DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Office action in response to applicant’s original disclosure filed on 6/5/2025. Currently, claims 1-26 are pending and are under consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Great Britain on 6/5/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the GB 2407995.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“associated portions of the side panels and rear tabs are cut off” (claims 2-3);
“the front side of the flat rectangular panel is substantially octagonal” (claim 3);
“clamping devices consist of a dog clip actuated by bi-directional lead-screws” (claim 19).
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “4” has been used to designate two different elements as shown in Fig. 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Figs. 1-3, the poor line quality, shading and hand-written reference characters throughout Figures 1-3 renders part or all of the drawing illegible when reproduced. 37 CFR 1.84(l) (m) and (p)(1). 37 CFR 1.84(l) recites, “[a]ll drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.” This objection can be overcome by submitting replacement drawings that have typed reference characters, and drawings that are formed of black lines on a white background; and
Fig. 1, the drawing has lead lines with no reference characters. See annotated Fig. 1 shown below:
Annotated Fig. 1 of the instant application (US 19/229,329)
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “3” and “25”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“c-struct structures” (as filed, page 10, line 17) is objected to because the word “c-struct” appears to be a typo. Does applicant intend to recite, “c-shaped”?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, “struct” is objected to because the limitation appears to contain a typo. Does applicant intend to recite, “strut”?
Claim 6, “a second” is objected to because the limitation appears to contain a typo. This objection can be overcome by reciting, “a second end”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-11, 13-14 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, “two reinforcing struts” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation includes or does not include the previously recited reinforcing strut of claim 4. For examination purposes, the limitation was treated as requiring the reinforcing strut of claim 4. This rejection can be overcome by defining the one or more reinforcing struts as further comprising two reinforcing struts.
Claim 6, “each end of each reinforcing strut” is indefinite because the limitation lacks antecedent basis. The claims do not previously require the reinforcing struts to have any ends, in particular. This rejection can be overcome by previously in the claim defining each of the reinforcing struts as having two ends.
Claim 11, the phrase "and/or" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The Office’s preferred verbiage of elements A and B is “at least one of A and B” and not “A and/or B”. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal No. 2011-004811 at Footnote 1 (PTAB 2014). See also claims 20 and 22.
Claim 19, “wherein the clamping devices consist of a dog clip actuated by bi-directional lead-screws” is indefinite because it is unclear what the claim requires. It is unclear whether applicant intends for each of the clamping devices or the clamping devices collectively to consist of a dog clip actuated by bi-directional lead-screws. Further, “dog clip” is indefinite because it is unclear what the limitation requires. The term is not an art term and does not have inherently one meaning. Does applicant intend for the clip to have a specific shape or a specific function? Further yet, the claim requires the dog clip being actuated. However, the claim is a product claim, and the step of being actuated implies a method step. This could be alleviated by reciting, configured to be actuated.
The remaining claims in this section are rejected by virtue of dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 16-18 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’).
Claim 1, Naylor provides a structural panel for a modular containment system, the structural panel comprising:
a flat rectangular panel 18 having a front side 18F, a rear side 18B, and four edges (four edges of 18; Figs. 2A-2B);
four side panels (20, 20, 22, 24; Figs. 2A-2B), each extending rearwardly from a different one of the four edges perpendicular to the rear side of the rectangular flat panel (Fig. 2A), each having a front edge (front edge of the four side panels) affixed to the flat panel (Fig. 2A) and a rear edge (Fig. 2A); and
four rear tabs (26, 26, 28, 30), each extending inwardly from a rear edge of a different one of the four side panels (Fig. 2B), and being parallel to the rear side of the rectangular flat panel (Fig. 2B).
Claim 11, Naylor further provides wherein the structural panel is formed of stainless steel and/or galvanised mild steel (col. 2, lines 50-57).
Claim 16, Naylor provides all the limitations of claim 1 as above, and further teaches a modular containment system comprising a plurality of structural panels according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of structural panels are affixed together to form a complete container (Fig. 1A).
Claim 17, Naylor further provides wherein the container is substantially cuboid and adjacent structural panels are affixed to each other at right angles to form the corners and edges of the container (Figs. 1A and 6).
Claim 18, Naylor further provides wherein adjacent structural panels are mechanically fastened to one another by one or more of conventional bolts, nuts and washers, rivets, or clamping devices (col. 2, lines 58-67; Figs. 1A-2B).
Claim 25, Naylor further provides a ceiling portion (see ceiling portion in Figs. 1, 2A-2B and 5-6) formed of a plurality of structural panels (Figs. 1, 2A-2B and 5-6), each the structural panel comprising: a flat rectangular panel having a front side, a rear side, and four edges (Figs. 1 and 6); four side panels (Figs. 2A-2B and 5), each extending rearwardly from a different one of the four edges perpendicular to the rear side of the rectangular flat panel (Figs. 2A-2B and 5), each having a front edge affixed to the flat panel and a rear edge (Figs. 2A-2B and 5); and four rear tabs (Figs. 2A-2B and 5), each extending inwardly from a rear edge of a different one of the four side panels (Figs. 2A-2B and 5), and being parallel to the rear side of the rectangular flat panel (Figs. 2A-2B and 5).
Claim 26, Naylor further provides one or more mounting apertures (Fig. 5) for conforming to fittings (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’).
Claims 2-3, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as above. Naylor does not teach wherein one or more corners of the flat rectangular panel and associated portions of the side panels and rear tabs are cut off, and all four corners of the flat rectangular panel and associated portions of the side panels and rear tabs are cut off such that the front side of the flat rectangular panel is substantially octagonal. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the structural panel such that one or more corners of the flat rectangular panel and associated portions of the side panels and rear tabs are cut off, and such that all four corners of the flat rectangular panel and associated portions of the side panels and rear tabs are cut off such that the front side of the flat rectangular panel is substantially octagonal, with the reasonable expectation of success of forming a structure that is suitable to branch out in eight different directions, enabling additional layout options, to optimize strength and aesthetics of the structure, since it has been held that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Claim 15, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as above, including all the structural requirements of the structural panel. Naylor does not specifically recite the weight of the panel being 25 kg. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to form the weight of the panel being 25 kg or less, using at least one of selective dimensions, sizes and materials to permit the structural panel to be transported, moved into position and installed, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA).
Claim(s) 4-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’) in view of Wybauw (US 4364206).
Claims 4-5, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as above. Naylor does not teach wherein one or more reinforcing struts are provided on the rear side of the flat rectangular panel, each reinforcing strut extending between opposing side panels, having two reinforcing struts provided on the rear side of the flat rectangular panel, each reinforcing strut extending between opposing side panels and the two reinforcing structs being perpendicular to one another. However, Wybauw teaches a structural panel, wherein one or more reinforcing struts (12, 13, 15, 16, 20, 21; Fig. 3) are provided on a rear side of a flat rectangular panel (Fig. 3), each reinforcing strut extending between opposing side panels (Fig. 3), having two reinforcing struts (12, 13, 15, 16, 20, 21; Fig. 3) provided on the rear side of the flat rectangular panel (Fig. 3), each reinforcing strut extending between opposing side panels and the two reinforcing structs being perpendicular to one another (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the structural panel by incorporating one or more reinforcing struts are provided on the rear side of the flat rectangular panel, each reinforcing strut extending between opposing side panels, having two reinforcing struts provided on the rear side of the flat rectangular panel, each reinforcing strut extending between opposing side panels and the two reinforcing structs being perpendicular to one another, with the reasonable expectation of success of using known means to further reinforce the structural panel.
Claim 6, as modified above, the combination of Naylor and Wybauw teaches all the limitations of claim 5, and further teaches wherein each end of each reinforcing strut has a first end and a second and each of the first ends and the second ends is positioned at a midpoint of an edge of the flat rectangular panel (Wybauw Fig. 3).
Claim 7, as modified above, the combination of Naylor and Wybauw teaches all the limitations of claim 6, and further teaches wherein two or more of the side panels abut each other at a corner of the flat rectangular panel (Naylor Figs. 2A-2B; Wybauw Fig. 3).
Claim 9, Naylor further teaches wherein two or more lateral ends of the rear tabs are cut at an angle of 45° such that they abut an adjacent lateral end of a rear tab that is also cut at an angle of 45° (Figs. 2A-2B).
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’) in view of Wybauw (US 4364206) and further in view of KR 2017-0143281 (‘KR ‘281’).
Claim 8, Naylor and Wybauw teach all the limitations of claim 7 as above. Naylor does not teach wherein the side panels are welded together where they abut. However, KR ‘281 teaches a structural panel 100, wherein side panels 120 are welded together where they abut ([0043]-[0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the structural panel such that the side panels are welded together where they abut, with the reasonable expectation of success of using known means to further strengthen the structural panel.
Claim 10, Naylor and Wybauw teach all the limitations of claim 9 as above. Naylor does not teach wherein the adjacent lateral ends of the rear tabs that abut one another are welded together. However, KR ‘281 teaches a structural panel 100, wherein adjacent lateral ends of rear tabs are welded together ([0043]-[0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the structural panel such that the adjacent lateral ends of the rear tabs that abut one another are welded together, with the reasonable expectation of success of using known means to further strengthen the structural panel.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’) in view of Streeter et al. (US 20230068992) (‘Streeter’).
Claim 12, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as above, but does not teach the structural panel being formed of a polymer, carbon-reinforced polymer, or fibre-glass. However, Streeter teaches a structural panel being formed from a polymer (claim 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the material of the structural panel to be formed of a polymer, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known, readily available material to form the structural panel, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in known materials. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol. “Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’) in view of Blando (US 4548017).
Claim 13, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as above. Naylor does not specify the stainless steel grade being 304. However, Blando teaches a structural panel formed of grade 304 stainless steel (col. 2, lines 15-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the material of the stainless steel to be grade 304 stainless steel, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known grade of stainless steel that is durable, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in known materials. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol. “Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.).
Claim 14, as modified above, the combination of Naylor and Blando teaches all the limitations of claim 13, and further teaches wherein the stainless steel has a thickness of between 1.5mm and 2.5mm (Naylor thickness of 8 gauge to 14 gauge, which corresponds with a range of 1.9 mm to 4.18 mm, which overlaps the claimed range and meets the claim; col. 2, lines 50-57; MPEP 2144.05(I) “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facia case of obviousness exists”).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’) in view of Johnson (US 2360500).
Claim 19, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as above, but does not teach wherein the clamping devices consist of a dog clip actuated by bi-directional lead-screws (see 112b rejection above). However, Johnson teaches a panel system comprising clamping devices consisting of a dog clip (187 or alternatively 196) actuated by bi-directional lead-screws (24 or alternatively 197). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the modular containment system such that the clamping devices consist of a dog clip actuated by bi-directional lead-screws, with the reasonable expectation of success of using known means to secure adjacent panels together.
Claim 20, Naylor further teaches wherein each of the plurality of the structural panels have through holes provided through the side panels and/or rear tabs to allow them to be bolted to one another (Figs. 2A-2B).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’) in view of Sukolics (US 4344267).
Claim 19, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as above, but does not teach wherein the clamping devices consist of a dog clip actuated by bi-directional lead-screws (see 112b rejection above). However, Sukolics teaches a panel system comprising clamping devices consisting of a dog clip (20; Fig. 4) actuated by bi-directional lead-screws (30; Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the modular containment system such that the clamping devices consist of a dog clip actuated by bi-directional lead-screws, with the reasonable expectation of success of using known means to secure adjacent panels together.
Claim 20, Naylor further teaches wherein each of the plurality of the structural panels have through holes provided through the side panels and/or rear tabs to allow them to be bolted to one another (Figs. 2A-2B).
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’) in view of Rutten (US 4106252).
Claim 19, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as above, but does not teach wherein the clamping devices consist of a dog clip actuated by bi-directional lead-screws (see 112b rejection above). However, Rutten teaches a panel system comprising clamping devices consisting of a dog clip (26a; Figs. 8-9) actuated by bi-directional lead-screws (72; Figs. 8-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the modular containment system such that the clamping devices consist of a dog clip actuated by bi-directional lead-screws, with the reasonable expectation of success of using known means to secure adjacent panels together.
Claim 20, Naylor further teaches wherein each of the plurality of the structural panels have through holes provided through the side panels and/or rear tabs to allow them to be bolted to one another (Figs. 2A-2B).
Claim 21, as modified above, the combination of Naylor and Rutten teaches all the limitations of claim 21 as above, and further teaches wherein bolts (Rutten 72) and washers (Rutten 76) are positioned through the through holes to bolt the structural panels together (Rutten Figs. 8-9).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’) in view of AU 202201460 (‘AU ‘460’).
Claim 22, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as above. Naylor does not teach wherein junctions between adjacent structural panels are filled with an elastomeric material and/or a gasket. However, AU ‘460 teaches junctions between adjacent structural panels being filled with an elastomeric material and/or a gasket 315. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the modular containment system such that junctions between adjacent structural panels are filled with an elastomeric material and/or a gasket, with the reasonable expectation of success of using known means to further seal the modular containment system.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’) in view of FR 2673224) (‘FR ‘224’).
Claim 22, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as above. Naylor does not teach wherein junctions between adjacent structural panels are filled with an elastomeric material and/or a gasket. However, FR ‘224 teaches junctions between adjacent structural panels being filled with an elastomeric material and/or a gasket (“[e]lastomer or silicone joints are applied to the edges of the panels” specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the modular containment system such that junctions between adjacent structural panels are filled with an elastomeric material and/or a gasket, with the reasonable expectation of success of using known means to further seal the modular containment system.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (US 11933036) (‘Naylor’) in view of Honigman (US 4910932).
Claims 23-24, Naylor teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as above. Naylor does not teach strut elements for reinforcing the containment system. However, Honigman teaches a modular containment system comprising strut elements (40, 42) for reinforcing the containment system (col. 4, lines 40-60; Fig. 2), wherein the strut elements are formed of steel box sections (col. 2, lines 10-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the modular containment system by incorporating strut elements for reinforcing the containment system, wherein the strut elements are formed of steel box sections, with the reasonable expectation of success of using known means to further reinforce the modular containment system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
JAMES M. FERENCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JAMES M FERENCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635