DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 20, 21 and 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0062062 by Han et al. (“Han”).
As to claim 1, Han discloses a display panel (Han, display device integrated with touch screen includes a panel 100, Figure 1, ¶ [0027]) comprising:
a first common electrode (Han, plurality of first electrodes 112, Figures 1 and 2) connected to first pixels in a display area (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]);
a second common electrode (Han, plurality of second electrodes 114, Figures 1 and 2) connected to second pixels in the display area (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]); and
a first pixel driver in the display area (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1), the first pixel driver configured to supply pixel data to the first pixels and the second pixels (Han, As illustrated in FIG. 10, the switching unit 200 may be included in a display driver IC 20, and the first and second touch sensing units 300 and 400 may be included in the one touch IC 500. Figure 10, ¶ [0066])(Han, the display driver IC 20 may further include a gate driver that applies a scan signal to a plurality of gate lines, a data driver that applies image data signals to a plurality of data lines, and a controller that controls the elements. Figure 10, ¶ [0067]) and supply a voltage or a signal to the first common electrode and the second common electrode (Han, When the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies the common voltage to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies a first touch scan pulse to the plurality of first electrodes 112 during a first period, and applies a second touch scan pulse to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114 during a second period. ¶ [0035]).
As to claim 2, Han discloses the display panel wherein the display panel includes an in-cell touch display panel (Han, According to the embodiments of the present invention, the display device integrated with an in-cell touch screen can sense the pen touch as well as the finger touch without a separate pen touch input device. ¶ [0072]).
As to claim 3, Han discloses the display panel further comprising:
a plurality of connection wirings (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, Figure 1) that electrically connect the first pixel driver to the first pixels and the second pixels and electrically connect the first pixel driver to the first common electrode and the second common electrode (Han, a touch screen is built into the panel 100. The touch screen 110 includes a plurality of first electrodes 112 and a plurality of second electrodes 114. The plurality of first electrodes 112 are arranged in parallel and in a first direction, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 are arranged in parallel and in a second direction. Also, the plurality of first electrodes 112 are connected to the switching unit 200 through a plurality of first electrode lines 1122, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 are connected to the switching unit 200 through a plurality of second electrode lines 1142. Figure 1, ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 5, Han discloses the display panel wherein the first pixel driver (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1) overlaps the first common electrode and the second common electrode (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]). As shown in figure 1 of Han, the electrode lines overlap and connect to the plurality of electrodes.
As to claim 6, Han discloses the display panel wherein the first pixel driver (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1) overlaps a portion of the first pixels and a portion of the second pixels (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]).
As to claim 7, Han discloses the display panel further comprising:
a plurality of contact electrodes that electrically connect each of the first common electrode and the second common electrode to the plurality of connection wirings (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, Figure 1) (Han, The touch screen 110 includes a plurality of first electrodes 112 and a plurality of second electrodes 114. The plurality of first electrodes 112 are arranged in parallel and in a first direction, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 are arranged in parallel and in a second direction. Also, the plurality of first electrodes 112 are connected to the switching unit 200 through a plurality of first electrode lines 1122, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 are connected to the switching unit 200 through a plurality of second electrode lines 1142. Figure 1, ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 8, Han discloses the display panel wherein the first common electrode includes a first touch block to sense touch and the second common electrode includes a second touch block to sense touch (Han, the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114 of the display device integrated with the touch screen according to embodiments of the present invention may perform the function of the touch electrode for sensing a touch, in addition to the function of the common electrode for displaying an image. Figure 1, ¶ [0032]).
As to claim 9, Han discloses the display panel further comprising:
a third common electrode (Han, another electrode of the plurality of first electrodes 112, Figures 1 and 2) connected to third pixels in the display area (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]);
a fourth common electrode (Han, another electrode of the plurality of second electrodes 114, Figures 1 and 2) connected to fourth pixels in the display area (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]); and
a second pixel driver (Han, touch IC 500, Figure 9) adjacent to the first pixel driver in the display area (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1), the second pixel driver configured to supply pixel data to the third pixels and the fourth pixels (Han, the one touch IC 500 may perform a switching function of the switching unit 200 that transfers the common voltage for the display driving mode and the touch scan pulse for the touch driving mode to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114, a function of the first touch sensing unit 300 that senses a touch in the mutual capacitive type, and a function of the second touch sensing unit 400 that senses a touch in the self-capacitive type. Figure 9, ¶ [0065])(Han, the display driver IC 20 may further include a gate driver that applies a scan signal to a plurality of gate lines, a data driver that applies image data signals to a plurality of data lines, and a controller that controls the elements. Figure 10, ¶ [0067]) and supply a voltage or a signal to the third common electrode and the fourth common electrode (Han, When the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies the common voltage to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies a first touch scan pulse to the plurality of first electrodes 112 during a first period, and applies a second touch scan pulse to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114 during a second period. ¶ [0035]).
As to claim 20, Han discloses the display panel wherein the first pixel driver includes a micro driver (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1).
As to claim 21, Han discloses the display panel further comprising:
a first contact electrode (Han, connecting wire in first touch sensing unit connector 2300, Figure 3) connected to the first common electrode (Han, plurality of first electrodes 112, Figures 1 and 2);
a second contact electrode (Han, another connecting wire in first touch sensing unit connector 2300, Figure 3) connected to the second common electrode (Han, plurality of second electrodes 114, Figures 1 and 2); and
a communication wiring between the first contact electrode and the second contact electrode. As shown in figures 1 and 3 of Han, there are transmit and receive wirings between the connecting wires.
As to claim 23, Han discloses a display device (Han, display device integrated with touch screen includes a panel 100, Figure 1, ¶ [0027]) comprising:
a plurality of pixels in a display area that displays an image (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]);
a plurality of touch units that each include a plurality of touch groups (Han, plurality of first and second electrodes, 112 and 114 respectively, Figures 1 and 2), wherein each of the plurality of touch groups of each of the plurality of touch units comprises a first touch group including a first common electrode that is connected to first pixels of the touch unit from the plurality of pixels (Han, plurality of first electrodes 112, Figures 1 and 2) and a second touch group including a second common electrode that is connected to second pixels of the touch unit from the plurality of pixels but not the first pixels of the touch unit (Han, plurality of second electrodes 114, Figures 1 and 2); and
a pixel driver (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1) configured to output a touch driving signal to the first common electrode of the first touch group of each of the plurality of touch units to sense touch of the first touch group during a first touch period and output a common voltage to the second common electrode of the second touch group of each of the plurality of touch units during the first touch period such that the second pixels of each of the plurality of touch units display an image during the first touch period (Han, As illustrated in FIG. 10, the switching unit 200 may be included in a display driver IC 20, and the first and second touch sensing units 300 and 400 may be included in the one touch IC 500. Figure 10, ¶ [0066])(Han, the display driver IC 20 may further include a gate driver that applies a scan signal to a plurality of gate lines, a data driver that applies image data signals to a plurality of data lines, and a controller that controls the elements. Figure 10, ¶ [0067]) (Han, When the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies the common voltage to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies a first touch scan pulse to the plurality of first electrodes 112 during a first period, and applies a second touch scan pulse to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114 during a second period. ¶ [0035])(Han, when the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the sync signal generator 210 may output the first sync signal to the switch 2100. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the sync signal generator 210 may output the second sync signal to the switch 2100 during the first period, and during the second period, the sync signal generator 210 may output the third sync signal to the switch 2100. Figure 4, ¶ [0041]).
As to claim 24, Han discloses the display device wherein the pixel driver is further configured to output the touch driving signal to the second common electrode of the second touch group of each of the plurality of touch units to sense touch of the second touch group during a second touch period and output the common voltage to the first common electrode of the first touch group of each of the plurality of touch units during the second touch period such that the first pixels of each of the plurality of touch units displays the image during the second touch period (Han, When the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies the common voltage to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies a first touch scan pulse to the plurality of first electrodes 112 during a first period, and applies a second touch scan pulse to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114 during a second period. ¶ [0035])(Han, when the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the sync signal generator 210 may output the first sync signal to the switch 2100. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the sync signal generator 210 may output the second sync signal to the switch 2100 during the first period, and during the second period, the sync signal generator 210 may output the third sync signal to the switch 2100. Figure 4, ¶ [0041]),
wherein the first touch period and the second touch period are included in one frame (Han, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the display device integrated with the touch screen according to embodiments of the present invention may be temporally divided into the display driving mode and the touch driving mode during one frame, and may operate in the display driving mode and the touch driving mode. The touch driving mode may be temporally divided into the first period and the second period, and may operate in the first period and the second period. Figure 4, ¶ [0040]).
As to claim 25, Han discloses the display device wherein the pixel driver is further configured to output the common voltage to the first common electrode of the first touch group of each of the plurality of touch units and to the second common electrode of the second touch group of each of the plurality of touch units during a display period such that the first pixels of each of the plurality of touch units and the second pixels of each of the plurality of touch units display the image during the display period (Han, When the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies the common voltage to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies a first touch scan pulse to the plurality of first electrodes 112 during a first period, and applies a second touch scan pulse to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114 during a second period. ¶ [0035])(Han, when the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the sync signal generator 210 may output the first sync signal to the switch 2100. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the sync signal generator 210 may output the second sync signal to the switch 2100 during the first period, and during the second period, the sync signal generator 210 may output the third sync signal to the switch 2100. Figure 4, ¶ [0041]),
wherein the display period is included in the one frame (Han, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the display device integrated with the touch screen according to embodiments of the present invention may be temporally divided into the display driving mode and the touch driving mode during one frame, and may operate in the display driving mode and the touch driving mode. The touch driving mode may be temporally divided into the first period and the second period, and may operate in the first period and the second period. Figure 4, ¶ [0040]).
As to claim 26, Han discloses the display device wherein the pixel driver is in the display area (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1) and is further configured to supply pixel data corresponding to the image to the second pixels during the first touch period, supply the pixel data corresponding to the image to the first pixels during the second touch period, and is configured to supply the pixel data corresponding to the image to the first pixels and the second pixels during the display period (Han, As illustrated in FIG. 10, the switching unit 200 may be included in a display driver IC 20, and the first and second touch sensing units 300 and 400 may be included in the one touch IC 500. Figure 10, ¶ [0066])(Han, the display driver IC 20 may further include a gate driver that applies a scan signal to a plurality of gate lines, a data driver that applies image data signals to a plurality of data lines, and a controller that controls the elements. Figure 10, ¶ [0067]) (Han, When the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies the common voltage to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the switching unit 200 applies a first touch scan pulse to the plurality of first electrodes 112 during a first period, and applies a second touch scan pulse to the plurality of first and second electrodes 112 and 114 during a second period. ¶ [0035])(Han, when the panel 100 operates in the display driving mode, the sync signal generator 210 may output the first sync signal to the switch 2100. When the panel 100 operates in the touch driving mode, the sync signal generator 210 may output the second sync signal to the switch 2100 during the first period, and during the second period, the sync signal generator 210 may output the third sync signal to the switch 2100. Figure 4, ¶ [0041]).
As to claim 27, Han discloses the display device further comprising:
a plurality of connection wirings (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, Figure 1) that electrically connect the pixel driver to the first pixels and the second pixels and electrically connect the pixel driver to the first common electrode and the second common electrode (Han, a touch screen is built into the panel 100. The touch screen 110 includes a plurality of first electrodes 112 and a plurality of second electrodes 114. The plurality of first electrodes 112 are arranged in parallel and in a first direction, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 are arranged in parallel and in a second direction. Also, the plurality of first electrodes 112 are connected to the switching unit 200 through a plurality of first electrode lines 1122, and the plurality of second electrodes 114 are connected to the switching unit 200 through a plurality of second electrode lines 1142. Figure 1, ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 28, Han discloses the display device wherein the pixel driver (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1) overlaps the first common electrode and the second common electrode (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]). As shown in figure 1 of Han, the electrode lines overlap and connect to the plurality of electrodes.
As to claim 29, Han discloses the display device wherein the pixel driver (Han, plurality of first electrode lines 1122, plurality of second electrode lines 1142, and switching unit 200, Figure 1) overlaps a portion of the first pixels and a portion of the second pixels (Han, each of the plurality of first electrodes 112 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of a plurality of blocks which are formed to overlap a plurality of unit pixel areas, and each of the plurality of second electrodes 114 may be formed as a common electrode consisting of one block which is formed to overlap the plurality of unit pixel areas. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0033]).
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0062062 by Han et al. (“Han”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0320767 by Xu et al. (“Xu”).
As to claim 4, Han does not expressly teach the display panel wherein the plurality of connection wirings are located at different heights in the display panel and are between a plurality of insulating layers, and the plurality of connection wirings are electrically connected to each other through a plurality of contact holes in the plurality of insulating layers.
Xu teaches an in-cell touch panel and display wherein the plurality of connection wirings are located at different heights in the display panel and are between a plurality of insulating layers, and the plurality of connection wirings are electrically connected to each other through a plurality of contact holes in the plurality of insulating layers (Xu, where the metal layer in which the metal wires 5 are provided and a transparent electrode layer in which the common electrodes 4 are provided are two layers adjacent to each other (namely, the two layers are in contact with each other), the metal wires 5 and the corresponding common electrodes 4 can be directly connected in electricity without via holes. And where the metal layer in which the metal wires 5 are provided and a transparent electrode layer in which the common electrodes 4 are provided are not adjacent to each other, for example, they are separated from each other by an insulating layer, the metal wires 5 and the corresponding common electrodes 4 can be electrically connected through via holes formed in the insulating layer. ¶ [0041]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Han’s electrode lines to include Xu’s electrode layers because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Xu’s electrode layers is comparable to Han’s electrode lines because both are directed to electrodes. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Han’s electrode lines to include Xu’s electrode layers with the predictable result of accurately insulating and connecting the different electrodes.
Thus, Han, as modified by Xu, teaches the electrode lines being connected through contact holes though an insulating later.
Claims 10-14, 17-19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0062062 by Han et al. (“Han”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0095576 by Yokoo et al. (“Yokoo”).
As to claim 10, Han does not expressly teach the display panel wherein each of the first pixels and the second pixels includes a plurality of sub-pixels that comprise:
a first light emitting element configured to emit light in a first wavelength band;
a second light emitting element configured to emit light in a second wavelength band; and
a third light emitting element configured to emit light in a third wavelength band.
Yokoo teaches a display device wherein each of the first pixels and the second pixels includes a plurality of sub-pixels that comprise:
a first light emitting element configured to emit light in a first wavelength band (Yokoo, blue pixel PXB, Figure 24);
a second light emitting element configured to emit light in a second wavelength band (Yokoo, green pixel PXG, Figure 24); and
a third light emitting element configured to emit light in a third wavelength band (Yokoo, red pixel PXR, Figure 24) (Yokoo, Switching element SW1 is provided in a blue pixel PXB. Switching element SW2 is provided in a green pixel PXG. Switching element SW3 is provided in a red pixel PXR. Figure 24, ¶ [0199]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Han’s pixels to include Yokoo’s pixels because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Han’s pixels and Yokoo’s pixels perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing pixels for an in-cell touch display. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Han’s pixels by replacing it with Yokoo’s pixels. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Han, as modified by Yokoo, teaches the red, green, and blue pixels which present light in different wavelength bands.
As to claim 11, Han, as modified by Yokoo, teaches the display panel further comprising a first optical layer surrounding the first light emitting element, the first optical layer comprising an organic insulating material in which fine particles are dispersed (Yokoo, In the organic electroluminescent panel, the common electrodes COME may face the pixel electrodes of organic electroluminescent elements via an organic light-emitting layer to form drive electrodes. ¶ [0180]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 12, Han, as modified by Yokoo, teaches the display panel wherein the first light emitting element includes:
an anode electrode (Yokoo, bottom half of pixel electrode PE1, Figure 24);
a first semiconductor layer on the anode electrode (Yokoo, top half of pixel electrode PE1, Figure 24);
an active layer on the first semiconductor layer (Yokoo, organic light-emitting layer ORG(B), Figure 24);
a second semiconductor layer on the active layer (Yokoo, bottom half of common electrode CE, Figure 24); and
a cathode electrode on the second semiconductor layer (Yokoo, top half of common electrode CE, Figure 24). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 13, Han, as modified by Yokoo, teaches the display panel further comprising a sealing film disposed on at least a portion of the first semiconductor layer, the second semiconductor layer, the anode electrode and the cathode electrode, the sealing film comprising a reflective material dispersed in a resin layer (Yokoo, As shown in FIG. 24, an array substrate AR is formed by using a first insulating substrate 30. The first insulating substrate 30 may be either a glass substrate or a resinous substrate. The resinous substrate is formed of a resinous material such as polyimide, polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene naphthalate, polycarbonate or polyether sulfone. Figure 24, ¶ [0197]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 14, Han, as modified by Yokoo, teaches the display panel wherein the first light emitting element has a vertical structure. As shown in figure 24 of Yokoo, the pixel has a vertically stacked structure. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 17, Han, as modified by Yokoo, teaches the display panel wherein the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element have a same structure. As shown in figure 24 of Yokoo, each of the pixel structures are the same for each of the colors. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 18, Han, as modified by Yokoo, teaches the display panel wherein the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element each include a main light emitting element and a redundant light emitting element configured to emit light with a same wavelength as the main light emitting element (Yokoo, FIG. 2 mainly shows the outline structure of the display panel PNL provided in the display device DSP. As shown in FIG. 2, a plurality of display pixels PX (display elements) are arranged in matrix on the display panel PNL. Figure 2, ¶ [0044]). As shown in figure 2 of Yokoo, two pixels of the same color form a single light emitting element in order to provide a redundant light emitting element. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 19, Han, as modified by Yokoo, teaches the display panel further comprising:
a plurality of banks (Yokoo, banks 35, Figure 24),
wherein for each of the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element, both the main light emitting element and the redundant light emitting element of the light emitting element are on the bank for the light emitting element. As shown in figure 24 of Yokoo, each pixel PX is placed between two banks 35. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 22, Han, as modified by Yokoo, teaches the display panel further comprising:
a passivation layer (Yokoo, fourth insulating film 34, Figure 24) on the anode electrode (Yokoo, bottom half of pixel electrode PE1, Figure 24); and
a conductive layer included in the anode electrode (Yokoo, bottom half of pixel electrode PE1, Figure 24), the conductive layer including a surface that is in contact with the passivation layer (Yokoo, fourth insulating film 34, Figure 24). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0062062 by Han et al. (“Han”), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0095576 by Yokoo et al. (“Yokoo”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0091260 by Ogawa (“Ogawa”).
As to claim 15, Han, as modified by Yokoo, does not expressly teach the display panel wherein the first light emitting element further comprises:
a solder pattern on the anode electrode such that the anode electrode is between the solder pattern and the first semiconductor layer, and
wherein the anode electrode is electrically connected to the solder pattern.
Ogawa teaches a display device wherein the first light emitting element further comprises:
a solder pattern on the anode electrode such that the anode electrode is between the solder pattern (Ogawa, coupling conductive part 52 is formed by solder, conductive pastes, or the like and binds the coupling layer 50f and the anode electrode 112. Figure 5, ¶ [0068]) and the first semiconductor layer (Ogawa, p-type clad layer 106, Figure 5), and
wherein the anode electrode is electrically connected to the solder pattern (Ogawa, coupling conductive part 52 is formed by solder, conductive pastes, or the like and binds the coupling layer 50f and the anode electrode 112. Figure 5, ¶ [0068]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yokoo’s pixel electrode to include Ogawa’s anode and coupling conductive part because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Ogawa’s anode and coupling conductive part is comparable to Yokoo’s pixel electrode because both are directed to electrodes for a pixel. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yokoo’s pixel electrode to include Ogawa’s anode and coupling conductive part with the predictable result of securely binding the anode to the coupling layer.
Thus, Han, as modified by Yokoo and Ogawa, teaches the solder connected to the anode.
As to claim 16, Han, as modified by Yokoo, does not expressly teach the display panel wherein the first light emitting element includes a micro light emitting diode.
Ogawa teaches a display device wherein the first light emitting element includes a micro light emitting diode (Ogawa, Each pixel 49 has the inorganic light emitting body 100. The display device 1 outputs light components differing among the inorganic light emitting bodies 100 in the first pixels 49R, the second pixels 49G, and the third pixels 49B to display an image. The inorganic light emitting body 100 is an inorganic light emitting diode (LED) chip having a size of several μm to 300 μm in plan view. In general, the LED chip having one chip size of equal to or more than 100 μm is referred to as a mini LED, and the LED chip having a size of less than 100 μm to several μm is referred to as a micro LED. In the present disclosure, LEDs having a desired size can be used and may be used in accordance with a screen size (size of one pixel) of the display device. The display device including the micro LEDs for the respective pixels is also referred to as a micro LED display device. ¶ [0029]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yokoo’s OLED pixels to include Ogawa’s micro LED pixels because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Yokoo’s OLED pixels and Ogawa’s micro LED pixels perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing an LED pixel. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Yokoo’s OLED pixels by replacing it with Ogawa’s micro LED pixels. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Han, as modified by Yokoo and Ogawa, teaches the light emitting element being a micro LED.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0059518 by Akimoto teaches an image display device wherein the pixels include LED structures.
U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0326796 by Tabatake et al. teaches a display device which includes multiple common electrodes.
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623