DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seliger et al. (US 8608050 B2; hereinafter Seliger) in view of Park (KR 102462022 B1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 7, and 10-11, Seliger discloses a re-usable, knock-down box comprising four side walls each defining a front (18), left (36a), right (36b), and rear direction (32); a bottom panel (26); a top lid (12) having an edge connected to the rear side wall and foldable away therefrom and having a front lip (16) configured to close a top of said box and comprises a foldable hinge (20) located across a center of the top lid. Seliger lacks a plurality of removable trays disposed within.
Park teaches a box for food delivery (including tacos; see Page 1) including a plurality of removable food trays (S; see Fig. 1) disposed within the box, each of the plurality of food trays dimensioned to contain a single food item (e.g. a taco); wherein each food tray comprises four upstanding side walls, a bottom, and an open top. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Seliger’s container to be used to house a plurality of food trays within in order to safely and cost effectively transport a plurality of food items (Park; see Page 1).
Regarding claims 5-6, Seliger, as modified above, discloses a box wherein the box further comprises a first handle disposed on the left side wall and a second handle disposed on the right-side wall (Seliger; 38/40).
Regarding claims 9 and 12, Seliger, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the food trays having an eccentric shape. However, Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to modify the food trays to have any shape, including eccentric shapes, based on requirements of articles to be held within since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F 2d 669,149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claims 13-16, Seliger, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the size of the food trays. However, Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to modify the food trays to have any size based on requirements of articles to be held within since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 17-19, Seliger, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the number of food trays to be held within the box. However, Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to modify the outer box to have any size based on requirements of articles to be held within since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seliger in view of Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peruzzi (US 1609186 A).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Seliger, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for a cut-out in the lid center hinge. Peruzzi teaches a display carton wherein a lid center hinge is divided into two hinge components (23) that terminate into a cut-out (20; see Figures 2-4). Examiner considers the cut-out to be dome shaped. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Seliger’s container to include a cut-out in the lid center hinge in order to provide an aesthetically pleasing display configuration (Peruzzi; Page 1 lines 5-20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-6, filed 12/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 9-19 under USC 103(a)—Seliger in view of Cruz have been fully considered and are persuasive. The combination fails to teach a plurality of removable food tray within the box wherein each food tray has four side walls, a bottom, and open top. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 103(a)—Seliger in view of Park.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734