DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 11-15, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (NPL Doc, “UniDream: Unifying Diffusion Priors for Relightable Text-to-3D Generation”).
As per claim 1, Liu teaches the claimed:
1. A computer-implemented method for performing relightable view synthesis (In the abstract “… to get albedo-normal aligned multi-view diffusion and reconstruction models“ and in the caption of figure 1 “Meanwhile, the ‘Relighting-I’ and ‘Relighting-II’ columns demonstrate the effect of relighting on the generated PB materials under white and purple lighting conditions, respectively.”), the
method comprising:
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, (i) a plurality of source images that depict a scene with a source lighting and (ii) target lighting data that describes a target lighting for the scene, the target lighting being different from the source lighting (In figure 1 in the left most column shows the plurality of source images with source lighting (e.g. a stuffed tiger on a green background) and in figure 1 in the rightmost column which shows the target lighting that is different from the source lighting (labelled “Ours Relighting II”);
generating, by the computing system and based on the plurality of source images, radiance data that represents radiance characteristics of the scene under the target lighting (In figure 3 on the top left side where the multi-view images are inputted (plurality of source images) and radiance data is generated, e.g. albedo data. The target lighting is shown on the right bottom side where under PBR generation, e.g. target lighting is generated that includes lighting applied to the 3D helmet model. Also, please see equation (3) in section 3.4 where the target lighting applied includes both diffuse and specular shading);
respectively processing, by the computing system, the plurality of source images and the radiance data with a machine-learned relighting diffusion model to respectively generate a plurality of re-lit images that depict the scene with the target lighting (In figure 3 on the right side where they show “Stable Diffusion Model” is used to perform relighting on the 3D helmet model. Also, please see the caption of figure 3 which refers to “Right: using Stable Diffusion model to generate PBR material.” The machine learning of the diffusion model is referred to in section 4.1, 4th paragraph, e.g. where they refer to: “… A new MLP is initialized for {kr,km} learning … Additionally, the learning rate for the environment map is also set to 0.01, coupled with total variation regularization. The environment map commences from an initialized studio lighting High-Dynamic-Range Imaging (HDRI) map.” This generated one or more re-lit images that depict the scene with the target lighting. Re-lit images are also shown on the right most column in figure 1 as well);
training, by the computing system, a latent neural radiance field model using the plurality of re-lit images (This training is suggested in section 4.1, 4th paragraph “We implement the refinement stages of NeRF and DMTet based on theThreestudio2. Specifically, we render four-view albedo and normal maps at the same time for SDS training. In the NeRF and DMTet refinement stages, we train 5,000 and 2,000 iterations respectively.” Also, the reference refers to using latent code in section 2.2, 2nd paragraph “a latent BRDF auto-encoder”.
This passage suggests that the NeRF (neural radiance field model) is trained using the plurality of re-lit images using refinement stages, e.g. through iterations. It would have been obvious to perform this training in order to help the system perform better over time for a wider range of lighting conditions).; and
after training latent neural radiance field model, querying, by the computing system, the latent neural radiance field model to generate a synthetic image that depicts the scene with the target lighting from a novel pose (This is taught in figure 1 on the right most column where after training the neural radiance field model (NeRF model in section 4.1, 4th paragraph), the model may be queried to create a synthetic image that depicts the scene with the target lighting from a novel pose, e.g. to depict the stuff tiger in row 1 with a side view (novel pose) in the target lighting).
As per claim 2, Liu teaches the claimed:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating, by the computing system and based on the plurality of source images, the radiance data that represents radiance characteristics of the scene under the target lighting comprises (In figure 3 on the top left side where the multi-view images are inputted (plurality of source images) and radiance data is generated, e.g. albedo data. The target lighting is shown on the right bottom side where under PBR generation):
training, by the computing system, a source neural scene representation using the plurality of source images (Please see the bottom right of page 7, “Specifically,we render four-view albedo
and normal maps at the same time for SDS training. In the NeRF and DMTet refinement stages, we train 5,000 and 2,000 iterations respectively”;
after training the source neural scene representation, generating, by the computing system, scene surface information as an output of the source neural radiance field (Please see bottom of section 2.2 where Liu teaches, “For instance, Fantasia3D [3] combines a physical differential rendering pipeline with SDS to produce detailed 3D objects with realistic surface materials […] Building upon this, our method initiates with fixed albedo and normal generation and progressively incorporates other BRDF parameters, achieving a more natural and effective decomposition of surface materials in 3D objects” ); and
processing, by the computing system, the scene surface information and the target lighting data with a rendering engine to generate the radiance data. (Please see figure 3 where they perform analysis on the source image scene to find normal and albedo information).
As per claim 3, Liu teaches the claimed:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the radiance data comprises a plurality of renderings of a surface geometry of the scene under the target lighting, wherein in the plurality of renderings the surface geometry of the scene respectively has a plurality of different material characteristics. (Please see the end of 1st paragraph of section 2.2 “The recent advancement in differentiable rendering methods [25] addresses this issue by incorporating an explicit surface mesh optimization pipeline, allowing for the simultaneous estimation of BRDF and lighting” Please also see the right side of figure 3, where the diffusion model uses Stable Diffusion model to generate PBR material over a surface geometry of a 3D helmet model).
As per claim 8, Liu teaches the claimed:
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the source lighting comprises an unknown lighting (In figure 1 on the left side where the multi-view input images depict source lighting. It is noted that the software does not know the lighting before (unknown lighting) but rather the system has to analyze the lighting from the input images to determine the source lighting).
As per claims 9-11 and 16, these claims are similar in scope to limitations recited in claims 1-3 and 8, respectively, and thus are rejected under the same rationale. The system of Liu would have to have some type of processor and non-transitory machine readable medium present in order to function and run on a computer as described by the reference.
As per claims 17 and 18, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claims 1 and 2, respectively, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. The system of Liu would have to have some type of non-transitory machine readable medium present in order to function and run on a computer as described by the reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kocsis (US 12682557 B2) and Lai et al. (US 20250200723 A1) cited as related art in the field of relighting in computer graphics.
SARAH Y. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/DANIEL F HAJNIK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2616