DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed 04 May 2026 in which claims 1 and 2 are amended, claim 30 is new, and claims 23-29 are cancelled. Claims 1-22 and 30 are currently pending and an office action on the merits follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 20, 21, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0062062 by Han et al. (“Han”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0367633 by Bibl et al. (“Bibl”).
As to claim 1, Han discloses a display panel (Han, display device integrated with touch screen includes a panel 100, Figure 1, ¶ [0027]) comprising:
a first common electrode (Han, plurality of first electrodes 112, Figures 1 and 2) connected to first pixels in a display area (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]);
a second common electrode (Han, plurality of second electrodes 114, Figures 1 and 2) connected to second pixels in the display area (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]); and
a first pixel driver in the display area (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1), the first pixel driver configured to supply pixel data to the first pixels and the second pixels (Han, As illustrated in FIG. 10, the switching unit 200 may be included in a display driver IC 20, and the first and second touch sensing units 300 and 400 may be included in the one touch IC 500. Figure 10, ¶ [0066])(Han, the display driver IC 20 may further include a gate driver that applies a scan signal to a plurality of gate lines, a data driver that applies image data signals to a plurality of data lines, and a controller that controls the elements. Figure 10, ¶ [0067]) and supply a voltage or a signal to the first common electrode and the second common electrode (Han, When the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies the common voltage to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies a first touch scan pulse to the plurality of first electrodes 112 during a first period, and applies a second touch scan pulse to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114 during a second period. ¶ [0035]).
Han does not expressly disclose
wherein each of the first pixels and the second pixels includes a plurality of sub-pixels that comprise a plurality of light emitting elements,
wherein each of the plurality of light emitting elements includes a micro light emitting diode, and
wherein the micro light emitting diode is disposed between black matrices.
Bibl teaches a LED display device
wherein each of the first pixels and the second pixels includes a plurality of sub-pixels that comprise a plurality of light emitting elements (Bibl, The display may include a substrate including an array of pixels with each pixel including multiple subpixels, and each subpixel within a pixel is designed for a different color emission spectrum. An array of micro LED device pairs are mounted within each subpixel to provide redundancy. Abstract),
wherein each of the plurality of light emitting elements includes a micro light emitting diode (Bibl, The display may include a substrate including an array of pixels with each pixel including multiple subpixels, and each subpixel within a pixel is designed for a different color emission spectrum. An array of micro LED device pairs are mounted within each subpixel to provide redundancy. Abstract), and
wherein the micro light emitting diode (Bibl, micro LED devices 400, Figure 14a) is disposed between black matrices (Bibl, black matrix material 202, Figure 14a). As shown in figure 14a of Bibl, there are micro LEDs 400 between the black matrices 202.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Han’s pixels to include Bibl’s pixels because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Han’s pixels and Bibl’s pixels perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing pixels for a display device. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Han’s pixels by replacing it with Bibl’s pixels. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the subpixels with micro LEDs between black matrices.
As to claim 2, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the display panel wherein the display panel includes an in-cell touch display panel (Han, According to the embodiments of the present invention, the display device integrated with an in-cell touch screen can sense the pen touch as well as the finger touch without a separate pen touch input device. ¶ [0072]).
As to claim 3, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the display panel further comprising:
a plurality of connection wirings (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, Figure 1) that electrically connect the first pixel driver to the first pixels and the second pixels and electrically connect the first pixel driver to the first common electrode and the second common electrode (Han, a touch screen is built into the panel 100. The touch screen 110 includes a plurality of first electrodes 112 and a plurality of second electrodes 114. The plurality of first electrodes 112 are arranged in parallel and in a first direction, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 are arranged in parallel and in a second direction. Also, the plurality of first electrodes 112 are connected to the switching unit 200 through a plurality of first electrode lines 1122, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 are connected to the switching unit 200 through a plurality of second electrode lines 1142. Figure 1, ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 5, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the display panel wherein the first pixel driver (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1) overlaps the first common electrode and the second common electrode (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]). As shown in figure 1 of Han, the electrode lines overlap and connect to the plurality of electrodes.
As to claim 6, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the display panel wherein the first pixel driver (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1) overlaps a portion of the first pixels and a portion of the second pixels (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]).
As to claim 7, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the display panel further comprising:
a plurality of contact electrodes that electrically connect each of the first common electrode and the second common electrode to the plurality of connection wirings (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, Figure 1) (Han, The touch screen 110 includes a plurality of first electrodes 112 and a plurality of second electrodes 114. The plurality of first electrodes 112 are arranged in parallel and in a first direction, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 are arranged in parallel and in a second direction. Also, the plurality of first electrodes 112 are connected to the switching unit 200 through a plurality of first electrode lines 1122, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 are connected to the switching unit 200 through a plurality of second electrode lines 1142. Figure 1, ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 8, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the display panel wherein the first common electrode includes a first touch block to sense touch and the second common electrode includes a second touch block to sense touch (Han, the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114 of the display device integrated with the touch screen according to embodiments of the present invention may perform the function of the touch electrode for sensing a touch, in addition to the function of the common electrode for displaying an image. Figure 1, ¶ [0032]).
As to claim 9, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the display panel further comprising:
a third common electrode (Han, another electrode of the plurality of first electrodes 112, Figures 1 and 2) connected to third pixels in the display area (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]);
a fourth common electrode (Han, another electrode of the plurality of second electrodes 114, Figures 1 and 2) connected to fourth pixels in the display area (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]); and
a second pixel driver (Han, touch IC 500, Figure 9) adjacent to the first pixel driver in the display area (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1), the second pixel driver configured to supply pixel data to the third pixels and the fourth pixels (Han, the one touch IC 500 may perform a switching function of the switching unit 200 that transfers the common voltage for the display driving mode and the touch scan pulse for the touch driving mode to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114, a function of the first touch sensing unit 300 that senses a touch in the mutual capacitive type, and a function of the second touch sensing unit 400 that senses a touch in the self-capacitive type. Figure 9, ¶ [0065])(Han, the display driver IC 20 may further include a gate driver that applies a scan signal to a plurality of gate lines, a data driver that applies image data signals to a plurality of data lines, and a controller that controls the elements. Figure 10, ¶ [0067]) and supply a voltage or a signal to the third common electrode and the fourth common electrode (Han, When the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies the common voltage to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies a first touch scan pulse to the plurality of first electrodes 112 during a first period, and applies a second touch scan pulse to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114 during a second period. ¶ [0035]).
As to claim 20, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the display panel wherein the first pixel driver includes a micro driver (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1).
As to claim 21, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the display panel further comprising:
a first contact electrode (Han, connecting wire in first touch sensing unit connector 2300, Figure 3) connected to the first common electrode (Han, plurality of first electrodes 112, Figures 1 and 2);
a second contact electrode (Han, another connecting wire in first touch sensing unit connector 2300, Figure 3) connected to the second common electrode (Han, plurality of second electrodes 114, Figures 1 and 2); and
a communication wiring between the first contact electrode and the second contact electrode. As shown in figures 1 and 3 of Han, there are transmit and receive wirings between the connecting wires.
As to claim 30, Han, as modified by Bibl, teaches the display panel wherein the first pixel driver (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1) is configured to, during a touch period:
supply, using the first common electrode, pixel data to the first pixels but not to the second pixels (Han, when the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the plurality of first electrodes 112 may perform a function of the touch driving electrode, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 may perform a function of the touch sensing electrode. ¶ [0050]), and
supply, using the second common electrode, a touch driving signal to the second pixels but not to the first pixels (Han, when the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the plurality of first electrodes 112 may perform a function of the touch driving electrode, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 may perform a function of the touch sensing electrode. ¶ [0050]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0062062 by Han et al. (“Han”), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0367633 by Bibl et al. (“Bibl”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0320767 by Xu et al. (“Xu”).
As to claim 4, Han, as modified by Bibl, does not expressly teach the display panel wherein the plurality of connection wirings are located at different heights in the display panel and are between a plurality of insulating layers, and the plurality of connection wirings are electrically connected to each other through a plurality of contact holes in the plurality of insulating layers.
Xu teaches an in-cell touch panel and display wherein the plurality of connection wirings are located at different heights in the display panel and are between a plurality of insulating layers, and the plurality of connection wirings are electrically connected to each other through a plurality of contact holes in the plurality of insulating layers (Xu, where the metal layer in which the metal wires 5 are provided and a transparent electrode layer in which the common electrodes 4 are provided are two layers adjacent to each other (namely, the two layers are in contact with each other), the metal wires 5 and the corresponding common electrodes 4 can be directly connected in electricity without via holes. And where the metal layer in which the metal wires 5 are provided and a transparent electrode layer in which the common electrodes 4 are provided are not adjacent to each other, for example, they are separated from each other by an insulating layer, the metal wires 5 and the corresponding common electrodes 4 can be electrically connected through via holes formed in the insulating layer. ¶ [0041]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Han’s electrode lines to include Xu’s electrode layers because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Xu’s electrode layers is comparable to Han’s electrode lines because both are directed to electrodes. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Han’s electrode lines to include Xu’s electrode layers with the predictable result of accurately insulating and connecting the different electrodes.
Thus, Han, as modified by Bibl and Xu, teaches the electrode lines being connected through contact holes though an insulating later.
Claims 10-14, 17-19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0062062 by Han et al. (“Han”), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0367633 by Bibl et al. (“Bibl”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0095576 by Yokoo et al. (“Yokoo”).
As to claim 10, Han, as modified by Bibl, does not expressly teach the display panel wherein the plurality of sub-pixels that comprise:
a first light emitting element configured to emit light in a first wavelength band;
a second light emitting element configured to emit light in a second wavelength band; and
a third light emitting element configured to emit light in a third wavelength band.
Yokoo teaches a display device wherein each of the first pixels and the second pixels includes a plurality of sub-pixels that comprise:
a first light emitting element configured to emit light in a first wavelength band (Yokoo, blue pixel PXB, Figure 24);
a second light emitting element configured to emit light in a second wavelength band (Yokoo, green pixel PXG, Figure 24); and
a third light emitting element configured to emit light in a third wavelength band (Yokoo, red pixel PXR, Figure 24) (Yokoo, Switching element SW1 is provided in a blue pixel PXB. Switching element SW2 is provided in a green pixel PXG. Switching element SW3 is provided in a red pixel PXR. Figure 24, ¶ [0199]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bibl’s pixels to include Yokoo’s pixels because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Bibl’s pixels and Yokoo’s pixels perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing pixels for a display. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Bibl’s pixels by replacing it with Yokoo’s pixels. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, teaches the red, green, and blue pixels which present light in different wavelength bands.
As to claim 11, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, teaches the display panel further comprising a first optical layer surrounding the first light emitting element, the first optical layer comprising an organic insulating material in which fine particles are dispersed (Yokoo, In the organic electroluminescent panel, the common electrodes COME may face the pixel electrodes of organic electroluminescent elements via an organic light-emitting layer to form drive electrodes. ¶ [0180]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 12, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, teaches the display panel wherein the first light emitting element includes:
an anode electrode (Yokoo, bottom half of pixel electrode PE1, Figure 24);
a first semiconductor layer on the anode electrode (Yokoo, top half of pixel electrode PE1, Figure 24);
an active layer on the first semiconductor layer (Yokoo, organic light-emitting layer ORG(B), Figure 24);
a second semiconductor layer on the active layer (Yokoo, bottom half of common electrode CE, Figure 24); and
a cathode electrode on the second semiconductor layer (Yokoo, top half of common electrode CE, Figure 24). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 13, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, teaches the display panel further comprising a sealing film disposed on at least a portion of the first semiconductor layer, the second semiconductor layer, the anode electrode and the cathode electrode, the sealing film comprising a reflective material dispersed in a resin layer (Yokoo, As shown in FIG. 24, an array substrate AR is formed by using a first insulating substrate 30. The first insulating substrate 30 may be either a glass substrate or a resinous substrate. The resinous substrate is formed of a resinous material such as polyimide, polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene naphthalate, polycarbonate or polyether sulfone. Figure 24, ¶ [0197]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 14, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, teaches the display panel wherein the first light emitting element has a vertical structure. As shown in figure 24 of Yokoo, the pixel has a vertically stacked structure. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 17, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, teaches the display panel wherein the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element have a same structure. As shown in figure 24 of Yokoo, each of the pixel structures are the same for each of the colors. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 18, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, teaches the display panel wherein the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element each include a main light emitting element and a redundant light emitting element configured to emit light with a same wavelength as the main light emitting element (Yokoo, FIG. 2 mainly shows the outline structure of the display panel PNL provided in the display device DSP. As shown in FIG. 2, a plurality of display pixels PX (display elements) are arranged in matrix on the display panel PNL. Figure 2, ¶ [0044]). As shown in figure 2 of Yokoo, two pixels of the same color form a single light emitting element in order to provide a redundant light emitting element. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 19, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, teaches the display panel further comprising:
a plurality of banks (Yokoo, banks 35, Figure 24),
wherein for each of the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element, both the main light emitting element and the redundant light emitting element of the light emitting element are on the bank for the light emitting element. As shown in figure 24 of Yokoo, each pixel PX is placed between two banks 35. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 22, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, teaches the display panel further comprising:
a passivation layer (Yokoo, fourth insulating film 34, Figure 24) on the anode electrode (Yokoo, bottom half of pixel electrode PE1, Figure 24); and
a conductive layer included in the anode electrode (Yokoo, bottom half of pixel electrode PE1, Figure 24), the conductive layer including a surface that is in contact with the passivation layer (Yokoo, fourth insulating film 34, Figure 24). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0062062 by Han et al. (“Han”), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0367633 by Bibl et al. (“Bibl”), in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0095576 by Yokoo et al. (“Yokoo”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0091260 by Ogawa (“Ogawa”).
As to claim 15, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, does not expressly teach the display panel wherein the first light emitting element further comprises:
a solder pattern on the anode electrode such that the anode electrode is between the solder pattern and the first semiconductor layer, and
wherein the anode electrode is electrically connected to the solder pattern.
Ogawa teaches a display device wherein the first light emitting element further comprises:
a solder pattern on the anode electrode such that the anode electrode is between the solder pattern (Ogawa, coupling conductive part 52 is formed by solder, conductive pastes, or the like and binds the coupling layer 50f and the anode electrode 112. Figure 5, ¶ [0068]) and the first semiconductor layer (Ogawa, p-type clad layer 106, Figure 5), and
wherein the anode electrode is electrically connected to the solder pattern (Ogawa, coupling conductive part 52 is formed by solder, conductive pastes, or the like and binds the coupling layer 50f and the anode electrode 112. Figure 5, ¶ [0068]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yokoo’s pixel electrode to include Ogawa’s anode and coupling conductive part because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Ogawa’s anode and coupling conductive part is comparable to Yokoo’s pixel electrode because both are directed to electrodes for a pixel. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yokoo’s pixel electrode to include Ogawa’s anode and coupling conductive part with the predictable result of securely binding the anode to the coupling layer.
Thus, Han, as modified by Bibl, Yokoo, and Ogawa, teaches the solder connected to the anode.
As to claim 16, Han, as modified by Bibl and Yokoo, does not expressly teach the display panel wherein the first light emitting element includes a micro light emitting diode.
Ogawa teaches a display device wherein the first light emitting element includes a micro light emitting diode (Ogawa, Each pixel 49 has the inorganic light emitting body 100. The display device 1 outputs light components differing among the inorganic light emitting bodies 100 in the first pixels 49R, the second pixels 49G, and the third pixels 49B to display an image. The inorganic light emitting body 100 is an inorganic light emitting diode (LED) chip having a size of several μm to 300 μm in plan view. In general, the LED chip having one chip size of equal to or more than 100 μm is referred to as a mini LED, and the LED chip having a size of less than 100 μm to several μm is referred to as a micro LED. In the present disclosure, LEDs having a desired size can be used and may be used in accordance with a screen size (size of one pixel) of the display device. The display device including the micro LEDs for the respective pixels is also referred to as a micro LED display device. ¶ [0029]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yokoo’s OLED pixels to include Ogawa’s micro LED pixels because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Yokoo’s OLED pixels and Ogawa’s micro LED pixels perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing an LED pixel. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Yokoo’s OLED pixels by replacing it with Ogawa’s micro LED pixels. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Han, as modified by Bibl, Yokoo and Ogawa, teaches the light emitting element being a micro LED.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0059518 by Akimoto teaches an image display device wherein the pixels include LED structures.
U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0326796 by Tabatake et al. teaches a display device which includes multiple common electrodes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623