DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments, filed April 22, 2026 are respectfully acknowledged and have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed April 22, 2026 and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1, 3-5, 10, 13, and 16 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The amendments to the specification addressing reference character issues are respectfully acknowledged, and the corresponding objection to the drawings is withdrawn. The amendments to Claim 5 addressing a limitation issue are respectfully acknowledged, and the corresponding objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
The amendments to Claims 1 and 16 addressing minor informalities are respectfully acknowledged, and the corresponding objections to Claims 1 and 16 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20190278145 A1, hereinafter “Tanaka”) in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20210273035 A1, hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Tanaka teaches a display device comprising:
a display area and a non-display area (par 0043 Fig 2A substrate 10 comprising a display area R and a non-display frame region [par 0047] around the display area R);
a data driving circuit disposed around an edge of the display area or the non-display area (par 0045 Fig 2A data/source driving circuit 14 in the frame region around an edge of the display area R);
a plurality of data lines extending in a first direction in the display area (par 0044 Fig 2A a plurality of data lines 12P,12Q extending in a first Y direction in the display area R);
a plurality of gate lines extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (par 0044 Fig 2A a plurality of gate lines 11 extending in a second X direction intersecting the first Y direction);
a plurality of pixels included in the display area (par 0051 Fig 3 plurality of pixels pix included in the display area R), each of the plurality of pixels comprising
a first data line group disposed in a first area at least corresponding to the data driving circuit (par 0047 Fig 2A first data line group 12Q disposed in a first area at least corresponding to the data driving circuit 14);
a second data line group disposed in a second area corresponding to at least one area outside of the data driving circuit (par 0047 Fig 2A second data line group 12P disposed in a second area corresponding to at least area outside of the data driving circuit 14);
a plurality of data link lines extending toward a display panel from a data pad part to which the data driving circuit is connected (paras 0047-0048 Fig 2A a plurality of data link lines 120P,120Q extending toward a display panel from a data pad part to which the data driving circuit 14 is connected); and
a data link area in which the plurality of data link lines are disposed (par 0048 Fig 2B area denoted by “120Q” in Fig B), wherein
the plurality of data link lines comprises first data link lines included in a first data link line group and second data link lines included in a second data link line group (paras 0047-0048 Figs 2A,2B plurality of data link lines comprises first data link lines 120Q included in a first data link line group and second data link lines 120P included in a second data link line group), wherein
the first data link line group is disposed in the data link area, and the second data link line group is disposed at least in the first area and the second area (paras 0047-0048 Fig 2A,2B the first data link line group 120Q is disposed in the data link area, and the second data link line group 120P is disposed at least in the first area and the second area), wherein
the second data link line group and the second data line group are electrically connected to each other (par 0048 Fig 2A,2B the second data link line group 120P and the second data line group 12P are electrically connected to each other).
However, Tanaka appears not to expressly teach
each of the plurality of pixels comprising at least one driving transistor and at least one switching transistor;
wherein each of the second data link lines comprises:
a second-first data link line disposed in the data link area; and
a second-second data link line disposed in the first area, and
wherein the second-first data link line and the second-second data link line are connected to each other through a contact hole.
Cho teaches
Liu teaches each of the plurality of pixels comprising at least one driving transistor and at least one switching transistor (par 0085 Fig 3 each of the plurality of pixels PX comprising at least one driving transistor T1 and at least one switching transistor T2, par 0088);
wherein each of the second data link lines comprises:
a second-first data link line disposed in the data link area (par 0131 Fig 5 each second data link line 588,587,… 2,1 comprises a second-first data link line 588,587,… 2,1 portion up to a contact hole disposed in the data link area); and
a second-second data link line disposed in the first area (par 0131 Fig 5 each second data link line 588,587,… 2,1 comprises a second- second data link line 588,587,… 2,1 portion from a contact hole disposed in the data link area to a data line in the second area), and
wherein the second-first data link line and the second-second data link line are connected to each other through a contact hole (par 0131 Fig 5 the second-first data link line [e.g. 588 portion up to a contact hole disposed in the data link area] and the second-second data link line [e.g. 588 portion from a contact hole disposed in the data link area to a data line in the second area] are connected to each other through a contact hole).
Tanaka and Cho are analogous art as they each pertain to display devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Tanaka with the inclusion of the pixel and data link line arrangement of Cho. The motivation would have been in order to provide a narrow border data line arrangement for an OLED display.
Regarding Claim 2 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein
the second data line group is disposed in the second area and disposed to be symmetrical about the first area (Tanaka par 0047 Fig 2A second data line group 12P disposed in the second area and disposed to be symmetrical about the first [12Q] area).
Regarding Claim 3 (Currently Amended), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the second-second data link line is connected to the second-first data link line (Tanaka such is taught in Figs 2A,2B), and wherein
each of the second data link lines (Tanaka paras 0047-0048 Figs 2A,2B second data link lines 120P) further comprises:
a second-third data link line connecting the second-second data link line and the second data line group to each other (Tanaka par 0048 Fig 2B second-third horizontal data link line portion of 120P connecting the second-second data link line and the second data line group 12P to each other).
Regarding Claim 4 (Currently Amended), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein
the second-second data link line and the second-third data link line are connected to each other through a second contact hole (Tanaka par 0048 Fig 2B second-second vertical data link line portion of 120P disposed in the first area [and above the data link line area designated with “120Q{“ in Fig 2B] and the second-third horizontal data link line portion of 120P are connected to each other through a second contact hole Fig 3 CHa, par 0052).
Regarding Claim 6 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein
the second-first data link line and the second-second data link line extend in the first direction, and
the second-third data link line extends in the second direction intersecting the first direction (Tanaka par 0048 Fig 2B shows such).
Regarding Claim 8 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein
the second-second data link lines and the second-third data link lines are connected to each other through contact holes (Tanaka par 0048 Fig 2B second-second vertical data link line portion of 120P disposed in the first area [and above the data link line area designated with “120Q{“ in Fig 2B] and the second-third horizontal data link line portion of 120P are connected to each other through a contact hole Fig 3 CHa, par 0052), and wherein
the contact holes are disposed to be gradually close to a central area of the first area as a distance from the data driving circuit increases (Liu par 0000 Fig 7A vertices between second-second vertical data link lines 74 and the second-third horizontal data link lines 68 are disposed to be gradually close to a central area of the first area as a distance from the data driving circuit increases).
Tanaka and Liu are analogous art as they each pertain to display devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device with contact holes connecting second-second and second-third data link lines of Tanaka with the inclusion of the vertices connecting second-second and second-third data link lines disposed to be gradually close to a central area of the first area as a distance from the data driving circuit increases of Liu to provide the contact holes are disposed to be gradually close to a central area of the first area as a distance from the data driving circuit increases. The motivation would have been in order to provide the second-third horizontal datalink lines on the same layer as the gate lines in a data line interconnection arrangement that provides a narrower border.
Regarding Claim 9 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein
the second-third data link lines and data lines included in the second data line group among the plurality of data lines are connected to each other through contact holes (Tanaka par 0048 Fig 2B second-third horizontal data link line portion of 120P and data lines included in the second data line group are connected to each other through a contact hole Fig 3 CHb, par 0052), wherein
the contact holes are disposed to be gradually close to an outer edge of the second area adjacent to the data driving circuit as a distance from the data driving circuit decreases (Tanaka par 0048 Fig 3 shows such).
Regarding Claim 12 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein
a second-third data link line among the second-third data link lines does not intersect the first data link lines included in the first data link line group (Tanaka par 0048 Fig 3 shows such).
Regarding Claim 14 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein
a width of the data pad part in which first to nth data pads are disposed in the second direction corresponds to a width of the data driving circuit (Tanaka par 0047 Fig 2A at least suggests such to one of skill in the art).
Regarding Claim 15 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein
a width of the data driving circuit is less than a width of the display area, and
a width of the data pad part is less than the width of the display area (Tanaka par 0047 Fig 2A teaches such).
Regarding Claim 16 (Currently Amended), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising
at least one dummy data link line disposed parallel to at least one data line included in the second data line group among the plurality of data lines in the second area (Tanaka par 0054 Fig 3 at least one dummy line 221 is disposed parallel to at least one data line 12P included in the second data line group among the plurality of data lines in the second area).
Regarding Claim 17 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein
at least one of the plurality of gate lines intersects at least one of the second-second data link line (Tanaka par 0047 Figs 2A,3 at least one of the plurality of gate lines 11 intersects at least one of the second-second vertical data link line portion of 120P disposed in the first area [and above the data link line area designated with “120Q{“ in Fig 2B]).
Regarding Claim 18 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein
the first data link line group is connected between the data driving circuit and the first data line group in straight lines (Tanaka par 0049 Fig 2A,2B shows such, first data link line group 120Q shown as connected between the data driving circuit and the first data line group in straight lines).
Regarding Claim 19 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein
the second-first data link line is disposed in a bezel area of the display panel (Tanaka par 0048 Fig 2B second-first vertical data link line portion of 120P disposed in the data link area designated with “120Q{“ in Fig 2B which is a bezel area).
Regarding Claim 20 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein
the second-third data link line is formed on a layer different from the second data line group (Tanaka par 0052 Fig 2B,3 the second-third data link line/partial line 120Pb is made of a material same as a material for the gate lines 11, and is provided in a layer including the gate lines 11 different than a layer including the data lines 12).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20190278145 A1, hereinafter “Tanaka”) in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20210273035 A1, hereinafter “Cho”) and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20240212597 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 7 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3. However, Tanaka as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
lengths of the second-third data link lines are formed to gradually increase as a distance from the data driving circuit increases.
Wang teaches wherein
lengths of the second-third data link lines are formed to gradually increase as a distance from the data driving circuit increases (par 0100 Fig 7 second-third horizontal data link line portions of 50 lengths are formed to gradually increase as a distance from the data driving circuit increases).
Tanaka Cho and Wang are analogous art as they each pertain to display devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Tanaka/Cho with the inclusion of the second-third data link lines arrangement of Wang. The motivation would have been in order to provide a narrow border data line arrangement for an OLED display; since the bonding area does not need to be provided with a fan-shaped oblique line, a width of a fan-out region is reduced, and a width of a lower bezel can be effectively reduced (Wang par 0110).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20190278145 A1, hereinafter “Tanaka”) in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20210273035 A1, hereinafter “Cho”) and further in view of Cheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20240196682 A1, hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding Claim 10 (Currently Amended), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3. However, Tanaka as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the second-first data link lines and the second-second data link lines are connected to each other through the contact holes, wherein the contact holes are disposed to be aligned to each other in the second direction.
Cheng teaches wherein
the second-first data link lines and the second-second data link lines are connected to each other through contact holes, wherein the contact holes are disposed to be aligned to each other in the second direction (par 0131 Fig 8 second-first data link lines 60 and the second-second data link lines 301 are connected to each other through contact holes 50 aligned to each other in the second X direction).
Tanaka Cho and Cheng are analogous art as they each pertain to display devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Tanaka/Cho with the inclusion of the contact holes arrangement of Cheng. The motivation would have been in order to provide that the first extension line 60 is arranged in the same layer and made of the same material as the second connecting portion 402; the first extension line 60 which is located in the bending region 202 has a better bending reliability (Cheng par 0131,0136).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20190278145 A1, hereinafter “Tanaka”) in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20210273035 A1, hereinafter “Cho”) and further in view of Cui et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20250040368 A1, hereinafter “HCui”).
Regarding Claim 5 (Currently Amended), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 4. However, Tanaka as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the second contact hole overlaps with the data driving circuit in a plan view, when viewed along the first direction.
HCui teaches wherein
the second contact hole overlaps with the data driving circuit in a plan view (par 0140 Figs 5A,5C second contact hole overlaps with the data driving circuit in a plan view, when viewed along the Y direction).
Tanaka Cho and HCui are analogous art as they each pertain to display devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Tanaka/Cho with the inclusion of the second hole arrangement of HCui. The motivation would have been in order to provide a narrow border data line arrangement for an OLED display (HCui par 0144).
Regarding Claim 11 (Original), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein
the second-second data link lines and the second-third data link lines are connected to each other through contact holes (Tanaka par 0048 Fig 2B second-second vertical data link line portion of 120P disposed in the first area [and above the data link line area designated with “120Q{“ in Fig 2B] and the second-third horizontal data link line portion of 120P are connected to each other through a contact hole Fig 3 CHa, par 0052). However, Tanaka as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
a first half of the contact holes and a second half of the contact holes are disposed to be symmetrical about a first data link line included in the first data link line group, and disposed to be gradually close to each other as a distance from the data driving circuit increases.
HCui teaches wherein
a first half of the contact holes and a second half of the contact holes are disposed to be symmetrical about a first data link line included in the first data link line group, and disposed to be gradually close to each other as a distance from the data driving circuit increases (par 0140 Figs 5A,5C teaches such).
Tanaka Cho and HCui are analogous art as they each pertain to display devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Tanaka/Cho with the inclusion of the second-third data link lines arrangement of HCui. The motivation would have been in order to provide a narrow border data line arrangement for an OLED display; a width of a lower bezel is greatly shortened, and a screen-to-body ratio is increased, which is beneficial to achieve full-screen display. (HCui par 0144).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20190278145 A1, hereinafter “Tanaka”) in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20210273035 A1, hereinafter “Cho”) and further in view of Shin et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20190362678 A1, hereinafter “Shin”).
Regarding Claim 13 (Currently Amended), Tanaka as modified teaches the display device of claim 3. However, Tanaka as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
all of the second-second data link lines have at least a length corresponding to a length of each of first data lines included in the first data line group disposed in the first area, and
wherein none of the second-second data link lines are connected to the first data lines.
Shin teaches wherein
all of the second-second data link lines have at least a length corresponding to a length of each of the first data lines included in the first data line group disposed in the first area (par 0114 Fig 7A all of the second-second data link lines [here D3,D4 lines act as data link lines for D2,D1, and D3,D4 have at least a length corresponding to a length of each of the first data lines included in the first data line group disposed in the first area).
Tanaka Cho and Shin are analogous art as they each pertain to display devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Tanaka/Cho with the inclusion of the second-second data link lines having at least a length corresponding to a length of each of the first data lines of Shin. The motivation would have been in order to provide data signal delivery to data lines isolated in an upper area of the display.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK EDWARDS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624