first working position (Lee - 29, annotation above) and a second working position (Lee - 30, annotation above); the first working position (29) is configured for connection of the second damping oil port and disconnection of the first damping oil port, at the first working position, the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port communicates the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator; and the second working position (30) is configured for disconnection of the first damping oil port and disconnection of the second damping oil port, at the second working position, the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the oil tank pipeline, and the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the energy accumulator.
Regarding Claim 13,
The loading machine according to claim 12, wherein the damping valve core further has a third working position (Lee- 31, annotation above) for connecting the energy accumulator and the oil tank pipeline.
Regarding Claim 14,
The loading machine according to claim 9, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises a one-way throttle valve group (Lee - 33, annotation above) and a solenoid directional valve (34); and a switching oil port of the damping valve core is configured to communicate, via the one-way throttle valve group, with the solenoid directional valve, and the solenoid directional valve has two working positions for connecting or disconnecting the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder and the energy accumulator (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15,
The loading machine according to claim 9, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises an overflow valve (Lee - 37, annotation above); the first damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the overflow valve, with the energy accumulator, and the overflow valve is used for limiting the pressure of the energy accumulator (Lee - Fig. 2).
Examiner note: The limitation “the first damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the overflow valve, with the energy accumulator” is true for certain positions of the valve 33 in applicant’s disclosure and likewise KR672 as modified by Lee is likewise true for certain positions of the valve 27.
Regarding Claim 16,
The loading machine according to claim 9, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises a switch valve (Lee - 39, annotation above); the second damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the switch valve, with the first damping oil port, the switch valve has a connection position for connecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port, and a disconnection position for disconnecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port.
Examiner note: The limitations “the second damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the switch valve, with the first damping oil port, the switch valve has a connection position for connecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port, and a disconnection position for disconnecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port” are true for certain positions of the valve 33 in applicant’s disclosure and likewise KR672 as modified by Lee is likewise true for certain positions of the valve 27.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR672 in view of Lee as evidenced by Takada as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of design choice.
Regarding Claim 17, KR672 as modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
wherein the preset pressure of the damping lock valve ranges from 5.0 bar to 8.0 bar.
KR672 does not specify the particular pressure.
Since applicant has not disclosed that having the particular pressure range solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that damping lock valve would be actuated and it appears that the valve of KR672 would perform equally well with pressures as claimed by applicant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the valve of KR672 by utilizing the specific pressure range as claimed for the purpose of actuating the valve.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR672 in view of Lee as evidenced by Takada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of design choice.
Regarding Claim 18, KR672 as modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
wherein the preset pressure of the damping lock valve ranges from 5.0 bar to 8.0 bar.
KR672 does not specify the particular pressure.
Since applicant has not disclosed that having the particular pressure range solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that damping lock valve would be actuated and it appears that the valve of KR672 would perform equally well with pressures as claimed by applicant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the valve of KR672 by utilizing the specific pressure range as claimed for the purpose of actuating the valve.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL QUANDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/MICHAEL QUANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745