DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
biasing member in claims 5-7, 10, 12, and 17. Par. 52
rotation limiting feature in claims 19-20. Par. 47
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the second support”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mathews (6,128,792).
Regarding claim 1, Mathews discloses a variable flow control nozzle for a pool or spa (abstract), wherein the variable flow control nozzle comprises means for generating a jet of water (item 28), wherein the variable flow control nozzle is self-adjusting to control the jet of water via sliding or linear movement (figure 2, movement of portion is linear or sliding, col. 3, lines 11-22).
Regarding claim 2, Mathews discloses wherein the variable flow control nozzle is self- adjusting based on an input flow rate of water to the variable flow control nozzle (col. 3, lines 11-22).
Regarding claims 3, Mathews further discloses wherein the variable flow control nozzle comprises: a housing (item 12) defining an internal passage and a center support (any supporting surfaces of 12 and related housing components that support the center of the system) within the internal passage (central portion of 12); and a nozzle face (any face of 14, 16, and 28) at least partially within the internal passage and arranged about the center support (at least some of the surfaces of 14/16/28 are about the center supports), wherein the nozzle face is self-adjusting.
Regarding claim 4, Mathews further discloses wherein, at a minimal flow rate (i.e. a trickle), the nozzle face is within the housing (capable of, at a minimal trickle nozzle would be substantially within the housing).
Regarding claim 5, Mathews further discloses further comprising a biasing member (item 28) applying a biasing force to a nozzle assembly of the variable flow control nozzle.
Regarding claims 6-7, Mathews further discloses wherein the biasing member biases the nozzle assembly to a small opening state/minimal opening area (capable of, depending on pressure of system).
Regarding claims 9-12, 14, 15, 17, and 18, the limitations of these claims are addressed above. It is noted that a large opening state would be under full water pressure and shown in figure 2.
Regarding claims 13 and 16, Mathews further discloses a nozzle face (faces of nozzle assembly) and a connecting portion (item 16), wherein the nozzle face is on a first side of the center support (downstream side) and the connecting portion is on a second side of the second (center) support (upstream side).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Mathews further discloses a rotation limiting feature (threads connecting 12 to 11) configured to limit or define a range of rotation of the housing and prevents 180 degree rotation of the housing in which the inlet and outlet would be reversed (capable of).
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maxwell (2,229,467).
Regarding claim 1, Maxwell discloses a variable flow control nozzle for a pool or spa (capable of), wherein the variable flow control nozzle comprises means for generating a jet of water (items 15 and 20), wherein the variable flow control nozzle is self-adjusting to control the jet of water via sliding or linear movement (figure 1 shows linear movement, self-adjusting via spring 20 which is set by 13).
Regarding claim 2, Maxwell discloses wherein the variable flow control nozzle is self- adjusting based on an input flow rate of water to the variable flow control nozzle (input via 2 can change force which will change what spring force adjusts to opening).
Regarding claims 3, Maxwell further discloses wherein the variable flow control nozzle comprises: a housing (items 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 11, and 13) defining an internal passage (flow passages therein) and a center support (items 7, 11, and 13 may constitute the center support) within the internal passage (central portion of 12); and a nozzle face (face of 15) at least partially within the internal passage and arranged about the center support (item 15 is within internal passage and about support components), wherein the nozzle face is self-adjusting.
Regarding claim 4, Maxwell further discloses wherein, at a minimal flow rate (i.e. a trickle), the nozzle face is within the housing (capable of, at a minimal trickle nozzle would be substantially within the housing).
Regarding claim 5, Maxwell further discloses further comprising a biasing member (item 20) applying a biasing force to a nozzle assembly of the variable flow control nozzle.
Regarding claims 6-7, Maxwell further discloses wherein the biasing member biases the nozzle assembly to a small opening state/minimal opening area (capable of, depending on pressure of system).
Regarding claim 9, Maxwell discloses a variable flow control nozzle comprising a housing (items 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, and 14) with a center support (items 7, 11, 13, 14) and a nozzle assembly (item 15, 17, 21, 22) on either side of the center support along a flow path through the variable flow control nozzle, wherein the nozzle assembly is self-adjusting (via spring 20).
Regarding claim 10, Maxwell further discloses wherein the variable flow control nozzle is self- adjusting between a large opening state and a small opening state (depending on flow, opening of nozzle will adjust), wherein a size of an opening area of the variable flow control nozzle in the large opening state is greater than the size of the opening area in the small opening state (max vs minimum openings based on spring, threaded placement, and pressure), and wherein the variable flow control nozzle comprises a biasing member (item 20) biasing the variable flow control nozzle to the small opening state (under particular pressure the biasing member will keep the nozzle opening at specific openings).
Regarding claim 11, Maxwell further discloses wherein the nozzle assembly is self-adjusting between a large opening state and a small opening state, and wherein, in the small opening state, a nozzle face of the nozzle assembly is within the housing (15 would be within housing at early pressure levels).
Regarding claim 12, Maxwell further discloses further comprising a biasing member (item 20) applying a biasing force to the nozzle assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Maxwell further discloses wherein the nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle face (face of 15) and a connecting portion (items 17 to 21), wherein the nozzle face is on a first side of the center support and the connecting portion is on a second side of the second support (portions of center support are in between 15 and 21).
Regarding claim 14, Maxwell further discloses wherein the nozzle assembly is self-adjusting via sliding or linear movement (see movement in figure 1).
Claims 15-18 are disclosed by Maxwell in the citations above.
Regarding claim 19, Maxwell discloses a rotation limiting feature (item 13 and frictional/assembly of components, alternatively threads of 7 to 6 to 1 would limit rotation/ further alternatively threads of 1 to 2) configured to limit and/or define a range of rotation of the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathews in view of Hagaman (2010/0155497).
Regarding claim 8, Mathews teaches a system that would be part of a pool or sauna which would generally be considered to utilize known pool components such as an erosion tab feeder, a skimmer, or a centrifugal filter but does not explicitly disclose this.
Firstly, the examiner takes official notice that these components are well known and constitute common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Alternatively, Hagaman explicitly teaches using a similar nozzle in the same field of endeavor with filters (par. 54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the nozzles within a filter system to ensure that the pool or sauna remained clean for multiple uses.
Conclusion
/ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791