DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the terms “modifying the virtual model” and “altering the virtual model” are not clearly defined, its not clear what/how the virtual model is modified and how the virtual model is altered. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding Claim 15, the terms “modifying the virtual model at levels” are not clearly defined, its not clear what/how the levels are. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1/a2 as being anticipated by U. S. Publication No. 2007/0276501 to Betz et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Betz teaches a computer-implemented method for planning patient-specific surgical correction of the spine, comprising: obtaining patient imaging data (fig. 3 and para 019-024 teaches obtaining patient image data); converting the imaging data to a 3-dimensional data set to create a virtual model (fig. 3 and para 019-024 teaches generating a 3d model) selectively modifying the virtual model to correct at least one deformity (para 0020 and 024 teaches correcting the model); selectively altering the virtual model to define a corrected virtual model (fig. 3 and para 019-024 teaches altering virtual model to corrected virtual model); and designing an implant to fit the corrected virtual model (fig. 3 and para 019-024 teaches designing implant based on corrected virtual model).
Regarding Claim 2, Betz teaches that imaging data comprises at least one of synthetic CT, MRI, CT, CTA Scan, weight-bearing AlP, and/or weight-bearing lateral x-rays (para 0073 teaches CT AND MRI images).
Regarding Claim 3, Betz teaches that the implant is an intervertebral cage, a pedicle screw, an intervertebral disc replacement, a sacroiliac joint fusion implant, a spinal rod, a hook, a guide, and/or a connector (para 0020teaches an intervertebral disc implant).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art of record are U. S. Publication No. 2007/0276501 to Betz et al.; U.S. Publication No. 20180082480 to white et al.; U.S. Publication No. 2017/0312032 to Amanatullah et al.; and U.S. Publication No. 20180168740 to Ryan et al. none of the prior art alone or in combination teaches the limitations of the independent claim specifically “ identifying disease state that requires surgical correction from patient data or the virtual model; measuring a parameter from the virtual model; modifying the virtual model to define a planned correction of a deformity; verifying the planned correction is acceptable; modifying the virtual model if the planned correction is not acceptable; and designing an implant”.
Conclusion
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798