DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filled on 06/05/2025 and 08/11/2025 is being considered in the examination of this application.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “base station and the pedestal include corresponding engagement structures” in claims 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zambelli (US 2019/0367185 A1), as cited on the IDS filed on 06/05/2025.
6. Regarding Claim 1, Zambelli discloses a docking system for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Abstract and paras. [0063]-[0065]; system 10/110 for landing and handling drones 1, system 10 is fitable to new or existing buildings or structures 12/112 as seen in FIG. 1), the docking system comprising:
a base station configured to receive the UAV (para. [0065]; landing station 15/115 configured to receive drone 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-4 and 8-10); and
a pedestal including an upper wall configured to support the base station in an elevated position such that the base station is positioned atop and externally of the pedestal (paras. [0069]; landing station 115 positioned on a building 112 roof top, accordingly the landing station 115 must be supported by an upper wall and the landing station 115 must be in an elevated position and positioned atop of building 112).
7. Regarding Claim 2, Zambelli discloses the docking system of claim 1, wherein the pedestal includes a fixed configuration (buildings by definition include a fixed configuration, accordingly building 112 must include a fixed configuration).
8. Regarding Claim 5, Zambelli discloses the docking system of claim 1, wherein the base station and the pedestal include corresponding engagement structures configured for releasable engagement to inhibit unintended separation of the base station and the pedestal (paras. [0069]; with consideration of landing station 115 being configured to be positioned on a building 112 roof top, each of the station 115 and building must include corresponding engagement structures configured for releasable engagement).
9. Regarding Claim 18, Zambelli disclose a pedestal configured to support a single base station for a UAV in an elevated position (see the discussion above, regarding claim 1).
10. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11, 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Scott (US 12503256 B2).
11. Regarding Claim 1, Scott discloses a docking system for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (col. 3 ll. 41-48; docking system 10 as seen in FIG. 1), the docking system comprising:
a base station (col. 3, ll. 39-48 and col. 4, ll. 31-42; upper portion of system 10 which includes at least pyramidal bottom surface 22, base perimeter 24, latches 46 and mating rack 26 which are attachable and not comprises by the UAV 20 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4) configured to receive the UAV (20); and
a pedestal including an upper wall configured to support the base station in an elevated position such that the base station is positioned atop and externally of the pedestal (col. 3, ln. 55 - col. 4, ln. 5 and col. 5, ll. 49; cargo pod 30 including surface 32 sloping upwards and terminating at central portion 56 configured to support bottom surface 22 in an elevated position such that bottom surface 22 is positioned at top and externally of cargo pod 30 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4).
12. Regarding Claim 2, Scott discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the pedestal includes a fixed configuration (a fixed configuration of cargo pod 30 as seen in FIG. 1).
13. Regarding Claim 3, Scott discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the pedestal includes an open configuration (col. 3, ll. 60--64; cargo pod 30 includes cargo bay 34 lockable by an access door 35 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4, see also open through area underneath pod bottom surface 33, between cargo pod standoffs/legs (unlabeled) as seen in FIGS. 1-4).
14. Regarding Claim 5, Scott discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the base station and the pedestal include corresponding engagement structures configured for releasable engagement to inhibit unintended separation of the base station and the pedestal (col. 4, ll. 16-30; releasable latching via latch 46 and larch receptacle 36 as seen in FIGS. 1-2).
15. Regarding Claim 6, Scott discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the pedestal further includes:
side walls extending from the upper wall (surface 32 forming side walls extending from central portion 56 as seen in FIGS. 1 and 5); and
base walls extending from the side walls (base walls extending downwardly form walls forming surface 32 as seen in FIGS. 1 and 4-5).
16. Regarding Claim 7, Scott discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the side walls extend in non-orthogonal relation to the upper wall (walls of surface 32 extending at an angle relative to central portion 56 as seen in FIGS. 1 and 4-5).
17. Regarding Claim 8, Scott discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the side walls and the upper wall define obtuse angles therebetween (walls of surface 32 relative to central portion 56 clearly define obtuse angles therebetween as seen in FIGS. 1 and 4-5).
18. Regarding Claim 9, Scott discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the side walls extend in a non-orthogonal relative to the base wall (side walls of surface 32 are clearly at an angle relative to the base walls extending downwardly therefrom as seen in FIGS. 4-5).
19. Regarding Claim 11, Scott discloses a docking system for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), the docking system comprising:
a base station (col. 3, ll. 39-48 and col. 4, ll. 31-42; upper portion of system 10 which includes at least pyramidal bottom surface 22, base perimeter 24, latches 46 and mating rack 26 which are attachable and not comprises by the UAV 20 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4) configured to receive the UAV (20); and
a pedestal configured to support the base station in an elevated position (col. 3, ln. 55 - col. 4, ln. 5 and col. 5, ll. 49; cargo pod 30 including surface 32 sloping upwards and terminating at central portion 56 configured to support bottom surface 22 in an elevated position such that bottom surface 22 is positioned at top and externally of cargo pod 30 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4), wherein the pedestal includes an open (a fixed configuration of cargo pod 30 as seen in FIG. 1), fixed configuration (col. 3, ll. 60--64; cargo pod 30 includes cargo bay 34 lockable by an access door 35 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4, see also open through area underneath pod bottom surface 33, between cargo pod standoffs/legs (unlabeled) as seen in FIGS. 1-4).
20. Regarding Claim 14, Scott discloses the docking system of claim 11, wherein the pedestal includes:
an upper wall configured to support the base station (col. 4, ll. 6-15; central portion 56 configured to support bottom surface 22);
side walls extending from the upper wall (surface 32 forming side walls extending from wall of central portion 56 as seen in FIGS. 1 and 5); and
base walls extending from the side walls (surface 32 forming side walls extending from central portion 56 as seen in FIGS. 1 and 5).
21. Regarding Claim 15, Scott discloses the docking system of claim 14, wherein the side walls extend in non-orthogonal relation to the upper wall (walls of surface 32 extending at an angle relative to central portion 56 as seen in FIGS. 1 and 4-5).
22. Regarding Claim 16, Scott discloses the docking system of claim 15, wherein the side walls and the upper wall define obtuse angles therebetween (walls of surface 32 relative to central portion 56 clearly define obtuse angles therebetween as seen in FIGS. 1 and 4-5).
23. Regarding Claim 18, Scott discloses a pedestal configured to support a single base station for a UAV in an elevated position (see the discussion above regarding claims 1 and 11).
24. Regarding Claim 19, Scott discloses the pedestal of claim 18, wherein the pedestal includes an open, fixed configuration (see the discussion above regarding claims 2-3 and 11).
25. Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Walsh et al. (US 12528599 B2), hereinafter “Walsh”.
26. Regarding Claim 18, Walsh discloses a pedestal configured to support a single base station for a UAV in an elevated position (Walsh Abstract and col. 5, ll. 29-38; landing pad including landing platform 2 and support brace 4, accordingly the landing pad 1 is structurally capable of supporting a single base station for a UAV in an elevated position as seen in FIGS. 1-2).
27. Regarding Claim 19, Walsh discloses the pedestal of claim 18, wherein the pedestal includes an open, fixed configuration (FIG. 2).
28. Regarding Claim 20, Walsh discloses the pedestal of claim 19, wherein the pedestal includes:
an open front end (FIG. 2);
an open rear end (FIG. 2); and
an exposed interior space extending between the open front end and the open rear end (FIG. 2).
29. Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gusdorf et al. (US 3917368 A), hereinafter “Gusdorf”.
30. Regarding Claim 18, Gusdorf discloses a pedestal configured to support a single base station for a UAV in an elevated position (Abstract and col. 2, ll. 12-20; mobile pedestal cart including single column 11 and platform 10, accordingly the pedestal cart is structurally capable of supporting a single base station for a UAV in an elevated position as seen in FIG. 1).
31. Regarding Claim 19, Gusdorf discloses the pedestal of claim 18, wherein the pedestal includes an open, fixed configuration (FIGS. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
33. Claim(s) 3-5, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zambelli (US 2019/0367185 A1), in view of Brody (US 2014/0252168 A1).
34. Regarding Claim 3, Zambelli disclose the docking system of claim 1.
Zambelli is silent regarding the pedestal includes an open configuration.
Brody discloses a pedestal configured to support a base station in an elevated position (para. [0043]; heliport 200 in the form of a building as seen in FIGS. 5-8), wherein the pedestal includes an open configuration (heliport 200 includes a through opening from a front end to a rear end as seen in FIGS. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zambelli as taught by Brody such that the pedestal includes an open configuration in order to reduce the impact of drag caused by the wind on the pedestal as well as allowing for the UAV to maneuver around and through the pedestal as intended by the user.
35. Regarding Claim 4, modified Zambelli discloses (see Brody) the system of claim 3, wherein the pedestal includes:
an open front end (FIG. 5); and
an open rear end (FIG. 6).
36. Regarding Claim 5, modified Zambelli discloses (see Zambelli) the docking system of claim 1, wherein the base station and the pedestal include corresponding engagement structures configured for releasable engagement to inhibit unintended separation of the base station and the pedestal (paras. [0069]; with consideration of landing station 115 being configured to be positioned on a building 112 roof top, each of the station 115 and building must include corresponding engagement structures configured for releasable engagement).
37. Regarding Claim 11, Zambelli discloses a docking system for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Abstract and paras. [0063]-[0065]; system 10/110 for landing and handling drones 1, system 10 is fitable to new or existing buildings or structures 12/112 as seen in FIG. 1), the docking system comprising:
a base station configured to receive the UAV (para. [0065]; landing station 15/115 configured to receive drone 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-4 and 8-10); and
a pedestal configured to support the base station in an elevated position (para. [0069]; landing station 115 positioned on a building 112 roof top), wherein the pedestal includes an open, fixed configuration (buildings by definition include a fixed configuration, accordingly building 112 must include a fixed configuration).
Zambelli is silent regarding wherein the pedestal includes an open, fixed configuration.
Brody discloses a pedestal configured to support a base station in an elevated position (para. [0043]; heliport 200 in the form of a building as seen in FIGS. 5-8), wherein the pedestal includes an open, fixed configuration (heliport 200 is in a fixed configuration and includes a through opening from a front end to a rear end as seen in FIGS. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zambelli as taught by Brody such that the pedestal includes an open, fixed configuration in order to reduce the impact of drag caused by the wind on the pedestal as well as allowing for the UAV to maneuver around and through the pedestal as intended by the user.
38. Regarding Claim 13, modified Zambelli discloses (see Brody) the system of claim 11, wherein the pedestal includes:
an open front end (FIG. 5); and
an open rear end (FIG. 6).
39. Claim(s) 10, 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott (US 12503256 B2).
40. Regarding Claims 10, Scott discloses the docking system of claim 9, wherein the side walls and the base walls define obtuse angles therebetween (FIG. 4).
Scott is silent regarding the side walls and the base walls define specifically acute angles therebetween. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to modify the invention of Scott such that the side walls and the base walls define acute angles therebetween, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In doing so, the sidewalls relative to the base walls are configured in a manner that provides advantages in strength, stability and the ability to withstand heavier loads placed above the pedestal.
41. Regarding Claim 12, Scott discloses the docking system of claim 11, wherein the pedestal is formed from a material (cargo pod 30 must be formed by at least single piece of material).
Scott is silent regarding the pedestal is formed from specifically a single piece of material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Scott such that the pedestal is formed from a single piece of material, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). In doing so, the docking system benefits from having a pedestal with a unitary and rigid construction which is advantageous in supporting the base station in the elevated position, and safeguarding the operability of the docking system during adverse weather conditions.
42. Regarding Claims 17, Scott discloses the docking system of claim 9, wherein the side walls and the base walls define obtuse angles therebetween (FIG. 4).
Scott is silent regarding the side walls and the base walls define specifically acute angles therebetween. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to modify the invention of Scott such that the side walls and the base walls define acute angles therebetween, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In doing so, the sidewalls relative to the base walls are configured in a manner that provides advantages in strength, stability and the ability to withstand heavier loads placed above the pedestal.
Double Patenting
44. Claims 1 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,378,017. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the pending application is encompassed by patented claims 1 and 4. Furthermore, claim 18 of the pending application is encompassed by each of patented claims 1 and 12.
While the limitations of the above-mentioned claims of the pending application are worded differently, the limitations of the above-mentioned patented claims anticipate the limitations of the pending claims.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Blake et al. (US 2018/0141682 A1), Benner (US 11834181 B2), Gil et al. (US 12492099 B2) individually disclose docking systems including a base station and a pedestal configured to support the base station in an elevated position.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this or any earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Arfan Sinaki, whose telephone number is 571-272-7185. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm EST.
/ARFAN Y. SINAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642