DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TSE US 2022/0410977.
Regarding claim 1, TSE discloses an autonomous vehicle comprising: a body (chassis, see FIG. 1); at least one releasable component (pod, see FIG. 3); a decoupling mechanism configured to decouple the at least one releasable component from the body (cushions 3 and 4); and processing circuitry (see paragraph [0093]) comprising one or more processors and memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: detecting a triggering event (see paragraph [0085]); and responsive to detecting the triggering event, causing the decoupling mechanism to decouple the at least one releasable component from the body. See FIG. 2, 4, and 5, claim 1, and paragraphs [0072]-[0082].
Regarding claim 2, TSE discloses wherein decoupling the at least one releasable component from the body comprises decoupling the at least one releasable component from the body according to a set of decoupling parameters defined by the triggering event. See paragraphs [0059]-[0067].
Regarding claim 3, TSE discloses wherein the set of decoupling parameters comprise at least one of a timing of the detected triggering event or a velocity of the vehicle with respect to a second object identified with the triggering event. See paragraphs [0059]-[0067].
Regarding claim 4, TSE discloses wherein the decoupling mechanism comprises at least one of a passive decoupling mechanism or an active decoupling mechanism. See paragraphs [0024]-[0034].
Regarding claim 5, TSE discloses wherein the decoupling mechanism comprises at least one of a pyrotechnic separation bolt, an electric actuating mechanism, a magnetic actuating mechanism, a gas actuating mechanism, or a thermal actuating mechanism. See paragraphs [0024] and [0046]-[0048].
Regarding claim 6, TSE discloses wherein the triggering event comprises at least one of an impact, a potential impact, a collision, a loss of traction, or a loss of contact between a tire of the vehicle and a support surface. See paragraphs [0059]-[0067].
Regarding claim 7, TSE discloses wherein causing the decoupling mechanism to decouple the at least one releasable component from the body occurs prior to the triggering event. See paragraphs [0059]-[0067].
Regarding claim 8, TSE discloses a method comprising: detecting, by computing hardware (see paragraph [0093]), a triggering event for an autonomous vehicle, the autonomous vehicle comprising a body (chassis, see FIG. 1), a set of components (see FIG. 1), and a set of component coupling mechanisms (See FIG. 4 and paragraphs [0046]-[0048]), wherein each component in the set of components is coupled to the body via at least one respective component coupling mechanism of the set of component coupling mechanisms (See FIG. 4 and paragraphs [0046]-[0048]); responsive to the triggering event, causing, by the computing hardware, a reduction in a mass of the autonomous vehicle by: selecting a subset of the set of components based on the triggering event; identifying the at least one respective component coupling mechanism for each component in the subset of the set of components; determining, for each respective component coupling mechanism, a release process; and initiating, for each respective component coupling mechanism, the release process. See FIG. 2, 4, and 5, claim 1, and paragraphs [0046]-[0048] and [0072]-[0082].
Regarding claim 10, TSE discloses wherein initiating the release process comprises initiating the release process prior to the triggering event. See claim 1 and paragraphs [0059]-[0067].
Regarding claim 11, TSE discloses wherein the triggering event comprises at least one of an impact, a potential impact, a collision, a loss of traction, or a loss of contact between a tire of the vehicle and a support surface. See paragraphs [0059]-[0067].
Regarding claim 12, TSE discloses wherein each respective component coupling mechanism comprises at least one a pyrotechnic separation bolt, an electric actuating mechanism, a magnetic actuating mechanism, a gas actuating mechanism, or a thermal actuating mechanism. See paragraphs [0024] and [0046]-[0048].
Regarding claim 13, TSE discloses wherein at least one component in the set of components is coupled to the body via at the least one respective component coupling mechanism via at least one biasing mechanism. See paragraphs [0024] and [0046]-[0048].
Regarding claim 14, TSE discloses wherein initiating the release process comprises initiating the release process for at least a first component coupling mechanism prior to the triggering event and initiating the release process for at least a second component coupling mechanism after the triggering event. See FIG. 2, 4, and 5, claim 1, and paragraphs [0046]-[0048] and [0072]-[0082].
Regarding claim 15, TSE discloses an autonomous vehicle comprising: a body (chassis, see FIG. 1); a mass reduction mechanism ; and processing circuitry (see paragraph [0093]) comprising one or more processors (see paragraph [0093]) and memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: detecting a triggering event (see claim 1); and responsive to detecting the triggering event, causing the mass reduction mechanism to reduce a mass of the body. See FIG. 2, 4, and 5, claim 1, and paragraphs [0046]-[0048] and [0072]-[0082].
Regarding claim 16, TSE discloses wherein reducing the mass of the body comprises causing the mass reduction mechanism to passively release at least one component coupled to the body. See paragraphs [0024] and [0046]-[0048].
Regarding claim 17, TSE discloses wherein reducing the mass of the body comprises causing the mass reduction mechanism to actively release at least one component coupled to the body. See paragraphs [0024] and [0046]-[0048].
Regarding claim 18, TSE discloses wherein the triggering event comprises at least one of an impact, a potential impact, a collision, a loss of traction, or a loss of contact between a tire of the vehicle and a support surface. See paragraphs [0059]-[0067].
Regarding claim 19, TSE discloses wherein the mass reduction mechanism comprises at least one of a pyrotechnic separation bolt, an electric actuating mechanism, a magnetic actuating mechanism, a gas actuating mechanism, or a thermal actuating mechanism. See paragraphs [0024] and [0046]-[0048].
Regarding claim 20, TSE discloses wherein the mass reduction mechanism comprises a set of decoupling mechanisms, each decoupling mechanism in the set of decoupling mechanisms being configured to decouple a respective vehicle component from the body. See FIG. 2, 4, and 5, claim 1, and paragraphs [0046]-[0048] and [0072]-[0082].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSE, as applied above, in view of Wassmur US 2023/0158877.
Regarding claim 9, TSE fails to explicitly disclose, but Wassmur discloses wherein at least one component in the set of components comprises a vehicle battery. See Abstract and paragraphs [0004]-[0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Wassmur in the system of TSE for safety purposes.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747