DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 06/05/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 7 both recite “the conduits” however this is indefinite as it lacks antecedent basis and is unclear to which conduits applicant is referring.
Claims 6 and 7 refer to “the flowthrough flushing mode” and “the flushing circulation mode” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 18-20 each recite “the milk conduit” however this is indefinite as “the milk conduit” lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear if “the milk conduit” is referring to the first or second central milk conduit, or both, or a different milk conduit.
Claims 18-20 also each recite the “fluid supply conduit” however this is indefinite as it lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear if applicant is referring to the “central supply liquid conduit” or something else.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (WO 2023111942 A1) to Kraaij.
In regards to claim 1, Kraaij anticipates a milking system, comprising: two or more milking devices (Kraaij; 101); a first central milk conduit connected operatively to the two or more milking devices; a second central milk conduit connected operatively to the two or more milking devices (Kraaij; milking conduits; 153, 154 connecting 101); a central liquid supply conduit (Kraaij; 165, 165’, 165’’); at least one milk tank connected to the first and second central milk conduits (Kraaij; either of 142, 141 serving as a milk tank, or 102, see FIG 2); a milk flow controller configured to switch between the first and the second central milk conduit as an active milk conduit for discharging milk to the at least one milk tank, wherein the other of the first and second central milk conduit is designated as an inactive milk conduit; and a flushing controller configured to control the flushing of one of the first and/or second central milk conduit which is designated as an inactive milk conduit (Kraaij; see page 12 where one line is flushed with the cleaning solution through a first line and tank, while the other line extracts milk through the other line and tank, control unit in central utility system 120; with cleaning unit 160).
In regards to claim 2, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 1 further comprising a central liquid tank connected operatively to the central liquid supply conduit and configured to flush at least the first and second central milk conduit (Kraaij; 161, 162 with cleaning solution for flushing the milk lines, see FIG 1).
In regards to claim 3, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 1 further comprising a first milk buffer connected operatively to the first central milk conduit and a second milk buffer connected operatively to the second central milk conduit (Kraaij; 142, 141 being the buffer tanks of two buffer units connected to each of 153, 154).
In regards to claim 4, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 1, wherein the first and second central milk conduits extend between the two or more milking devices and the milk tank (Kraaij; each of 153, 154 extends between 101 and 142, 141 or between 101 and 102).
In regards to claim 5, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 3, wherein the first and second central milk conduits extend between the two or more milking devices and the milk tank (Kraaij; each of 153, 154 extends between 101 and 102).
In regards to claim 6, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 1, wherein the flushing controller is configured to enable switching between the flushing circulation mode wherein flushing liquid is being circulated, and the flowthrough flushing mode wherein the flushing liquid flows through the conduits (Kraaij; page 6 where the circuit is configured to switch between cleaning fluid which circulates within the circuit line and through to the return line, or cleaning fluid which is passed through and collected in buffer tanks see pages 7-8).
In regards to claim 7, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 5, wherein the flushing controller is configured to enable switching between the flushing circulation mode wherein flushing liquid is being circulated, and the flowthrough flushing mode wherein the flushing liquid flows through the conduits (Kraaij; page 6 where the circuit is configured to switch between cleaning fluid which circulates within the circuit line and through to the return line, or cleaning fluid which is passed through and collected in buffer tanks see pages 7-8).
In regards to claim 8, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 1, wherein each of the two or more milking devices is provided with a pump for milk transport to the first and/or second central milk conduit (Kraaij; see FIG 2 with pump 124 which pumps the milk through first and second milk conduits 153, 154 through to the milk tank 102 ove longer distances).
In regards to claim 9, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 1 further comprising a second milk tank connected operatively to the first and/or second central milk conduit (Kraaij; either of 141, 142 being a second milk tank which holds milk or 102 being a second milk tank through which milk is delivered).
In regards to claim 10, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 1, wherein at least a part of the two or more milking devices further comprises a milking robot (Kraaij; see page 10 which describes automatic milking robots)..
In regards to claim 11, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 1further comprising a central discharge conduit (Kraaij; discharge line 164, 164’, 164’’).
In regards to claim 12, Kraaij anticipates the milking system according to claim 1 further comprising a central separation conduit (Kraaij; each of the conduits in 150 separating the milk into different lines from 103).
In regards to claim 13, Kraaij anticipates a milking parlour (Kraaij; page 1 describing barns for milking) provided with a milking system comprising: two or more milking devices (Kraaij; 101); a first central milk conduit connected operatively to the two or more milking devices; a second central milk conduit connected operatively to the two or more milking devices (Kraaij; milking conduits; 153, 154 connecting 101); a central liquid supply conduit (Kraaij; 165, 165’, 165’’); at least one milk tank connected to the first and second central milk conduit (Kraaij; either of 142, 141 serving as a milk tank, or 102, see FIG 2); a milk flow controller configured to switch between the first and the second central milk conduit as an active milk conduit for discharging milk to the at least one milk tank, wherein the other of the first and second central milk conduit is designated as an inactive milk conduit; and a flushing controller configured to control the flushing of one of the first and/or second central milk conduit which is designated as an inactive milk conduit (Kraaij; see page 12 where one line is flushed with the cleaning solution through a first line and tank, while the other line extracts milk through the other line and tank, control unit in central utility system 120; with cleaning unit 160).
In regards to claim 14, Kraaij anticipates a method for milking an animal, the method comprising the steps of: providing a milking system and/or milking parlour according with the milking system comprising: two or more milking devices (Kraaij; 101); a first central milk conduit connected operatively to the two or more milking devices; a second central milk conduit connected operatively to the two or more milking devices (Kraaij; milking conduits; 153, 154 connecting 101); a central liquid supply conduit (Kraaij; 165, 165’, 165’’); at least one milk tank connected to the first and second central milk conduit (Kraaij; either of 142, 141 serving as a milk tank, or 102, see FIG 2); a milk flow controller configured to switch between the first and the second central milk conduit as an active milk conduit for discharging milk to the at least one milk tank, wherein the other of the first and second central milk conduit is designated as an inactive milk conduit; and a flushing controller configured to control the flushing of one of the first and/or second central milk conduit which is designated as an inactive milk conduit (Kraaij; see page 12 where one line is flushed with the cleaning solution through a first line and tank, while the other line extracts milk through the other line and tank, control unit in central utility system 120; with cleaning unit 160); switching with the milk flow controller between the first and the second central milk conduit as an active milk conduit for discharge of milk to the at least one milk tank, wherein the other of the first and second central milk conduit is designated as an inactive milk conduit; and controlling with the flushing controller the flushing of one of the first and/or second central milk conduit which is designated as an inactive milk conduit (Kraaij; in normal use, see page 12 where one line is flushed with the cleaning solution through a first line and tank, while the other line extracts milk through the other line and tank, control unit in central utility system 120; with cleaning unit 160; switching occurring through the use of valve systems to allow one line to be cleaned while the other provides milk without the two fluids mixing).
In regards to claim 15, Kraaij anticipates the method according to claim 14 further comprising the step of flushing the inactive milk conduit while the active milk conduit is in use for discharging milk from the milking devices to the at least one milk tank (Kraaij; 161, 162 with cleaning solution for flushing the milk lines, see FIG 1, see also page 2 where one line extracts milk during the cleaning cycle of the other line).
In regards to claim 16, Kraaij anticipates the method according to claim 14 further comprising the step of flushing one of the two or more milking devices while the active milk conduit is in use for discharging milk from the remaining of the two or more milking devices to the at least one milk tank (Kraaij; see page 12 where 161, 162 with cleaning solution for flushing the milk lines, see FIG 1; and the milking devices 101/101’’ are flushed while the other extracts milk directed by the valves switching).
In regards to claim 17, Kraaij anticipates the method according to claim 14 further comprising flushing the inactive milk conduit between the milking device and the milk tank, including a milk buffer arranged in the central milk conduit (Kraaij; 142, 141 being the buffer tanks of two buffer units connected to each of 153, 154; either 142, 141 being flushed when collecting cleaning solution).
In regards to claim 18, Kraaij anticipates the method according to claim 14 further comprising the step of circulating flushing fluid over the fluid supply conduit and the milk conduit (Kraaij as best understood; see FIG 1 where the cleaning fluid is circulated over the fluid supply conduits 165, 165’, 165’’ and the first and second milk conduits 153, 154 in a cleaning cycle).
In regards to claim 19, Kraaij anticipates the method according to claim 15 further comprising the step of circulating flushing fluid over the fluid supply conduit and the milk conduit (Kraaij as best understood; see FIG 1 where the cleaning fluid is circulated over the fluid supply conduits 165, 165’, 165’’ and the first and second milk conduits 153, 154 in a cleaning cycle).
In regards to claim 20, Kraaij anticipates the method according to claim 17 further comprising the step of circulating flushing fluid over the fluid supply conduit and the milk conduit (Kraaij as best understood; see FIG 1 where the cleaning fluid is circulated over the fluid supply conduits 165, 165’, 165’’ and the first and second milk conduits 153, 154 in a cleaning cycle).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8256378 B2 to Van Berkel teaches a device which teaches the system actuating a three-way valve to swap a conduit between washing and milking.
WO 03024202 A1 to Bosma teaches a system in which the individual stalls or milking lines are washed without interrupting milking; where liquid goes through a wash circuit consisting of feed lines and which ever transport line is not connected to the local connecting tanks.
SE 503492 C2 to Schulte teaches a system for cleaning teat cups and milking lines, with first and second teat cups where one milking unit can be used for milking animals while the other is subjected to cleaning.
US 2714893 A to Zimmer teaches a controller with a timer to actuate the washer to circulate cleaning solution and then swapping to draining the flushing solution.
US 2680445 A to Hemminger teaches switches which activate valves along the delivery line, water being circulated to clean the milking system and then the switch acting to close the valve and the cleaning solution is then drained.
/KATELYN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647