DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In the reply filed on 09 September 2026 the following changes have been made: amendments to claims 1, 3-4, 14, and 16-17. Claims 2 and 15 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/801,257; 62/801,245; 62/864,663; 62/885,673 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. For claims 1 & 14, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for training at least one neural network based on historical outcome data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure;
applying, by a processor, the at least one neural network to current patient data to generate a predictor equation, wherein the current patient data comprises at least anatomy data for an anatomy of a current patient and wherein the predictor equation functionally relates an implant to an estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient;
optimizing, by the processor, the predictor equation to generate one or more resection parameters for one or more resections required to achieve a position and orientation of the implant with respect to the anatomy of the current patient as part of a surgical plan for the current patient undergoing the surgical procedure; and
updating the at least one neural network based on the current patient data and current outcome data generated for the current patient following execution of the surgical plan. Examiner cannot find disclosure for all of these claimed features in the prior filed applications. For claims 2 & 15, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for controlling, by the processor, actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan. Examiner cannot find disclosure for this claimed feature in the prior filed applications. For claims 3, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for wherein the surgical procedure is an orthopedic procedure. Examiner cannot find disclosure for this claimed feature in the prior filed applications. For claims 4 & 16, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for wherein the controlling of the actuation by the processor is based on a size, position and orientation of the implant. Examiner cannot find disclosure for this claimed feature in the prior filed applications. For claims 5 & 17, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical case log data sets. Examiner cannot find disclosure for this claimed feature in the prior filed applications. For claims 6 & 18, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical outcome data correlated with one or more of historical patient data, historical implant data, or historical healthcare professional data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure. Examiner cannot find disclosure for this claimed feature in the prior filed applications. For claims 7 & 19, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for wherein the predictor equation functionally relates a size, position, and orientation of the implant to the estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient. Examiner cannot find disclosure for this claimed feature in the prior filed applications. For claims 8 & 20, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for wherein the optimizing of the predictor equation generates a size, position, and orientation of the implant. Examiner cannot find disclosure for all of these claimed features in the prior filed applications. For claim 9, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for wherein the at least one neural network comprises a plurality of input nodes and downstream nodes coupled by connections having associated weighting values. Examiner cannot find disclosure for all of these claimed features in the prior filed applications. For claim 10, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for wherein each of the weighting values comprises a predictor equation coefficient. Examiner cannot find disclosure for all of these claimed features in the prior filed applications. For claim 11, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for obtaining a sensitivity threshold value; and
applying the sensitivity threshold value to disregard one or more of the input nodes. Examiner cannot find disclosure for all of these claimed features in the prior filed applications. For claim 12, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for providing input data comprising signals that correspond with the input nodes to the neural network as seeding data, wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical case log data sets, and wherein the input data is extracted from the historical case log data sets. Examiner cannot find disclosure for all of these claimed features in the prior filed applications. For claim 13, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for altering the weighting values until the neural network is configured to provide a result that corresponds with the historical outcome data. Examiner cannot find disclosure for all of these claimed features in the prior filed applications.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US12343085B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because recite substantially similar limitations.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The table/chart below exhibits the similarity* between the independent claims where claims 1 & 14 of the current application is a broader variation of the claims of the reference patent.
* Similarities highlighted in BOLD
App# 19/229,152
US12343085B2
Claim 1:
training at least one neural network based on historical outcome data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure;
applying, by a first processor, the at least one neural network to current patient data to generate a predictor equation, wherein the current patient data comprises at least anatomy data for an anatomy of a current patient and wherein the predictor equation functionally relates an implant to an estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient;
optimizing, by the first processor, the predictor equation to generate one or more resection parameters for one or more resections required to achieve a position and orientation of the implant with respect to the anatomy of the current patient as part of a surgical plan for the current patient undergoing the surgical procedure; and
updating the at least one neural network based on the current patient data and current outcome data generated for the current patient following execution of the surgical plan;
controlling, by a second processor, actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of
the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan, wherein the second processor is the same as
or different from the first processor.
Claim 1:
training at least one neural network based on historical case log data sets comprising historical outcome data correlated with one or more of historical patient data, historical implant data, or historical healthcare professional data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure;
applying, by a processor, the at least one neural network to current patient data for a current patient to generate a predictor equation, wherein the current patient data comprises at least anatomy data for an anatomy of the current patient, and wherein the predictor equation functionally relates a size, position, and orientation of an implant to an estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient;
optimizing, by the processor, the predictor equation to generate the size, position, and orientation of the implant, and one or more resection parameters for one or more resections required to achieve the position and orientation of the implant with respect to the anatomy of the current patient as part of a surgical plan for the current patient undergoing the surgical procedure;
controlling, by the processor, actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan, based on the size, position, and orientation of the implant; and
updating the at least one neural network based on the current patient data and current outcome data generated for the current patient following execution of the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan, wherein the surgical procedure is an orthopedic procedure
Claim 14:
train at least one neural network based on historical outcome data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure;
apply, by a first processor of the one or more processors, the at least one neural network to current patient data to generate a predictor equation, wherein the current patient data comprises at least anatomy data for an anatomy of the current patient and wherein the predictor equation functionally relates an implant to an estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient;
optimize, by the first processor, the predictor equation to generate one or more resection parameters for one or more resections required to achieve a position and orientation of the implant with respect to the anatomy of the current patient as part of a surgical plan for the current patient undergoing the surgical procedure;
update the at least one neural network based on the current patient data and current outcome data generated for the current patient following execution of the surgical plan; and
control, by a second processor of the one or more processors, actuation of a surgical tool
to implement a resection of the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan, wherein the
second processor is the same as or different from the first processor.
Claim 15:
train a neural network based on an artificial neural network and historical case log data sets comprising historical outcome data correlated with one or more of historical patient data, historical implant data, or historical healthcare professional data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure, wherein the artificial neural network comprises a plurality of input nodes and downstream nodes coupled by connections having associated weighting values;
apply the neural network to current patient data for a current patient to generate a predictor equation, wherein the current patient data comprises at least anatomy data for an anatomy of the current patient, and wherein the predictor equation functionally relates a size, position, and orientation of an implant to an estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient;
optimize the predictor equation to generate one or more of the size, the position, or the orientation of the implant, and one or more resection parameters for one or more resections required to achieve the position and orientation of the implant with respect to the anatomy of the current patient as part of a surgical plan for the current patient undergoing the surgical procedure;
control actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan, based on the size, position, and orientation of the implant; and
update the neural network based on the current patient data and current outcome data generated for the current patient following execution of the surgical procedure, wherein the surgical procedure is an orthopedic procedure
The subject matter of the present application amounts to claims which
are broader in scope. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by an invention within the scope of the generic claims. Dependent claim 3 is anticipated by claim 1 of US12343085B2 for reciting wherein the surgical procedure is an orthopedic procedure. Dependent claims 4 & 16 are anticipated by claim 1 of US12343085B2 for reciting wherein the controlling of the actuation by the processor is based on a size, position and orientation of the implant. Dependent claims 5 & 17 are anticipated by claim 1 of US12343085B2 for reciting wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical case log data sets. Dependent claims 6 & 18 are anticipated by claims 1 of US12343085B2 for reciting wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical outcome data correlated with one or more of historical patient data, historical implant data, or historical healthcare professional data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure. Dependent claims 7 & 19 are anticipated by claims 1 of US12343085B2 for reciting wherein the predictor equation functionally relates a size, position, and orientation of the implant to the estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient. Dependent claims 8 & 20 are anticipated by claims 1 of US12343085B2 for reciting wherein the optimizing of the predictor equation generates a size, position, and orientation of the implant. Dependent claim 9 is anticipated by claim 1 of US12343085B2 for reciting wherein the at least one neural network comprises a plurality of input nodes and downstream nodes coupled by connections having associated weighting values. Dependent claim 10 is anticipated by claim 3 of US12343085B2 for reciting wherein each of the weighting values comprises a predictor equation coefficient. Dependent claim 11 is anticipated by claim 4 of US12343085B2 for reciting obtaining a sensitivity threshold value; and applying the sensitivity threshold value to disregard one or more of the input nodes. Dependent claim 12 is anticipated by claim 5 of US12343085B2 for reciting providing input data comprising signals that correspond with the input nodes to the neural network as seeding data, wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical case log data sets, and wherein the input data is extracted from the historical case log data sets. Dependent claim 13 is anticipated by claim 5 of US12343085B2 for reciting providing input data comprising signals that correspond with the input nodes to the neural network as seeding data, wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical case log data sets, and wherein the input data is extracted from the historical case log data sets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim(s) recite(s) subject matter within a statutory category as a process (claims 1-13) and system (claims 14-20).
INDEPENDENT CLAIMS
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 1 recites steps of
training at least one neural network based on historical outcome data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure;
applying, by a first processor, the at least one neural network to current patient data to generate a predictor equation, wherein the current patient data comprises at least anatomy data for an anatomy of a current patient and wherein the predictor equation functionally relates an implant to an estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient;
optimizing, by the first processor, the predictor equation to generate one or more resection parameters for one or more resections required to achieve a position and orientation of the implant with respect to the anatomy of the current patient as part of a surgical plan for the current patient undergoing the surgical procedure;
updating the at least one neural network based on the current patient data and current outcome data generated for the current patient following execution of the surgical plan; and
controlling, by a second processor, actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan, wherein the second processor is the same as or different from the first processor.
Claim 14 recites similar limitations as claim 1 but for the recitation of generic computer components.
These steps for surgical planning, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, includes methods of organizing human activity but for recitation of generic computer components. That is nothing in the claim element precludes the italicized portions from managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people by organizing the activity around surgical planning for a surgical procedure. This could be analogized to considering historical usage information while inputting data. In addition, the italicized portions containing the recitation of training at least one neural network, generating a predictor equation, and optimizing the predictor equation have been treated as part of the abstract idea, specifically as mathematical calculations, which falls within the abstract idea of mathematical concepts, in light of the 2024 USPTO AI Guidance. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance as organizing human activity and mathematical calculations but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements non-italicized portions identified above for claims 1 and 14 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (such as
applying, by a first processor, the at least one neural network; controlling, by a second processor, actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of the surgical procedure […] wherein the second processor is the same as or different from the first processor; and, memory comprising programmed instructions stored thereon for improved surgical planning and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the stored programmed instructions amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f);
Each of the above additional elements therefore only amounts to mere instructions to implement functions within the abstract idea using generic computer components or other machines within their ordinary capacity, and add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. These elements are therefore not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical
application. Therefore, the above claims, as a whole, are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception in particular fields such as applying, by a processor, the at least one neural network; and, controlling, by a second processor, actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of the surgical procedure, e.g., requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer, see Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank, MPEP 2106.05(f); and, wherein the second processor is the same as or different from the first processor; and, memory comprising programmed instructions stored thereon for improved surgical planning and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the stored programmed instructions, e.g., a commonplace business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general-purpose computer, Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, MPEP 2106.05(f)
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation.
DEPENDENT CLAIMS
Step 2A Prong 1
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims (such as claims 3-13 and 16-20 reciting particular aspects of surgical planning such as
[Claim 3] wherein the surgical procedure is an orthopedic procedure;
[Claims 4 & 16] wherein the controlling of the actuation by the second processor is based on a size, position and orientation of the implant;
[Claims 5 & 17] wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical case log data sets;
[Claims 6 & 18] wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical outcome data correlated with one or more of historical patient data, historical implant data, or historical healthcare professional data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure;
[Claims 7 & 19] wherein the predictor equation functionally relates a size, position, and orientation of the implant to the estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient;
[Claims 8 & 20] wherein the optimizing of the predictor equation generates a size, position, and orientation of the implant;
[Claim 9] wherein the at least one neural network comprises a plurality of input nodes and downstream nodes coupled by connections having associated weighting values;
[Claim 10] wherein each of the weighting values comprises a predictor equation coefficient;
[Claim 11] obtaining a sensitivity threshold value; and
applying the sensitivity threshold value to disregard one or more of the input nodes;
[Claim 12] providing input data comprising signals that correspond with the input nodes to the neural network as seeding data, wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical case log data sets, and wherein the input data is extracted from the historical case log data sets; and,
[Claim 13] altering the weighting values until the neural network is configured to provide a result that corresponds with the historical outcome data;
these italicized portions are methods of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components since they merely describe types of data and determinations that can be performed by humans. Additionally, the italicized portions containing the recitations of functionally relating a size, position, and orientation of the implant to the estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient; generating a size, position, and orientation of the implant; and, altering the weighting values have been treated as part of the abstract idea, specifically as mathematical calculations, which falls within the abstract idea of mathematical concepts, in light of the 2024 USPTO AI Guidance).
Step 2A Prong 2
Dependent claims 9 and 11-12 recites additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (the additional limitations in claim 9 (wherein the at least one neural network comprises a plurality of input nodes and downstream nodes coupled by connections having associated weighting values), claim 11 (one or more of the input nodes), and claim 12 (the input nodes to the neural network) amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)); and, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea such as recitation of claim 12 (obtaining a sensitivity threshold value) amounts to mere data gathering since it does not add meaningful limitation to the obtaining action performed, see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B
Dependent claims 9 and 11-12 recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, e.g., requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer, see Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank, MPEP 2106.05(f). Also, see [0253] which provides examples of HMDs, [0298] which provides examples of memory devices, [0307] disclosing examples of various in-theater or mobile devices, and [0314] disclosing examples of various machine learning algorithms. Dependent claim 12 recites additional subject matter which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields such as recitation of receiving the reference image set amounts; e.g., receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i). There is no indication that these additional elements improve the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation.
Therefore, in consideration of all the facts, the present invention is not a patent-eligible invention under USC 101. Additionally, it is evident that the present claims monopolize the concept of using machine learning to plan bone resections (regardless of how it's done), restricting further innovation in this area without offering a specific, technical improvement to how the computer actually operates. Using AI tools is generally not enough to transform an abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter if the core of the invention is still abstract; “monopolization of those tools through the grant of a patent might tend to impede innovation more than it would tend to promote it.” Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 216, 110 USPQ2d at 1980 (quoting Myriad, 569 U.S. at 589, 106 USPQ2d at 1978 and Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laster et al. (US20170061375A1) in view of McKinnon et al. (US20130203031A1) and further in view of Daley et al. (US20180233222A1).
Regarding claim 1, Laster discloses training at least one neural network based on historical outcome data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure ([0069] “In some implementations, the predictive models may be trained using machine learning algorithms. […] Examples of types of machine learning models that may be used include […] artificial neural networks” [0040] “The predictive model has been trained using data indicating characteristics of other patients and items used in surgeries for the other patients.”)
applying, by a first processor, the at least one neural network to current patient data to generate a predictor equation ([0069] “In some implementations, the predictive models may be trained using machine learning algorithms. […] Examples of types of machine learning models that may be used include […] artificial neural networks” [0280] “The processes and logic flows described in this specification may be performed by one or more programmable processors executing one or more computer programs to perform functions by operating on input data and generating output.” [0069] “The predictive models 112 may be implemented in any of a variety of forms. For example, the predictive models 112 may be a set of rules, for example, rules, equations, or other expressions determined through regression analysis.”)
wherein the current patient data comprises at least anatomy data for an anatomy of the current patient ([0082] “The surgeon profile may include a variety of other information […] a patient's anatomy is between two sizes of implants.”)
updating the at least one neural network based on the current patient data and current outcome data generated for the current patient following execution of the surgical plan ([0132] “Further, the decision whether to generate or use a customized model may be determined by analysis of predictions made by one model relative to the actual outcomes observed, e.g., the implant components actually used.” [0036] “after the scheduled orthopaedic surgery is completed, receiving data indicating a size of the implant component that was implanted in the particular patient; based on the data indicating the size of the implant component that was implanted in the particular patient, altering parameters of the one or more models to change probabilities indicated by the one or more models for one or more sizes of the implant component”)
Laster does not explicitly disclose however McKinnon teaches and wherein the predictor equation functionally relates an implant to an estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient ([0125] “In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1 a and b, step 118 utilizes a defined relationship or relationships between the orthopaedic factors and responses to identify an optimal biomechanic size for the orthopaedic implant as well as an optimal biomechanic position and orientation for the implant. These relationships may take a variety of forms.” [0126] “In one instance, the relationship between the orthopaedic factors and responses may be in the form of a series of mathematical equations, one for each orthopaedic response.”)
optimizing, by the first processor, the predictor equation to generate one or more resection parameters for one or more resections required to achieve a position and orientation of the implant with respect to the anatomy of the current patient as part of a surgical plan for the current patient undergoing the surgical procedure ([0006] “in the computer processor” [0085] “In this example, the method identifies an optimal implant for the patient's particular anatomy and biomechanics as well as an optimal position and orientation (e.g. in six degrees of freedom) for implantation of the implant. In this example, these optimized parameters are output in the form of data reflecting a recommended femoral component, tibial component” [0225] “data generated based on the patient characteristics for the particular patient and the information indicating the one or more characteristics of the surgical plan for the planned surgery for the particular patient”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Laster’s techniques for providing implants for surgery with McKinnon’s techniques for optimizing parameters. The motivation for the combination of Laster and McKinnon is to modify the system of Laster to incorporate a predictor equation that functionally relates an implant; and, optimizing the predictor equation as in McKinnon to optimize the biomechanic and anatomic fit of an orthopaedic implant for the surgical procedure (See McKinnon, Background).
Laster in view of McKinnon does not explicitly disclose however Daley teaches controlling, by a second processor, actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan, wherein the second processor is the same as or different from the first processor ([0048] “a system which generally includes one or more computers (such as one or more servers and one or more memory devices that store one or more databases)” [0059] “In some examples, the system or method may be used with a robotic surgical system in robotic assisted surgical procedures; […] For example, the system may include a surgical robot including a robotic arm, which may be operated by a surgeon, semi-autonomously, autonomously, or a combination thereof […] the operative plan during the surgical procedure based on intraoperative data collected during the surgical procedure.” [0067] “generate a preoperative plan for a tumor resection procedure.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Laster’s techniques for providing implants for surgery and McKinnon’s techniques for optimizing parameters with Daley’s techniques for surgical procedure planning. The motivation for the combination of Laster, McKinnon, and Daley is to modify the system of Laster and McKinnon to control, by a second processor, actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan, wherein the second processor is the same as or different from the first processor as in Daley to execute a personalized workflow for the surgical procedure on the target patient (See Daley, Background).
Regarding claim 3, Laster discloses wherein the surgical procedure is an orthopedic procedure ([0173] “for example, the surgical plan for a patient indicates a left knee replacement is to be performed.”)
Regarding claim 4, Laster does not explicitly disclose however McKinnon teaches wherein the controlling of the actuation by the second processor is based on a size, position and orientation of the implant ([0006] “in the computer processor” [0085] “In this example, the method identifies an optimal implant for the patient's particular anatomy and biomechanics as well as an optimal position and orientation (e.g. in six degrees of freedom) for implantation of the implant. In this example, these optimized parameters are output in the form of data reflecting a recommended femoral component, tibial component, and optionally patellar component, and custom cutting guides for implanting the components in the patient's joint.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Laster’s techniques for providing implants for surgery with McKinnon’s techniques for optimizing parameters. The motivation for the combination of Laster and McKinnon is to modify the system of Laster to incorporate on a size, position and orientation of the implant as in McKinnon to optimize the biomechanic and anatomic fit of an orthopaedic implant for the surgical procedure (See McKinnon, Background).
Regarding claim 5, Laster discloses wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical case log data sets ([0069] “In some implementations, the predictive models may be trained using machine learning algorithms. […] Examples of types of machine learning models that may be used include […] artificial neural networks” [0040] “The predictive model has been trained using data indicating characteristics of other patients and items used in surgeries for the other patients.”)
Regarding claim 6, Laster discloses wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical outcome data correlated with one or more of historical patient data, historical implant data, or historical healthcare professional data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure ([0126] “In some implementations, surgeon preferences may be used to adjust the probability measures, such as the outputs 310 a-310 f of the predictive model 112 or the weighted scores 320. The surgeon preferences may be explicitly indicated by the surgeon or may be inferred from a history of procedures performed by the surgeon.”)
Regarding claim 7, Laster does not explicitly disclose however McKinnon teaches wherein the predictor equation functionally relates a size, position, and orientation of the implant to the estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient ([0125] “In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1 a and b, step 118 utilizes a defined relationship or relationships between the orthopaedic factors and responses to identify an optimal biomechanic size for the orthopaedic implant as well as an optimal biomechanic position and orientation for the implant. These relationships may take a variety of forms.” [0126] “In one instance, the relationship between the orthopaedic factors and responses may be in the form of a series of mathematical equations, one for each orthopaedic response.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Laster’s techniques for providing implants for surgery with McKinnon’s techniques for optimizing parameters. The motivation for the combination of Laster and McKinnon is to modify the system of Laster to incorporate the predictor equation functionally relating a size, position, and orientation of the implant to the estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient as in McKinnon to optimize the biomechanic and anatomic fit of an orthopaedic implant for the surgical procedure (See McKinnon, Background).
Regarding claim 8, Laster does not explicitly disclose however McKinnon teaches wherein the optimizing of the predictor equation generates a size, position, and orientation of the implant ([0085] “In this example, the method identifies an optimal implant for the patient's particular anatomy and biomechanics as well as an optimal position and orientation (e.g. in six degrees of freedom) for implantation of the implant. In this example, these optimized parameters are output in the form of data reflecting a recommended femoral component, tibial component.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Laster’s techniques for providing implants for surgery with McKinnon’s techniques for optimizing parameters. The motivation for the combination of Laster and McKinnon is to modify the system of Laster to incorporate generating a size, position, and orientation of the implant as in McKinnon to optimize the biomechanic and anatomic fit of an orthopaedic implant for the surgical procedure (See McKinnon, Background).
Regarding claim 9, Laster discloses wherein the at least one neural network comprises […] having associated weighting values ([0142] “As another example, the predictive model 112 may be a machine learning classifier, an artificial neural network […]” [0119] “The predictive model 112 may naturally assign greatest weight to these parameters.”)
Laster does not explicitly disclose however McKinnon teaches […] a plurality of input nodes and downstream nodes coupled by connections […] ([0129] “FIG. 12 schematically illustrates a set of three trained neural networks providing relationships between the factors (inputs to the neural networks) and the responses (outputs of the neural networks) via a series of interlinked nodes.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Laster’s techniques for providing implants for surgery with McKinnon’s techniques for optimizing parameters. The motivation for the combination of Laster and McKinnon is to modify the system of Laster to incorporate a plurality of input nodes and downstream nodes coupled by connections as in McKinnon to optimize the biomechanic and anatomic fit of an orthopaedic implant for the surgical procedure (See McKinnon, Background).
Regarding claim 10, Laster discloses wherein each of the weighting values comprises a predictor equation coefficient ([0124] “In the example, the weighted scores 320 may represent fractional quantities to indicate that there is a relatively low likelihood that the item will be used. For example, a probability of use that is less than 15% may be assigned a weighted score of “0.3,” representing roughly one third of the item.”)
Regarding claim 11, Laster discloses obtaining a sensitivity threshold value; and applying the sensitivity threshold value to disregard […] ([0107] “To select from among various alternatives, the scheduler 110 may apply one or more thresholds so that appropriate items are selected. […] a set of items are selected whose combined likelihood scores meet a threshold”)
Laster does not explicitly disclose however McKinnon teaches […] one or more of the input nodes ([0129] “FIG. 12 schematically illustrates a set of three trained neural networks providing relationships between the factors (inputs to the neural networks) and the responses (outputs of the neural networks) via a series of interlinked nodes.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Laster’s techniques for providing implants for surgery with McKinnon’s techniques for optimizing parameters. The motivation for the combination of Laster and McKinnon is to modify the system of Laster to incorporate one or more of the input nodes as in McKinnon to optimize the biomechanic and anatomic fit of an orthopaedic implant for the surgical procedure (See McKinnon, Background).
Regarding claim 12, Laster discloses providing input data comprising signals that correspond with the input nodes to the neural network as seeding data, wherein the training of the neural network is based on historical case log data sets, and wherein the input data is extracted from the historical case log data sets ([0119] “The degree to which the inputs affect the output of the predictive model 112 may vary based on the data used to generate or train the predictive model 112 […] The parameters that define the predictive model 112 are learned or derived from the training data set, and so the predictive model 112 reflects the various relationships that exist in the training data set.” [0040] “The predictive model has been trained using data indicating characteristics of other patients and items used in surgeries for the other patients.”)
Regarding claim 13, Laster discloses altering the weighting values until the artificial neural network is configured to provide a result that corresponds with the historical outcome data ([0068] “The predictive models 112 can continue to be trained and updated over time.” [0145] “Training data that is generated at a location geographically near the medical facility where the medical procedure was performed can be given more weight than data for procedures performed farther away.”)
Regarding claim 14, Laster discloses memory comprising programmed instructions stored thereon for improved surgical planning and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the stored programmed instructions ([0281] “Generally, a processor will receive instructions and data from a read only memory or a random access memory or both. The essential elements of a computer are a processor for performing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data.”)
train at least one neural network based on historical outcome data associated with a plurality of instances of a surgical procedure ([0069] “In some implementations, the predictive models may be trained using machine learning algorithms. […] Examples of types of machine learning models that may be used include […] artificial neural networks” [0040] “The predictive model has been trained using data indicating characteristics of other patients and items used in surgeries for the other patients.”)
apply, by a first processor of the one or more processors, the at least one neural network to current patient data to generate a predictor equation ([0069] “In some implementations, the predictive models may be trained using machine learning algorithms. […] Examples of types of machine learning models that may be used include […] artificial neural networks” [0280] “The processes and logic flows described in this specification may be performed by one or more programmable processors executing one or more computer programs to perform functions by operating on input data and generating output.” [0069] “The predictive models 112 may be implemented in any of a variety of forms. For example, the predictive models 112 may be a set of rules, for example, rules, equations, or other expressions determined through regression analysis.”)
wherein the current patient data comprises at least anatomy data for an anatomy of the current patient ([0082] “The surgeon profile may include a variety of other information […] a patient's anatomy is between two sizes of implants.”)
and update the at least one neural network based on the current patient data and current outcome data generated for the current patient following execution of the surgical plan ([0132] “Further, the decision whether to generate or use a customized model may be determined by analysis of predictions made by one model relative to the actual outcomes observed, e.g., the implant components actually used.” [0036] “after the scheduled orthopaedic surgery is completed, receiving data indicating a size of the implant component that was implanted in the particular patient; based on the data indicating the size of the implant component that was implanted in the particular patient, altering parameters of the one or more models to change probabilities indicated by the one or more models for one or more sizes of the implant component”)
Laster does not explicitly disclose however McKinnon teaches and wherein the predictor equation functionally relates an implant to an estimated response for the anatomy of the current patient ([0125] “In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1 a and b, step 118 utilizes a defined relationship or relationships between the orthopaedic factors and responses to identify an optimal biomechanic size for the orthopaedic implant as well as an optimal biomechanic position and orientation for the implant. These relationships may take a variety of forms.” [0126] “In one instance, the relationship between the orthopaedic factors and responses may be in the form of a series of mathematical equations, one for each orthopaedic response.”)
optimize, by the first processor, the predictor equation to generate one or more resection parameters for one or more resections required to achieve a position and orientation of the implant with respect to the anatomy of the current patient as part of a surgical plan for the current patient undergoing the surgical procedure ([0006] “in the computer processor” [0085] “In this example, the method identifies an optimal implant for the patient's particular anatomy and biomechanics as well as an optimal position and orientation (e.g. in six degrees of freedom) for implantation of the implant. In this example, these optimized parameters are output in the form of data reflecting a recommended femoral component, tibial component” [0225] “data generated based on the patient characteristics for the particular patient and the information indicating the one or more characteristics of the surgical plan for the planned surgery for the particular patient”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Laster’s techniques for providing implants for surgery with McKinnon’s techniques for optimizing parameters. The motivation for the combination of Laster and McKinnon is to modify the system of Laster to incorporate a predictor equation that functionally relates an implant; and, optimizing the predictor equation as in McKinnon to optimize the biomechanic and anatomic fit of an orthopaedic implant for the surgical procedure (See McKinnon, Background).
Laster in view of McKinnon does not explicitly disclose however Daley teaches control, by a second processor, actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan, wherein the second processor is the same as or different from the first processor ([0048] “a system which generally includes one or more computers (such as one or more servers and one or more memory devices that store one or more databases)” [0059] “In some examples, the system or method may be used with a robotic surgical system in robotic assisted surgical procedures; […] For example, the system may include a surgical robot including a robotic arm, which may be operated by a surgeon, semi-autonomously, autonomously, or a combination thereof […] the operative plan during the surgical procedure based on intraoperative data collected during the surgical procedure.” [0067] “generate a preoperative plan for a tumor resection procedure.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Laster’s techniques for providing implants for surgery and McKinnon’s techniques for optimizing parameters with Daley’s techniques for surgical procedure planning. The motivation for the combination of Laster, McKinnon, and Daley is to modify the system of Laster and McKinnon to control, by a second processor, actuation of a surgical tool to implement a resection of the surgical procedure according to the surgical plan, wherein the second processor is the same as or different from the first processor as in Daley to execute a personalized workflow for the surgical procedure on the target patient (See Daley, Background).
Regarding claim 16, the limitations are rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the limitations are rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, the limitations are rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations are rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, the limitations are rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 8.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed on 09 September 2026 have been considered but are not fully persuasive.
Regarding the priority, applicant has canceled claims 2 & 15 and asserts that the remaining claims are entitled to the priority dates of the priority documents. Applicant states that a statement that the examiner "cannot find" the disclosure, unaccompanied by any explanation of why the disclosure that is present is insufficient, does not discharge that burden. Applicant then asserts that every limitation of claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 of the present claims are disclosed in PCT/US2020/016569 (which is substantively identical in its written description to the present specification) and U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/939,946, filed November 25, 2019; applicant does a feature-by-feature mapping for claim 1. Applicant states that the corresponding disclosure appears in U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/801,245, filed February 5, 2019, at paragraphs [0125]-[0132] requests withdrawal of the finding under 35 U.S.C. § l 12(a) and acknowledgment of the benefit claim.
Examiner disagrees with the applicant’s arguments. Examiner asserts that the explanation in the office action is sufficient because the support for the limitation is not apparent to the examiner. The burden shifts to the applicant to show exactly where the disclosure supports the new matter. For example, applicant is claiming priority to 62/801,257 which has unrelated subject matter to present application. It is unclear what mixed reality visualization has to do with surgical planning. Applicant has not fully mapped 62/801,245 to the claim limitations. Therefore, while examiner has determined applicant is entitled to the priority dates of PCT/US2020/016569 and 62/939,946, applicant is not entitled to the priority dates of the remaining documents.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, applicant requests that the non-statutory double patenting rejection be held in abeyance until the remaining rejections are resolved and the claims otherwise stand in condition for allowance.
Examiner disagrees with the applicant and points out MPEP 804 clearly states that if an applicant does not file a terminal disclaimer or show the claims are patentably distinct, then it is an incomplete response i.e., non-responsive. MPEP 804 also states that the filing of a terminal disclaimer should not be held in abeyance when the double patenting rejection is present. There is no allowable subject matter presently. Therefore, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Regarding the USC 101 rejection, applicant argues that the claims are not directed to the abstract idea because, taken as a whole, the claims integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. Applicant recites the limitations of claim 1 and asserts that the contents of claim have been amended into claim 1. The prophylaxis section of the MPEP is cited with the applicant arguing that surgery is expressly identified in the USPTO’s Guidance as a treatment limitation. That claim 1 affirmatively describes actuation of a surgical tool to carry out the resection defined by the optimization step. Applicant asserts that the output of the recited optimization is not an abstract score or recommendation but a set of resection parameters defining physical cuts to be made in a specific patient's bone, and the recited network is then updated using outcome data that can exist only after that surgical plan has been executed on that patient. Applicant cites [0217] to assert the physical character of the resection parameters for the removal of bone from a particular patient's anatomy. Applicant then asserts that the claim has not been considered as a whole and that no limitation of claims 1 and 14 recite methods of organizing human activity. Regarding the first and second processor, applicant cites [0086] and [0298] to assert supporting configurations in which different processors perform different operations as well as configurations where a single processor performs all operations.
Examiner disagrees with the applicant’s arguments. While applicant is trying to clarify the claim language with amendments, they do little to overcome USC 101. Examiner asserts that the claims are still directed to the judicial exception(s) as confirmed by multiple subject matter experts at the USPTO. Applicant’s invention is clearly methods of organizing human activity because planning a schedule, a procedure, or a workflow has historically been done by humans using logic and paper. Translating this logic onto a computer does not change its abstract nature. MPEP 2106 is clear in that claims can recite an abstract idea even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. Examiner points to the USPTO October 2019 Guidance (also incorporated in MPEP 2106) which states that claims can recite an abstract idea even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. The USPTO October 2019 Guidance is clear in that the courts have found claims requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite an abstract idea even though the limitations may not be entirely performed by humans. The computer components recited in the present application are still recited at a high level of generality. The computers in the claims are not used in a specific, inventive way. Merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 224, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs. v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093-94 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("Just as Diehr could not save the claims in Alice, which were directed to ‘implement[ing] the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer’, it cannot save OIP's claims directed to implementing the abstract idea of price optimization on a generic computer.") (citations omitted). Even if the claims nominally recites computer components that are rooted in technology, there is no recitation of how the computer components are specifically programmed to distinguish from generic computer processes. Further analyzing the additional elements under Step 2A Prong 2, examiner asserts that the amendments do not move the needle on USC 101 since the specification provides a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art. The MPEP provides that improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field can signal eligibility, see MPEP 2106.05(a), and provides examples of improvements to computer functionality, MPEP 2106.05(a)(I), and improvements to any other technology of technical field, MPEP 2106.05(a)(I). “In computer-related technologies, the examiner should determine whether the claim purports to improve computer capabilities or, instead, invokes computers merely as a tool”. Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1336, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 2016). In Enfish, the court evaluated the patent eligibility of claims related to a self-referential database. Id. The court concluded the claims were not directed to an abstract idea, but rather an improvement to computer functionality. Id. It was the specification' s discussion of the prior art and how the invention improved the way the computer stores and retrieves data in memory in combination with the specific data structure recited in the claims that demonstrated eligibility. 822 F.3d at 1339, 118 USPQ2d at 1691. The claim was not simply the addition of general-purpose computers added post-hoc to an abstract idea, but a specific implementation of a solution to a problem in the software arts. 822 F.3d at 1339, 118 USPQ2d at 1691. Unlike Enfish, the instant claimed invention appears to improve upon a judicial exception rather than a problem in the software arts. Rather than improving a computer's algorithm (i.e., solving a technically based problem), the claimed invention purports to solve the non-technological problem of a surgeon often needing to modify a surgical plan in the surgery theater ([0004] of the specification) through automating the improvement to surgical planning using machine learning ([0006] of specification). Applicant’s main/glaring issue is that the specification does not show or describe a deficiency in computer technology. Instead, applicant is solving an administrative or medical management problem and improving upon the judicial exception. Applicant’s specification strengthens the USPTO’s position since [0006] literally admits that applicant is using machine learning to improve surgical planning. All the applicant is doing is applying known technology for their intended benefit(s) to a new data environment and calling it an improvement (see Customedia Techs., LLC v. Dish Network Corp., Case No.18-2239 (Fed. Cir. Mar. 6, 2020).
The examiner asserts the following facts which the applicant won’t be able to dispute:
1) the invention does NOT involve a novel algorithm or data structure that significantly improves the computer's functionality,
2) the invention does NOT involve a new hardware component or configuration that works with the computer to achieve a specific technical benefit, and
3) the computer is NOT used in a completely new way demonstrating a significant technical advancement.
There seems to be a disconnect between what the applicant is arguing based on the specification and what is actually claimed. First, applicant has asserted that the resection is being performed on bone, but examiner points out there is zero recitation of bone in the claim. Under BRI, performing a resection wouldn’t be restricted to bone and can reasonably encompass other rigid or semi-rigid tissue resections that require an implant, e.g., cartilage which is mentioned in the applicant’s specification. Second, applicant cites [0217] to explain the controlling step, but examiner points out there is no nexus between the controlling step claim language and the cited paragraph. Paragraph [0217] specifies using “feedback control” and even mentions “speed” and “depth” being modulated where the cutting tool will “stop or retract” based on its position. None of this is in the claim the applicant is arguing. In fact, under BRI, applicant’s controlling step could simply mean a simple on/off trigger to cut off power to a tool as the applicant themselves argued and cited portions of the specification specifying the “second processor” does not need to be an advanced system. The applicant even stated on page 12 of the arguments on record that the “second processor” may be the same as the first processor (as also claimed) in which case a single, basic computer chip could handle both the planning stage and the tool-triggering stage. There is no requirement in the claim for physical movement of the surgical tool. If it merely restricts or gates a human's manual movement based on the plan (like an intelligent safety switch), it still fits the definition of "controlling actuation." Improvement to the abstract idea is not an improvement to computer technology. Thus, examiner does not see the present claims improving the functioning of a computer or provide improvements to any other technology or technical field. Applicant’s amended claim glaringly still does not show any improvement to the additional element(s). The claimed invention appears similar to the example of improvements that are insufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality such as arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019). See MPEP 2106.05(a)(I)(viii). The asserted benefits from the applicant’s invention seem to come as a result of the use of general-purpose computers. The broad claims are lacking concrete limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Examiner points out that the claimed limitations have no indication in the specification that the operations recited invoke any inventive programming, require any specialized computer hardware or other inventive computer components, i.e., a particular machine, or that the claimed invention is implemented using other than generic computer components to perform generic computer functions. See DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1256 (fed Cir. 2014) (“[A]fter Alice, there can remain no doubt: recitation of generic computer limitations does not make an otherwise ineligible claim patent-eligible.”). Most importantly, in DDR Holdings & unlike the present claims, the claims at issue specified how interactions with the Internet were manipulated to yield a desired result—a result that overrode the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink. 773 F.3d at 1258; 113 USPQ2d at 1106. The examiner also points out that there is no indication in the specification that the claimed invention affects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Examiner points to the recitation of neural network in the claim(s) as generic. "[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention." Alice Corp. v. CLS Banklnt'l, 573 U.S. 208 223 (2014). Applicant does not and cannot contend they invented the concept of neural network, nor does the specification disclose any new neural network technique. The alleged improvement of using at least one neural network lies in the abstract idea itself, not to any technological improvement nor to any improvement to the functioning of a computer. See BSG Tech LLC v. Buyseasons, Inc., 899 F.3d 1281, 1287-88 (Fed. Cir. 2018). The fact pattern of the applicant’s claims is congruent to the Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., 2025 U.S.P.Q.2d 628 (Fed. Cir. 2025) decision by the Federal Circuit. Just like in Recentive, the present claims still do not delineate steps through which the neural network achieves an improvement. See, e.g., IBM v. Zillow Grp., Inc., 50 F.4th 1371, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2022) (holding abstract a claim that "d[id] not sufficiently describe how to achieve [its stated] results in a non-abstract way," because "[s]uch functional claim language, without more, is insufficient for patentability under our law." (quoting Two-Way Media Ltd v. Comcast Cable Commc'ns, LLC, 874 F.3d 1329, 1337 (Fed. Cir. 2017))); see also Intell. Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Fin. Corp., 850 F.3d 1332, 1342 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (similar); Elec. Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (similar). Claiming a mere concept or functional result without disclosing the implementation details does not overcome USC 101. Applying an established technique to a new field or data set is insufficient for patent eligibility. Examiner also points out applicant’s invention is not a particular treatment. Examiner reminds the applicant that MPEP 2106 specifies that in order to qualify as a "treatment" or "prophylaxis" limitation for purposes of this consideration, the claim limitation in question must affirmatively recite an action that effects a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. An example of such a limitation with the beta blocker example in the MPEP is the step of “administering a lower-than-normal dosage of a beta blocker medication to a patient identified as having the poor metabolizer genotype.” For the present claims 1 and 14, how can a limitation be considered a treatment if there is not even a disease or medical condition specified that requires treatment?
To show an involvement of a computer assists in improving technology, the claims must recite details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology (MPEP 2106.05(a)(II)). In Finjan, Inc. v. Blue Coat Systems the courts found that the claims were “directed to a non-abstract improvement in computer functionality…” (MPEP 2106.04(d)). The present invention does not meet the condition set forth by the courts and thus does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims are clearly not eligible under Step 2A Prong 2. The applicant has not demonstrated that their invention is inventive. There is absolutely no justification for withdrawing the USC 101. Therefore, the USC 101 rejection is strongly maintained.
Regarding the USC 103 rejection, in response to applicant's arguments that Laster fails to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a neural network that, when applied to a patient's data, emits or outputs an equation”) is not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The broadest reasonable interpretation of generate a predictor equation would not be limited to specifically emitting or outputting an equation. Examiner points out the specification barely explains how the predictor equation is actually generated so it is unclear where applicant is getting the terms emitting or outputting from. Generate and output are not even synonyms of each other in the English language. Examiner also points out that paragraphs like [0168] of the specification contradict the applicant’s argument because they disclose “the Surgical Computer 150 uses the parameters to retrieve a set of predictor equations from an Equation Database 410.”
Applicant argues that McKinnon fails to disclose resection parameters and goes on to describe the disclosure of McKinnon and Laster, asserting that the cited portions have nothing to do with resection parameters.
Examiner disagrees with the applicant’s arguments and points out that there seems to be a BRI issue. The portions of McKinnon cited by the examiner disclose the very parameters that are likewise disclosed in the applicant’s specification [0070]-[0224]. Examiner is confused on what the operations of McKinnon have to do with providing the resection parameters when the applicant’s claim itself does not 1) disclose what the resection parameters are and 2) does not disclose how the parameters are generated or what the operations specifically are to distinguish from McKinnon.
In response to applicant's arguments that Laster fails to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “which component was taken out of the box is a consumption record, not
outcome data generated for the patient following execution of the plan”) is not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The broadest reasonable interpretation of based on the current patient data and current outcome data generated for the current patient following execution of the surgical plan would not be limited to excluding Laster’s version of outcome data. Examiner points out that applicant’s own outcome data is generated following execution of the surgical plan. Likewise, as applicant argued on record, Laster’s outcome data is based on actual outcomes with respect to the execution of the scheduled orthopaedic surgery. So, examiner is confused what the applicant’s BRI really is since the citations are on point. If the applicant wants to clarify a certain interpretation regarding specific type of data, then the claim needs to reflect that interpretation clearly. Therefore, the USC 103 rejection is maintained.
Prior Art Cited but Not Relied Upon
Balshi, S. F., Wolfinger, G. J., & Balshi, T. J. (2006). Surgical planning and prosthesis construction using computed tomography, CAD/CAM technology, and the Internet for immediate loading of dental implants. Journal of Esthetic and Restorative Dentistry, 18(6), 312-323.
This reference is relevant because it discloses surgical planning for a prosthesis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WINSTON R FURTADO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687