DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12415933. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘933 recites a non-aqueous sprayable and curable dampening composition for automotive body and closure panels which cures to form a curable product, comprising: a PVC homopolymer and/or mixture of a PVC copolymer resin; a phthalate plasticizer and a benzoate plasticizer; a filler component, where the filler component comprises one or more spherical or platy fillers; a modified epoxy resin; an adhesion promoter comprising epoxy based silane and a substrate wetting agent which anticipates claims 1, 19, and 20 of the current application. The dependent claims of ‘933 anticipates the current claims 2-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, 10, 11, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wesch et al. (US 5756555) .
As to claim 1, Wesch et al. disclose a sprayable acoustically active plastisol (see abstract) comprising a copolymer based on vinyl chloride and vinyl acetate (see abstract); plasticizer (phthalate, benzoate – see col. 4, lines 36-48); filler (calcium carbonate in the form of mica or chalks- see col. 4 lines 49-53); epoxy resins (see col. 5, line 5); coupling agent (wetting agent/ adhesion promoter- see col. 5, lines 6-12). Wesch et al. discloses using the plastisol by applying to a substrate and curing where a foam is formed (resulting in interpenetrating network of resin) (see claims 26-27, col. 5).
As to claim 2, the composition is solvent-free.
As to claim 5, the filler is up to 40% (see claim 13).
As to claims 7-8, the coupling agent is provided at 0.01-5% (see claim 1).
As to claim 10, the plasticizers are diisononyl phthalate (see claim 7) and dibenzoate (see col. 4, lines 36-48).
As to claim 11, the platy to spherical filler is about 20:1 (see examples).
As to claim 16, the curing agent is dicyanamide (See claim 11).
As to claim 18, the composition comprises calcium oxide (see claim 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesch et al. (US 5756555).
The teachings of Wesch as applied to claim 1 are as stated above.
Wesch fails to teach the range of 20-40 as required by claim 3, 20-50 as required by claim 4, and the claimed molecular weight required by claim 9.
As to claim 3, Wesch teaches the copolymer resin is provided at 5-60% (see claim 1). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 4, the plasticizer is provided at 5-65% (See claim 1). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 9, the K value for the PVC is 40-80 (see col. 4, lines 29-31) which would equate to 20,000 to 400,000 Daltons. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesch et al. (US 5756555) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Eadara et al. (US 2006/0040096).
The teachings of Wesch as applied to claim 1 are as stated above.
Wesch fail to disclose the claimed range of epoxy resin as required by claim 6 or the type of modified epoxy as required by claim 12.
Eadara et al. discloses an acoustic damping material that is formed of PVS resin; filler (carbon carbonate); phthalate plasticizer; and bisphenol A (see 0023). The bisphenol A is provided at 10% (see 0023).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the composition of Wesch to include the epoxy at the claimed range as taught by Eadara et al. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to damping compositions having modified epoxies where Eadara et al. teaches an operable epoxy and amount useful with PVC.
Eadara et al. teaches the use of fumed silica (See 0022). It would have been obvious to use the silica in the composition of Wesch since both are directed to damping compositions of PVC where Eadara et al. teaches an alternative filler. It has been established that the mere substitution of one known element for another with the same intended use has predictable results.
As to claim 15, Eadara et al. teaches the use of fumed silica (see 0022-23).
Claim(s) 13, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesch et al. (US 5756555) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Pluddemann (US 4961967).
The teachings of Wesch et al. as applied to claim 1 are as stated above.
As to claims 19 and 20, Wesch et al. disclose a sprayable acoustically active plastisol (see abstract) comprising a copolymer based on vinyl chloride and vinyl acetate (see abstract); plasticizer (phthalate, benzoate – see col. 4, lines 36-48); filler (calcium carbonate in the form of mica or chalks- see col. 4 lines 49-53); epoxy resins (see col. 5, line 5); coupling agent (wetting agent/ adhesion promoter- see col. 5, lines 6-12). Wesch et al. discloses using the plastisol by applying to a substrate and curing where a foam is formed (resulting in interpenetrating network of resin) (see claims 26-27, col. 5).
Wesch et al. fails to teach the adhesion promoter comprises an epoxy based silane as required by claims 13, 19, and 20.
Pluddemann teaches the use of epoxy-functional silanes containing adhesion promoters that can be incorporated into PVC plastisols in order to improve the adhesion to metallic, mineral or plastic substrates (see abstract, col. 4, line 57-68).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Wesch et al. to include the epoxy based silane of Pluddemann as the adhesion promoter. One would have been motivated to do so since Wesch et al. teaches the use of adhesion promoters, where Pluddeman teaches operable adhesion promoters that can be added to PVC plastisols to improve its adhesion to substrates.
Conclusion
There are no prior art rejections over claims 14 and 17.
/CACHET I. PROCTOR/
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/CACHET I PROCTOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712