Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“injecting… the compressed, cooled and condensed second fluid… into a distillation column”,
“wherein the first liquid phase and the second fluid or the second liquid phase are mixed upstream of the column, optionally after having expanded the fluid and/or at least one of the liquids”
“first dryer”
“second dryer”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
In the drawings the first source (1) and second source (2) are understood to refer to cover any of the various sources listed in claims 9-13 as representations of what is required by those claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, line 3 and claim 7, the word “distillation” should be placed upstream of column for the sake of consistency.
In claim 7, “expanded’ should be placed before first and second liquid phase” for the sake of consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9-10, 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 recites “combustion unit” which is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) but which only recitation in the specification “oxy-fuel combustion unit” which reads on it is also considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) and lacks written description which renders this limitation lacking written description for lacking the required structure, material, or act for the function of combustion with the nonce term unit.
Claim 10 recites “hydrocarbon reforming unit” which is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) which lacks written description which renders this limitation lacking written description for lacking the required structure, material, or act for the function of hydrocarbon reforming with the nonce term unit.
Claim 13 recites “oxy-fuel combustion” which is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) which lacks written description which renders this limitation lacking written description for lacking the required structure, material, or act for the function of hydrocarbon reforming with the nonce term unit.
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 11-12 recites at least one “lighter second impurity” but it is unclear what lighter is in reference to with respect to the impurity. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood to be the same as the first impurity in that it is “lighter than CO2”.
Claim 1 recites “the compressed, cooled and condensed second fluid” in lines 19-20 which lacks antecedent basis and also results in the metes and bounds of the claim being unclear. Claim 1 requires first cooling and partially condensing the second fluid which was previously compressed and then requires the liquid phase of that stream being expanded. As such, there is no “compressed, cooled and condensed second fluid”, nor is there a portion of it that could be passed to the distillation column as the claims require expansion of the liquid phase of that stream. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is not considered to limit the claim further, and the claim is understood to require the expanded liquid phase as the stream being passed to the distillation column.
Claim 3 recites “a first main impurity… which is greater than any other impurity.. in the first fluid” and “a second main impurity… which is greater than any other impurity… in the second fluid” which are considered indefinite as it is unclear how this relates to the limitations of “at least one first impurity” and “at least one second impurity” in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that the at least one first impurity includes a first main impurity that is either the only impurity in the first fluid or has the largest quantity in the first fluid of any impurities present and the at least one second impurity includes a second main impurity that is either the only impurity in the second fluid or hast the largest quantity in the second fluid of any impurities present.
Claim 5 recites “preferably” which is considered indefinite as it is unclear if the limitations after preferably are further limiting. Additionally, because the claim has already required the cooling, this appears to be narrowing of a broad limitation already present in the claim which is further indefinite. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that the limitations after preferred are not considered to further limit the claims.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the second fluid is compressed” and “and the second fluid is expanded” which are considered indefinite. It is unclear is this compression is the same as in claim 1. Further, claim 1 requires the second fluid be partially and condensed and then the liquid phase is expanded so it is unclear what is required of “the second fluid is expanded” and how it relates to the “expanding the second liquid phase. For the purpose of examination, this claim understood that the compressing of the second fluid in clam 1 is the step referred to in this claim and the second fluid is expanded is not considered to further limit the claim as it refers to the expanding of the second liquid phase which is already by the claim to be upstream of the distillation column.
Claim 7 recites “the second fluid” in reference to being sent to the distillation column which is considered indefinite as the second fluid is not sent to the distillation column. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood to not further limit the claims and only the first and second liquid phases respectively are referred to here.
Claim 8 recites “the first liquid phase… and the second liquid phase are mixed upstream of the column… optionally after having expanded at least one of the liquids” which is considered indefinite. The claims require expansion of the first and second liquid phase but this claim makes it unclear if they are required to be expanded separately as claim 1 appears or if the combination being expanded meets the claim limitation. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that as long as the first and second liquid phase are combined, and as long as the combination is expanded, or expansion happens upstream of the combination the limitation is met.
Claim 8 recites “the second fluid… are mixed upstream” which is considered indefinite as claim 1 requires the second fluid be partially and condensed and then the liquid phase is expanded so it is unclear what is required of the second fluid so that it can be mixed upstream. For the purpose of examination this limitation is understood to not be present and only the second liquid phase is positively claimed. The limitation later of “expanded the fluid” is also not considered positively claim as it is indefinite for the same reason as above.
Claim 8 recites “optionally after having expanded the fluid and or at least one of the liquids” which is considered indefinite as both liquids are required to be expanded and passed to the distillation column so it is unclear how they could also be mixed. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that the first and second liquid phase are mixed upstream of the column and that the “expanding the first liquid phase” and “expanding the second liquid phase” limitation in claim 1 can refer to either the streams being expanded as a common stream, one of the streams being expanded, mixed with the other stream and the stream being expanded together, or both stream being expanded before mixing.
Claim limitation “combustion unit” in claim 9 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. For the purpose of examination, as long as there is some form of oxy-fuel combustion upstream to form the second fluid if that is the limitation of the possible limitations, it is considered met. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “hydrocarbon reforming unit” in claim 10 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. For the purpose of examination, as long as there is hydrocarbon reforming to form the second fluid it is considered met. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “oxy-fuel combustion unit” in claim 11 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. For the purpose of examination, as long as there is some form of oxy-fuel combustion upstream to form the first fluid if that is the limitation of the possible limitations, it is considered met. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 14 recites “the first fluid is dried in a dryer” and “the second fluid is dried in a dryer” which are both considered indefinite as it is unclear where with respect to the claims the drier would be as the claims require manipulation of both fluids. For the purpose of examination, these limitations are understood that there are dryers for each fluid somewhere in the process upstream of the cooling step.
Claim 14 recites “the first fluid is cooled in a first cooler and the second fluid is cooled in a second cooler that is independent of the first cooler” which is considered indefinite as it is unclear how the limitations relate to the other limitations present in claim 1 for the first and second fluid. For the purpose of examination, the first and second cooler respectively are used in each respective fluids “cooling and partially condensing” step.
Claims 2, 4, 12 and 13 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Interpretation
Unit for separation via partial condensation and/or distillation in claim 9 is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) as
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
combustion unit in claim 9 understood to refer to an oxy-fuel combustion unit, which itself is also interpreted under 35 USC 112(f),
unit for separation via partial condensation and/or distillation in claim 9,
hydrocarbon reforming unit in claim 9,
absorption unit in claim 11 understood to refer to a amine or methanol scrubbing unit, which are not interpreted under 35 USC 112(f),
adsorption unit in claim 11 understood to refer to a pressure swing adsorption unit, which is not interpreted under 35 USC 112(f),
Unit for separation by partial condensation and/or distillation are not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) as the additional limitations of partial condensation and distillation would result in one of having ordinary skill in the art recognize they refer to specific structures.
Amine scrubbing unit and methanol scrubbing unit are not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) as both limitations would be understood by one of having ordinary skill in the art to refer to specific structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1-6, 9-11, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darde et al. (FR2975478A), hereinafter referred to as Darde and further in view of Briglia et al. (US PG pub 20160003533), hereinafter referred to as Briglia and Darde et al. (US PG Pub 20150174523), hereinafter referred to as Kulkarni.
With respect to claim 1, Darde teaches (Figure 2) a process for purifying CO2 comprising the steps of:
i) compressing a first fluid comprising CO2 and containing at least one first impurity in the CO2, wherein the at least one first impurity (stream 1 which contains CO2 which could have can have least 70 mol% CO2, page 5),
ii) cooling and partially condensing the first fluid to generate a first gaseous phase and a first liquid phase (the stream from 3 is cooled in heat exchanger 5 where is partially condensed and is sent to a phase separator 8, which produces a liquid flow, page 4);
iii) expanding the first liquid phase (liquid from the separator 8 formed of 7 is expanded in valve 11, page 5);
iv) compressing a second fluid that is different from any fluid in steps i), ii), iii) (fluid 80 is a different fluid than the one fed into 2, 5 or 8), the second fluid comprising an impurity (80 contains different levels of impurities than 1, page 6)
v) cooling the second fluid (80 is cooled in 5, page 6),
vi) expanding the second fluid (the cooled second fluid is expanded in 24V to form a liquid, page 8),
injecting the expanded first liquid phase into a distillation column (13 is passed into purification column 9, page 3) to generate a third gaseous phase (the column head removed, page 5 would be a gaseous phase, and a third liquid phase, 14/141),
injecting the second liquid phase (the stream from 24v) into a distillation column (the stream from 24V is sent to 82).
Darde does not teach the first fluid first fluid containing at least 35% than but less than 90% vol by volume of CO2 and the at least one impurity is selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, oxygen carbon monoxide and argon such that the first gaseous phase is depleted in CO2 and enriched in the at least one first impurity, the first liquid phase is enriched in CO2 and depleted in the at least one first impurity
Briglia teaches that a gas mixture can contain 87% CO2 with multiple impurities including 4% nitrogen and smaller quantities of oxygen, argon and carbon monoxide (paragraph 42). Further, after compressing, partial condensation and separation, a first liquid phase is formed (17) which is enriched in carbon dioxide and depleted in the remaining components, with a gas which is depleted in the carbon dioxide and enriched in the light components (paragraph 42).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Briglia to have in Darde as modified provided the first feed gas (first fluid) as 87% CO2 with 4% nitrogen and lesser impurities such that after condensing and partial condensation the first gaseous phase is depleted in CO2 and enriched in all of the impurities and the liquid phase is enriched in CO2 and depleted in all of the impurities based on the teaching of Briglia since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would consider choosing from known streams for the feed stream (1) of Darde that meet the required configuration (Darde requires a stream at least 30% CO2 up to at least 90% CO2, but is not specific about the source) to provide the necessary feed stream for Darde whereby it would be common knowledge in the art to choose from a suitable stream for recovery of the carbon dioxide and providing the partially condensation would allow lighter gases to be removed upstream of distillation which would provide what would be common knowledge in the art of increasing the recovery of the carbon dioxide in the distillation column as there would be less lighter components present. Although not labeled, the % listed would understood to be both vol and mol% in Briglia.
Darde does not teach the second fluid comprising at least 95% by volume of CO2 or that the second fluid contains at least one lighter second impurity selected from the group consisting of methane, carbon monoxide, dihydrogen, nitrogen, oxygen, argon and combinations thereof. Darde does teach that the second fluid can be richer or leaner than the first fluid in carbon dioxide (page 6) and that the first fluid can be at least 90% mol of CO2. But does not teach the specifics of what the second fluid is.
Kulkarni teaches that a feed gas for separation of components from carbon dioxide can include 95% mol carbon dioxide as well as nitrogen and oxygen (paragraph 4, 51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Briglia to have in Darde as modified provided the second feed gas (second fluid) as 95% CO2 with nitrogen and oxygen since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would consider choosing from known streams for the feed stream (stream in 103) of Darde that meet the required configuration to provide the necessary feed stream for Darde whereby it would be common knowledge in the art to choose from a suitable stream for recovery of the carbon dioxide. Although not labeled, the % listed would understood to be both vol and mol% in Briglia.
Darde does not teach cooling and partially condensing the second stream a second gaseous phase depleted in CO2 and enriched in the at least one second impurity and a second liquid phase enriched in CO2 and depleted in the at least one second impurity, where it is the second liquid phase that is expanded.
Briglia teaches after compressing a carbon dioxide stream can be subjected to partial condensation and separation such that a first liquid phase is formed (17) which is enriched in carbon dioxide and depleted in the remaining components, with a gas which is depleted in the carbon dioxide and enriched in the light components (paragraph 42).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have in Darde cooled and partially condensed the second feed gas (second fluid from 103) in the heat exchanger so that before the valve (24V) the gas phase (which is rich enriched in lighter components) can be separated from the liquid phase (which is enriched in carbon dioxide) which is the stream sent to the expansion valve based on the teaching of Briglia since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing this pre-separation would provide what would be common knowledge in the art of increasing the recovery of the carbon dioxide in the distillation column as there would be less lighter components present. Thus in the expansion, the second liquid phase is expanded.
Darde (Figure 1) does not teach wherein both the expanded first liquid phase and expanded second liquid phase are sent to the same distillation column.
Darde does teach that processing devices for carbon dioxide from different sources within a single cold box can be shared including distillation column including distillation columns (page 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have at the time the invention was filed to have utilized a singular distillation column instead of the two columns to receive the respective expanded liquid streams of Darde based on the teaching of Darde since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby using a singular distillation column could result in a more efficient system by collecting all of the carbon dioxide product in one location and all of the impure components from distillation in one location or a smaller overall footprint if a singular overall column could be made smaller to do the same work as the two individual columns.
Darde does not explicitly teach the third gaseous phase is depleted in CO2 and enriched int eh at least one impurity and the third liquid phase is enriched in CO2 and depleted in the at least one impurity. It should be noted that this is likely the configuration present in Darde as this is the purpose of Darde, it is just not taught explicitly by Darde as Darde only refers to the streams as liquid product and head gas.
Kulkarni teaches that after separation of the expanded liquid stream a carbon dioxide rich stream is formed at the bottom of the column and a light impurity enriched gas stream is formed as the top of the column (paragraph 51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in art at the time the invention was filed for in Darde based on the teaching of Kulkarni third liquid phase to have been enriched in carbon dioxide and depleted in impurities and the third gaseous phase to have been enriched in impurities and depleted in carbon dioxide since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby operating the column to produce this configuration would have been common knowledge in the art to produce a higher purity final carbon dioxide product that can be recovered for either use or storage thus recovering as much carbon dioxide from the stream as the operation allows as the purpose of these systems is to purify the flue gas so that the CO2 can be recovered.
With respect to claim 2, Darde as modified teaches wherein the third gaseous phase is enriched in the at least one second impurity and a third liquid phase is depleted in the at least one second impurity (the at least one second impurity can be oxygen or nitrogen, which as modified would be enriched in third gaseous phase and depleted in the third liquid phase).
With respect to claim 3, Darde as modified teaches wherein the first fluid comprises a first main impurity that is lighter than C02 and the content of which is greater than that of any other impurity that is lighter than C02 in the first fluid (as modified, the main impurity in the first fluid is nitrogen, which has a higher percentage than the other impurities), and the second fluid comprise a second impurity that is lighter than CO2, the first impurity not having the same chemical composition as the second main impurity (the second fluid contains oxygen).
Darde does not explicitly teach that the first main impurity is oxygen such that it has a higher content than the nitrogen which results in the second fluid comprises a second main impurity that is lighter than CO2 and the content of which is greater than that of any other impurity that is lighter than CO2 in the second fluid, the first main impurity not having the same chemical composition as the second main impurity as modified as based on the modification by Kulkarni the stream contains nitrogen and oxygen and is not specific about the content. Darde does teach that the second gas (80) may contain different level of impurities than flow 1 (page 6).
As such, as there are two impurities as modified in the second fluid of Kulkarni and it is taught by Darde that impurity levels can be different, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have utilized a feed stream (second fluid 80) in Darde as modified which contains oxygen as a main impurity with a lesser amount of nitrogen as a second impurity since it has been shown that choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions is obvious whereby the second fluid can either have more nitrogen than oxygen, the same amount of nitrogen and oxygen, or more oxygen than nitrogen choosing between them would have been obvious as streams that contain carbon dioxide, nitrogen and oxygen have been shown to be needed to be separated, so it would have been equally as obvious to have used a stream which has more oxygen than nitrogen for the claimed separation as the other configurations so as to provide a stream with impurities that need to be separated from carbon dioxide. Thus the same main impurity would be oxygen, in a higher percentage than nitrogen, which is a different gas that the first main impurity which is nitrogen.
With respect to claim 4, Darde as modified teaches wherein the first fluid is a fluid that is different from the second gaseous or liquid phase or a fluid produced by separating the second gaseous or liquid phase (the first fluid 1 is upstream of any mixing with other streams and thus is different than any component of the second fluid).
With respect to claim 5, Darde as modified teaches wherein the first and second fluids are cooled in the same heat exchanger (both fluids are cooled in 5), preferably against at least a portion of the third gaseous phase (the column head is heated in 5, page 5).
With respect to claim 6, Darde as modified teaches wherein the second fluid is compressed to a pressure greater than that of the distillation column and the second fluid is expanded upstream of the column (as the stream is compressed and expanded prior to being passed to the distillation column, the compression would be higher than the pressure of the distillation column, and as modified expansion is upstream of the distillation column).
With respect to claim 9, Darde as modified does not teach wherein the second fluid originates from at least one combustion unit.
Briglia teaches that a gas to be separated which contains carbon dioxide and oxygen and nitrogen includes a series of different processes including an oxyfuel combustion process (paragraphs 5-7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Briglia provided the source of the second fluid (80) of Darde as modified from an oxy-fuel combustion process since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would consider it obvious to have chosen the source of the gas (stream that becomes 80) as from an oxy-fuel combustion process (which is a combustion unit) as it a known and suitable source of a gas that needs to be subjected to separation to recover the carbon dioxide.
With respect to claim 10, Darde as modified does not teach wherein the second fluid originates from at least one hydrocarbon reforming unit.
Briglia teaches that a gas to be separated which contains carbon dioxide and oxygen and nitrogen includes a series of different processes (paragraphs 5-7) and also says the carbon dioxide can be captures from a residual gas from a steam methane reformer (paragraph 10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Briglia provided the source of the second fluid (80) of Darde as modified from an steam methane reformer since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would consider it obvious to have chosen the source of the gas (stream that becomes 80) as from stream methane reformer (which is a hydrocarbon reforming unit) as it a known and suitable source of a gas that needs to be subjected to separation to recover the carbon dioxide.
With respect to claim 11, Darde as modified does not teach wherein the first fluid originates from at least one oxy-fuel combustion unit.
Briglia teaches that a gas to be separated which contains carbon dioxide and oxygen and nitrogen includes a series of different processes including an oxyfuel combustion process (paragraphs 5-7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Briglia provided the source of the first fluid (1) of Darde as modified from an oxy-fuel combustion process since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would consider it obvious to have chosen the source of the gas (stream 1) as from an oxy-fuel combustion process (which is a combustion unit) as it a known and suitable source of a gas that needs to be subjected to separation to recover the carbon dioxide.
With respect to claim 13, Darde as modified does not teach wherein the first fluid originates exclusively the at least one oxy-fuel combustion unit (as modified the first fluid is from an oxy-fuel combustion unit).
With respect to claim 14 Darde as modified does not teach wherein the first fluid is dried in a first dryer and the second fluid is dried in a second dryer that is independent of the first dryer.
Briglia teaches that after compression and cooling but upstream of the heat exchanger a purification unit can be provided to remove water and produce a dry gas stream (paragraph 42).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have on the downstream line between each compressor and the heat exchanger to have provided in Darde based on the teaching of Briglia a purification unit which removes water (which would be a dryer as it is removing the water to produce a dry gas stream) since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing purification units to remove the water would provide what would be common knowledge in the art of preventing water from freezing in the heat exchange and separation processes. This modification would result in separate purification units as the compressors have separate feed lines into the heat exchanger so each line would need a purification unit.
With respect to claim 15, Darde as modified does not teach wherein the first fluid is cooled in a first cooler and the second fluid is cooled in a second cooler that is independent of the first cooler.
Briglia teaches that after compression the feed gas is passed to a cooler (5) (paragraph 42).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Briglia to after the respective compressors in Darde as modified (2 and 102) provided coolers since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing the coolers would be done as is common knowledge in the art to remove the heat of cooling while also preparing the streams for downstream operation. As there are separate compressors, this modification is also providing separate coolers.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darde/Briglia/Kulkarni and further in view of Kumman et al. (US Patent No. 4592766), hereinafter referred to as Kumman.
With respect to claim 7, Darde as modified does not teach wherein the first liquid phase and the second fluid or the second liquid phase are sent to different levels of the column.
Kumman (Figure 1) teaches in a system with multiple feed gas sources which have different compositions (1 and 20/21) that the feed streams are separated into liquids stream (9, 27) which are sent to different heights on the column as seen the figure after expansion (Column 4, 20– Column 5, line 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have in Darde as modified when feeding the two separate feed streams to a single distillation column to have fed them to different heights of the column based on the teaching of Garot since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby sending them to different heights would be common knowledge in the art as the specific height a feed steam is sent to is known to depend on the contents of that stream, and as the feed streams are different, sending them to different heights after initial separation would be obvious.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darde/Briglia/Kulkarni and further in view of Dam et al. (US Patent No. 8778052), hereinafter referred to as Dam.
With respect to claim 8, Darde as modified does not teach wherein the first liquid phase and the second fluid or the second liquid phase are mixed upstream of the column.
Dam teaches (Figure 3) that separate feed gas sources can be provided (10, 20) (Column 11, lines 6-15) which can be process and separated to form liquid stream (130/140) which are combined and passed to a separation step together to provide a combined output (Column 11, lines 67 - Column 12, line 5).
Therefore it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have prior to feeding the two liquid streams into the single distillation column of Darde as modified to have based on the teaching of Dam mixed them since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby combining them prior to feeding them into the column would be common knowledge in the art to be obvious if they needed to be sent to the same height on the column or to reduce the number of input streams for the column.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darde/Briglia/Kulkarni and further in view of Costa de Beauregard et al. (US PG Pub 20170350646), hereinafter referred to as Costa de Beauregard
With respect to the interpretation of claim 12:
With respect to claims 11-12, Darde as modified does not teach wherein the first fluid originates exclusively from the at least one absorption unit selected from the group consisting of an amine scrubbing unit.
Costa de Beauregard teaches that a carbon dioxide separation unit which includes compression, purification and liquefaction means for carbon dioxide (28, paragraphs 86) can be a chemical absorption unit for separating carbon dioxide from natural gas including an amine scrubbing unit (paragraph 67A).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Costa de Beauregard provided the source of the first fluid (1) of Darde as modified from an amine scrubbing unit since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would consider it obvious to have chosen the source of the gas (stream 1) as from amine scrubbing unit as it a known and suitable source of a gas that needs to be subjected to separation to recover the carbon dioxide.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Garot et al. (US PG Patent No. 5333462) and Tremblay et al. (US PG Pub 20170102182) which both relate to multiple feed stream separation.
/BRIAN M KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 a