DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first obtainer that obtains…” in claim 7, “a second obtainer that obtains…” in claim 7, “a third obtainer that obtains…” in claim 7, and “a predictor that predicts…” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagara, et al (Pub. No. US 2025/0220035 A1, hereinafter referred to as Nagara).
Claim 1 is an independent claim and Nagara discloses an attack path prediction method of predicting an attack path of a cyberattacker, the attack path prediction method comprising:
obtaining incident information related to a cyberattack on a monitoring target vehicle from a monitor who is monitoring the monitoring target vehicle (attack analysis device that analyzes an attack on an electronic control system mounted on a mobile object, para. [0040]; sensor in ECU of vehicle control system of a vehicle monitors for anomalies, para. [0200]; see also para. [0255]);
obtaining one or more items of threat information related to a past cyberattack on a vehicle, based on the incident information obtained (detected anomaly data is collected, and a combination of items in which the anomalies are detected is compared with an anomaly detection pattern specified in advance for each attack, para. [0050]; patterns of anomaly occurrence may be created or generated using history data related to pattern of anomaly occurrence caused by attacks in the past, para. [0130]);
obtaining, for each of the one or more items of threat information obtained, trend information indicating a degree of trend of the cyberattack (determine level of match between predicted anomaly pattern and actual anomaly pattern, para. [0255]-[0258]); and
predicting the attack path of the cyberattack on the monitoring target vehicle, based on the one or more items of threat information and the trend information for each of the one or more items of threat information (when an actual anomaly pattern and a predicted anomaly pattern completely match with one another, the attack type and attack path can be identified from the matching table for estimating attack. When the actual anomaly pattern does not completely match the predicted anomaly pattern, the attack type and attack path can be estimated according to the matching level, para. [0258]).
Claim 7 is an independent claim corresponding to independent claim 1 and is therefore rejected for similar reasoning.
As per claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and Nagara further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the attack path prediction method according to claim 1 (see para. [0318]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior arts, whether alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the subject matter found in claims 2 and 5, when considered in conjunction with independent claim 1. Claims 3-4 and 6 are allowable based on their dependency on claims 2 and 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pub. No. US 2023/0007034 A1 – generally teaches analyzing attack data in security logs to predict an attack route in an electronic control system
Pub. No. US 2024/0070291 A1 – generally teaches an attack path analysis apparatus for cyber security of a vehicle.
Pub. No. US 2025/0247411 A1 – generally teaches analyzing whether an attack has occurred on a vehicle, and whether the attack matches a preset type of attack.
WO 2023/223515 A1 – generally teaches an attack patch estimation system that uses an operation history log of a system to predict paths for an attack on the system.
/JONATHAN A BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443