DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 16-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-12, 14-30, & 32 of U.S. Patent No. 12,352,094 in view of Hanchett JR (US 2012/0267962 A1), hereinafter Hanchett.
App. 19/230,013
U.S. Patent No. 12,352,094
Claim 16. a powered door frame system comprising: a door frame comprising:
a first vertical jamb member, a second vertical jamb member, and a horizontal jamb member fixedly secured to the first vertical jamb member and the second vertical jamb member;
a pocket formed within at least one of the first vertical jamb member, the second vertical jamb member and the horizontal jamb member; an AC distribution unit positioned within the pocket and configured to receive AC power from a power source that is external to the door frame and distribute the AC power; and an AC/DC converter electrically coupled to the AC distribution unit and configured to convert AC power distributed by the AC distribution unit to regulated DC power for powering one or more electric devices that are mounted into the door frame, onto the door frame or are external to the door frame.
Claim 1. A door system, comprising: a door frame adapted to be mounted within an opening; a door pivotally attached to the door frame; an AC/DC converter disposed within a pocket formed in the door frame and configured to be electrically connected to an AC power unit disposed outside the door system; a DC electric device mounted to the door frame or the door and electrically connected to the AC/DC converter; at least one sensor mounted to the door frame or the door; and a power management controller configured to receive an input from the at least one sensor and send a command or power to the DC electric device, further comprising a DC distribution system mounted to the door frame, wherein the AC/DC converter and the DC power distribution system are located in the upper jamb rail member header of the frame assembly.
Claim 26: a method of powering electric devices using a door frame system, the method comprising:
providing a door frame comprising a first vertical jamb member, a second vertical jamb member, and a horizontal jamb member fixedly secured to the first vertical jamb member and the second vertical jamb member, wherein a pocket is formed within at least one of the first vertical jamb member, the second vertical jamb member and the horizontal jamb member; positioning an AC distribution unit within the pocket; receiving AC power from a power source that is external to the door frame at the AC distribution unit; distributing the AC power from the AC distribution unit to an AC/DC converter electrically coupled to the AC distribution unit; and converting the AC power to regulated DC power using the AC/DC converter to power one or more electric devices that are mounted into the door frame, onto the door frame or are external to the door frame.
Claim 29: A method of operating an entryway, comprising: providing a door frame within an opening; positioning a source of AC power proximate the door frame; converting, within the door frame, the AC power to DC power by rectifying and reducing the voltage of the AC power, and supplying low-voltage DC power to the door; positioning at least one DC electric device on the door or door frame; providing a power management controller electrically connected to the AC/DC converter and operably associated with the DC electric devices and a plurality of sensors for controlling supply of power thereto; receiving data at the power management controller from at least one of the plurality of sensors or the electric device; transmitting operating signals or DC power to DC electric devices from the power management controller in response to the at least one of the plurality of sensors; and operating the DC electric devices in response to the output from the power management controller, wherein the AC/DC converter and the DC distribution system are located in the upper jamb rail member header of the frame assembly.
Examiner notes that a first and second vertical jamb member and a horizontal jamb member secured to the first and second vertical jamb members define a door frame system. Further, the reference Patent fails to disclose an AC distribution unit positioned within the pocket and configured to distribute AC power from the power source to the AC/DC converter.
However, Hanchett discloses, in figure 9, an AC distribution unit positioned within the pocket (Para [0066], “circuit for the frame side of the present invention…circuit 140 comprises”…transformer core portion 24 with primary winding L2), and configured to distribute AC power from the power source to the AC/DC converter (AC power from winding L2 of transformer 24 has an input to the AC/DC converter D9)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the structure of Hanchett in the door frame system of Mainini, to achieve the benefit of implementing a discrete door system that enables latching into the frame for proper alignment and the minimization of an air-gap that facilitates the distribution of power (Hanchett, Para [0048]).
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 25, Lines 1-2, “the at one or more door-mounted devices” is expected to read “the one or more door-mounted devices”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 21-23, 26-28, & 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mainini (US 2003/0167693 A1) in view of Hanchett, JR (US 2012/0267962 A1), hereinafter Hanchett.
Regarding claim 16, Mainini discloses, in figure 1, 2, & 4, a powered door frame system comprising:
a door frame comprising (Para [0022], “doorframe 108”):
a first vertical jamb member (left side of frame 108), a second vertical jamb member (right side of frame 108), and a horizontal jamb member fixedly secured to the first vertical jamb member and the second vertical jamb member (top portion of frame 108 connecting the left side and right sides of frame 108);
an AC distribution unit configured to receive AC power from a power source that is external to the door frame (Para [0026], “power supply 408..driven by standard AC line power”…external to the frame…see figure 1) and distribute the AC power (Para [0026], “power supply 408 includes a step-down transformer…output of the transformer is conditioned through optional power conditioning circuitry 410…power conditioning circuitry 410 can include…AC to DC conversion”); and
an AC/DC converter electrically coupled to the AC distribution unit and configured to convert AC power distributed by the AC distribution unit to regulated DC power (Para [0026], “power supply 408 includes a step-down transformer…output of the transformer is conditioned through optional power conditioning circuitry 410…power conditioning circuitry 410 can include…AC to DC conversion”) for powering one or more electric devices that are mounted into the door frame, onto the door frame or are external to the door frame (Para [0026] & [0030], “multiple sensor types can be used to accommodate multiple access requirements [i.e., broadest reasonable interpretation indicates the door system may include multiple needs for verification, and thus multiple sensors]…controller 406 receives and processes the signal received by the sensor…control 406 provides necessary processing function…to operate the door actuator 400 and to coordinate the activity of the lock mechanism 402”), but fails to disclose a pocket formed within at least one of the first vertical jamb member, the second vertical jamb member and the horizontal jamb member; and
the AC distribution unit positioned within the pocket.
However, Hanchett discloses, in figure 9, a pocket formed within at least one of the first vertical jamb member, the second vertical jamb member and the horizontal jamb member (Para [0048], “mating device 18 [for the frame side circuit] is recessed into frame 16”…i.e., a pocket formed within one of the jambs defining the frame 16); and
the AC distribution unit positioned within the pocket (Para [0066], “circuit for the frame side of the present invention…circuit 140 comprises”…transformer core portion 24 with primary winding L2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the structure of Hanchett in the door frame system of Mainini, to achieve the benefit of implementing a discrete door system that enables latching into the frame for proper alignment and the minimization of an air-gap (Hanchett, Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 17, Mainini in view of Hanchett disclose the powered door frame system of claim 16, and Hanchett continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein the AC/DC converter (Para [0066], “circuit for the frame side of the present invention…circuit 140 comprises…bridge rectifier D9”) is positioned within the pocket formed with the AC distribution unit (Para [0048], “mating device 18 [for the frame side circuit] is recessed into frame 16”).
Regarding claim 18, Mainini in view of Hanchett disclose the powered door frame system of claim 16, and Hanchett continues to disclose, in figure 5 & 9, wherein the AC/DC converter (Para [0048], “mating device 18 [for the frame side circuit] is recessed into frame 16”) is removably mounted within the pocket (Para [0047], “device 18 is secured to frame 16 by retainer 66 and screws 68”…which are removable to remove device 18 containing bridge rectifier D9).
Regarding claim 21, Mainini in view of Hanchett disclose the powered door frame system of claim 16, and Mainini continues to disclose, in figure 1, 2, & 4, wherein the one or more electric devices comprise a DC power distribution system (DC regulating portion of power conditioning circuitry 410) electrically coupled to the AC/DC converter (Para [0026], “door system 10 includes a power supply 408…power supply 408 includes a step-down transformer…conditioned through optional power conditioning circuitry 410…power conditioning circuitry 410 can include filters, regulators, surge suppression and/or AC to DC conversion as necessary or desired”) and configured to transmit at least one of low-voltage DC power, data, and electric signals to one or more other electric devices (power conditioning circuit 410 transmits DC power through controller 406 to door lock mechanism 402).
Regarding claim 22, Mainini in view of Hanchett disclose the powered door frame system of claim 16, and Mainini continues to disclose, in figure 1, 2, & 4, a door movably mounted to the door frame (door 100 mounted to frame 108), the door comprising one or more door-mounted devices configured to receive the regulated DC power from the AC/DC converter (Para [0023], “housing 102…includes door lock mechanism 206”…AC/DC converter of power conditioning circuit 410 to controller 406 to door lock mechanism 402).
Regarding claim 23, Mainini in view of Hanchett disclose the powered door frame system of claim 22, and Mainini continues to disclose, in figure 1, 2, & 4, wherein the one or more door-mounted devices comprises at least one of a video doorbell, a digital camera, a threshold LED light, an electric powered door lock, a hallway illumination light with a motion detector, a motion sensor, and a proximity sensor (door lock mechanism 402).
Regarding claim 26, Mainini discloses, in figure 1, 2, & 4, a method of powering electric devices using a door frame system, the method comprising:
providing a door frame comprising (Para [0022], “doorframe 108”) a first vertical jamb member (left side of frame 108), a second vertical jamb member (right side of frame 108), and a horizontal jamb member fixedly secured to the first vertical jamb member and the second vertical jamb member (top portion of frame 108 connecting the left side and right sides of frame 108);
an AC distribution unit (408);
receiving AC power from a power source that is external to the door frame at the AC distribution unit (Para [0026], “power supply 408..driven by standard AC line power”…external to the frame…see figure 1)
distributing the AC power from the AC distribution unit to an AC/DC converter electrically coupled to the AC distribution unit (Para [0026], “power supply 408 includes a step-down transformer…output of the transformer is conditioned through optional power conditioning circuitry 410…power conditioning circuitry 410 can include…AC to DC conversion”); and
converting the AC power to regulated DC power using the AC/DC converter (Para [0026], “power supply 408 includes a step-down transformer…output of the transformer is conditioned through optional power conditioning circuitry 410…power conditioning circuitry 410 can include…AC to DC conversion”) to power one or more electric devices that are mounted into the door frame, onto the door frame or are external to the door frame (Para [0026] & [0030], “multiple sensor types can be used to accommodate multiple access requirements [i.e., broadest reasonable interpretation indicates the door system may include multiple needs for verification, and thus multiple sensors]…controller 406 receives and processes the signal received by the sensor…control 406 provides necessary processing function…to operate the door actuator 400 and to coordinate the activity of the lock mechanism 402”), but fails to disclose a pocket formed within at least one of the first vertical jamb member, the second vertical jamb member and the horizontal jamb member; and
positioning the AC distribution unit within the pocket.
However, Hanchett discloses, in figure 9, a pocket formed within at least one of the first vertical jamb member, the second vertical jamb member and the horizontal jamb member (Para [0048], “mating device 18 [for the frame side circuit] is recessed into frame 16”…i.e., a pocket formed within one of the jambs defining the frame 16); and
positioning the AC distribution unit within the pocket (Para [0066], “circuit for the frame side of the present invention…circuit 140 comprises”…transformer core portion 24 with primary winding L2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the structure of Hanchett in the door frame system of Mainini, to achieve the benefit of implementing a discrete door system that enables latching into the frame for proper alignment and the minimization of an air-gap (Hanchett, Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 27, Mainini in view of Hanchett disclose the method of claim 26, and Hanchett continues to disclose, in figure 9, wherein the AC/DC converter (Para [0066], “circuit for the frame side of the present invention…circuit 140 comprises…bridge rectifier D9”) is positioned within the pocket with the AC distribution unit (Para [0048], “mating device 18 [for the frame side circuit] is recessed into frame 16”).
Regarding claim 28, Mainini in view of Hanchett disclose the method of claim 27, and Hanchett continues to disclose, in figure 5 & 9, removably mounting the AC/DC converter (Para [0048], “mating device 18 [for the frame side circuit] is recessed into frame 16”) within the pocket (Para [0047], “device 18 is secured to frame 16 by retainer 66 and screws 68”…which are removable to remove device 18 containing bridge rectifier D9).
Regarding claim 31, Mainini in view of Hanchett disclose the method of claim 26, and Mainini continues to disclose, in figure 1, 2, & 4, wherein the one or more electric devices comprise a DC power distribution system (DC regulating portion of power conditioning circuitry 410), the method further comprising:
electrically coupling the DC power distribution system to the AC/DC converter (Para [0026], “door system 10 includes a power supply 408…power supply 408 includes a step-down transformer…conditioned through optional power conditioning circuitry 410…power conditioning circuitry 410 can include filters, regulators, surge suppression and/or AC to DC conversion as necessary or desired”); and
transmitting at least one of low-voltage DC power, data, and electric signals from the DC power distribution system to one or more other electric devices (power conditioning circuit 410 transmits DC power through controller 406 to door lock mechanism 402).
Regarding claim 32, Mainini in view of Hanchett disclose the method of claim 26, and Mainini continues to disclose, in figure 1, 2, & 4, movably mounting a door to the door frame (door 100 mounted to frame 108), the door comprising one or more door-mounted devices (402); and
transmitting the regulated DC power from the AC/DC converter to the one or more door-mounted devices (Para [0023], “housing 102…includes door lock mechanism 206”…AC/DC converter of power conditioning circuit 410 to controller 406 to door lock mechanism 402).
Regarding claim 33, Mainini in view of Hanchett disclose the method of claim 32, and Mainini continues to disclose, in figure 1, 2, & 4, wherein the one or more door-mounted devices comprises at least one of a video doorbell, a digital camera, a threshold LED light, an electric powered door lock, a hallway illumination light with a motion detector, a motion sensor, and a proximity sensor (door lock mechanism 402).
Claims 19-20 & 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mainini in view of Hanchett as applied to claims 16-18, 21-23, 26-28, & 31-33 above, and further in view of Bonahoom et al. (US 2014/0020295 A1), hereinafter Bonahoom.
Regarding claim 19, Mainini view of Hanchett disclose the powered door frame system of claim 16, but fail to disclose a second pocket formed in at least one of the first vertical jamb member, the second vertical jamb member and the horizontal jamb member,
wherein the AC/DC converter is positioned within the second pocket.
However, Bonahoom discloses, in figure 2, a second pocket formed in at least one of the first vertical jamb member, the second vertical jamb member and the horizontal jamb member (Para [0011], “inductive coupler positioned in the door frame transmitting power”…by BRI, the components of FIG. 2 positioned in the frame 18 are disposed in separate pockets along the frame 18),
wherein the AC/DC converter is positioned within the second pocket (Para [0018], “transformer 66 is provided to convert AC power to DC power”…positioned in frame 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the structure of Bonahoom in the powered door frame system of Mainini and Hanchett, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art [i.e., recessing components in separate portions of the frame to prevent any interference between components while ensuring the components are hidden discretely and accessibly]. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Mainini, Hanchett, and Bonahoom disclose the powered door frame system of claim 19, and Hanchett continues to disclose, in figure 5 & 9, wherein the AC/DC converter (Para [0048], “mating device 18 [for the frame side circuit] is recessed into frame 16”) is removably mounted (Para [0047], “device 18 is secured to frame 16 by retainer 66 and screws 68”…which are removable to remove device 18 containing bridge rectifier D9), but fails to disclose the AC/DC converter mounted in the second pocket.
However, Bonahoom continues to disclose, in figure 2, the AC/DC converter mounted in the second pocket (Para [0011] & [0018], “inductive coupler positioned in the door frame transmitting power”…by BRI, the components of FIG. 2 positioned in the frame 18 are disposed in separate pockets along the frame 18…”transformer 66 is provided to convert AC power to DC power”…positioned in frame 18).
Regarding claim 29, Mainini view of Hanchett disclose the method of claim 26, but fail to disclose a second pocket is formed within at least one of the first vertical jamb member, the second vertical jamb member and the horizontal jamb member, and wherein the AC/DC converter is positioned within the second pocket.
However, Bonahoom discloses, in figure 2, a second pocket is formed within at least one of the first vertical jamb member, the second vertical jamb member and the horizontal jamb member (Para [0011], “inductive coupler positioned in the door frame transmitting power”…by BRI, the components of FIG. 2 positioned in the frame 18 are disposed in separate pockets along the frame 18), and wherein the AC/DC converter is positioned within the second pocket (Para [0018], “transformer 66 is provided to convert AC power to DC power”…positioned in frame 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the structure of Bonahoom in the powered door frame system of Mainini and Hanchett, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art [i.e., recessing components in separate portions of the frame to prevent any interference between components while ensuring the components are hidden discretely and accessibly]. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Mainini, Hanchett, and Bonahoom disclose the method of claim 29, and Hanchett continues to disclose, in figure 5 & 9, removably mounting the AC/DC converter (Para [0047], “device 18 is secured to frame 16 by retainer 66 and screws 68”…which are removable to remove device 18 containing bridge rectifier D9), but fails to disclose the AC/DC converter mounted in the second pocket.
However, Bonahoom continues to disclose, in figure 2, the AC/DC converter mounted in the second pocket (Para [0011] & [0018], “inductive coupler positioned in the door frame transmitting power”…by BRI, the components of FIG. 2 positioned in the frame 18 are disposed in separate pockets along the frame 18…”transformer 66 is provided to convert AC power to DC power”…positioned in frame 18).
Claims 24-25 & 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mainini in view of Hanchett as applied to claims 16-18, 21-23, 26-28, & 31-33 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 11,373,471 B2), hereinafter Anderson.
Regarding claim 24, Mainini view of Hanchett disclose the powered door frame system of claim 22, but fail to disclose a smart glass mounted to the door.
However, Anderson discloses, in figure 5, 6, & 8, a smart glass mounted to the door (Col. 8, Lines 24-25, “electrically-operated window (e.g., a glass window, etc.), shown as privacy window 620”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the smart glass of Anderson in the powered door frame of Mainini and Hanchett, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art [i.e., implementing controllable components into the door system to achieve increased privacy as desired]. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Mainini, Hanchett, and Anderson disclose the powered door assembly of claim 24, and Anderson continues to disclose, in figure 5, 6, & 8, wherein at least one from among the at least one or more door-mounted devices is configured to trigger the smart glass to turn opaque (Col. 8 & 9, Lines 59-67 & 1-2, "the electrical wiring (e.g., the high voltage electrical wiring 510a, the low voltage electrical wiring 510b, the external electrical wiring 512, etc.) is connected (directly or indirectly) with a switch, shown as control switch 690 for user operation of one or more of the privacy window 620 In other embodiments, the control switch 690 is additionally or alternatively disposed directly on a rear surface of the door slab 60").
Regarding claim 34, Mainini view of Hanchett disclose the method of claim 32, but fail to disclose wherein the door comprises smart glass mounted thereto.
However, Anderson discloses, in figure 5, 6, & 8, wherein the door comprises smart glass mounted thereto (Col. 8, Lines 24-25, “electrically-operated window (e.g., a glass window, etc.), shown as privacy window 620”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the smart glass of Anderson in the powered door frame of Mainini and Hanchett, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art [i.e., implementing controllable components into the door system to achieve increased privacy as desired]. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Mainini, Hanchett, and Anderson disclose the method of claim 34, and Anderson continues to disclose, in figure 5, 6, & 8, triggering the smart glass to turn opaque using at least one from among the one or more door-mounted devices (Col. 8 & 9, Lines 59-67 & 1-2, "the electrical wiring (e.g., the high voltage electrical wiring 510a, the low voltage electrical wiring 510b, the external electrical wiring 512, etc.) is connected (directly or indirectly) with a switch, shown as control switch 690 for user operation of one or more of the privacy window 620 In other embodiments, the control switch 690 is additionally or alternatively disposed directly on a rear surface of the door slab 60").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mickelson et al. (US 2012/0159853 A1) [Figure 4. Discloses An internally powered sliding panel has a power source and drive train contained internally within the stiles and rails of a frame. A driven wheel is rotatably mounted on the frame and connected to the power source via the drive train. The panel may further include a lift system including a second power source, a lift mechanism, and a lift drive which are contained internally within the stiles and rails of the frame. The power sources, drive train, lift mechanism, and lift drive may be contained completely inside the stiles and rails of the frame.]
Lambrou (US 8,772,970 B2) [Figure 2. Discloses A lock arrangement including an electrically powered lock actuator, a power receiver (30) and a power transmitter (18). The electrically powered lock actuator is adapted for mounting in or on a door (10). The power receiver (30) is adapted for mounting in or on the door (10) in electrical connection with the lock actuator. The power transmitter (18) is adapted for mounting adjacent the door (10) and for transmitting power across an air gap to the power receiver (30).]
Ahmed et al. (US 10,938,250 B2) [Figure 3. Discloses an electrified door or window system having a frame with a power transmitting device and a door or window having a power receiving device. The power receiving device is electrically connected to the power transmitting device in the frame of the door or window. At least one powered device is integrated in the door or window. At least one electrically conductive pathway extends from the power receiving device to the at least one powered device. A controller is provided to control the flow of power from the power receiving device to the at least one electrically conductive pathway.]
Dreyer (US 11,536,078 B2) [Figure 1. Discloses An entrance system is disclosed which has a movable door member having a door leaf with a first vertical edge and a second vertical edge. A sensor unit monitors a zone at or near the door leaf for presence or activity of a person or object, and captures an image of an external object at the first vertical edge of the door leaf, and processing the captured image to identify an optical code and recognize a learning mode trigger instruction encoded therein. Triggered by the recognizing of the learning mode trigger instruction, a learning mode of the sensor unit is automatically entered into, in which a distance between the sensor unit and the external object at the first vertical edge is automatically measured and a field width parameter value of the sensor unit is set based on the measured distance.]
/TYLER J PERENY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836