Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The dependent claims do not cure the deficiency.
Claims 10-11 recite the limitation "the ceramic part" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the claims are referring to the first or second ceramic part. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be treated as “the first ceramic part”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura (US 20190081452) in view of Yamamoto (JP 2006049847). A machine translation of Yamamoto is attached as an English equivalent and is used in the citations below.
Regarding Claim 1, Miura teaches a composite ceramic member comprising a ceramic part (11, fluorescent part, [0044]), and a connection part connected to the ceramic part (12, light reflecting part, [0044]); and a precious metal layer on a surface region of the connection part and delineated by the boundary between the ceramic part and the connection part (50, connecting member, [0066]).
Miura is silent as to the method of applying the precious metal layer; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to related art to determine a suitable coating method. Yamamoto teaches a method of achieving a metal coating disposed on one portion of a substrate and not on a second portion of a substrate. Yamamoto teaches treating the surface to form regions with different adhesion, disposing a metal layer on the entire surface of the substrate, and removing a portion of the metal layer that is on the surface with less adhesion (pg. 5 4th para.; pg. 9 para. 1 and 2). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Miura to include a coating method, as taught in Yamamoto, because it is a known method of achieving a pattern coated surface in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the coating of Miura with a method as in Yamamoto.
Regarding Claim 2, Miura teaches the porosity of the first ceramic part is different from a porosity of the second ceramic part ([0067]).
Regarding Claims 3-4, Since Miura teaches the part is porous, the coating inherently enters depressions located at the surface to some degree. Miura teaches the precious metal layer remains on the connection part (Figure 4).
Regarding Claims 5-8, Miura teaches Ag or Au ([0066]).
Claim(s) 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura (US 20190081452) in view of Yamamoto (JP 2006049847) as applied to claims 1-8 above, and further in view of Matsumae (Matsumae, Surface activated bonding of Ti/Au and Ti/Pt/Au films after vacuum annealing for MEMS packaging, Microelectronic Engineering, Volume 197, 5 Oct 2018, pg. 76-82).
Regarding Claims 9-16, The combined references suggest removing a portion of the bonding material disposed on the surface of the first ceramic part and that the bonding material remains disposed on the connection part. Miura does not teach multi-layered bonding structures wherein the precious metal is overcoated with a layer of metal different than the precious metal layer; however, such bonding structures are known in the art (Matsumae abstract). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the bonding structure of the combined references to include multiple metal layers, as suggested by Matsumae, because they are known bonding structures and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the bonding of the combined references with a layered structure as in Matsumae.
Conclusion
/TABATHA L PENNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712