DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first Office Action Non-Final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20 as originally filed are currently pending and are considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 5, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-11 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,349,739. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both cases are concerned with resupplying vaporization devices and excluding data from the user record.
As per Claim 1, ‘739 discloses a computing system configured for resupplying vaporization devices, comprising:
one or more processors; and
a program memory communicatively connected to the one or more processors and storing executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to:
obtain vaporization usage data generated by a vaporization device, the vaporization usage data indicating use of a vaporizable content of a cartridge separable from and removably connected to the vaporization device;
associate the vaporization usage data with a user record of a vaporization device user, the user record containing user data that indicates a rate of consumption of a type of vaporizable content by the vaporization device user;
determine an estimated remaining supply of the type of vaporizable content possessed by the vaporization device user based upon the vaporization usage data and the user record by (i) applying data quality rules to the vaporization usage data to remove a first subset of the vaporization usage data and (ii) determining either a cumulative amount used of the vaporizable content of the cartridge or a remaining amount of the vaporizable content of the cartridge based upon a second subset of the vaporization usage data that excludes the first subset;
determine to resupply one or more cartridges of the type of vaporizable content based upon the estimated remaining supply and the rate of consumption; and
perform an action to facilitate obtaining a replacement cartridge of the type of vaporizable content. (Claim 1)
Claim 1 of the instant application teaches a computing system configured for resupplying vaporization devices. Claim 1 of the instant application fails to disclose obtaining a unique cartridge identifier, authenticating the cartridge identifier and (i) determining a time elapsed since the time of initial use of the cartridge exceeds an expiration threshold and (ii) excluding the cartridge from the estimated remaining supply based upon such determination that the time elapsed has exceeded the expiration threshold;
Claim 1 of the issued patent recites a computing system: obtain vaporization usage data generated by a vaporization device, the vaporization usage data indicating use of a vaporizable content of a cartridge connected to the vaporization device by (i) obtaining a unique cartridge identifier from a cartridge memory of the cartridge at a time of initial use of the cartridge and (ii) authenticating the cartridge using the unique cartridge identifier, associate the vaporization usage data with a user record of a vaporization device user based upon the unique cartridge identifier, the user record containing user data that indicates a rate of consumption of a type of vaporizable content by the vaporization device user and the vaporization usage data including the time of initial use of the cartridge; determine an estimated remaining supply of the type of vaporizable content possessed by the vaporization device user based upon the vaporization usage data and the user record, including (i) determining a time elapsed since the time of initial use of the cartridge exceeds an expiration threshold and (ii) excluding the cartridge from the estimated remaining supply based upon such determination that the time elapsed has exceeded the expiration threshold;
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the computing system recited in claim 1 of the instant application to include the ability to (i) determine a time elapsed since the time of initial use of the cartridge exceeds an expiration threshold and (ii) exclude the cartridge from the estimated remaining supply based upon such determination that the time elapsed has exceeded the expiration threshold, as taught by the issued patent to improve the computing system in order to provide the vaporization device usage data to resupply one or more cartridges.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter with substantially similar claim language. The same rationale is applied to claims 11 and 16 of the instant application.
As per Claim 7, ‘739 discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein:
the user data further comprises data regarding one or more additional cartridges possessed by the vaporization device user; and
the executable instructions that cause the computing system to determine the estimated remaining supply cause the computing system to determine (i) a remaining supply in the cartridge connected to the vaporization device and (ii) a remaining supply in the one or more additional cartridges. (Claim 8)
As per Claim 8, ‘739 discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein:
the computing system comprises a server communicatively connected via a communication network to a mobile device, the mobile device being associated with the vaporization device and receiving the vaporization usage data from the vaporization device; and
the server receives the vaporization usage data from the mobile device. (Claim 2)
As per Claim 9, ‘739 discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein:
the computing system comprises a mobile device communicatively connected to the vaporization device via a wireless communication link; and the computing system receives the vaporization usage data from the vaporization device via the wireless communication link. (Claim 3)
As per Claim 10, ‘739 discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the executable instructions that cause the computing system to perform the action to facilitate obtaining the replacement cartridge cause the computing system to automatically resupply one or more new cartridges to the vaporization device user at a shipping address of the vaporization device user based upon the vaporization usage data and previously specified user preferences stored in the user record. (Claim 5)
As per Claim 11, ‘739 discloses a method for resupplying vaporization devices, comprising:
obtaining, by one or more processors, vaporization usage data generated by a vaporization device, the vaporization usage data indicating use of a vaporizable content of a cartridge separable from and removably connected to the vaporization device;
associating, by the one or more processors, the vaporization usage data with a user record of a vaporization device user, the user record containing user data that indicates a rate of consumption of a type of vaporizable content by the vaporization device user;
determining, by the one or more processors, an estimated remaining supply of the type of vaporizable content possessed by the vaporization device user based upon the vaporization usage data and the user record by (i) applying data quality rules to the vaporization usage data to remove a first subset of the vaporization usage data and (ii) determining either a cumulative amount used of the vaporizable content of the cartridge or a remaining amount of the vaporizable content of the cartridge based upon a second subset of the vaporization usage data that excludes the first subset;
determining, by the one or more processors, to resupply one or more cartridges of the type of vaporizable content based upon the estimated remaining supply and the rate of consumption; and performing, by the one or more processors, an action to facilitate obtaining a replacement cartridge of the type of vaporizable content. (Claim 10)
As per Claim 16, ‘739 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing system, cause the computing system to:
obtain vaporization usage data generated by a vaporization device, the vaporization usage data indicating use of a vaporizable content of a cartridge separable from and removably connected to the vaporization device;
associate the vaporization usage data with a user record of a vaporization device user, the user record containing user data that indicates a rate of consumption of a type of vaporizable content by the vaporization device user;
determine an estimated remaining supply of the type of vaporizable content possessed by the vaporization device user based upon the vaporization usage data and the user record by (i) applying data quality rules to the vaporization usage data to remove a first subset of the vaporization usage data and (ii) determining either a cumulative amount used of the vaporizable content of the cartridge or a remaining amount of the vaporizable content of the cartridge based upon a second subset of the vaporization usage data that excludes the first subset;
determine to resupply one or more cartridges of the type of vaporizable content based upon the estimated remaining supply and the rate of consumption; and perform an action to facilitate obtaining a replacement cartridge of the type of vaporizable content. (Claim 14)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cameron U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0091853 in view of Anderson et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0000143, hereinafter Anderson further in view of Talbot et al., European Patent Application Publication EP 3750423 hereinafter Alarcon.
As per Claim 1, Cameron discloses a computing system configured for resupplying vaporization devices (Figure 17, Ecosystem 1700), comprising:
one or more processors (Figure 19, CPU 1908);
a program memory communicatively connected to the one or more processors and storing executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Figure 19, MEM 1906 coupled to CPU 1908, ¶ [0182] discusses memory device 1906 may include a random access memory (RAM) holding program instructions and data for rapid execution or processing by the processor, cause the computing system to:
obtain vaporization usage data generated by a vaporization device (Figure 25, Step 2510 Detect a usage of the product),
the vaporization usage data indicating use of a vaporizable content of a cartridge separable from and removably connected to the vaporization device (pg.27, ¶ [0215] discusses a count associated with a product can be stored. In an aspect, the product can be a liquid associated with an electronic vapor system…the usage of the product can comprise using a vapor device… the count can be decreased in response to a determination that the product or a portion of the product has been consumed);
associate the vaporization usage data with a user record of a vaporization device user (pg.19, ¶ [0152] discusses the collected usage information, demographic information, and recommendation information can be associated with a user’s identifier),
determine an estimated remaining supply of the type of vaporizable content possessed by the vaporization device user based upon the vaporization usage data and the user record by (ii) determining either a cumulative amount used of the vaporizable content of the cartridge or a remaining amount of the vaporizable content of the cartridge based upon a second subset of the vaporization usage data that excludes the first subset (pg.27, ¶ [0216] discusses the predetermined value can be an amount predicted to be used with a time window. For example, the predetermined value can be an amount predicted to be used within a week);
determine to resupply one or more cartridges of the type of vaporizable content based upon the estimated remaining supply and the rate of consumption (pg. 27, ¶ [0216] discusses an order can be initiated based on the determination); and
perform an action to facilitate obtaining a replacement cartridge of the type of vaporizable content (pg.27, ¶ [0216] discusses the initiating the order can further comprise the initiating the order further comprises prompting the user to order more of the one of the plurality of products from an electronic vapor merchant. In an aspect, the initiating the order can further comprise suggesting an order based on a history associated with the user. In an aspect, the initiating the order can further comprise suggesting an order based on a history associated with the device. In an aspect, the initiating the order can further comprise automatically placing the initiated order. In an aspect, the initiating the order can further comprise prompting a user for approval before the initiated order is placed. In an aspect, the order can comprise one or more additional of the plurality of products based on a history).
Cameron discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the executable instructions that cause the computing system to obtain the vaporization usage data regarding the cartridge connected to the vaporization device (Figure 14, depicts display 1302 which shows the user’s puff count and material remaining).
Cameron further teaches associating the vaporization usage data with a user record of a vaporization device user as disclosed above.
However, Cameron fails to disclose:
the user record containing user data that indicates a rate of consumption of a type of vaporizable content by the vaporization device user.
Anderson teaches the user record containing user data that indicates a rate of consumption of a type of vaporizable content by the vaporization device user (Figure 103A, depicts the average per puffs per day).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Cameron the ability to determine a user’s preferred flavor based on usage as taught by Anderson since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Both Cameron and Anderson are within the same field of endeavor. However, the Cameron-Anderson combination fails to disclose (i) applying data quality rules to the vaporization usage data to remove a first subset of the vaporization usage data and (ii) determining either a cumulative amount used of the vaporizable content of the cartridge or a remaining amount of the vaporizable content of the cartridge based upon a second subset of the vaporization usage data that excludes the first subset.
Talbot et al. teaches (i) applying data quality rules to the vaporization usage data to remove a first subset of the vaporization usage data (Col.7, ¶ [0032] discusses the recorded usage information may be in a form that combines non-retainable data (e .g. time and duration of inhalation event) with retainable data (e.g. simple inhalation event count). The control unit may thus strip the non-retainable data from the usage information so that only the retainable data is stored in the second portion of the memory).
As per Claim 2, Cameron discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the vaporization usage data comprises data measured by one or more sensors of the vaporization device for each puff of a plurality of puffs during use of the vaporization device (pg.14, ¶[0235] discusses activation of the heating element may be caused by automatic detection of the puff based on one or more of signals generated by one or more sensors 32).
As per Claim 3, Cameron discloses the computing system of claim 2, wherein the vaporization usage data comprises one or more of the following: puff duration of each puff or vaporization temperature of each puff (pg.49, ¶ [0547] discusses the vaporizer and/or app may record the temperature and one or more second use parameters, such as one or more of: puff time (duration).
As per Claim 4, Cameron discloses the computing system of claim 2, wherein the data quality rules comprise a minimum puff duration threshold.
As per Claim 5, Cameron discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the vaporization usage data further comprises one or more of: a puff count (Figure 102, depicts data fields 1200, which include a puff counter).
As per Claim 6, Cameron discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the executable instructions that cause the computing system to obtain the vaporization usage data regarding the cartridge connected to the vaporization device cause the computing system to:
obtain a unique cartridge identifier from a cartridge memory of the cartridge (pg.19, ¶[0274] discusses a cartridge including an identification circuit (also referred to herein as a cartridge or pod identification circuit) may be configured to communicate and transfer such information from the cartridge to the vaporizer. The cartridge identification circuit may include a memory (e.g., an EEPROM) and
authenticate the cartridge using the unique cartridge identifier (pg.26, ¶[0331] discusses The authenticity of a pod bearing a pod identifier consistent with implementations of the current subject matter may be determined based on the private key and/or the unique pod identifier included in the pod identifier);
the vaporization usage data regarding the cartridge is associated with the unique cartridge identifier (Figure 102, depicts data fields associated with a pod identifier, which includes usage data such as puff count).
As per Claim 8, Cameron discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein:
the computing system comprises a server communicatively connected via a communication network to a mobile device (Figure 19, depicts ancillary device 1938 wirelessly communicates with Server 1942),
the mobile device being associated with the vaporization device and receiving the vaporization usage data from the vaporization device (pg.20, ¶ [0158] discusses the vapor device 1702, the vapor device 1704, the vapor device 1706, and/or the electronic communication device 1708 can be configured to communicate via cellular communication); and
the server receives the vaporization usage data from the mobile device (pg.20, ¶ [0158] discusses The central server 1710 can store uploaded data and associate the uploaded data with a user and/or device that uploaded the data ¶ [0161] discusses The central server 1710 can receive both the usage information and the location information, access the unified account and tracking information to determine that both the vapor device 1702 and the electronic communication device 1708 are associated with the same user).
As per Claim 9, Cameron discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein:
the computing system comprises a mobile device communicatively connected to the vaporization device via a wireless communication link (Figure 17, depicts electronic communication digital device 1708 wirelessly communicating with vaporizer 1702, 1704, 1706); and
the computing system receives the vaporization usage data from the vaporization device via the wireless communication link (pg.20, ¶ [0161] discusses the vapor device 1702 can be configured to upload usage information related to vaporizable material consumed and the electronic communication device 1708 can be configured to upload location information related to location of the vapor device 1702).
As per Claim 10, Cameron discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the executable instructions that cause the computing system to perform the action to facilitate obtaining the replacement cartridge cause the computing system to automatically resupply one or more new cartridges to the vaporization device user at a shipping address of the vaporization device user based upon the vaporization usage data and previously specified user preferences stored in the user record (pg.20, ¶ [0156] discusses The eVapor Club 1620 can be configured for analyzing one or more of usage data, demographic data, and user preferences to determine a good(s) to transfer to a user… membership in the eVapor Club 1620 cause a low, middle, or high quality vaporizable material to be mailed to the user…The eVapor Club 1620 can select the good according to usage data ( e.g., is the user low on a particular vaporizable material) and recommendation data ( e.g., what other flavor of vaporizable material might the user like) and user preferences ( e.g., has the user indicated a preference for one or more types of vaporizable materials).
As per Claim 12, Cameron discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the vaporization usage data comprises data measured by one or more sensors of the vaporization device for each puff of a plurality of puffs during use of the vaporization device (pg.14, ¶[0235] discusses activation of the heating element may be caused by automatic detection of the puff based on one or more of signals generated by one or more sensors 32).
As per Claim 13, Cameron discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the vaporization usage data comprises one or more of the following: puff duration of each puff or vaporization temperature of each puff (pg.49, ¶ [0547] discusses the vaporizer and/or app may record the temperature and one or more second use parameters, such as one or more of: puff time (duration).
As per Claim 14, Cameron discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the data quality rules comprise a minimum puff duration threshold.
As per Claim 15, Cameron discloses the method of claim 11, wherein obtaining the vaporization usage data regarding the cartridge connected to the vaporization device cause the computing system to:
obtain a unique cartridge identifier from a cartridge memory of the cartridge (pg.19, ¶[0274] discusses a cartridge including an identification circuit (also referred to herein as a cartridge or pod identification circuit) may be configured to communicate and transfer such information from the cartridge to the vaporizer. The cartridge identification circuit may include a memory (e.g., an EEPROM) and
authenticate the cartridge using the unique cartridge identifier (pg.26, ¶[0331] discusses The authenticity of a pod bearing a pod identifier consistent with implementations of the current subject matter may be determined based on the private key and/or the unique pod identifier included in the pod identifier);
the vaporization usage data regarding the cartridge is associated with the unique cartridge identifier (Figure 102, depicts data fields associated with a pod identifier, which includes usage data such as puff count).
As per Claim 17, Cameron discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the vaporization usage data comprises data measured by one or more sensors of the vaporization device for each puff of a plurality of puffs during use of the vaporization device (pg.14, ¶[0235] discusses activation of the heating element may be caused by automatic detection of the puff based on one or more of signals generated by one or more sensors 32).
As per Claim 18, Cameron discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the vaporization usage data comprises one or more of the following: puff duration of each puff or vaporization temperature of each puff (pg.49, ¶ [0547] discusses the vaporizer and/or app may record the temperature and one or more second use parameters, such as one or more of: puff time (duration).
As per Claim 19, Cameron discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the data quality rules comprise a minimum puff duration threshold.
As per Claim 20, Cameron discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein: the executable instructions that cause the computing system to obtain the vaporization usage data regarding the cartridge connected to the vaporization device cause the computing system to:
obtain a unique cartridge identifier from a cartridge memory of the cartridge (pg.19, ¶[0274] discusses a cartridge including an identification circuit (also referred to herein as a cartridge or pod identification circuit) may be configured to communicate and transfer such information from the cartridge to the vaporizer. The cartridge identification circuit may include a memory (e.g., an EEPROM) and
authenticate the cartridge using the unique cartridge identifier (pg.26, ¶[0331] discusses The authenticity of a pod bearing a pod identifier consistent with implementations of the current subject matter may be determined based on the private key and/or the unique pod identifier included in the pod identifier);
the vaporization usage data regarding the cartridge is associated with the unique cartridge identifier (Figure 102, depicts data fields associated with a pod identifier, which includes usage data such as puff count).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cameron U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0091853 in view of Cameron 2, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0046738 further in view of Achtien U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0352249.
As per Claim 7, Cameron discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein:
the user data further comprises data regarding one or more additional cartridges possessed by the vaporization device user; and
the executable instructions that cause the computing system to determine the estimated remaining supply cause the computing system to determine
a remaining supply in the cartridge connected to the vaporization device (Figure 14, depicts remaining amount in Container 1 is 20%) and
a remaining supply in the one or more additional cartridges (Figure 14, depicts remaining amount in Container 2).
However, Cameron fails to disclose the user data further comprises data regarding one or more additional cartridges possessed by the vaporization device user.
Achtien et al. teaches the user data further comprises data regarding one or more additional cartridges possessed by the vaporization device user (pg.25, 1 [0203] discusses user buying cartridges for the vaporizer directly from a source may use an app to understand exactly how many cartridges that the user has and how many they have left).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of inventory management before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cameron to include the ability to track a user's cartridge inventory as taught by Achtien to provide vaporizers and vaporizer systems, which can include a device in communication with a vaporizer identification of a cartridge and/or a vaporizable material in the cartridge, data exchange (either one-way or two-way) between a cartridge and a vaporizer with which the cartridge is engaged. Abstract
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nerudia Limited European Patent Application EP 3750423, discusses a smoking substitute device comprising a control unit and a memory. The control unit is configured to record in the memory usage information. The control unit is configured to, upon receiving an instruction to clear the memory, clear a first portion of the information from the memory, and retain a second portion of the information in the memory. Abstract
/ASHFORD S HAYLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627