Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election with traverse of Species b of Figs. 3A-3G, corresponding to claims 1-15 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 04/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn from consideration by applicant. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination of all of the claims would not impose a serious burden on Examiner. However, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because the species A-F correspond to at least six different shift register structures or configurations and at least eight active layer structures of transistors and require different fields of search. These species are independent or distinct and are not capable of use together or have a different design and manufacturing and are mutually exclusive. Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. (FP 7.31.01).
Claim 19 recites a limitation “… a gate electrode of the eighth transistor is coupled to a gate electrode of the thirteenth transistor …”, which is not supported by the original disclosure and therefore constitutes new matter (See also 37 C.F.R. 1.121(f), MPEP 608.04, 706.03(o)). Specifically, according to Fig. 1 of the drawing, a gate electrode of the eighth transistor T8 is coupled to a source/drain electrode of the thirteenth transistor T13, and a gate electrode of the thirteenth transistor T13 is coupled to a clock signal CK2. Nowhere in the specification and drawings disclose a gate electrode of the eighth transistor is coupled to a gate electrode of the thirteenth transistor. Therefore, claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WANG (US 20190304374 A1) in view of CHENG (US 20180096732 A1).
Regarding claim 1, WANG (Figs. 1-4) discloses a display substrate, comprising:
a base substrate (base substrate SUB) including a display area (display area comprising display pixels 20) and a peripheral area located on at least one side of the display area (peripheral area comprising data driver 30, scan driver 40, and emission control driver 50 surrounding the display area);
a pixel array, located in the display area and including a plurality of pixel units (display area comprising display an array of pixels 20); and,
a scan driving module, located in a driving circuit area of the peripheral area, and including a plurality of shift register units (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4 and [0056]-[0057]; emission control driver 50 comprising a plurality of shift register units STEs and located in the peripheral area), a plurality of signal lines being arranged in one shift register unit of the plurality of shift register units, and the plurality of signal lines extending along a first direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4 and [0058]; each shift register unit STE comprising clock signal lines CLK_E1 and CLK_E2 and voltage signal lines VGL and VGH extending in vertical or Y-direction);
the shift register unit comprises at least two transistors arranged in the driving circuit area (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4 and [0060]; each shift register unit STE comprising transistors TE1-TE12);
active layers of the at least two transistors are formed by a continuous semiconductor layer, and an orthographic projection of one signal line of the plurality of signal lines on the base substrate at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the semiconductor layer on the base substrate (e.g., Figs. 3 and 4; each transistor has a corresponding active layer L4, a continuous semiconductor layer comprising active layers of the transistors TE8, TE9, and TE12, an orthographic projection of voltage signal line VHG partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the semiconductor layer forming the transistors TE8, TE9, and TE12);
a first electrode comprised in at least one of the at least two transistors is arranged at a first conductive layer (e.g., Figs. 3 and 4; source/drain electrode of transistors TE8, TE9, and TE12 are arranged in a layer corresponding to a first conductive layer), and one of the plurality of signal lines is arranged at a second conductive layer (e.g., Figs. 3 and 4; high voltage signal line VHG is arranged in a layer corresponding to a second conductive layer).
WANG does not expressly disclose the signal line (high voltage signal line VGH) configured to provide a DC power signal; however, it is well known that the high voltage VGH and the low voltage VGL in the shift register as disclosed by WANG are DC power signals. As a reference, CHENG (Fig. 1) discloses a shift register similar to that disclosed by WANG, wherein the signal line (high voltage signal line VGH) configured to provide a DC power signal (Fig. 1 and [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHENG with WANG to provide a high voltage DC power to the shift register of the display device.
Regarding claim 2, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, WANG (Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein the plurality of signal lines include all signal lines in the shift register unit (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4 and [0058]; each shift register unit STE comprising clock signal lines CLK_E1 and CLK_E2 and voltage signal lines VGL and VGH).
Regarding claim 3, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, WANG (Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein the plurality of signal lines include all signal lines overlapping an orthographic projection of the shift register unit on the base substrate (e.g., Fig. 4; clock signal lines CLK_E1 and CLK_E2 and voltage signal lines VGL and VGH overlaps the shift register unit STE).
Regarding claim 8, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, WANG (Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein the shift register unit (shift register unit STE) includes at least one transistor (transistors TE1-TE12) arranged in the driving circuit area (Figs. 1-4), a first electrode of the transistor, a second electrode of the transistor (source/drain of transistors TE1-TE12) and at least one of the plurality of signals lines (clock signal lines CLK_E1 and CLK_E2 and voltage signal lines VGL and VGH) are arranged on a same layer (substrate layer SUB).
Regarding claim 9, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, WANG (Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein the shift register unit (shift register unit STE) includes at least one transistor (e.g., transistor TE8) arranged in the driving circuit area (Figs. 1-4), a first electrode of the transistor and a second electrode of the transistor (source/drain of transistor TE8) are arranged on a same layer (insulating layer L9), and at least one of the plurality of signal lines (e.g., high voltage line VGH) and the first electrode of the transistor (source/drain of transistor TE8)are arranged at different layers (e.g., Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, WANG (Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein the shift register unit (shift register unit STE) comprises a fourth transistor (transistor TE8), and a fifth transistor (transistor TE9); a second electrode of the fourth transistor (transistor TE8) is coupled to a second electrode of the fifth transistor (transistor TE9); an active layer of the fourth transistor, and an active layer of the fifth transistor are formed by a continuous first semiconductor layer (e.g., Figs. 3 and 4; each of transistors TE8 and TE9 having a corresponding active layer L4, a continuous semiconductor layer comprising active layers of the transistors TE8 and TE9); the orthographic projection of the active layer of the fourth transistor on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the active layer of the fifth transistor on the base substrate together form an L-type pattern (e.g., Fig. 4; active layer of transistor TE8 and active layer of transistor TE9 forming a L-shape pattern).
Regarding claim 13, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 12, WANG (Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein the shift register unit comprises a plurality of signal lines, and the plurality of signal lines comprises a first voltage line (clock signal lines CLK_E1 and CLK_E2 and voltage signal lines VGL and VGH); an orthographic projection of the first voltage line (high voltage signal line VGH) on the base substrate partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the first semiconductor layer (semiconductor layer comprising active layers of the transistors TE8 and TE9) on the base substrate (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, WANG (Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein the shift register unit (shift register unit STE) comprises a second transistor (transistor TE1) and a third transistor (transistor TE2); a second electrode of the second transistor (transistor TE1) is coupled to a second electrode of the third transistor (transistor TE2); an active layer of the second transistor and an active layer of the third transistor are formed by a continuous fourth semiconductor layer (e.g., Figs. 3 and 4; each of transistors TE1 and TE2 having a corresponding active layer L4, a continuous semiconductor layer comprising active layers of the transistors TE1 and TE2), and an orthographic projection of the active layer of the second transistor on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the active layer of the third transistor on the base substrate together form an I-type pattern (e.g., Fig. 4; active layer of transistor TE1 and active layer of transistor TE2 forming a I-shape pattern).
Regarding claim 15, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 14, WANG (Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein a channel of the second transistor extends along the first direction, and a channel of the third transistor extends along the first direction (Fig. 4, channels of transistors TE1 and TE2 extend in Y direction).
Regarding claim 20, WANG in view of CHENG discloses a display device (Wang, Fig. 1, display device; CHENG, Fig. 1, display device) comprising the display substrate according to claim 1.
8. Claims 5, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WANG (US 20190304374 A1) in view of CHENG (US 20180096732 A1) and further in view of KIM (US 20220148502 A1).
Regarding claim 5, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a ratio of a sumW1 of widths of the plurality of signal lines in a second direction to a width W2 of the shift register unit in the second direction is W1/W2, and W1/W2 is greater than 0.4 and less than 0.7. However, KIM (e.g., Figs. 6, 8, and 15) discloses a display device comprising a shift register similar to that disclosed by WANG, wherein each shift register unit STE comprising clock signal lines CLK1 and CLK2 and voltage signal lines VGL and VGH, and wherein a ratio of a sumW1 of widths of the plurality of signal lines in a second direction to a width W2 of the shift register unit in the second direction is W1/W2, and W1/W2 is greater than 0.4 and less than 0.7 ([0323]; 4
×
12/100=0.48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the shift register of the display device of WANG in view of CHENG. The combination/motivation would be to provide an arrangement of signal lines and scan drivers to reduce non-display area.
Regarding claim 7, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, but does not disclose the structure as claimed. However, KIM (e.g., Figs. 6, 8, and 9) discloses a display device comprising a shift register similar to that disclosed by WANG, wherein the display substrate comprises a first conductive layer (first conductive layer comprising low voltage signal line VGL (2102)), an insulating layer (insulating layer 143), and a second conductive layer (second conductive layer comprising clock signal line CLK1 (2103)), and the insulating layer (insulating layer 143) is arranged between the first conductive layer (first conductive layer comprising low voltage signal line VGL (2102)) and the second conductive layer (second conductive layer comprising clock signal line CLK1 (2103)); at least one signal line of the plurality of signal lines is arranged on the first conductive layer (first conductive layer comprising low voltage signal line VGL (2102)), and at least one signal line of the plurality of signal lines is arranged on the second conductive layer (second conductive layer comprising clock signal line CLK1 (2103)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the shift register of the display device of WANG in view of CHENG for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 11, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the shift register unit comprises at least one signal line arranged in the driving circuit area, the at least one signal line is configured to provide a clock signal (clock signal lines CLK_E1 and CLK_E2); but does not disclose a ratio W4/W2 of a width W4 of at least one of the at least one signal line in the second direction to the width W2 of the shift register unit in the second direction is greater than or equal to 0.015. However, KIM (e.g., Figs. 6, 8, and 15) discloses a display device comprising a shift register similar to that disclosed by WANG, wherein each shift register unit STE comprising clock signal lines CLK1 and CLK2, wherein a ratio W4/W2 of a width W4 of at least one of the at least one signal line in the second direction to the width W2 of the shift register unit in the second direction is greater than or equal to 0.015 ([0323]; 12/100=0.12>0.015). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the shift register of the display device of WANG in view of CHENG for the same reason above.
9. Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WANG (US 20190304374 A1) in view of CHENG (US 20180096732 A1) and further in view of KIM (US 20220148502 A1) and SHIN (US 20150311263 A1).
Regarding claim 4, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a ratio of a sumW1 of widths of the plurality of signal lines in a second direction to a width W2 of the shift register unit in the second direction is W1/W2, and a length of at least one pixel unit along the first direction is a pixel pitch value; the first direction intersects the second direction; a product of W1/W2 and the pixel pitch value is greater than 18um and less than 40um. However, KIM (e.g., Figs. 6, 8, and 15) discloses a display device comprising a shift register similar to that disclosed by WANG, wherein each shift register unit STE comprising clock signal lines CLK1 and CLK2 and voltage signal lines VGL and VGH, wherein a ratio of a sumW1 of widths of the plurality of signal lines in a second direction to a width W2 of the shift register unit in the second direction is W1/W2, and W1/W2 is greater than 0.15 and less than 0.5 ([0323]). SHIN further discloses a length of at least one pixel unit along the first direction is a pixel pitch value ([0035]; pixel length L=126um). Therefore, the combination of KIM and SHIN discloses a product of W1/W2 and the pixel pitch value is greater than 18um and less than 40um (e.g., W1/W2
×
L=0.16
×
126=20um). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM and SHIN to the shift register of the display device of WANG in view of CHENG. The combination/motivation would be to provide an arrangement of signal lines and scan drivers in accordance with display pixels to reduce non-display area.
Regarding claim 6, WANG in view of CHENG and further in view of KIM and SHIN discloses the display substrate according to claim 4, the combination of KIM ([0323]) and SHIN ([0035]) discloses wherein a product of W1/W2 and the pixel pitch value is greater than 18um and less than or equal to 27um (e.g., W1/W2
×
L=0.16
×
126=20um). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM and SHIN to the shift register of the display device of WANG in view of CHENG for the same reason above.
10. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WANG (US 20190304374 A1) in view of CHENG (US 20180096732 A1) and further in view of KIM (US 20220148502 A1) and JEONG (US 20170062532 A1).
Regarding claim 10, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the shift register unit includes at least one signal line arranged in the driving circuit area, the at least one signal line is configured to provide a DC power signal (e.g., VHG line providing DC power); but does not disclose a ratio W3/W2 of a width W3 of the at least one signal line in the second direction to the width W2 of the shift register unit in the second direction is greater than or equal to 0.15. However, KIM (e.g., Figs. 6, 8, and 15) discloses a display device comprising a shift register similar to that disclosed by WANG, wherein each shift register unit STE comprising clock signal lines CLK1 and CLK2 and voltage signal lines VGL and VGH, wherein a ratio W3/W2 of a width W3 of the at least one signal line in the second direction to the width W2 of the shift register unit in the second direction is greater than or equal to 0.15 ([0323]; 12/100=0.12, close to 0.15). As another reference, JEONG (Figs. 1-2) discloses at least one signal line is configured to provide a DC power signal (e.g., VHG line 121 providing DC power) and having a width W3 of the at least one signal line in the second direction (e.g., [0036]; 30um). Therefore, the combination of KIM and JEONG discloses wherein a ratio W3/W2 of a width W3 of the at least one signal line in the second direction to the width W2 of the shift register unit in the second direction is greater than or equal to 0.15 (W3/W2=0.3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM and JEONG to the shift register of the display device of WANG in view of CHENG for the high voltage signal transmission.
11. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WANG (US 20190304374 A1) in view of CHENG (US 20180096732 A1) and further in view of CHO (US 20220157960 A1).
Regarding claim 18, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the shift register unit includes at least two transistors arranged in the driving circuit area; active layers of the at least two transistors are formed by a continuous semiconductor layer; a shape of at least part of semiconductor pattern included in the semiconductor layer is a π type. However, CHO (e.g., Figs. 1-5) discloses two transistors are formed by a continuous semiconductor layer; a shape of at least part of semiconductor pattern included in the semiconductor layer is a π type (e.g., Figs. 1-5 and [0032], [0036], [0038], and [0051], two transistors connected with a π shape semiconductor channel pattern). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHO and SHIN to the shift register of the display device of WANG in view of CHENG to improve the performance of transistors.
11. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WANG (US 20190304374 A1) in view of CHENG (US 20180096732 A1) and further in view of XU (CN210956110U, using US11062645B1 as a corresponding English translation).
Regarding claim 19, WANG in view of CHENG discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, but does not disclose the structure of the shift register as claimed. However, XU (e.g., Fig. 6) discloses wherein the shift register unit comprises a plurality of signal lines, a plurality of transistors and a plurality of capacitors; the plurality of signal lines include: a first voltage line (voltage line VGH), a second voltage line (voltage line VGL), a first clock signal line (clock signal line CKB), a second clock signal line (clock signal line CK), and a third clock signal line (second clock signal line CK), and the plurality of transistors include: a first transistor (transistor T1), a second transistor (transistor T2), a third transistor (transistor T3), a fourth transistor (transistor T4), a fifth transistor (transistor T5), a sixth transistor (transistor T6), a seventh transistor (transistor T7), an eighth transistor (transistor T8), a ninth transistor (transistor T9), a tenth transistor (transistor T10), an eleventh transistor (transistor T11), a twelfth transistor (transistor T12) and a thirteenth transistor (transistor T13); the plurality of capacitors include: a first capacitor (capacitor C1), a second capacitor (capacitor C2) and a third capacitor (capacitor C3); a gate electrode of the first transistor (transistor T1) is coupled to the third clock signal line (second clock signal line CK), a first electrode of the first transistor (transistor T1) is coupled to an input terminal (input terminal STV), a second electrode of the first transistor (transistor T1) is coupled to a gate electrode of the second transistor (transistor T2); a first electrode of the second transistor (transistor T2) is coupled to the third clock signal line (second clock signal line CK), and a second electrode of the second transistor (transistor T2) is coupled to a second electrode of the third transistor (transistor T3); a gate electrode of the third transistor (transistor T3) is coupled to the third clock signal line (second clock signal line CK), and a first electrode of the third transistor (transistor T3) is coupled to the second voltage line (voltage line VGL); a first electrode of the fourth transistor (transistor T4) is coupled to the first clock signal line (clock signal line CKB), a second electrode of the fourth transistor (transistor T4) is coupled to a second electrode of the fifth transistor (transistor T5); a gate electrode of the fifth transistor (transistor T5) is coupled to the second electrode of the third transistor (transistor T3), and a first electrode of the fifth transistor (transistor T5) is coupled to the first voltage line (voltage line VGH); a gate electrode of the sixth transistor (transistor T5) is coupled to a second electrode of the eleventh transistor (transistor T12), a first electrode of the sixth transistor (transistor T6) is coupled to the first clock signal line (clock signal line CKB), and a second electrode of the sixth transistor (transistor T6) is coupled to a first electrode of the seventh transistor (transistor T7); a gate electrode of the seventh transistor (transistor T7) is coupled to the first clock signal line (clock signal line CKB), and a second electrode of the seventh transistor (transistor T7) is coupled to a gate electrode of the ninth transistor (transistor T9); a gate electrode of the eighth transistor (transistor T8) is coupled to a gate electrode of the thirteenth transistor, a first electrode of the eighth transistor (transistor T8) is coupled to a gate electrode of the ninth transistor (transistor T9), and a second electrode of the eighth transistor (transistor T8) is coupled to the first voltage line (voltage line VGH); a first electrode of the ninth transistor (transistor T9) is coupled to the first voltage line (voltage line VGH), and a second electrode of the ninth transistor (transistor T9) is coupled to a driving signal output terminal (output terminal OUT); a first electrode of the tenth transistor (transistor T10) is coupled to the driving signal output terminal (output terminal OUT), and a second electrode of the tenth transistor (output terminal OUT) is coupled to the second voltage line (voltage line VGL); a gate electrode of the eleventh transistor (transistor T12) is coupled to the second voltage line (voltage line VGL), and a first electrode of the eleventh transistor (transistor T12) is coupled to the gate electrode of the fifth transistor (transistor T5); a gate electrode of the twelfth transistor (transistor T11) is coupled to the second voltage line (voltage line VGL), a first electrode of the twelfth transistor (transistor T11) is coupled to the second electrode of the first transistor (transistor T1), and a second electrode of the twelfth transistor (transistor T11) is electrically connected to the gate electrode of the tenth transistor (transistor T10); a gate electrode of the thirteenth transistor is coupled to the second clock signal line, a first electrode of the thirteenth transistor is coupled to the first voltage line, a second electrode of the thirteenth transistor is coupled to the gate electrode of the second transistor; a first electrode plate of the first capacitor (capacitor C2) is coupled to the gate electrode of the sixth transistor (transistor T6), and a second electrode plate of the first capacitor (capacitor C2) is coupled to the second electrode of the sixth transistor (transistor 6); a first electrode plate of the second capacitor (capacitor C3) is coupled to the gate electrode of the ninth transistor (transistor T9), and a second electrode plate of the second capacitor (capacitor C3) is coupled to the first voltage line (voltage line VGH); a first electrode plate of the third capacitor (capacitor C1) is coupled to the gate electrode of the fourth transistor (transistor T4), and a second electrode plate of the third capacitor (capacitor C1) is coupled to the second electrode of the fourth transistor (transistor T4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from XU to the shift register of the display device of WANG in view of CHENG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a shift register for a display device.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623