Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “movable arm” (Claim 1, Claim 9) and “loading machine” (Claim 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 12, lines 1-2 recite “the damping valve core” twice.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to by virtue of its dependence of an objected to claim.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note:
The preambles in Claims 1 and 9, and likewise their dependent claims, have been considered as limiting to the structure of the invention (MPEP 2111.02 I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (KR 200389672, machine translation accompanies this office action), hereinafter KR672, as evidenced by Takada (US 10286894).
Regarding Claim 1,
A movable arm damping system for a loading machine, comprising:
a multi-way valve assembly (14, 15), a movable arm oil cylinder (18), a movable arm damping valve assembly (with 22, 22) and a damping lock valve (23); wherein
the multi-way valve assembly comprises a movable arm valve core (15) and a bucket valve core (14), a first movable arm oil port of the movable arm valve core is configured to communicate with a rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder (via 19b, Fig. 1), a second movable arm oil port of the movable arm valve core is configured to communicate with a rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder (via 19a, Fig. 1), the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder is configured to communicate with the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 1), and the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder is configured to communicate, via the damping lock valve, with the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 1); and
the damping lock valve is provided with a damping connection position and a damping disconnection position (Fig. 1), and a switching oil port of the damping lock valve is configured to communicate with a switching oil port of the bucket valve core (via 17c) such that when a pressure at the switching oil port of the damping lock valve reaches a preset pressure during a bucket unloading process, the damping lock valve switches from the damping connection position to the damping disconnection position.
Examiner note: KR672 uses the term “boom”. In loaders, the terms “boom” and “arm” are each sometimes used to describe same structure, as evidenced by Takada (Col. 3, lines 38-42, Figs. 1-3 for example). Accordingly, KR672 discloses the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 1, further comprising an energy accumulator (21) and an oil tank pipeline (noted second 22 valve leading to tank, Fig. 1, annotated below), wherein the energy accumulator communicates with the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder via the movable arm damping valve assembly and the damping lock valve (Fig. 1); and the oil tank pipeline is configured to communicate with the movable arm damping valve assembly, the movable arm valve core and the bucket valve core for supplying oil (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9,
A loading machine (“wheel loader”), comprising a movable arm damping system for the loading machine, the movable arm damping system for the loading machine comprising:
a multi-way valve assembly (14, 15), a movable arm oil cylinder (18), a movable arm damping valve assembly (with 22, 22) and a damping lock valve (23); wherein
the multi-way valve assembly comprises a movable arm valve core (15) and a bucket valve core (14), a first movable arm oil port of the movable arm valve core is configured to communicate with a rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder (via 19b, Fig. 1), a second movable arm oil port of the movable arm valve core is configured to communicate with a rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder (via 19a, Fig. 1), the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder is configured to communicate with the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 1), and the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder is configured to communicate, via the damping lock valve, with the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 1); and
the damping lock valve is provided with a damping connection position and a damping disconnection position (Fig. 1), and a switching oil port of the damping lock valve is configured to communicate with a switching oil port of the bucket valve core (via 17c) such that when a pressure at the switching oil port of the damping lock valve reaches a preset pressure during a bucket unloading process, the damping lock valve switches from the damping connection position to the damping disconnection position.
Examiner note: KR672 uses the term “boom”. In loaders, the terms “boom” and “arm” are each sometimes used to describe same structure, as evidenced by Takada (Col. 3, lines 38-42, Figs. 1-3 for example). Accordingly, KR672 discloses the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 10,
The loading machine according to claim 9, wherein the movable arm damping system for the loading machine further comprises an energy accumulator (21) and an oil tank pipeline (noted second 22 valve leading to tank, Fig. 1, annotated below),
the energy accumulator communicates with the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder via the movable arm damping valve assembly and the damping lock valve (Fig. 1); and
the oil tank pipeline is configured to communicate with the movable arm damping valve assembly, the movable arm valve core and the bucket valve core for supplying oil (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR672 in view of Lee et al. (KR 20070066757, machine translation accompanies this office action).
Regarding Claim 3, KR672 discloses
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 2, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly comprises a damping valve core (part of 22).
KR672 does not disclose
and the damping valve core is provided with a first damping oil port and a second damping oil port, the first damping oil port is configured to communicate the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline and the second damping oil port is configured to communicate the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator.
KR672 teaches two valves 22, 22 as valves for the movable arm damping valve assembly.
Lee teaches
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 2, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 2) comprises a damping valve core (of 27); and the damping valve core is provided with a first damping oil port (to 24 with rod cavity 23B of 23) and a second damping oil port (to 26 with rodless cavity 23A of 23), the first damping oil port is configured to communicate the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline (to T) and the second damping oil port is configured to communicate the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator (to 25).
“As described above, according to the boom buffer device of the wheel loader of the present
invention, the boom buffer function can be maintained by the pressure of the accumulator
supplemented to the boom cylinder, the boom buffer responsiveness can be adjusted by
adjusting the opening area of the orifice, the circuit is protected by preventing the circuit from
being suddenly subjected to excessive pressure by a relief valve, and in case the boom buffer
pressure needs to be removed due to damage to a component, the pressure remaining inside
the circuit can be simply removed, making repair work easy.” - p. 12 of translation.
Since both references are directed to damping systems for loading machines, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of KR672 by replacing the valves 22, 22 with the damping valve assembly as taught by Lee in order to provide the boom buffer function can be maintained by the pressure of the accumulator supplemented to the boom cylinder, the boom buffer responsiveness can be adjusted by adjusting the opening area of the orifice, the circuit is protected by preventing the circuit from being suddenly subjected to excessive pressure by a relief valve, and in case the boom buffer pressure needs to be removed due to damage to a component, the pressure remaining inside the circuit can be simply removed, making repair work easy.
Regarding Claim 4,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 3, wherein the damping valve core has a first working position (29), a second working position (30) and a fourth working position (28) ; the fourth working position (28) is configured for connection of the first damping oil port and connection of the second damping oil port, at the fourth working position, the first damping oil port communicates the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port communicates the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator; the first working position (29) is configured for connection of the second damping oil port and disconnection of the first damping oil port, at the first working position, the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port communicates the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator; and the second working position (30) is configured for disconnection of the first damping oil port and disconnection of the second damping oil port, at the second working position, the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the oil tank pipeline, and the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the energy accumulator.
Regarding Claim 5,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 4, wherein the damping valve core further has a third working position (31) for connecting the energy accumulator and the oil tank pipeline.
Regarding Claim 6,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 3, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises a one-way throttle valve group (33) and a solenoid directional valve (34); and a switching oil port of the damping valve core is configured to communicate, via the one-way throttle valve group, with the solenoid directional valve, and the solenoid directional valve has two working positions for connecting or disconnecting the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder and the energy accumulator (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 3, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises an overflow valve (37); the first damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the overflow valve, with the energy accumulator, and the overflow valve is used for limiting the pressure of the energy accumulator (Fig. 2).
Examiner note: The limitation “the first damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the overflow valve, with the energy accumulator” is true for certain positions of the valve 33 in applicant’s disclosure and likewise KR672 as modified by Lee is likewise true for certain positions of the valve 27.
Regarding Claim 8,
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 3, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises a switch valve (39); the second damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the switch valve, with the first damping oil port, the switch valve has a connection position for connecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port, and a disconnection position for disconnecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port.
Examiner note: The limitations “the second damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the switch valve, with the first damping oil port, the switch valve has a connection position for connecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port, and a disconnection position for disconnecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port” are true for certain positions of the valve 33 in applicant’s disclosure and likewise KR672 as modified by Lee is likewise true for certain positions of the valve 27.
Regarding Claim 11, KR672 discloses
The loading machine according to claim 10, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly comprises a damping valve core (part of 22).
KR672 teaches two valves 22, 22 as valves for the movable arm damping valve assembly.
KR672 does not disclose
and the damping valve core is provided with a first damping oil port and a second damping oil port, the first damping oil port is configured to communicate the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline and the second damping oil port is configured to communicate the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator.
Lee teaches
The movable arm damping system for the loading machine according to claim 2, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly (Fig. 2) comprises a damping valve core (of 27); and the damping valve core is provided with a first damping oil port (to 24 with rod cavity 23B of 23) and a second damping oil port (to 26 with rodless cavity 23A of 23), the first damping oil port is configured to communicate the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline (to T) and the second damping oil port is configured to communicate the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator (to 25).
“As described above, according to the boom buffer device of the wheel loader of the present
invention, the boom buffer function can be maintained by the pressure of the accumulator
supplemented to the boom cylinder, the boom buffer responsiveness can be adjusted by
adjusting the opening area of the orifice, the circuit is protected by preventing the circuit from
being suddenly subjected to excessive pressure by a relief valve, and in case the boom buffer
pressure needs to be removed due to damage to a component, the pressure remaining inside
the circuit can be simply removed, making repair work easy.” - p. 12 of translation.
Since both references are directed to damping systems for loading machines, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of KR672 be replacing the valves 22, 22 with the damping valve assembly as taught by Lee in order to provide the boom buffer function can be maintained by the pressure of the accumulator supplemented to the boom cylinder, the boom buffer responsiveness can be adjusted by adjusting the opening area of the orifice, the circuit is protected by preventing the circuit from being suddenly subjected to excessive pressure by a relief valve, and in case the boom buffer pressure needs to be removed due to damage to a component, the pressure remaining inside the circuit can be simply removed, making repair work easy.
Regarding Claim 12,
The loading machine according to claim 11, wherein the damping valve core has a first working position (29), a second working position (30) and a fourth working position (28) ; the fourth working position (28) is configured for connection of the first damping oil port and connection of the second damping oil port, at the fourth working position, the first damping oil port communicates the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port communicates the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator; the first working position (29) is configured for connection of the second damping oil port and disconnection of the first damping oil port, at the first working position, the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the oil tank pipeline, and the second damping oil port communicates the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder with the energy accumulator; and the second working position (30) is configured for disconnection of the first damping oil port and disconnection of the second damping oil port, at the second working position, the rod cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the oil tank pipeline, and the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder disconnects with the energy accumulator.
Regarding Claim 13,
The loading machine according to claim 12, wherein the damping valve core further has a third working position (31) for connecting the energy accumulator and the oil tank pipeline.
Regarding Claim 14,
The loading machine according to claim 11, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises a one-way throttle valve group (33) and a solenoid directional valve (34); and a switching oil port of the damping valve core is configured to communicate, via the one-way throttle valve group, with the solenoid directional valve, and the solenoid directional valve has two working positions for connecting or disconnecting the rodless cavity of the movable arm oil cylinder and the energy accumulator (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15,
The loading machine according to claim 11, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises an overflow valve (37); the first damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the overflow valve, with the energy accumulator, and the overflow valve is used for limiting the pressure of the energy accumulator (Fig. 2).
Examiner note: The limitation “the first damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the overflow valve, with the energy accumulator” is true for certain positions of the valve 33 in applicant’s disclosure and likewise KR672 as modified by Lee is likewise true for certain positions of the valve 27.
Regarding Claim 16,
The loading machine according to claim 11, wherein the movable arm damping valve assembly further comprises a switch valve (39); the second damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the switch valve, with the first damping oil port, the switch valve has a connection position for connecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port, and a disconnection position for disconnecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port.
Examiner note: The limitations “the second damping oil port is configured to communicate, via the switch valve, with the first damping oil port, the switch valve has a connection position for connecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port, and a disconnection position for disconnecting the first damping oil port and the second damping oil port” are true for certain positions of the valve 33 in applicant’s disclosure and likewise KR672 as modified by Lee is likewise true for certain positions of the valve 27.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Drake on the 892 teaches elements of the instant invention.
MICHAEL QUANDT
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/MICHAEL QUANDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745