DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims status:1,5; the rest is unchanged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new secondary reference is currently being used in the present rejection.
The objection to the drawing is withdrawn in light of the amendment to claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 11, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2015/0035428 A1; pub. Feb. 5, 2015) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2020/0118783 A1; pub. Apr. 16, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al. disclose: A field effect emitter microstructure for an X-ray tube, the field effect emitter microstructure (para. [0008], [0099], [0102]) comprising: an emitter needle having a field effect emitter portion on a first end (fig.3B item 30 has field emission at the tip); a gate electrode with a gate opening (fig.3B items 16 & 24), wherein the gate opening connects an underside of the gate electrode that faces toward the emitter needle to an upper side of the gate electrode that faces away from the underside of the gate electrode, wherein a longitudinal central axis of the emitter needle is oriented perpendicularly to the gate electrode toward the gate opening in an emitting direction (fig.3B shows that a longitudinal axis of emitter 30 is perpendicular to the gate electrode 16); and a first insulating layer (fig.3B item 14) adjoining the emitter needle (fig.3B item 30) at least under the field effect emitter portion and at least partially adjoining the underside of the gate electrode (fig.3B item 16), wherein via an emission voltage applied between the gate electrode and the field effect emitter portion (para. [0100] & [0102]), free electrons are produced in the field effect emitter portion.
Sun et al. are silent about: at least one of (i) the first end of the emitter needle has a protrusion greater than zero relative to the upper side of the gate electrode such that the first end of the emitter needle is arranged above the upper side of the gate electrode or (ii) the first insulating layer adjoins an inner wall of the gate opening,
In a similar field of endeavor Chuang et al. disclose: at least one of (i) the first end of the emitter needle has a protrusion greater than zero relative to the upper side of the gate electrode such that the first end of the emitter needle is arranged above the upper side of the gate electrode (fig.3 show the tip 206 of the emitter is above the gate 307, para. [0046]) or (ii) the first insulating layer adjoins an inner wall of the gate opening motivated by the benefits for field enhanced field due to field emitter protrusion (Chuang et al. para. [0016]).
In light of the benefits for field enhanced field due to field emitter protrusion as taught by Chuang et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Chuang et al. to modify the emission device of Sun et al.
Regarding claim 2, Sun et al. disclose: the first insulating layer adjoins sides of the field effect emitter portion (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Sun et al. disclose: the first insulating layer has a cut-out with a partially constant cross-section in which the emitter needle is arranged (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Sun et al. disclose: the first insulating layer has a cut-out at a height of the field effect emitter portion with a portion having a larger diameter than a portion under the field effect emitter portion (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Sun et al. disclose: the emitter needle has a pointed portion, the field effect emitter portion is part of the pointed portion, a pointed end of the pointed portion is arranged above the upper side of the gate electrode, and a broad end of the pointed portion that faces away from the pointed end is arranged under the underside of the gate electrode (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Sun et al. disclose: the field effect emitter microstructure has at least one further emitter needle and at least one further gate opening, and a longitudinal central axis of the at least one further emitter needle is oriented toward the at least one further gate opening parallel to the emitting direction of the emitter needle (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, see fig.3B).
Regarding claim 16, Sun et al. disclose: the first insulating layer has a cut-out with a partially constant cross-section in which the emitter needle is arranged (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, Sun et al. disclose: the first insulating layer has a cut-out at a height of the field effect emitter portion with a portion having a larger diameter than a portion under the field effect emitter portion (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, also see fig.2B).
Regarding claim 18, Sun et al. disclose: the emitter needle has a pointed portion, the field effect emitter portion is part of the pointed portion, a pointed end of the pointed portion is arranged above the upper side of the gate electrode, and a broad end of the pointed portion that faces away from the pointed end is arranged under the underside of the gate electrode (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, also see fig.2B).
Regarding claim 19, Sun et al. disclose: the emitter needle has a pointed portion, the field effect emitter portion is part of the pointed portion, a pointed end of the pointed portion is arranged above the upper side of the gate electrode, and a broad end of the pointed portion that faces away from the pointed end is arranged under the underside of the gate electrode (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, also see fig.2B).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2015/0035428 A1; pub. Feb. 5, 2015) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2020/0118783 A1; pub. Apr. 16, 2020) and further in view of Tolt (US 2006/0284537 A1; pub. Dec. 21, 2006).
Regarding claim 5, the combined references are silent about: the field effect emitter portion is completely embedded in the first insulating layer.
In a similar field of endeavor Tolt discloses: the field effect emitter portion (fig.5A item 20) is completely embedded in the first insulating layer (fig.5A item 40) motivated by the benefits for excellent thermal conductivity (Tolt para. [0033]).
In light of the benefits for excellent thermal conductivity as taught by Tolt, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the insulating layer of Tolt in the device of Sun et al. and Chuang et al.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2015/0035428 A1; pub. Feb. 5, 2015) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2020/0118783 A1; pub. Apr. 16, 2020) and further in view of Tuck et al. (US 2006/0163996 A1; pub. Jul. 27, 2006).
Regarding claim 6, the combined references are silent about: the protrusion is between 0.001 pm and 1 pm.
In a similar field of endeavor Tuck et al. disclose: the protrusion is between 0.001 pm and 1 pm (para. [0003]) motivated by the benefits for achieving high fields (Tuck et al. para. [0003]).
In light of the benefits for achieving high fields as taught by Tuck et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the emitter of Tuck et al. in the device of Sun et al. and Chuang et al.
Claims 8-10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2015/0035428 A1; pub. Feb. 5, 2015) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2020/0118783 A1; pub. Apr. 16, 2020) and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2010/0260317 A1; pub. Oct. 14, 2010).
Regarding claim 8, the combined references are silent about: a second insulating layer with an underside facing toward the emitter needle and an upper side facing away from the underside; and an electrically conductive focusing layer with an underside facing toward the emitter needle and an upper side facing away from the underside, wherein the underside of the second insulating layer at least partially adjoins the upper side of the gate electrode, the upper side of the second insulating layer at least partially adjoins the underside of the electrically conductive focusing layer, and the second insulating layer and the electrically conductive focusing layer each have a through opening for the free electrons produced in the field effect emitter portion.
In a similar field of endeavor Chang et al. disclose: a second insulating layer (fig.2 item 222) with an underside facing toward the emitter needle (fig.2 item 202) and an upper side facing away from the underside; and an electrically conductive focusing layer (fig.2 item 220) with an underside facing toward the emitter needle and an upper side facing away from the underside, wherein the underside of the second insulating layer at least partially adjoins the upper side of the gate electrode (fig.2 item 214), the upper side of the second insulating layer at least partially adjoins the underside of the electrically conductive focusing layer, and the second insulating layer and the electrically conductive focusing layer each have a through opening (fig.2 spacing between respective items 214) for the free electrons produced in the field effect emitter portion (fig.2 item 202) motivated by the benefits for achieving high spatial resolution dose deposition (Chang et al. para. [0086]).
In light of the benefits for achieving high spatial resolution dose deposition as taught by Chang et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Chang et al. to modify the emission device of Sun et al. and Chuang et al.
Regarding claim 9, Chang et al. disclose: first insulating layer and the second insulating layer adjoin one another through the gate opening (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 8).
Regarding claim 10, Chang et al. disclose: the through opening of the second insulating layer widens in the emitting direction of the emitter needle (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 8).
Regarding claim 20, Sun et al. are silent about: a second insulating layer with an underside facing toward the emitter needle and an upper side facing away from the underside; and an electrically conductive focusing layer with an underside facing toward the emitter needle and an upper side facing away from the underside, wherein the underside of the second insulating layer at least partially adjoins the upper side of the gate electrode, the upper side of the second insulating layer at least partially adjoins the underside of the electrically conductive focusing layer, and the second insulating layer and the electrically conductive focusing layer each have a through opening for the free electrons produced in the field effect emitter portion
In a similar field of endeavor Chang et al. disclose: a second insulating layer (fig.2 item 222) with an underside facing toward the emitter needle (fig.2 item 202) and an upper side facing away from the underside; and an electrically conductive focusing layer (fig.2 item 220) with an underside facing toward the emitter needle and an upper side facing away from the underside, wherein the underside of the second insulating layer at least partially adjoins the upper side of the gate electrode (fig.2 item 214), the upper side of the second insulating layer at least partially adjoins the underside of the electrically conductive focusing layer, and the second insulating layer and the electrically conductive focusing layer each have a through opening (fig.2 spacing between respective items 214) for the free electrons produced in the field effect emitter portion motivated by the benefits for achieving high spatial resolution dose deposition (Chang et al. para. [0086]).
In light of the benefits for achieving high spatial resolution dose deposition as taught by Chang et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Chang et al. to modify the emission device of Sun et al. and Chuang et al.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2015/0035428 A1; pub. Feb. 5, 2015) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2020/0118783 A1; pub. Apr. 16, 2020) and further in view of Jin et al. (US 2007/0235772 A1; pub. Oct. 11, 2011).
Regarding claim 12, the combined references are silent about: the field effect emitter microstructure as claimed in claim 1; and a voltage source connected to the field effect emitter microstructure, the voltage source configured to provide at least one of the emission voltage or a focusing voltage.
In a similar field of endeavor Jin et al. disclose: the field effect emitter microstructure as claimed in claim 1; and a voltage source connected to the field effect emitter microstructure, the voltage source configured to provide at least one of the emission voltage or a focusing voltage (fig.2) motivated by benefits for improving or maximizing emission efficiency (Jin et al. para. [0046]).
In light of the benefits for improving or maximizing emission efficiency as taught by Jin et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Jin et al. to modify the emission device of Sun et al. and Chuang et al.
Regarding claim 13, Jin et al. disclose: a housing (fig.9 item 15) with an internal space configured to be evacuated (para. [0047]); the electron emitter apparatus as claimed in claim 12, in the internal space; and an anode (fig.6 item 9) in the internal space, the anode configured to generate X-ray beams dependent upon the free electrons produced via the electron emitter apparatus (para. [0014]) motivated by benefits for improving or maximizing emission efficiency (Jin et al. para. [0046]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2015/0035428 A1; pub. Feb. 5, 2015) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2020/0118783 A1; pub. Apr. 16, 2020) in view of Jin et al. (US 2007/0235772 A1; pub. Oct. 11, 2011) and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2010/0260317 A1; pub. Oct. 14, 2010).
Regarding claim 14, the combined references are silent about: applying the emission voltage between the gate electrode and the emitter needle to produce the free electrons; applying a focusing voltage between an electrically conductive focusing layer and the gate electrode to focus the free electrons; and generating X-ray beams via the anode of the X-ray tube by way of an interaction with the focused free electrons.
In a similar field of endeavor Chang et al. disclose: applying the emission voltage between the gate electrode and the emitter needle to produce the free electrons (para. [0051]); applying a focusing voltage between an electrically conductive focusing layer and the gate electrode to focus the free electrons (para. [0054], [0075]); and generating X-ray beams via the anode of the X-ray tube by way of an interaction with the focused free electrons (para. [0045]-[0046]) motivated by the benefits for achieving high spatial resolution dose deposition (Chang et al. para. [0086]).
In light of the benefits for improving or maximizing emission efficiency as taught by Chang et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Chang et al. to modify the combined method of Sun et al., Chuang et al. and Jin et al.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2015/0035428 A1; pub. Feb. 5, 2015) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2020/0118783 A1; pub. Apr. 16, 2020) in view of Jin et al. (US 2007/0235772 A1; pub. Oct. 11, 2011) in view of Chang et al. (US 2010/0260317 A1; pub. Oct. 14, 2010) and further in view of Yan et al. (CN 202473821-U; pub. Oct. 3, 2012).
Regarding claim 15, the combined references are silent about: before applying the emission voltage, the method comprises: applying a voltage between the gate electrode and the emitter needle for a burning free of at least a part of the field effect emitter portion.
In a similar field of endeavor Yan et al. disclose: before applying the emission voltage, the method comprises: applying a voltage between the gate electrode and the emitter needle for a burning free of at least a part of the field effect emitter portion (para. [0036]) motivated by the benefits for improved field emission stability and lifetime of the emitter (Yan et al. para. [0008]).
In light of the benefits for improved field emission stability and lifetime of the emitter as taught by Yan et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Yan et al. to modify the combined method of Sun et al., Chuang et al. Jin et al. and Chang et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884