DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second cascading contour matching the first cascading contour must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a second cascading contour that matches the first cascading contour of the flange”. It is unclear if the entire cascading contours match or the contours just have corresponding parts .
Claim 4 recites “an extension wall disposed on top of the nut and tapering off with the second cascading contour”. It is unclear if the extension wall is part of the nut.
Claim 8 recites structure relating to the liner. It is unclear if the claim is a drawn to boss or the combination of a boss and a liner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US-20070164561-A1).
Kown discloses:
1. A boss for a hydrogen tank (Fig. 2), the boss comprising: a nozzle boss (6) comprising: a neck extending by a predetermined length, wherein a chamber (7) is formed inside the neck; and a flange (9) provided at a bottom portion of the neck, wherein the flange is integrated with the neck and configured to be joined to a liner (2) of the hydrogen tank; and a fastener (17) installed at a lower region of the flange and in contact with a seam between the nozzle boss and the liner, to prevent a leak of a fluid through the seam (par. 0027).
2. The boss of claim 1, wherein the flange, at the lower region, tapers off with a first cascading contour, wherein an inner surface of the fastener is installed to be in contact with an outer surface of the flange, and wherein the inner surface of the fastener has a second cascading contour that matches the first cascading contour of the flange (Fig. 3).
3. The boss of claim 2, wherein a first screw thread is formed on a surface of a lowermost step of the first cascading contour of the flange, wherein a second screw thread is formed on a surface of a lowermost step of the second cascading contour of the fastener, and wherein the fastener is screw-fastened to the flange via the first screw thread and the second screw thread (par. 0027, Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US-20070164561-A1) in view of Suzuki et al. (US-20040173618-A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 5:
Kwon discloses wherein the fastener comprises: a nut corresponding to the lowermost step of the second cascading contour of the fastener, wherein the nut has the surface on which the second screw thread is formed (Fig. 3); and an extension wall disposed on top of the nut (above 21), wherein one or more gaskets (24, Figs. 3, 6) are provided on the extension wall to maintain a seal at the seam after the nut is screw-fastened to the flange.
Kwon fails to teach wherein the extension is tapered.
Suzuki teaches that it was known in the art to manufacture boss components with tapered structure(Fig. 8, 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the extension with a taper, in order to adjust for different liners and since such a modification would have been a change in shape of an existing component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US-20070164561-A1) in view of Otsubo et al. (US-20100025411-A1).
Regarding claims 6-8:
Kwon discloses wherein the one or more gaskets comprise: a first O-ring; and a second O-ring (Fig. 6), wherein an inner ring (at 13) is installed, below the first O-ring, on the inner surface of the extension wall, and wherein an outer ring (at 21) is installed, below the second O-ring, on the outer surface of the extension wall (Fig. 6), wherein the liner comprises a rib that extends from an inner peripheral surface of the liner to the seam, wherein the rib comes into contact with the second O-ring to maintain the seal at the seam (Fig. 3).
Kwon fails to teach the first O-ring installed on an inner surface of the extension wall, the second O-ring installed on an outer surface of the extension wall.
Otsubo teaches that it was known in the art to manufacture boss with multiple O-ring seals on an outside and inside of the boss (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the boss with additional seals, as taught by Otsubo, in order to improve the seal of the boss.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is allowed.
Claims 9 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733