DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Scott (US 12503256 B2).
4. Regarding Claim 18, Scott discloses a freestanding pedestal configured to support a single base station for a single UAV in an elevated position (col. 3 ll. 41-48, col. 3, ln. 55 - col. 4, ln. 5 and col. 5, ll. 49; docking system 10 including a cargo pod 30 including surface 32 sloping upwards and terminating at central portion 56 configured to support bottom surface 22 in an elevated position such that bottom surface 22 is positioned at top and externally of cargo pod 30, the docking system 10 further include the at least pyramidal bottom surface 22, base perimeter 24, latches 46 and mating rack 26 which are attachable and not comprised by the UAV 20 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4), wherein the freestanding pedestal includes:
side walls (52); and
an upper end configured to support and engage the single base station to thereby connect the freestanding pedestal to the single base station (pyramidal top surface 32 sloping upwards and terminating at central portion 56 configured to support bottom surface 22 in an elevated position such that bottom surface 22 is positioned at top and externally of cargo pod 30 as seen in FIGS. 1 and 5), wherein the freestanding pedestal defines an open, interior space extending between side walls and the upper end (col. 3, ll. 60-64; cargo bay 34 is by definition an open interior space which extends between side walls 52 on each of the right, left and top sides as seen in Fig. 4).
5. Regarding Claim 19, Scott discloses the freestanding pedestal of claim 18, wherein the freestanding pedestal includes an open, fixed configuration (FIG. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott (US 12503256 B2).
8. Regarding Claim 22, Scott discloses the freestanding pedestal of claim 18, wherein the upper end includes an upper wall (52), and a side wall (52) of the side walls (52) extends in a non-orthogonal relation to the upper wall (FIG. 4).
Scott is silent regarding specifically the side walls extend in non-orthogonal relation to the upper wall. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to make the side walls extend in relation to the upper wall in whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. In doing so, the side walls relative to the upper wall are configured in a manner that provides structural benefits by transferring vertical load paths more efficiently to the pedestal, reducing lateral stress and increasing stability compared to side walls extending orthogonally in relation to the upper wall.
9. Regarding Claim 23, Scott discloses the freestanding pedestal of claim 22, wherein the side wall (52) of the side walls (52) and the upper wall (52) defines an obtuse angle therebetween (FIG. 4).
Scott is silent regarding specifically the side walls and the upper wall define obtuse angles therebetween. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to make the side walls oriented relative to the upper wall in whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. In doing so, the sidewalls relative to the base walls are configured in a manner that provides advantages in strength, stability and the ability to withstand heavier loads placed above the pedestal.
Double Patenting
11. Claim 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,378,017 in view of Scott (US 12503256 B2).
12. Claim 1 discloses a docking system for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), the docking system comprising: a base station configured to receive the UAV; and a pedestal configured to support the base station in an elevated position such that the base station is positioned atop the pedestal, the pedestal defining an interior space configured in correspondence with an outer contour of the base station such that the base station is positionable within the pedestal to protect the base station during nonuse; wherein the pedestal includes: an upper wall having a non-linear configuration; first and second side walls extending from the upper wall, each of the first and second side walls having a generally linear configuration; and first and second base walls extending laterally inward from the first and second side walls, respectively, each of the first and second base walls having a generally linear configuration. Claim 1 of the U.S. patent does not disclose a freestanding standing pedestal. In view of teachings of Scot, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of the U.S. patent such that the pedestal is a freestanding pedestal in order increase the capability, transportability and usability of the freestanding pedestal as intended by the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 6-17 and 21 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The Prior art of record fails to disclose the combined limitations of claim 1 and 11, respectively. In particular, the prior art in record fails to mention “wherein the pedestal includes an open front end and an open rear end providing access to an interior space defined by the pedestal extending from a bottom of the pedestal to the upper wall” as recited in claim 1 as well as “wherein the pedestal includes a fixed configuration defining an open, interior space extending between a lower end of the pedestal and an upper end of the pedestal” as recited in claim 11.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcoming the nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to arguments pertaining to claim 18, the applicant asserts that Scott does not disclose claim 18 as currently amended. In particular, the applicant asserts that Scott does not disclose “"[a] freestanding pedestal configured to support a single base station for a single UAV in an elevated position" that includes "side walls" and "an upper end configured to support and engage the single base station to thereby connect the freestanding pedestal to the single base station, wherein the freestanding pedestal defines an open, interior space extending between side walls and the upper end," as recited in amended independent claim 18” on pp. 8-9 of the remarks. These arguments are not considered to be persuasive. Applicant’s statements amount to no more than reciting the disputed limitations and generally alleging that the cited prior art references are deficient. Merely pointing out certain claim features recited in independent claim 18 and nakedly asserting that Scott does not teach or suggest such features does not amount to a separate patentability argument. Attorney arguments that are conclusory in nature, i.e., providing no further substantive explanation or evidence in support is afforded little weight. See In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 424 F.3d 1276, 1284 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“Attorney argument is no substitute for evidence.”). Furthermore, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996): In re De Blauwe, 736 F,2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); See MPEP 2145. In addition, the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.Sti 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion to what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prime facie case of obviousness.''). Accordingly, as discussed above regarding claim 18, Scott is currently be relied upon for anticipating claim 18.
With regard to further arguments pertaining to claim 18, the applicant asserts that “amended independent claims 1, 11, and 18 are allowable over Scott under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2), as discussed and agreed to during the interview, as are claims 2, 6-9, 14-16, and 19, which depend therefrom.” on p. 9 of the remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees, as there was no discussion regarding Claim 18 specifically in relation to Scott’s disclosure during the conducted interview. While the examiner agrees regarding the applicant’s characterization of claim 18 in view of Gusdorf’s disclosure, however, there was no particular discussion held during the interview regarding the status of amended claim 18 in view of Scott’s disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this or any earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Arfan Sinaki, whose telephone number is 571-272-7185. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm.
/ARFAN Y. SINAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642