DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/11/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Senda et al. Japanese Patent Document JP 2015-133298 A (hereinafter “Senda”).
Regarding claim 1, Senda teaches a circuit (refer to power source 1 and relay drive circuit 10i)(fig.17) for controlling a current flow (refer to abstract) through a relay coil (i.e. coil L1)(fig.17), the circuit comprising: an electronic switch (i.e. switching element SW1)(fig.17) that controls the current flow through the relay coil (refer to abstract); and a comparator (i.e. comparator 16)(fig.17) to control a control voltage applied to a control input of the electronic switch (refer to abstract and fig.16), wherein a first voltage is applied to a first input of the comparator (refer to non-inverting input of comparator 16)(fig.17), and wherein a second voltage (refer to current detection resistor RS)(fig.17) derived from the current flow through the relay coil (refer to current detection resistor RS)(fig.17) is applied to a second input of the comparator (refer to inverting input of comparator 16)(fig.17), and wherein the circuit is configured to reduce the current flow through the relay coil to a holding current (refer to holding current in translated figure below)(fig.16) after a switching operation (refer to relay operation and operating current supply time t1 in the figure below)(fig.16) which is caused by a switching current through the relay coil (refer to abstract)(refer also to energizing current)(fig.16).
Regarding claim 2, Senda teaches the circuit according to claim 1, further comprising: a voltage source (i.e. power source 1)(fig.17) configured to output a constant voltage (refer to power source 1)(fig.17) to initiate the switching operation (refer to abstract, fig.16, and fig.17); and an arrangement of electrical components (i.e. control power supply 17, resistors R3, R4, R8, R9, R21, and R22, capacitor C1, transistor Tr1, and diode D2)(fig.17) provided between the voltage source and the first input of the comparator (refer to fig.17), the arrangement deriving the first voltage from the constant voltage (refer to fig.17) and causing, after a certain period of time, the first voltage to drop to a level which results in the holding current (refer to fig.16)(refer also to capacitor C1)(fig.17).
Regarding claim 3, Senda teaches the circuit according to claim 2, wherein the arrangement of electrical components comprises an RC element (refer to resistors R8 and R9 and capacitor C1)(fig.17).
Regarding claim 4, Senda teaches the circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first input of the comparator is connected to the voltage source through a voltage divider (refer to resistors R4, R8, R9, R21, and R22)(fig.17).
Regarding claim 5, Senda teaches the circuit according to claim 4, further comprising: a switch (i.e. transistor Tr1)(fig.17) that bridges a resistor of the voltage divider (i.e. resistor R22)(fig.17) when the switch is closed (refer to fig.17).
Regarding claim 6, Senda teaches the circuit according to claim 4, further comprising: a capacitor (i.e. capacitor C1)(fig.17), wherein the voltage divider comprises a resistor (i.e. resistors R8 and R9)(fig.17) connected in parallel with the capacitor (refer to fig.17).
Regarding claim 7, Senda teaches a device (refer to fig.17) comprising a relay (i.e. relay 2)(fig.17) with a relay coil (i.e. coil L1)(fig.17) and the circuit according to claim 1 (refer to the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, Senda teaches a method for controlling a current flow (refer to abstract) through a relay coil (i.e. coil L1)(fig.17), the method comprising: generating a current flow through the relay coil (refer to abstract, fig.16, and fig.17) to effect a switching operation (refer to relay operation in the figure above)(fig.16) by outputting a constant voltage from a voltage source (refer to power source 1)(fig.17); and reducing the current flow through the relay coil to a holding current (refer to holding current in the figure above)(fig.16) after the switching operation has been effected (refer to operating current supply time t1)(fig.16).
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838