DETAILED ACTION
Status
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for Application No. 19229439 on June 05, 2025. Please note claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ a detector configured to….” in claims 1-3 and 7-20; “a controller configured to…” in claims 1, 2, 4-20; and “a communicator disposed to allow for…” in claims 1-20.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure for “detector” can be found in Fig. 1, detector 30, paragraph [0025] of application publication US 20250383737 A1, which is touch sensor or equivalents; the corresponding structure of “controller” can be found in Fig. 1, controller 20, paragraph [0022]-[0023], which is processor/integrated circuit (IC) or equivalents; and the corresponding structure of “communicator” is found in Fig. 1, communicator 50, paragraph [0027], which is NFC or RFID communication device or equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-12, 19 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uwai et al. (US 20240345684 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Uwai discloses: An electronic device (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, electronic apparatus 100) comprising:
a detector (Fig. 3, touch panel 130) configured to detect an object in proximity of less than a detection distance from, or in contact with, a detection surface (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4B, [0031], [0047], discloses touch panel 130 for detecting user’s touch input on electronic device 100);
a controller (Fig. 3, processor 110) configured to accept a manual operation corresponding to the proximity or contact of an object with the detector (Fig. 3, [0037], processor 110 connected to touch panel 130 and processor 110 controls a detection state, a detection range, a detection sensitivity, or the like of the touch panel 130 according to a predetermined condition); and
a communicator (Fig. 3, NFC antenna 120) disposed to allow for communication with a communication device brought into proximity with the detector from the detection surface side (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4B, [0029], The NFC antenna 120 is a communication antenna used for a near-field communication (an antenna for near-field communication). The NFC antenna 120 detects a communication medium such as a non-contact IC card or a high frequency identification device tag by a near-field communication, and wirelessly communicates with the detected communication medium. The NFC antenna 120 executes a near-field communication with, for example, the non-contact IC card C3, which is a communication medium adjacent to the electronic apparatus 100, and transmits and receives information. The electronic apparatus 100 may read information of the non-contact IC card C3 via the NFC antenna 120, or write information to the non-contact IC card C3), wherein
the detection surface (see Fig. 4A, [0049], detection areas DR) has first (Fig. 4A, detection area SDR1) and second detection regions (see Figs. 4, [0049], detection area SDR2), the first detection region including a range obtained by projecting onto the detection surface a region that is less than the detection distance from the detection surface from out of a region of communication availability between the communication device and the communicator (see Figs. 4, [0052], discloses the divided detection area SDR1 may not be aligned with the outer periphery of the area surrounded by the NFC antenna 120 in the X direction and the Y direction. For example, the radio wave of the near-field communication executed by the NFC antenna 120 may reach the area even slightly outside the rectangular area surrounded by the NFC antenna 120. Therefore, the divided detection area SDR1 may be determined such that the area within a predetermined distance from the area surrounded by the NFC antenna 120 is included in the divided detection area SDR1. That is, the touch panel 130 may ensure the clearance by ensuring that the validation range in which the input can be detected at a predetermined timing does not overlap with the arrangement position of the NFC antenna 120. The position of each of the divided detection areas SDR in the touch panel 130 may be determined in advance, or a range desired by the user may be freely selected based on the input to the touch panel 130, for example), the second detection region not including the first detection region (see Figs. 4, detection area SDR2 not including the detection area SDR1 as illustrated in figure), and
in a period of communication processing between the communicator and the communication device (see Fig. 7, step S11 and S12, [0078], discloses processor 110 checks the communication state of the non-contact IC card C3 (S11). In this case, the processor 110 determines whether the NFC antenna 120 is communicating with the non-contact IC card C3 (whether a near-field communication is in progress) (S12)), the controller is configured to limit manual input corresponding to the detection of the proximity or contact of an object with the first detection region, but to accept manual input corresponding to the detection of the proximity or contact of an object with the second detection region (see Fig. 7, [0079], discloses when it is determined that the NFC antenna 120 is communicating with the non-contact IC card C3, the processor 110 changes the validation area AR of the touch panel 130 (S13). In this case, the processor 110 changes the divided detection area SDR1 from the validation area AR to the invalidation area IR. That is, the processor 110 changes a state in which both the divided detection area SDR1 and the divided detection area SDR2 are the validation area AR to a state in which only the divided detection area SDR2 is the validation area AR. [0053], further discloses the touch panel 130 may switch between a state in which the divided detection areas SDR are a validation area in which the input can be detected and a state in which the divided detection areas SDR are an invalidation area in which the input cannot be detected).
Regarding claim 2, Uwai teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Uwai further teaches wherein in the period of communication processing between the communicator and the communication device, the controller is configured not to accept a manual operation corresponding to the detection of the proximity or contact of an object with the first detection region, even if the detector detects the proximity or contact of an object with the first detection region (Fig. 7, step S11-S13, [0078]-[0079], discloses when it is determined that the NFC antenna 120 is communicating with the non-contact IC card C3, the processor 110 changes the validation area AR of the touch panel 130 (S13). In this case, the processor 110 changes the divided detection area SDR1 from the validation area AR to the invalidation area IR. [0048] further discloses the touch panel 130 may adjust the detection sensitivity for each detection point. When adjusting the detection sensitivity, the sensitivity may be selected from two sensitivities which are a detectable state (a validation state) and an undetectable state (an invalidation state), that is, it may be possible to select whether the input detection function of the touch panel 130 is turned on or off. When adjusting the detection sensitivity, the strength of the detection sensitivity may be adjustable in multiple stages. The undetectable invalidation state may include not executing the detection itself, or executing the detection itself but not using the detection result for other processing).
Regarding claim 3, Uwai teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Uwai further teaches a display positioned to overlap at least a portion of the detector (see Fig. 4B, display 140 over the touch panel 130), wherein in the period of communication processing between the communicator and the communication device (see Fig. 7, [0079], step S12), the controller is configured to cause the display to display a guide corresponding to the region of communication availability between the communication device and the communicator (see Fig. 6, [0074], discloses the guided image such as “insert card”, “cancel”, or wireless payment icon displays in the display 140).
Regarding claim 4, Uwai teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Uwai further teaches a display positioned to overlap at least a portion of the detector (see Fig. 4B, display 140 over the touch panel 130), wherein in the period of communication processing between the communicator and the communication device, the controller is configured to cause the display to display a guide corresponding to the region of communication availability between the communication device and the communicator (see Fig. 6, [0074]-[0075], discloses when the NFC antenna 120 is communicating, the operation button MB is displayed in the divided detection area SDR1, and the processor 110 may change the display position and layout of the operation button MB based on the communication state of the NFC antenna 120).
Regarding claims 5 and 6: claims 5 and 6 each recites the similar limitations as in clam 4. Therefore, claims 5 and 6 are also rejected on the same ground of anticipation as used above in claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Uwai teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Uwai further teaches wherein in the period of communication processing between the communicator and the communication device, the detector is configured not to detect the proximity or contact of an object with the first detection region, or not to output to the controller an indication that the detector detects the proximity or contact of an object with the first detection region (Fig. 7, step S11-S13, [0078]-[0079], discloses when it is determined that the NFC antenna 120 is communicating with the non-contact IC card C3, the processor 110 changes the validation area AR of the touch panel 130 (S13). In this case, the processor 110 changes the divided detection area SDR1 from the validation area AR to the invalidation area IR. [0053], further discloses invalidation area in which the input cannot be detected by the processor).
Regarding claims 8 and 9: claims 8 and 9 each recites the similar limitations as in clam 7. Therefore, claims 8 and 9 are also rejected on the same ground of anticipation as used above in claim 7.
Regarding claim 10, Uwai teaches the limitations of parent claim 4. Uwai further teaches wherein in the period of communication processing between the communicator and the communication device, the detector is configured not to detect the proximity or contact of an object with the first detection region, or not to output to the controller an indication that the detector detects the proximity or contact of an object with the first detection region (Fig. 7, step S11-S13, [0078]-[0079], discloses when it is determined that the NFC antenna 120 is communicating with the non-contact IC card C3, the processor 110 changes the validation area AR of the touch panel 130 (S13). In this case, the processor 110 changes the divided detection area SDR1 from the validation area AR to the invalidation area IR. [0053], further discloses invalidation area in which the input cannot be detected by the processor. Also see paragraph [0048]. OR limitation recited).
Regarding claims 11 and 12: claims 11 and 12 each recites the similar limitations as in clam 10. Therefore, claims 11 and 12 are also rejected on the same ground of anticipation as used above in claim 10.
Regarding claim 19, Uwai discloses: A method for controlling an electronic device (see Fig. 7 discloses operation/method for controlling the electronic apparatus 100), the electronic device being provided with a detector configured to detect an object in proximity of less than a detection distance from, or in contact with, a detection surface (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4B, [0031], [0047], discloses touch panel 130 for detecting user’s touch input on electronic device 100), a controller configured to accept a manual operation corresponding to the proximity or contact of an object with the detector (Fig. 3, [0037], processor 110 connected to touch panel 130 and processor 110 controls a detection state, a detection range, a detection sensitivity, or the like of the touch panel 130 according to a predetermined condition), and a communicator disposed to allow for communication with a communication device brought into proximity with the detector from the detection surface side (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4B, [0029], discloses the NFC antenna 120 is a communication antenna used for a near-field communication (an antenna for near-field communication). The NFC antenna 120 detects a communication medium such as a non-contact IC card or a high frequency identification device tag by a near-field communication, and wirelessly communicates with the detected communication medium. The NFC antenna 120 executes a near-field communication with, for example, the non-contact IC card C3, which is a communication medium adjacent to the electronic apparatus 100, and transmits and receives information. The electronic apparatus 100 may read information of the non-contact IC card C3 via the NFC antenna 120, or write information to the non-contact IC card C3), the detection surface (see Fig. 4A, [0049], detection areas DR) having first (Fig. 4A, detection area SDR1) and second detection regions (see Figs. 4, [0049], detection area SDR2), the first detection region including a range obtained by projecting onto the detection surface a region that is less than the detection distance from the detection surface from out of a region of communication availability between the communication device and the communicator (see Figs. 4, [0052], discloses the divided detection area SDR1 may not be aligned with the outer periphery of the area surrounded by the NFC antenna 120 in the X direction and the Y direction. For example, the radio wave of the near-field communication executed by the NFC antenna 120 may reach the area even slightly outside the rectangular area surrounded by the NFC antenna 120. Therefore, the divided detection area SDR1 may be determined such that the area within a predetermined distance from the area surrounded by the NFC antenna 120 is included in the divided detection area SDR1. That is, the touch panel 130 may ensure the clearance by ensuring that the validation range in which the input can be detected at a predetermined timing does not overlap with the arrangement position of the NFC antenna 120. The position of each of the divided detection areas SDR in the touch panel 130 may be determined in advance, or a range desired by the user may be freely selected based on the input to the touch panel 130, for example), the second detection region not including the first detection region (see Figs. 4, detection area SDR2 not including the detection area SDR1 as illustrated in figure), the method comprising:
causing, in a period of communication processing between the communicator and the communication device (see Fig. 7, step S11 and S12, [0078], discloses processor 110 checks the communication state of the non-contact IC card C3 (S11). In this case, the processor 110 determines whether the NFC antenna 120 is communicating with the non-contact IC card C3 (whether a near-field communication is in progress) (S12)), the controller to limit manual input corresponding to the detection of the proximity or contact of an object with the first detection region, but to accept manual input corresponding to the detection of the proximity or contact of an object with the second detection region (see Fig. 7, [0079], discloses when it is determined that the NFC antenna 120 is communicating with the non-contact IC card C3, the processor 110 changes the validation area AR of the touch panel 130 (S13). In this case, the processor 110 changes the divided detection area SDR1 from the validation area AR to the invalidation area IR. That is, the processor 110 changes a state in which both the divided detection area SDR1 and the divided detection area SDR2 are the validation area AR to a state in which only the divided detection area SDR2 is the validation area AR. [0053], further discloses the touch panel 130 may switch between a state in which the divided detection areas SDR are a validation area in which the input can be detected and a state in which the divided detection areas SDR are an invalidation area in which the input cannot be detected).
Regarding claim 20, Uwai discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a control program of an electronic device (see Fig. 1, [0036]-[0037], discloses processor 110 implements various functions by executing a program stored in the memory 150), the electronic device being provided with a detector configured to detect an object in proximity of less than a detection distance from, or in contact with, a detection surface (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4B, [0031], [0047], discloses touch panel 130 for detecting user’s touch input on electronic device 100), a controller configured to accept a manual operation corresponding to the proximity or contact of an object with the detector (Fig. 3, [0037], processor 110 connected to touch panel 130 and processor 110 controls a detection state, a detection range, a detection sensitivity, or the like of the touch panel 130 according to a predetermined condition), and a communicator disposed to allow for communication with a communication device brought into proximity with the detector from the detection surface side (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4B, [0029], discloses the NFC antenna 120 is a communication antenna used for a near-field communication (an antenna for near-field communication). The NFC antenna 120 detects a communication medium such as a non-contact IC card or a high frequency identification device tag by a near-field communication, and wirelessly communicates with the detected communication medium. The NFC antenna 120 executes a near-field communication with, for example, the non-contact IC card C3, which is a communication medium adjacent to the electronic apparatus 100, and transmits and receives information. The electronic apparatus 100 may read information of the non-contact IC card C3 via the NFC antenna 120, or write information to the non-contact IC card C3), the detection surface (see Fig. 4A, [0049], detection areas DR) having first (Fig. 4A, detection area SDR1) and second detection regions (see Figs. 4, [0049], detection area SDR2), the first detection region including a range obtained by projecting onto the detection surface a region that is less than the detection distance from the detection surface from out of a region of communication availability between the communication device and the communicator (see Figs. 4, [0052], discloses the divided detection area SDR1 may not be aligned with the outer periphery of the area surrounded by the NFC antenna 120 in the X direction and the Y direction. For example, the radio wave of the near-field communication executed by the NFC antenna 120 may reach the area even slightly outside the rectangular area surrounded by the NFC antenna 120. Therefore, the divided detection area SDR1 may be determined such that the area within a predetermined distance from the area surrounded by the NFC antenna 120 is included in the divided detection area SDR1. That is, the touch panel 130 may ensure the clearance by ensuring that the validation range in which the input can be detected at a predetermined timing does not overlap with the arrangement position of the NFC antenna 120. The position of each of the divided detection areas SDR in the touch panel 130 may be determined in advance, or a range desired by the user may be freely selected based on the input to the touch panel 130, for example), the second detection region not including the first detection region (see Figs. 4, detection area SDR2 not including the detection area SDR1 as illustrated in figure), the program comprising:
causing, in a period of communication processing between the communicator and the communication device (see Fig. 7, step S11 and S12, [0078], discloses processor 110 checks the communication state of the non-contact IC card C3 (S11). In this case, the processor 110 determines whether the NFC antenna 120 is communicating with the non-contact IC card C3 (whether a near-field communication is in progress) (S12)), the controller to limit manual input corresponding to the detection of the proximity or contact of an object with the first detection region, but to accept manual input corresponding to the detection of the proximity or contact of an object with the second detection region (see Fig. 7, [0079], discloses when it is determined that the NFC antenna 120 is communicating with the non-contact IC card C3, the processor 110 changes the validation area AR of the touch panel 130 (S13). In this case, the processor 110 changes the divided detection area SDR1 from the validation area AR to the invalidation area IR. That is, the processor 110 changes a state in which both the divided detection area SDR1 and the divided detection area SDR2 are the validation area AR to a state in which only the divided detection area SDR2 is the validation area AR. [0053], further discloses the touch panel 130 may switch between a state in which the divided detection areas SDR are a validation area in which the input can be detected and a state in which the divided detection areas SDR are an invalidation area in which the input cannot be detected).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 13-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claim 13, the closest prior art Uwai further teaches in Fig. 6, [0037], the processor 110 controls a detection state, a detection range, a detection sensitivity, or the like of the touch panel 130 according to a predetermined condition. Paragraph [0096] discloses when the change of the validation area is canceled, the processor 110 may display the validation area after the cancel. For example, the processor 110 causes the touch panel 130 to display the entire area of the touch panel 130 and the validation area after the cancel in the touch panel 130 in a distinguishable manner (by, for example, surrounding the validation area with a frame or coloring the validation area), so that the user can easily grasp the validation area after the cancel. The electronic apparatus 100 may include a speaker, and information of the validation area after the cancel may be output by a sound such as voice. According to such a sound output, the user can easily grasp the validation area after the cancel. However, none of the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of wherein when the detector detects that the motion of an object in proximity or contact with the detector is a prescribed gesture, the controller is configured to remove the limit on a manual operation corresponding to the proximity or contact of an object with the first detection region, even if within the period of communication processing between the communicator and the communication device, in the context of details structure and a method of controlling an electronic device that allow user for more convenient and precise touch operations for devices that execute short-range or proximity communication, as a whole, in the manner claimed is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Claims 14-18 each recites similar limitations as in claim 13. Therefore, claims 14-18 are also objected based on similar reasons.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wyatt (US 10628820 B2) discloses similar disclosure of multi-function electronic payment device (see Figs 9-12).
Zhou et al. (US 9576285 B2) discloses One Gesture, One Blink, And One-touch Payment And Buying Using Haptic Control Via Messaging And Calling Multimedia System On Mobile And Wearable Device, Currency Token Interface, Point Of Sale Device, And Electronic Payment Card (see Figs. 3-5).
/KRISHNA P NEUPANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629