DETAILED ACTION
The application of Matthew V. Harte for Battery Powered Control Device Including a Rotation Portion filed 6/05/25 has been examined. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,6-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,5, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12354468 in view of Asayama et al. US Patent Application Publication 2011/0164189.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the instant claims are recited in the patented claims. The patent claims are silent on teaching the illuminating device is LEDs. The reference of Asayama et al teaches a control device that uses LEDs to as the illumination device for providing visual indication (paragraph 0133, 0145-0147).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asayama et al. US Patent Application Publication 2011/0164189.
Regarding claim 1, Asayama et al. teaches a control device comprising:
a wireless communication circuit configured to transmit wireless signals (infrared, paragraph 094);
at least one light emitting diode (LED)[paragraph 073] ;
a control circuit (21); and
a battery configured to produce a battery voltage for powering the wireless communication
circuit, the at least one LED, and the control circuit (fig.5, paragraph 099);
wherein the control circuit is configured to control the wireless communication circuit to
transmit the wireless signals (paragraph 0148)and to control the at least one LED to illuminate the at least one LED in different segments of time within different segments of time of a repeatable time period. (the LED is activated during the time the button is press, paragraph 0133, 0145-0147).
Regarding claim 13, Asayama teaches the repeatable time period comprises a plurality of
predefined segments of time, and wherein the control circuit is configured to perform different tasks
within each predefined segment of time of the repeatable time period (paragraph 019,022,030,039).
Regarding claim 15, Asayama teaches a method comprising:
producing a battery voltage for powering a wireless communication circuit, at least one light
emitting diode (LED), and a control circuit (fig. 5, paragraph 099);
controlling the wireless communication circuit to transmit the wireless signals during a first
segment of a repeatable time period (paragraph 039, 094); and
controlling the at least one LED to illuminate the at least one LED during a second segment
of the repeatable time period (paragraph 030,039,099).
Regarding claim 17, Asayama teaches controlling a first subset of LEDs of the at least one LED to illuminate during the second segment of time of the repeatable time period (paragraph 078,0133); and
controlling a second subset of LEDs of the at least one LED to illuminate during a third
segment of time of the repeatable time period (paragraph 079,0133).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asayama et al. US Patent Application Publication 2011/0164189 in view of Pyle US Patent Application Publication 20080012692..
Regarding claim 2,16, Asayama et al teaches the control device comprises a plurality of LEDs (paragraph 073);
wherein, within the repeatable time period, the control circuit is configured to:
control a first subset of LEDs to illuminate during a first segment of time of the repeatable
time period (paragraph 078,0133);
control a second subset of LEDs to illuminate during a second segment of time of the
repeatable time period (paragraph 079,0133); and
control the wireless communication circuit is transmit the wireless signals during a third
segment of time of the repeatable time period (paragraph 0150). Asayama et al is silent on teaching the control circuit is configured to pulse-width modulate the LEDs to control the LEDs to
illuminate. Pyle in an analogous art teaches pulse-width modulate the LEDs to control the LEDs to
illuminate (paragraph 041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Asayama et al. as disclosed by Pyle because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Asayama in order to further control the visual effect of the LEDs.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asayama et al. US Patent Application Publication 2011/0164189 in view of Yamaguchi US Patent 7,342,187.
Regarding claim 3, Asayama is silent on teaching a rotatable portion that is configured to be
continuously rotated. Yamaguchi in an analogous art teaches a remote control that include a rotatable portion that is configured to be continuously rotated (col. 4 lines 39-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Asayama as disclosed by Yamaguchi because such modification of one type of input means for another and providing the predictable result of enabling input to the remote control for generating command and control to the controllable device.
Regarding claim 4, Asayama teaches a light bar that comprises the at least one
LED and is configured to be illuminated to display visual feedback (paragraph 0133, 0145-0147).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asayama et al. US Patent Application Publication 2011/0164189 in view of Yamaguchi US Patent 7,342,187 and further in view of Del Toro US Patent Application Publication 20150187187.
Regarding claim 5, Asayama et al teaches the control circuit is configured to control the light bar to be illuminated for a first predetermined amount of time (paragraph 0133, 0145-0147) but is silent on teaching a rotating portion of the remote control and the control circuit is configured to fade the light bar to off over a second predetermined amount of time. Yamaguchi in an analogous art teaches a remote control that include a rotatable portion that is configured to be continuously rotated (col. 4 lines 39-53). Del Toro in an analogous art teaches the control circuit is configured to fade the LED light to off over a second predetermined amount of time (paragraph 048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Asayama et al as disclosed by Yamaguchi in view of Del Toro because such modification of one type of input means for another and providing the predictable result of enabling input to the remote control for generating command and control to the controllable device and creating a desired visual effect.
Claim(s) 11-12,14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asayama et al. US Patent Application Publication 2011/0164189 in view of Qi et al. US Patent Application Publication 20140002754.
Regarding claims 11-12,14, and 18-20, Asayama et al teaches the control circuit is configured to control the wireless communication circuit to transmit the wireless signals and to control the at least one LED to illuminate the at least one LED (paragraph 0133, 0145-0147). Asayama teaches the repeatable time period comprises a plurality of predefined segments of time, and wherein the control circuit is configured to perform different tasks within each predefined segment of time of the repeatable time period (paragraph 019,022,030,039) but is silent on teaching an analog-to-digital converter; wherein the control circuit is configured to sample inputs of the analog-to-digital converter during the different segments of time within the repeatable time period as the segments of time. Qi et al. in an analogous art teaches an analog-to-digital converter, wherein the control circuit is configured to sample inputs of the analog-to-digital converter during the different segments of time within the repeatable time period as the segments of time (paragraph 015,023). Qi et al. teaches the control circuit is configured to write in the memory during the different segments of time within the repeatable time period as the segments of time (paragraph 030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Asayama et al as disclosed by Qi et al. because such modification represent an improvement over the system of Asayama et al in order to convert the analog input into a control signal for controlling the controllable device.
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686