DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 06/05/2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "communication interface configured to" in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, 11, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Van Wiemeersch et al., US-20200310407-A1, hereinafter referred to as Van Wiemeersch.
As per claim 1
Van Wiemeersch discloses [a]n apparatus of a vehicle, the apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory storing at least one instruction that is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to (machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶72):
receive, via a wireless communication with a vehicle key associated with the vehicle, at least one input signal, wherein the at least one input signal is generated based on a button of the vehicle key being activated (key fob sends (i) a remote entry signal upon a user pressing a first combination of the button(s), When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108 - Van Wiemeersch ¶19 & ¶39);
determine a plurality of input signal patterns based on at least one of: a number of times that the at least one input signal is received, an interval of the at least one input signal, a duration of the at least one input signal, or a time at which the at least one input signal is received (When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100 - Van Wiemeersch ¶39);
control, based on the plurality of input signal patterns, the vehicle (the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100 - Van Wiemeersch ¶39).
As per claim 7
Van Wiemeersch further discloses wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to control the vehicle by: executing, based on determining an input signal pattern of the plurality of input signal patterns at a first time, a function, of the vehicle, that is assigned to the input signal pattern; and returning, based on determining the input signal pattern at a second time after the first time and after the function is executed, the vehicle to a state before executing the function (when the hatch button 308 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a hatch signal to actuate the hatch of the vehicle 100. When the hatch is closed, the vehicle 100 (e.g., via one of the door control units 628) is to open the hatch upon receiving the hatch signal. Further, in some examples when the hatch is open, the vehicle 100 (e.g., via one of the door control units 628) is to close the hatch upon receiving the hatch signal., machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶42 & ¶72).
As per claim 8
Van Wiemeersch further discloses wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to control the vehicle by: controlling, based on the plurality of input signal patterns, at least one of: a door of the vehicle, an ignition of the vehicle, an air conditioning system of the vehicle, lighting of the vehicle, security of the vehicle, parking of the vehicle, a seat of the vehicle, an alarm of the vehicle, charging of the vehicle, or a multimedia system of the vehicle (When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100, machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶39 & ¶72).
As per claim 9
Van Wiemeersch further discloses wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to determine the plurality of input signal patterns by: identifying different input signal patterns based on the number of times that the at least one input signal is repeated within a predetermined time period (A pressing of a combination of button(s) may include pressing a button once, pressing a button multiple times, and/or pressing a plurality of buttons (e.g., one or more times)., When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100, machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶19 & ¶39 & ¶72).
As per claim 11
Van Wiemeersch discloses [a] method performed by an apparatus of a vehicle, the method comprising (key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, some motive functions of a vehicle are autonomously controlled by the vehicle - Van Wiemeersch ¶5 & ¶17):
receiving, via a wireless communication with a vehicle key associated with the vehicle, at least one input signal, wherein the at least one input signal is generated based on a button of the vehicle key being activated (key fob sends (i) a remote entry signal upon a user pressing a first combination of the button(s), When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108 - Van Wiemeersch ¶19 & ¶39);
determining a plurality of input signal patterns based on at least one of a number of times that the at least one input signal is received, an interval of the at least one input signal, a duration of the at least one input signal, or a time at which the at least one input signal is received (When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100 - Van Wiemeersch ¶39);
controlling, based on the plurality of input signal patterns, the vehicle (the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100 - Van Wiemeersch ¶39).
As per claim 17
Van Wiemeersch further discloses wherein the controlling of the vehicle comprises: executing, based on determining an input signal pattern of the plurality of input signal patterns at a first time, a function, of the vehicle, that is assigned to the input signal pattern; and returning, based on determining the input signal pattern at a second time after the first time and after the function is executed, the vehicle to a state before executing the function (when the hatch button 308 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a hatch signal to actuate the hatch of the vehicle 100. When the hatch is closed, the vehicle 100 (e.g., via one of the door control units 628) is to open the hatch upon receiving the hatch signal. Further, in some examples when the hatch is open, the vehicle 100 (e.g., via one of the door control units 628) is to close the hatch upon receiving the hatch signal., machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶42 & ¶72).
As per claim 18
Van Wiemeersch further discloses wherein the controlling of the vehicle comprises: controlling, based on the plurality of input signal patterns, at least one of: a door of the vehicle, an ignition of the vehicle, an air conditioning system of the vehicle, lighting of the vehicle, security of the vehicle, parking of the vehicle, a seat of the vehicle, an alarm of the vehicle, charging of the vehicle, or a multimedia system of the vehicle (When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100, machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶39 & ¶72).
As per claim 19
Van Wiemeersch further discloses wherein the determining of the plurality of input signal patterns comprises: identifying different input signal patterns based on the number of times that the at least one input signal is repeated within a predetermined time period (A pressing of a combination of button(s) may include pressing a button once, pressing a button multiple times, and/or pressing a plurality of buttons (e.g., one or more times)., When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100, machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶19 & ¶39 & ¶72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 12-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wiemeersch, as per claims 1, and 11, respectively, and further in view of Ding et al., US-20220242368-A1, hereinafter referred to as Ding.
As per claim 2
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to further cause the apparatus to assign each of a plurality of functions of the vehicle to a corresponding one of the plurality of input signal patterns.
However, Ding teaches wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to further cause the apparatus to assign each of a plurality of functions of the vehicle to a corresponding one of the plurality of input signal patterns (a motion pattern is completed at an automobile remote control key, and then a message about the motion pattern is sent to a vehicle control system via a wireless communication unit… vehicle control system maps the motion pattern to a corresponding control command (for example,…locking and unlocking of a car door, button provided on a surface of the automobile remote control key…button, a mapping relationship between the motion pattern and the control command is set and stored in a memory of the automobile remote control key. The mapping relationship stored in the memory may also be modified through the operation on the button, a control command, control unit maps the motion pattern indicated by the message received…control command and instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation, or instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation based on the control command indicated by the message - Ding ¶52 & ¶53 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Ding teaches a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key, as taught by Ding, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the number of control functions of the vehicle remote control key is extended, see Ding ¶36 for details.
As per claim 3
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to further cause the apparatus to: receive assignment information from at least one of: a user interface of the vehicle, a user terminal associated with the vehicle, an infotainment system of the vehicle, or an external server communicating with the vehicle; and perform, based on the assignment information, at least one of: assigning each of a plurality of functions of the vehicle to a corresponding one of the plurality of input signal patterns; or reassigning the plurality of functions of the vehicle.
However, Ding teaches wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to further cause the apparatus to: receive assignment information from at least one of: a user interface of the vehicle, a user terminal associated with the vehicle, an infotainment system of the vehicle, or an external server communicating with the vehicle; and perform, based on the assignment information, at least one of: assigning each of a plurality of functions of the vehicle to a corresponding one of the plurality of input signal patterns; or reassigning the plurality of functions of the vehicle (a motion pattern is completed at an automobile remote control key, and then a message about the motion pattern is sent to a vehicle control system via a wireless communication unit… vehicle control system maps the motion pattern to a corresponding control command (for example,…locking and unlocking of a car door, button provided on a surface of the automobile remote control key…button, a mapping relationship between the motion pattern and the control command is set and stored in a memory of the automobile remote control key. The mapping relationship stored in the memory may also be modified through the operation on the button, a control command, control unit maps the motion pattern indicated by the message received…control command and instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation, or instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation based on the control command indicated by the message - Ding ¶52 & ¶53 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Ding teaches a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key, as taught by Ding, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the number of control functions of the vehicle remote control key is extended, see Ding ¶36 for details.
As per claim 4
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to receive the assignment information by: receiving the assignment information through at least one of: a communication interface configured to wirelessly relay data on the vehicle, or a gateway configured to route the data on the vehicle.
However, Ding teaches wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to receive the assignment information by: receiving the assignment information through at least one of: a communication interface configured to wirelessly relay data on the vehicle, or a gateway configured to route the data on the vehicle (a motion pattern is completed at an automobile remote control key, and then a message about the motion pattern is sent to a vehicle control system via a wireless communication unit…vehicle control system maps the motion pattern to a corresponding control command (for example,…locking and unlocking of a car door, button provided on a surface of the automobile remote control key…button, a mapping relationship between the motion pattern and the control command is set and stored in a memory of the automobile remote control key. The mapping relationship stored in the memory may also be modified through the operation on the button, a control command, control unit maps the motion pattern indicated by the message received…control command and instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation, or instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation based on the control command indicated by the message - Ding ¶52 & ¶53 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Ding teaches a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key, as taught by Ding, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the number of control functions of the vehicle remote control key is extended, see Ding ¶36 for details.
As per claim 5
Van Wiemeersch further discloses wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to control the vehicle by: performing one of: executing, based on the assignment of the first function to the first input signal pattern being activated, the first function; or not executing, based on the assignment of the first function to the first input signal pattern being deactivated, the first function (When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100, machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶39 & ¶72).
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose activating or deactivating an assignment of a first function of the vehicle to a first input signal pattern of the plurality of input signal patterns.
However, Ding teaches activating or deactivating an assignment of a first function of the vehicle to a first input signal pattern of the plurality of input signal patterns (a motion pattern is completed at an automobile remote control key, and then a message about the motion pattern is sent to a vehicle control system via a wireless communication unit… vehicle control system maps the motion pattern to a corresponding control command (for example,…locking and unlocking of a car door, button provided on a surface of the automobile remote control key…button, a mapping relationship between the motion pattern and the control command is set and stored in a memory of the automobile remote control key. The mapping relationship stored in the memory may also be modified through the operation on the button, a control command, control unit maps the motion pattern indicated by the message received…control command and instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation, or instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation based on the control command indicated by the message - Ding ¶52 & ¶53 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Ding teaches a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key, as taught by Ding, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the number of control functions of the vehicle remote control key is extended, see Ding ¶36 for details.
As per claim 12
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose further comprising: assigning each of a plurality of functions of the vehicle to a corresponding one of the plurality of input signal patterns.
However, Ding teaches further comprising: assigning each of a plurality of functions of the vehicle to a corresponding one of the plurality of input signal patterns (a motion pattern is completed at an automobile remote control key, and then a message about the motion pattern is sent to a vehicle control system via a wireless communication unit… vehicle control system maps the motion pattern to a corresponding control command (for example,…locking and unlocking of a car door, button provided on a surface of the automobile remote control key…button, a mapping relationship between the motion pattern and the control command is set and stored in a memory of the automobile remote control key. The mapping relationship stored in the memory may also be modified through the operation on the button, a control command, control unit maps the motion pattern indicated by the message received…control command and instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation, or instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation based on the control command indicated by the message - Ding ¶52 & ¶53 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Ding teaches a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key, as taught by Ding, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the number of control functions of the vehicle remote control key is extended, see Ding ¶36 for details.
As per claim 13
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose further comprising: receiving assignment information from at least one of: a user interface of the vehicle, a user terminal associated with the vehicle, an infotainment system of the vehicle, or an external server communicating with the vehicle; and performing, based on the assignment information, at least one of: assigning each of a plurality of functions of the vehicle to a corresponding one of the plurality of input signal patterns; or reassigning the plurality of functions of the vehicle.
However, Ding teaches further comprising: receiving assignment information from at least one of: a user interface of the vehicle, a user terminal associated with the vehicle, an infotainment system of the vehicle, or an external server communicating with the vehicle; and performing, based on the assignment information, at least one of: assigning each of a plurality of functions of the vehicle to a corresponding one of the plurality of input signal patterns; or reassigning the plurality of functions of the vehicle (a motion pattern is completed at an automobile remote control key, and then a message about the motion pattern is sent to a vehicle control system via a wireless communication unit…vehicle control system maps the motion pattern to a corresponding control command (for example,…locking and unlocking of a car door, button provided on a surface of the automobile remote control key…button, a mapping relationship between the motion pattern and the control command is set and stored in a memory of the automobile remote control key. The mapping relationship stored in the memory may also be modified through the operation on the button, a control command, control unit maps the motion pattern indicated by the message received…control command and instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation, or instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation based on the control command indicated by the message - Ding ¶52 & ¶53 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Ding teaches a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key, as taught by Ding, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the number of control functions of the vehicle remote control key is extended, see Ding ¶36 for details.
As per claim 14
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose wherein the receiving of the assignment information comprises: receiving the assignment information through at least one of: a communication interface configured to wirelessly relay data on the vehicle, or a gateway configured to route the data on the vehicle.
However, Ding teaches wherein the receiving of the assignment information comprises: receiving the assignment information through at least one of: a communication interface configured to wirelessly relay data on the vehicle, or a gateway configured to route the data on the vehicle (a motion pattern is completed at an automobile remote control key, and then a message about the motion pattern is sent to a vehicle control system via a wireless communication unit… vehicle control system maps the motion pattern to a corresponding control command (for example,…locking and unlocking of a car door, button provided on a surface of the automobile remote control key…button, a mapping relationship between the motion pattern and the control command is set and stored in a memory of the automobile remote control key. The mapping relationship stored in the memory may also be modified through the operation on the button, a control command, control unit maps the motion pattern indicated by the message received…control command and instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation, or instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation based on the control command indicated by the message - Ding ¶52 & ¶53 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Ding teaches a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key, as taught by Ding, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the number of control functions of the vehicle remote control key is extended, see Ding ¶36 for details.
As per claim 15
Van Wiemeersch further discloses wherein the controlling of the vehicle comprises: performing one of: executing, based on the assignment of the first function to the first input signal pattern being activated, the first function; or not executing, based on the assignment of the first function to the first input signal pattern being deactivated, the first function (When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100, machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶39 & ¶72).
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose activating or deactivating an assignment of a first function of the vehicle to a first input signal pattern of the plurality of input signal patterns.
However, Ding teaches activating or deactivating an assignment of a first function of the vehicle to a first input signal pattern of the plurality of input signal patterns (a motion pattern is completed at an automobile remote control key, and then a message about the motion pattern is sent to a vehicle control system via a wireless communication unit… vehicle control system maps the motion pattern to a corresponding control command (for example,…locking and unlocking of a car door, button provided on a surface of the automobile remote control key…button, a mapping relationship between the motion pattern and the control command is set and stored in a memory of the automobile remote control key. The mapping relationship stored in the memory may also be modified through the operation on the button, a control command, control unit maps the motion pattern indicated by the message received…control command and instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation, or instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation based on the control command indicated by the message - Ding ¶52 & ¶53 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Ding teaches a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key, as taught by Ding, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the number of control functions of the vehicle remote control key is extended, see Ding ¶36 for details.
As per claim 20
Van Wiemeersch discloses [a]n apparatus of a vehicle, the apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory storing at least one instruction that is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to (machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶72):
receive, via a third wireless communication with the vehicle key associated with the vehicle, a key input signal associated with the key input, wherein the key input signal is generated based on the key input of the vehicle key being activated (key fob sends (i) a remote entry signal upon a user pressing a first combination of the button(s), When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108 - Van Wiemeersch ¶19 & ¶39);
identify an input signal pattern based on at least one of: a number of times that the key input signal is received, an interval of the key input signal, a duration of the key input signal, or a time at which the key input signal is received (When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100 - Van Wiemeersch ¶39);
control, based on the input signal pattern, an operation of the vehicle, wherein the operation of the vehicle comprises a function of the plurality of functions corresponding to the identified input signal pattern (the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100 - Van Wiemeersch ¶39).
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose receive, via a first wireless communication with a user terminal associated with the vehicle, a message indicating a key assignment change for a vehicle key associated with the vehicle; based on the key assignment change, transmit, via a second wireless communication with the vehicle key, a signal configured to assign each of a plurality of functions of the vehicle to a corresponding one of a plurality of input signal patterns of a key input of the vehicle.
However, Ding teaches receive, via a first wireless communication with a user terminal associated with the vehicle, a message indicating a key assignment change for a vehicle key associated with the vehicle; based on the key assignment change, transmit, via a second wireless communication with the vehicle key, a signal configured to assign each of a plurality of functions of the vehicle to a corresponding one of a plurality of input signal patterns of a key input of the vehicle (a motion pattern is completed at an automobile remote control key, and then a message about the motion pattern is sent to a vehicle control system via a wireless communication unit…vehicle control system maps the motion pattern to a corresponding control command (for example,…locking and unlocking of a car door, button provided on a surface of the automobile remote control key…button, a mapping relationship between the motion pattern and the control command is set and stored in a memory of the automobile remote control key. The mapping relationship stored in the memory may also be modified through the operation on the button, a control command, control unit maps the motion pattern indicated by the message received…control command and instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation, or instructs an execution component to execute a corresponding operation based on the control command indicated by the message - Ding ¶52 & ¶53 & ¶56 & ¶57).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Ding teaches a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle control method using an automobile remote control key, as taught by Ding, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the number of control functions of the vehicle remote control key is extended, see Ding ¶36 for details.
Claims 6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wiemeersch, as per claims 1, and 11, respectively, and further in view of Kostepen, US-20150268945-A1, hereinafter referred to as Kostepen.
As per claim 6
Van Wiemeersch further discloses wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to control the vehicle by: controlling, based on the plurality of input signal patterns, a function of the vehicle (When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100, machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶39 & ¶72).
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose updating, via a software update, a type of the function of the vehicle.
However, Kostepen teaches updating, via a software update, a type of the function of the vehicle (a key fob that can serve as an electronic personal identifier/electronic token for key type functions and for “upgradable” multimedia and personalization functions…This enables fast changing electronic functions to be easily upgradable by changing the key fob, providing a key fob with a token for a software update for a vehicle function, the token stored in key fob 12 may authorize updates of software stored in key fob 12 or stored in the vehicle - Kostepen ¶16 & ¶18 & ¶35).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Kostepen teaches a vehicle capable of providing mediated and integrated control for a plurality of systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle capable of providing mediated and integrated control for a plurality of systems, as taught by Kostepen, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the key fob 12 may be updated for the life of the car whenever a need arises, see Kostepen ¶43 for details.
As per claim 16
Van Wiemeersch further discloses wherein the controlling of the vehicle comprises: controlling, based on the plurality of input signal patterns, a function of the vehicle (When the unlock button 302 is pressed by the user 108, the key fob 106 is configured to send an unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock one or more locked doors of the vehicle 100…when the unlock button 302 is pressed twice within a predetermined period of time (e.g., 3 seconds), the key fob 106 is configured to send a second unlock signal to the vehicle 100 to unlock all of the doors of the vehicle 100, machine readable instructions that are stored in memory (such as the memory 504 of FIG. 5 and/or the memory 616 of FIG. 6) and include one or more programs which, when executed by a processor (such as the processor 502 and/or the processor 614 of FIG. 6) - Van Wiemeersch ¶39 & ¶72).
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose updating, via a software update, a type of the function of the vehicle.
However, Kostepen teaches updating, via a software update, a type of the function of the vehicle (a key fob that can serve as an electronic personal identifier/electronic token for key type functions and for “upgradable” multimedia and personalization functions…This enables fast changing electronic functions to be easily upgradable by changing the key fob, providing a key fob with a token for a software update for a vehicle function, the token stored in key fob 12 may authorize updates of software stored in key fob 12 or stored in the vehicle - Kostepen ¶16 & ¶18 & ¶35).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Kostepen teaches a vehicle capable of providing mediated and integrated control for a plurality of systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle capable of providing mediated and integrated control for a plurality of systems, as taught by Kostepen, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the key fob 12 may be updated for the life of the car whenever a need arises, see Kostepen ¶43 for details.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wiemeersch, as per claim 1, and further in view of Kim et al., US-20190248365-A1, hereinafter referred to as Kim.
As per claim 10
Van Wiemeersch does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to control the vehicle by: controlling, with a predetermined priority based on identifying overlapping signal patterns among the plurality of input signal patterns, the vehicle.
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fob-based signal analysis and vehicle control. However, Kim teaches wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to control the vehicle by: controlling, with a predetermined priority based on identifying overlapping signal patterns among the plurality of input signal patterns, the vehicle (output a plurality of detection signals having a steering torque related to a result of detection…a controller configured to select a single detection signal among the plurality of detection signals based on a predetermined priority…output an integrated control signal controlling the braking device driver based on the determined steering torque of the detection signal - Kim ¶10).
Van Wiemeersch discloses key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist. Kim teaches a vehicle capable of mediating and integrating a plurality of braking signals output by a plurality of braking systems, and outputting a mediated and integrated signal, and a controlling method thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Van Wiemeersch, key fobs for vehicle remote park-assist, with a vehicle capable of mediating and integrating a plurality of braking signals output by a plurality of braking systems, and outputting a mediated and integrated signal, and a controlling method thereof, as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success to effectively perform the ADAS, see Kim ¶142 for details, and because the claim limitations do not make clear what kinds of signals are being received or what kind of vehicular control needs to be performed.
Conclusion
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Thomas Ingram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668