DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CORDRAY et al (2007/0157247) in view of LEGALL et al (6,005,565)
As to claim 1-6, CORDRAY discloses systems and methods for managing content and further discloses a method comprising:
accessing a database (Server or Device) comprising a plurality of data for a plurality of user profiles; accessing a user profile of the plurality of user profiles to process a respective data structure (Profile Guide or schedules based on monitor viewing history) of the plurality of data structures (associated with respective profile(s)) to identify a plurality of content items; for each respective content item of the plurality of content items (figs; 7-15, [0007-0009]; [0062-0063] [0131-0135]-viewing history, [0145-0149]-viewing history [0169-0171]), the interactive media guidance App (IMG-APP) monitors watched shows, series, episodes, etc. stored at the user device or server and new content or other shows, series, episodes, etc., to generate specific profile(s): Mom, Family, Mary, Guest, etc. comprising the visual indicators for listing of viewed or unviewed (respective data structures) content and New to Me “NW” shows, series, particular episode that has been airing for a time period; the claimed “first region…” and “second region…” are functional descriptive and can be directed to any region within the display interface; various terms that includes viewing history, option to Browser User Profile; various displays options: viewing history listings, listing of programs, ads viewed and not viewed, related info schedules, listings of descriptions, actors, schedule info, etc., on screens);
analyzing the respective data structure to extract a respective subset of frames from the respective content item, based at least in part on data in the respective data structure that is indicative of a history of devices associated with the user profile accessing content items related to the respective content item; and generating a respective user interface (UI) element for displaying the respective subset of frames extracted from the respective content item; and generating for display, on a device associated with the user profile, a display simultaneously displaying at least some of the respective UI elements (figs.14-22, [0062-0069], [0099-0102], [0131-0135]-viewing history, [0145-0149]-viewing history [0169-0171] and [0181-0191]), Server or Device compares the viewing history of media assets previously accessed by the user with a plurality of media assets; (IMG-APP) monitors watched shows, series, episodes, etc. stored at the user device or server and new content or other shows, series, episodes, etc., to generate specific profile(s): Mom, Family, Mary, Guest, etc. comprising the visual indicators for listing of viewed or unviewed content and New to Me “NW” shows, series, particular episode that has been airing for a time period; the claimed “first region…” and “second region…”; various terms that includes viewing history, option to Browser User Profile; various displays options: Data structure: viewing history listings, listing of programs, ads viewed and not viewed, related info schedules, listings of descriptions, actors, schedule info, etc., on screens);
CORDRAY further discloses that the IMG-APP may be provided as on-line Apps, IPTV or website generating for display a landing page of a media provider service and options to interact, select various options to perform searches and browse various media contents ([0051-0059], [0078-0080] and [0134-0138]), BUT appears silent as to wherein the simultaneous displaying comprises simultaneous displaying on the landing page: a first UI element for a first video available from the media provider service, wherein the first UI element shows multiple frames extracted from the first video; and a second UI element for a second video available from the media provider service, wherein the second UI element shows multiple frames extracted from the second video; wherein: the first UI element comprises a title of the first video overlayed over frames extracted from the first video; and the second UI element comprises a title of the second video overlayed over frames extracted from the second video; wherein: user interface interaction with the first UI element causes playing of the first video; and user interface interaction with the second UI element causes playing of the second video; wherein the landing page of the media provider service comprises a plurality of screen areas, wherein each screen area of the plurality of screen areas corresponds to a respective content category; and wherein the simultaneous displaying comprises displaying UI elements sorted into the plurality of screen areas; wherein the landing page of the media provider service comprises a plurality of screen areas, wherein each screen area of the plurality of screen areas corresponds to a respective user activity; and wherein the simultaneous displaying comprises displaying UI elements sorted into the plurality of screen areas.
However, in the same field of endeavor, LEGALL disclose an integrated search of EPG< Internet and other information resources and further discloses simultaneously displaying previously access media asset list and other media asset and further uses user profile data from a second application to retrieve additional media asset; including simultaneous displaying comprises simultaneous displaying on the landing page: a first UI element for a first video available from the media provider service, wherein the first UI element shows multiple frames extracted from the first video; and a second UI element for a second video available from the media provider service, wherein the second UI element shows multiple frames extracted from the second video; wherein: the first UI element comprises a title of the first video overlayed over frames extracted from the first video; and the second UI element comprises a title of the second video overlayed over frames extracted from the second video; wherein: user interface interaction with the first UI element causes playing of the first video; and user interface interaction with the second UI element causes playing of the second video; wherein the landing page of the media provider service comprises a plurality of screen areas, wherein each screen area of the plurality of screen areas corresponds to a respective content category; and wherein the simultaneous displaying comprises displaying UI elements sorted into the plurality of screen areas; wherein the landing page of the media provider service comprises a plurality of screen areas, wherein each screen area of the plurality of screen areas corresponds to a respective user activity; and wherein the simultaneous displaying comprises displaying UI elements sorted into the plurality of screen areas (figs.2-4, Col.2, line 38-Col.4, line 1+), displays search result via the Information resources and other media asset simultaneously; performs power searches to generate additional results to specific requests to simultaneous display specific media contents: frames, videos, icons, thumbnails, etc. within various screens associated with the display page.
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the reaching of LEGALL into the system of CORDRAY to provide additional enhancement to the display interface including generating search results from other resources
As to claim 7, CORDRAY further comprises at least one of: a genre of the first video, an actor of the first video, a review of the first video, a rating of the first video, a content creator of the first video, a year of release of the first video, or a category of the first video ([0140-0158]).
Claims 8-10 are met as previously discussed in claims 1-6.
As to claims 11-16, the claimed “A system….” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed in claims 1-6.
Claim 17 is met as previously discussed in claim 7.
Claims 18-20 are met as previously discussed in claims 1-6.
Conclusion
/ANNAN Q SHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
ANNAN Q. SHANG